DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s amendment filed on August 6, 2024. As set forth in the Applicant’s response, claims 1-16 are pending; claims 1-14 are original; and claims 15 and 16 are newly added.
Reissue Applications
For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 11,387,687 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Recapture1
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being an impermissible recapture of broadened claimed subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent upon which the present reissue is based. In re McDonald, 43 F.4th 1340, 1345, 2022 USPQ2d 745 (Fed. Cir. 2022); Greenliant Systems, Inc. et al v. Xicor LLC, 692 F.3d 1261, 103 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Youman, 679 F.3d 1335, 102 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Shahram Mostafazadeh and Joseph O. Smith, 643 F.3d 1353, 98 USPQ2d 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2011); North American Container, Inc. v. Plastipak Packaging, Inc., 415 F.3d 1335, 75 USPQ2d 1545 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Pannu v. Storz Instruments Inc., 258 F.3d 1366, 59 USPQ2d 1597 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Hester Industries, Inc. v. Stein, Inc., 142 F.3d 1472, 46 USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Clement, 131 F.3d 1464, 45 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Ball Corp. v. United States, 729 F.2d 1429, 1436, 221 USPQ 289, 295 (Fed. Cir. 1984). The reissue application contains claim(s) that are broader than the issued patent claims. The record of the application for the patent family shows that the broadening aspect (in the reissue) relates to claimed subject matter that applicant previously surrendered during the prosecution of the application. Accordingly, the narrow scope of the claims in the patent was not an error within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 251, and the broader scope of claim subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent cannot be recaptured by the filing of the present reissue application.
The Examiner notes that as set forth in MPEP 1412.02, in Clement, 131 F.3d at 1468-70, 45 USPQ2d at 1164-65, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit set forth a three step test for recapture analysis. In North American Container, 415 F.3d at 1349, 75 USPQ2d at 1556, the court restated this test as follows:
We apply the recapture rule as a three-step process:[AltContent: rect]
(1) first, we determine whether, and in what respect, the reissue claims are broader in scope than the original patent claims;
[AltContent: rect] The Examiner finds that reissue claim 15 is broader than original patent claim 1 since it does not recite “a wireless charging circuitry electrically connected to the coil”, “a power management module configured to control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit”, “a processor operatively connected to the wireless charging circuit and the power management module”, “request identification information from an external device”, “determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power…based on the identification information of the external device”, “request encrypted authentication information from the external device so as to perform authentication with respect to the external device”, and “when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power”.
In addition, the Examiner finds that reissue claim 16 is broader than original patent claim 12 since it does not recite “requesting identification information from an external device”, “receiving the identification information of the external device from the external device”, “determining whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power….based on the identification information of the external device”, “in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power, requesting encrypted authentication information from the external device so as to perform authentication with respect to the external device”, and “when the external device is an unauthenticated device, requesting the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power”.
Based on the above, the Examiner finds that that reissue claims are broader in scope than the original patent claims.
(2) next, we determine whether the broader aspects of the reissue claims relate to subject matter surrendered in the original prosecution; and
The Examiner notes that during the original prosecution of U.S. Patent Application 16/782,535, in response to the non-final office action, of November 12, 2021, the Applicant amended claim 1 as follows:
In addition, claim 17 was amended as follows:
[AltContent: rect] As set forth in the Applicant’s March 8, 2022 response, the Applicant argued that the prior art reference Bell “fails to disclose a power management module configured to control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit” as recited in Claim 1.
In addition, the Applicant also argued that Claim 1 further recites “when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power”. The Applicant stated that Bell “fail to disclose when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request[ing] the external device to transmit a first predetermined power, as recited in Claim 1 and similar recited in Independent Claim 17.”
In addition, the Applicant also argued that Claim 1 al recites, “when the external device is an authenticated device, request the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power”. The Applicant states that Bell fails to disclose “when the external device is an authenticated device, request[ing] the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power, as recited in Claim 1 and similar recited in independent Claims 12 and 17.
In addition, in further arguments against Bell, the Applicant also emphasized on the limitation reciting “regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power”.
