DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youn KR 100943543 B1 (hereinafter Youn).
In regards to claim 1, Youn teaches a latch assembly comprising: a housing (100, 260) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see fig 1); at least one locking bar (one of110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing (see fig 3A), the at least one locking bar transversely moveable relative to the longitudinal axis (as it pivots, thus having two components of movement, one of these components are traverse to the longitudinal axis); a bolt (210 and/or 220) mounted at the first end of the housing (see fig 1), the bolt selectively moveable relative to the first end of the housing (see figs 3A-3C); a carriage (240) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis, the carriage having a first end (end facing 220 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end facing 260 wrt fig 1), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1) and the second end of the carriage disposed proximate the at least one locking bar (see fig 3a); and an interposer member (250 and/or 230) independently slidable along the longitudinal axis relative to the carriage (see figs 3a and 4b), wherein upon sliding the interposer member towards the second end of the housing, the interposer member engages the at least one locking bar and moves the at least one locking bar out of an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see figs 3a and 3b), thereby allowing the bolt to retract relative to the first end of the housing (see fig 4c).
In regards to claim 2, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the interposer member is biased along the longitudinal axis At least via 270) such that at least a portion of the interposer member projects (from the housing) adjacent the bolt (see fig 2).
3. The latch assembly of claim 2, further comprising an axial biasing member (considering the other of 110 and 114 as the axial biasing member, at least as it biases 250 axially due to 252’), the axial biasing member directly engaged with the interposer member (see fig 3a).
In regards to claim 4, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the interposer member is disposed at least partially within the bolt (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 5, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the interposer member includes a nose (252) and a tail (253 and 254), the nose having at least one oblique surface (252’).
In regards to claim 6, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 5, wherein the second end of the carriage defines at least one notch (between 245; see fig 1 and fig 3a), at least a portion of the tail received within the at least one notch (see fig 1 and 3a).
In regards to claim 7, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 5, wherein the tail includes at least one curved surface (curve going into 254, see fig 1).
In regards to claim 8, Youn teaches the latch assembly comprising: a housing (260 and 100) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see fig 1); at least one locking bar (on of 110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing (see fig 3a), the at least one locking bar transversely moveable (as it pivots, thus having two components of movements, one of these components are traverse to the longitudinal axis) relative to the longitudinal axis between at least a blocking position (see fig 3a) and an unblocked position (see fig 4b); a bolt (210 and/or 220) mounted at the first end of the housing (see fig 2), the bolt selectively moveable between at least an extended position (see fig 3a) and a retracted position (see fig 4C) relative to the first end of the housing; a carriage (240) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis (see fig 3A), the carriage having a first end (end with 241-243) and an opposite second end (end with 247), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1), wherein when the at least one locking bar is in the blocking position, the at least one locking bar is positioned in an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see fig 3a), thereby restricting the bolt from moving from the extended position towards the retracted position; and an interposer member (230 and/or 250) movable between at least an engaged position (see fig 4b) and a disengaged position (see fig 3a) relative to the at least one locking bar along the longitudinal axis, wherein upon moving the interposer member towards the engaged position, the interposer member engages and moves the at least one locking bar towards the unblocked position (see fig 4b), thereby removing the at least one locking bar from the axial path of the second end of the carriage and allowing the bolt to move towards the retracted position (see fig 4c).
In regards to claim 9, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, further comprising an axial biasing member (the other of 110 and 114; it at least biases 250 axially.) biasing the interposer member towards the disengaged position (due to 245’, 110 would press 250 to be in the position of fig 3a, if 250 was moved slightly to the right wrt fig 3a).
In regards to claim 10, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 9, wherein the axial biasing member directly engages with the interposer member (see fig 3a).
In regards to claim 11, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the interposer member is at least partially disposed within the carriage (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 12, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the interposer member includes a nose (230) and a tail (250) extending along the longitudinal axis, the tail configured to engage with the at least one locking bar in the engaged position (see fig 4b).
In regards to claim 13, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 12, wherein the nose at least partially projects from the bolt when the bolt is in the extended position (see fig 12).
In regards to claim 14, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 13, wherein the bolt includes an oblique surface (234), the nose disposed at the oblique surface (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 15, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the interposer member is independently slidable relative to both the carriage (see figs 3a and 4b) and the bolt (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 16, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the bolt is pivotable relative to the interposer member (see fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Fletcher US 2656205 A (hereinafter Fletcher).
In regards to claim 17, Youn teaches the method of operating a latch assembly installed on a door (see fig 2), the method comprising: providing a latch assembly installed on a door (see fig 2), the latch assembly including a housing (100 and 260) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (an end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see fig 1), at least one locking bar (110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing (see fig 3a), the at least one locking bar transversely moveable (as it pivots, thus having two components of movements, one of these components are traverse to the longitudinal axis) relative to the longitudinal axis, a bolt (210 and/or 220) mounted at the first end of the housing (see fig 1), the bolt selectively moveable relative to the first end of the housing (see figs 3a and 4c), a carriage (240) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1), the carriage having a first end (end with 241-243) and an opposite second end (end with 247), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1) and the second end of the carriage is disposed proximate the at least one locking bar (see fig 3a), and an interposer member (230 and/or 250) independently slidable along the longitudinal axis relative to the carriage (see fig 3a and 4b); from an open position (4a; para 79), swinging the door towards an outer wall fixing the door to close the door (para 81), wherein when the door is in the open position, the latch assembly is automatically biased so that the bolt and at least a portion of the interposer member extend from the first end of the housing (see fig 2); contacting the strike plate with the interposer member extending from the first end of the housing such that the interposer member slides towards the second end of the housing and engages the at least one locking bar to move the at least one locking bar out of an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see fig 4b; para 81); and upon moving the at least one locking bar out of the axial path of the second of the carriage, retracting the bolt relative to the first end of the housing (see fig 4c).
However, Youn does not teach a strike, Youn only teaches an outer wall fixing the door.
Fletcher teaches a similar device with a strike plate (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have provided Youn with a strike plate such as in Fletcher as doing so is a well-known way of engaging an Outerwall fixing the door, providing for increased security and smoother operation.
In regards to claim 18, Youn in view of Fletcher teaches the method of claim 17, wherein when the interposer member slides towards the second end of the housing via contact with the strike plate, the interposer member slides independently from the carriage and the bolt (Youn: see figs 4a-4c).
In regards to claim 19, Youn in view of fletcher teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising opening the door from a closed position (Youn: fig 3a; para 70), wherein the bolt contacts the strike plate and pivots relative to the interposer member (Youn: para 76) causing the interposer member to slide along the longitudinal axis (Youn: see figs 1 and 3a-3c; para 76).
In regards to claim 20, Youn in view of Fletcher teaches the method of claim 17, wherein when the door swings towards the strike plate, the interposer member contacts the strike plate prior to the bolt (Youn: para 81).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Romero US 20180328076 A1 teaches a locking bar having movement fully transversely to a longitudinal axis.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675