Therefore, based on the above, the Examiner finds that the surrendered subject matter which was specifically argued by the Applicant, is directed to the following limitations:
“a power management module configured to control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit” as recited in Claim 1;
“when the external device is an authenticated device, request the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power” as recited in clams 1 and 17; and
“when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power” as recited in Claims 1 and 17.
In addition, the Examiner finds that the surrendered subject matter which is directed to limitations based on an amendment by the Applicant is directed to the following limitations:
Original Claim 1:
“request identification information from an external device”,
“receiving the identification information of the external device from the external device”
“the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device”
“in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power” request encrypted authentication information…”
“when the external device an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power “regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power”
Original Claim 17:
“requesting identification information from an external device”,
“receiving the identification information of the external device from the external device”
“determining whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device”
“in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power” request encrypted authentication information…
when the external device an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power “regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power”
Based on the above, the Examiner finds that the broader aspects of the reissue claims relate to subject matter in the original claims.
(3) finally, we determine whether the reissue claims were materially narrowed in other respects, so that the claims may not have been enlarged, and hence avoid the recapture rule.
The Examiner notes that as to ““a power management module configured to control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit” as recited in Original Claim 1, reissue claim 15 recites “a power reception circuity electrically connected to the coil” and “a communication circuit”. The reissue claim no longer recites any function tied to a “power management module” (i.e. the function of “control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit”). The Examiner acknowledges that reissue Claim 15 further recites “control the power reception circuit to charge the battery with received power from the external device based on the first level of power”. However, the recited function is not connected to any specific “power management module”. Thus, the reissue claim is not materially narrowed as to this limitation.
With respect to “when the external device is an authenticated device, request the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power” as recited in Original Clams 1 and 17, Reissue Claims 15 and 16 recite “perform an authentication with the external device to increase the first level of power to a second level of power higher that the first level of power”. The Examiner finds that while the reissue claims recite authentication to increase the first level of power to a second level of power, the claim no longer recites the transmission of the second level of power. Therefore, there is no materially narrowing of this limitation.
With respect to “when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power” as recited in Original Claims 1 and 17, Reissue Claims 15 and 16 no longer recite any limitation pertaining to an unauthenticated device. Therefore, there is no materially narrowing of this limitation.
With respect to “request[ing] identification information from an external device” and “receiving the identification information of the external device from the external device” as recited in Original claims 1 and 17, Reissue Claims 15 and 16, no longer requests “identification” information, rather the reissue claims request “information” that is transmitted via a packet. Since the reissue claims broaden the information from “identification” to just “information”, then the reissue claims do not materially narrow the claim.
With respect to “[determine whether] the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device” or ““determining whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device” as recited in Original Claims 1 and 17 respectively, Reissue Claims 15 and 16, is directed to determining a level of power that the external device can transmit. However, the Reissue Claim does not determine whether a second predetermined power is higher that a first predetermined power based on the identification information. Thus, the Reissue Claims do not materially narrow the claim.
With respect to “in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power” request encrypted authentication information” as recited in Original Claims 1 and 17 respectively, Reissue claims 15 and 16, although performing an authentication does not perform the authentication in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power. Thus, the broaden limitations of the reissue claims do not materially narrow the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US Patent Pub. 2019/0021001 in view of Louis US Patent Pub. 2019/0044393 and further in view of Liu et al. US Patent Pub. 2019/0089170.
Regarding claim 1:
An electronic device, comprising:
Park is directed to a data communication method for wireless power charging. See the abstract. As set forth in paragraph [0006], Park discloses an electronic device (PRX (power receiver)/Smart Phone) 101 and an external electronic device (PTX (power transmitter)/Wireless Charging Pad) 102.
a battery;
See Figure 1, which discloses that the electronic device 101 includes a battery 189. See also paragraphs [0020], [0035] and [0046-0047].
a coil;
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
Nonetheless, to the extent it is considered that the ‘electromagnetic induction’ does not include a coil, the Examiner finds that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Park’s electronic device includes a coil based on its teaching of wireless charging and electromagnetic induction. In addition, the Examiner finds that Louis is directed to a method for wireless charging (see paragraphs [0079] and [0097]). With reference to Figure 1 and paragraph [0071], Louis discloses an inductive power receiver which includes a receiving coil or coil 9 which provides power to a load 11. See also paragraphs [0073] and [0074-0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil. As set forth above, both Park and Louis are directed to using induction for a wireless charging system. Louis discloses it was known for these systems to include a transmitting and a receiving coil in which the receiving coil is used to supply power to a load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil since Park is directed to inductive charging and Louis discloses that inductive charging uses coils. In addition, this would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of using electromagnetic induction in Park. As explained by Louis in paragraph [0003] coils generate an alternating magnetic field which will induce a current in a receiving coil of the inductive power receiver. The received power may then be used to charge a battery, or power a device or some other load associated with the inductive power receiver.
a wireless charging circuit electrically connected to the coil;
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
Louis discloses of a coil connected to a wireless charging circuit (see paragraph [0073]) and further it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil for inductive charging as also explained above.
a power management module configured to control a charge state of the battery by using power supplied from a receiving circuit; and
With reference to Figure 2, Park discloses a power management module 188 which manages power supplied to the electronic device. See paragraph [0034]. See also paragraph [0046] which explains that the power management module includes a charging circuit, a power adjuster and a battery gauge which charges the battery with the power supplied for a power source outside the electronic device.
a processor operatively connected to the wireless charging circuit and the power management module, wherein the processor is configured to:
See figure 1 which discloses a processor 120. As set forth in paragraph [0049], the power management module is performed by the processor. See also paragraph [0021].
request identification information from an external device;
With reference to Figure 7 and paragraph [0098], Park discloses that an authentication initiator 701 (which is the portable electronic terminal 101) sends a packet (authentication message) to the authentication responder (which is the wireless charging pad). See also paragraphs [0099] (“authentication request”), [0122] and [0135]. Park explains that the message includes public authentication message information corresponding to a root organization providing an authentication security system (e.g., wireless power consortium (WPC)), a manufacturer authorized by the root organization (e.g., acme), and an individual product (e.g., wireless charging pad).
In addition, Louis in paragraph [0079] also discloses that it was known to use transmitter and/or receiver identifier to facilitate wireless charging and that the identifiers can be used for authorization to receive power wirelessly. See also paragraph [0085] of Louis which discloses receiving the transmitter identifier and the transmission of power to the receiver at a lower rate thereafter.
receive the identification information of the external device from the external device; and
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder) which was in response to the initial request from the electronic device. See also paragraph [0099].
determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). In addition, as discussed in paragraph [0101], Park discloses that if the received message is valid, then power from the authentication responder (wireless charging mode) may be supported. Park explains that this can be normal charging mode.
Park, however, does not specifically disclose determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device. However, as set forth above, in response to the received packet, the initiator may enter a normal charging mode as opposed to a fast charging mode while it makes a second authentication request. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0046],the charging circuity selects a charging mode (normal or fast charging) according to at least one of a type of the external power source (e.g., power source adaptor, universal serial bus (USB), and wireless charging), available power supply level from the power source (e.g., equal to or higher than 20 watt). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the received identification information includes information regarding power (low or high) since the power level is based on the information regarding the external device.
Nonetheless, Liu is directed to a charging method in which an electronic device (terminal 10) sends an inquiry to a charger. The inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger. See paragraph [0088]. The Examiner notes that Liu discloses that the received information includes information as to whether the charger supports a fast charging mode (high power) or a lower power mode. See also paragraphs [0029], [0063] and [0200]. See also paragraph [0147] which states that the charger does not support the fast charging mode and thus, charging occurs as the present (or “normal”) voltage value. See also paragraph [0154].
In addition, the Examiner finds that Louis, as set forth in paragraph [0085] also discloses the use of an identifier and the transmission of power at a low rate thereafter. See also paragraph [0117] of Louis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device. As set forth above, both Liu and Louis discloses of using identification information and thereafter operating in a low power rate or lower power mode. As explained by Liu, the request is specifically to determine the charging mode that is supported by the devices and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identification of the external device in order to determine the which type of charging mode is supported by the device. As explained by Liu in paragraph [005], this method will improve user experience. See also paragraph [0089].
in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power, request encrypted authentication information from the external device so as to perform authentication with respect to the external device;
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after the initial authentication a second authentication for a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0101] which states “the authentication initiator 701 may further make a second authentication request to the authentication responder 703 for fast charging.” See also paragraph [0007-0008] which discloses that the authentication is encrypted.
when the external device is an unauthenticated device, request the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power; and
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step (prior to authentication). As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
when the external device is an authenticated device, request the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power.
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after the initial authentication a second authentication for a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0109].
Regarding claim 2:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: when the external device can transmit a maximum of the first predetermined power, request the external device to transmit the first predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
Regarding claim 3:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit a request for the first predetermined power to the external device, based on the identification information of the external device;
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
charge the battery, based on the transmission of the first predetermined power by the external device; and
See paragraph [0046] which discloses “[t]he charging circuit 210 may charge the battery 189 with the power supplied from a power source outside the electronic device 101.”
request the encrypted authentication information from the external device while charging the battery, based on the transmission of the first predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
Regarding claim 4:
The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether wireless charging is possible, based on the configuration information of the external device; and when wireless charging is possible, determine whether the external device can perform fast wireless charging, based on the identification information of the external device.
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). In addition, as discussed in paragraph 0101], that if the received message is valid, then power from the authentication responder (wireless charging mode) may be supported. Park explains that this can be normal charging mode.
In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0046],the charging circuity selects a charging mode (normal or fast charging) according to the type of external power source and available power supply level from the power source.
Regarding claim 5:
The device of claim 1, further comprising an encryption authentication module configured to perform the authentication.
See paragraph [0107] which discloses that encryption is via an authentication security system.
Regarding claim 6:
The device of claim 5, wherein the encryption authentication module is embedded in the processor.
See paragraph [0021] which discloses that the processor may execute software to control at least one other component (e.g. a hardware or a software component of the electronic device).
Regarding claim 7:
A wireless charging transmitter, comprising:
Park is directed to a data communication method for wireless power charging. See the abstract and paragraph [0006] which discloses an electronic device (PRX/Smart Phone) 101 and an external electronic device (PTX/Wireless Charging Pad) 102 (wireless charging transmitter).
a coil;
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
Nonetheless, to the extent it is considered that the ‘electromagnetic induction’ does not include a coil, the Examiner finds that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Park’s electronic device includes a coil based on its teaching of wireless charging and electromagnetic induction. In addition, the Examiner finds that Louis is directed to a method for wireless charging (see paragraphs [0079] and [0097]). With reference to Figure 1 and paragraph [0071], Louis discloses an inductive power receiver which includes a receiving coil or coil 9 which provides power to a load 11. See also paragraphs [0073] and [0074-0075]. In addition, Loius discloses the transmitter including a coil 7 (see paragraph [0071])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil. As set forth above, both Park and Louis is directed to using induction for a wireless charging system. Louis discloses it was known for these systems to include a transmitting and a receiving coil in which the receiving coil is used to supply power to a load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil since Park is directed to inductive charging and Louis discloses that inductive charging uses coils. In addition, this would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of using electromagnetic induction in Park.
a wireless charging circuit electrically connected to the coil; and
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
As set forth above, Louis discloses of a coil connected to a wireless charging circuit (see paragraphs [0071]and [0073]) and further it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil for inductive charging as also explained above.
a controller operatively connected to the wireless charging circuit, wherein the controller is configured to:
As explained above with respect to the teaching of Park in view of Louis, Louis a controller 8 of the inductive power transmitter is configured to be connected to the wireless charging circuit. See paragraph [0072].
when the controller receives a request for performing wireless charging from a wireless charging receiver, transmit configuration information to the wireless charging receiver;
With reference to Figure 7 and paragraph [0098], Park discloses that an authentication initiator 701 (which is the portable electronic terminal 101) sends a packet (authentication message) to the authentication responder (which is the wireless charging pad). See also paragraphs [0099], [0122] and [0135]. Park explains that the message includes public authentication message information corresponding to a root organization providing an authentication security system (e.g., wireless power consortium (WPC)), a manufacturer authorized by the root organization (e.g., acme), and an individual product (e.g., wireless charging pad).
In addition, Louis in paragraph [0079] also discloses that it was known to use transmitter and/or receiver identifier to facilitate wireless charging and that the identifiers can be used for authorization to receive power wirelessly. See also paragraph [0085] of Louis which discloses receiving the transmitter identifier and the transmission of power to the receiver at a lower rate thereafter.
when the wireless charging receiver requests identification information as a response to the transmission of the configuration information, transmit the identification information including information on a maximum transmittable wireless power;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder) which was in response to the initial request from the electronic device.
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). Park, however, does not specifically disclose the second packet including information on a maximum transmittable power of the external device as a response to the first packet from the external device. However, as set forth in paragraph [0101], in response to the received packet, the initiator may enter a normal charging mode as opposed to a fast charging mode while it makes a second authentication request. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the received information includes information regarding power.
Nonetheless, Liu is directed to a charging method in which an electronic device (terminal 10) sends an inquiry to a charger. The inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger. See paragraph [0088]. The Examiner notes that Liu discloses that the received information includes information as to whether the charger supports a fast charging mode (maximum transmittable power) or a lower power mode. See also paragraphs [0029], [0063] and [0200].
See also paragraph [0147] which states that the charger does not support the fast charging mode and thus, charging occurs as the present (or “normal”) volage value. See also paragraph [0154]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the identification information including information on a maximum transmittable wireless power. As set forth above, both Liu and Louis discloses of using identification information and thereafter operating in a low power rate or lower power mode. As explained by Liu, the request is specifically to determine the charging mode that is supported by the devices and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identification of the external device in order to determine the which type of charging mode is supported by the device. As explained by Liu in paragraph [005], this method will improve user experience. See also paragraph [0089].
receive a request for encrypted authentication information from the wireless charging receiver, as a response to the transmission of the identification information;
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication, a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0101] which states “the authentication initiator 701 may further make a second authentication request to the authentication responder 703 for fast charging.”
transmit the encrypted authentication information in response to the request for the encrypted authentication information;
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication, a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0101] which states “the authentication initiator 701 may further make a second authentication request to the authentication responder 703 for fast charging.”
when the wireless charging receiver transmits an authentication completion message as a response to the transmission of the encrypted authentication information, transmit a second predetermined power to the wireless charging receiver; and
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication (second authentication), a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0109]
when the wireless charging receiver transmits an authentication failure message as a response to the transmission of the encrypted authentication information, transmit a first predetermined power that is lower than the second predetermined power to the wireless charging receiver regardless of the wireless charging transmitter is configured to transmit the second predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
Regarding claim 8:
The transmitter of claim 7, wherein the maximum transmittable wireless power is the first predetermined power or the second predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
Regarding claim 9:
The transmitter of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to receive the request for the encrypted authentication information from the wireless charging receiver, based on transmitting the maximum transmittable wireless power as the second predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
Regarding claim 10:
The transmitter of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to, when the maximum transmittable wireless power is the first predetermined power, transmit, to the wireless charging receiver, a command for configuring a transmission power as the first predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
Regarding claim 11:
The transmitter of claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive the request for the encrypted authentication information while transmitting the first predetermined power to the wireless charging receiver; and transmit the encrypted authentication information in response to the request.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
Regarding claim 15:
An electronic device, comprising:
Park is directed to a data communication method for wireless power charging. See the abstract and paragraph [0006] which discloses an electronic device (PRX/Smart Phone) 101 and an external electronic device (PTX/Wireless Charging Pad) 102
a battery;
See Figure 1, which discloses that the electronic device 101 includes a battery 189. See also paragraph [0020].
a coil configured to wirelessly receive power;
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
Nonetheless, to the extent it is considered that the ‘electromagnetic induction’ does not include a coil, the Examiner finds that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Park’s electronic device includes a coil based on its teaching of wireless charging and electromagnetic induction. In addition, the Examiner finds that Louis is directed to a method for wireless charging (see paragraphs [0079] and [0097]). With reference to Figure 1 and paragraph [0071], Louis discloses an inductive power receiver which includes a receiving coil or coil 9 which provides power to a load 11. See also paragraphs [0073] and [0074-0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a coil. As set forth above, both Park and Louis is directed to using induction for a wireless charging system. Louis discloses it was known for these systems to include a transmitting and a receiving coil in which the receiving coil is used to supply power to a load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil since Prk is directed to inductive charging and Louis discloses that inductive charging uses coils. In addition, this would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of using electromagnetic induction in Park.
a power reception circuit electrically connected to the coil;
With reference to paragraph [0046], Park discloses that the charging circuit 210 may select a charging mode according to at least one type of external power source which can include “wireless charging”. See also paragraph [0003] which discloses that the charging is via ‘electromagnetic induction’. See also paragraph [0129].
As set forth above, Louis discloses of a coil connected to a wireless charging circuit (see paragraph [0073]) and further it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a coil for inductive charging as also explained above.
a communication circuit; and
See Figure 1.
a processor, comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the power reception circuit and the communication circuit, and configured to:
See figure 1 which discloses a processor 120. As set forth in paragraph [0049], the power reception circuit and communication circuit is connected to the processor. See also paragraph [0021].
send, via the communication circuit, a first packet for requesting information on an external device to the external device;
With reference to Figure 7 and paragraph [0098], Park discloses that an authentication initiator 701 (which is the portable electronic terminal 101) sends a packet (authentication message) to the authentication responder (which is the wireless charging pad). See also paragraphs [0099], [0122] and [0135]. Park explains that the message includes public authentication message information corresponding to a root organization providing an authentication security system (e.g., wireless power consortium (WPC)), a manufacturer authorized by the root organization (e.g., acme), and an individual product (e.g., wireless charging pad).
receive, via the communication circuit, a second packet including information on a maximum transmittable power of the external device as a response to the first packet from the external device;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). Park, however, does not specifically disclose the second packet including information on a maximum transmittable power of the external device as a response to the first packet from the external device. However, as set forth in paragraph [0101], in response to the received packet, the initiator may enter a normal charging mode as opposed to a fast charging mode while it makes a second authentication request. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the received information includes information regarding power.
Nonetheless, Liu is directed to a charging method in which an electronic device (terminal 10) sends an inquiry to a charger. The inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger. See paragraph [0088]. The Examiner notes that Liu discloses that the received information includes information as to whether the charger supports a fast charging mode (maximum transmittable power) or a lower power mode. See also paragraphs [0029], [0063] and [0200].
See also paragraph [0147] which states that the charger does not support the fast charging mode and thus, charging occurs as the present (or “normal”) volage value. See also paragraph [0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the identification information including information on a maximum transmittable wireless power. As set forth above, both Liu and Louis discloses of using identification information and thereafter operating in a low power rate or lower power mode. As explained by Liu, the request is specifically to determine the charging mode that is supported by the devices and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identification of the external device in order to determine the which type of charging mode is supported by the device. As explained by Liu in paragraph [005], this method will improve user experience. See also paragraph [0089].
based on the information on the maximum transmittable power of the external device, determine a level of power that the external device can transmit;
As explained above, Liu discloses the charger can either support (high power) or not support (lower power) fast charging mode. See Figure 2 of Liu. As set forth in S101, a charging mode is first obtain and then in S103, a fast charging instruction is sent to the charger. In addition, Park discloses that the device may operate in normal or fast charging modes.
in accordance with a determination that the external device can transmit a first level of power,
Liu discloses in paragraph [0122], that after the terminal receives the charging mode of the charger, the terminal sends an instruction to the charger and then the charger subsequently configures itself to output a voltage ‘according to the instruction’. See also Figure 2 and paragraphs [0087] and [0224].
send, via the communication circuit, a third packet for requesting the first level of power to the external device;
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step.
control the power reception circuit to charge the battery with received power from the external device based on the first level of power; and
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step.
perform an authentication with the external device to increase the first level of power to a second level of power higher than the first level of power.
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication, a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected.
Claim(s) 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US Patent Pub. 2019/0021001 in view of Liu et al. US Patent Pub. 2019/0089170
Regarding claim 12:
A method for wirelessly charging an electronic device, comprising:
Park is directed to a data communication method for wireless power charging. See the abstract and paragraph [0006] which discloses an electronic device (PRX/Smart Phone) 101 and an external electronic device (PTX/Wireless Charging Pad) 102.
through a wireless charging circuit, requesting identification information from an external device;
With reference to Figure 7 and paragraph [0098], Park discloses that an authentication initiator 701 (which is the portable electronic terminal 101) sends a packet (authentication message) to the authentication responder (which is the wireless charging pad). See also paragraphs [0099], [0122] and [0135]. Park explains that the message includes public authentication message information corresponding to a root organization providing an authentication security system (e.g., wireless power consortium (WPC)), a manufacturer authorized by the root organization (e.g., acme), and an individual product (e.g., wireless charging pad).
receiving the identification information of the external device from the external device;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder) which was in response to the initial request from the electronic device.
determining whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power, based on the identification information of the external device;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). In addition, as discussed in paragraph 0101], that if the received message is valid, then power from the authentication responder (wireless charging mode) may be supported. Park explains that this can be normal charging mode.
Park, however, does not specifically disclose determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device. However, as set forth above, in response to the received packet, the initiator may enter a normal charging mode as opposed to a fast charging mode while it makes a second authentication request. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0046],the charging circuity selects a charging mode (normal or fast charging) according to the type of external power source and available power supply level from the power source. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the received identification information includes information regarding power (low or high) since the power level is based on the type of charger.
Nonetheless, Liu is directed to a charging method in which an electronic device (terminal 10) sends an inquiry to a charger. The inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger. See paragraph [0088]. The Examiner notes that Liu discloses that the received information includes information as to whether the charger supports a fast charging mode (high power) or a lower power mode. See also paragraphs [0029], [0063] and [0200].
See also paragraph [0147] which states that the charger does not support the fast charging mode and thus, charging occurs as the present (or “normal”) volage value. See also paragraph [0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device. As set forth above, Liu discloses of using identification information and thereafter operating in a low power rate or lower power mode. As explained by Liu, the request is specifically to determine the charging mode that is supported by the devices and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identification of the external device in order to determine the which type of charging mode is supported by the device. As explained by Liu in paragraph [005], this method will improve user experience. See also paragraph [0089].
in response to determining that the external device can transmit the second predetermined power, requesting encrypted authentication information from the external device so as to perform authentication with respect to the external device;
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication, a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0101] which states “the authentication initiator 701 may further make a second authentication request to the authentication responder 703 for fast charging.”
when the external device is an unauthenticated device, requesting the external device to transmit a first predetermined power regardless of whether the external device is configured to transmit the second predetermined power; and
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
when the external device is an authenticated device, requesting the external device to transmit a second predetermined power that is higher than the first predetermined power.
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication (second authentication), a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected. See also paragraph [0109]
Regarding claim 13:
The method of claim 12, comprising: when the external device can transmit a maximum of the first predetermined power, requesting the external device to transmit the first predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
Regarding claim 14:
The method of claim 12, comprising: transmitting a request for the first predetermined power to the external device, based on the identification information of the external device;
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0109], the authentication requires is a request for a predetermined power (in paragraph [0109] the request is for fast charging). See also paragraph [0102] which discloses that the request is for a change of the wireless charging mode. In addition, in paragraph [0138], the request can be for increasing or decreasing charging power from the external electronic device.
charging a battery, based on the transmission of the first predetermined power by the external device; and
See paragraph [0046] which discloses “[t]he charging circuit 210 may charge the battery 189 with the power supplied from a power source outside the electronic device 101.”
requesting the encrypted authentication information from the external device while charging the battery, based on the transmission of the first predetermined power.
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step. As further explained therein, a second authentication request for ‘fast charging’ is required and thus, even if the external device is configured to transmit in a higher (second) power, the initial charging is via the first power (lower power mode).
Regarding claim 16:
A method for wirelessly charging an electronic device, comprising:
Park is directed to a data communication method for wireless power charging,. See the abstract and paragraph [0006] which discloses an electronic device (PRX/Smart Phone) and an external electronic device (PTX/Wireless Charging Pad).
sending, via a communication circuit, a first packet for requesting information on an external device to the external device;
With reference to Figure 7 and paragraph [0098], Park discloses that an authentication initiator 701 (which is within a portable terminal ) sends a packet (authentication message) to the authentication responder (which is with a wireless charging pad). See also paragraphs [0099], [0122] and [0135]
receiving, via the communication circuit, a second packet including information on a maximum transmittable power of the external device as a response to the first packet from the external device;
As set forth in paragraph [0100] Park discloses of receiving a second packet from the wireless charging pad (responder). Park, however, does not specifically disclose the second packet including information on a maximum transmittable power of the external device as a response to the first packet from the external device. However, as set forth in paragraph [0101], in response to the received packet, the initiator may enter a normal charging mode as opposed to a fast charging mode while it makes a second authentication request. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the received information includes information regarding power.
Nonetheless, Liu is directed to a charging method in which an electronic device (terminal 10) sends an inquiry to a charger. The inquiry request is used to obtain a charging mode supported by the charger. See paragraph [0088]. The Examiner notes that Liu discloses that the received information includes information as to whether the charger supports a fast charging mode (maximum transmittable power) or a lower power mode. See also paragraphs [0029], [0063] and [0200].
See also paragraph [0147] which states that the charger does not support the fast charging mode and thus, charging occurs as the present (or “normal”) volage value. See also paragraph [0154]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine whether the external device can transmit a first predetermined power or a second predetermined power higher than the first predetermined power based on the identification information of the external device. As set forth above, Liu discloses of using identification information and thereafter operating in a low power rate or lower power mode. As explained by Liu, the request is specifically to determine the charging mode that is supported by the devices and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the identification of the external device in order to determine the which type of charging mode is supported by the device. As explained by Liu in paragraph [005], this method will improve user experience. See also paragraph [0089].
based on the information on the maximum transmittable power of the external device, determining a level of power that the external device can transmit;
As explained above, Liu discloses the charger can either support (high power) or not support (lower power) fast charging mode. See Figure 2 of Liu. As set forth in S101, a charging mode is first obtain and then in S103, a fast charging instruction is sent to the charger. In addition, Park discloses that the device may operate in normal or fast charging modes.
in accordance with a determination that the external device can transmit a first level of power, sending, via the communication circuit, a third packet for requesting the first level of power to the external device;
Liu discloses in paragraph [0122], that after the terminal receives the charging mode of the charger, the terminal sends an instruction to the charger and then the charger subsequently configures itself to output a voltage ‘according to the instruction’. See also Figure 2 and paragraphs [0087] and [0224].
controlling a power reception circuit to charge a battery with received power from the external device based on the first level of power; and
As explained in paragraph [0101] of Park, a low power (first level of power) is used during an initial step.
performing an authentication with the external device to increase the first level of power to a second level of power higher than the first level of power.
See paragraph [0104] which discloses that after authentication, a fast charging mode (higher power) is selected.
Conclusion
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3992
Conferee:
/MATTHEW E HENEGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 /M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 The Examiner notes that the Reissue Declaration states that the error is corrected by claim 15 which removes this claimed required (i.e. Request encrypted authentication information from the external device so as to perform authentication with respect to the external device”). The Examiner also acknowledges that Applicant’s statement that “Claim 15 coves overlooked aspects of the original disclosure that were not covered by claim 1 of the ‘687 patent”. The Examiner notes that it has not been shown that the reissue claim 15 is unrelated to subject matter that was surrendered during the prosecution of the original application since claim 15. The Examiner finds that claim 15 is directed to the same invention albeit recited in broader form. See MPEP 1412.01(III).