DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not all persuasive. When reinterpreted to consider 250 alone as Youn’s interposer member, Youn still reads on independent claims 1 and 8. Claim 17 however overcomes the prior art due to its further limitations regarding the interposer member and the nose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, and 16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, 8, and 17 “at least a portion of the nose projecting from the oblique surface along the longitudinal axis” is unclear. From the claims, as written, it appears the nose is apart of the oblique surface however from the original disclosure the nose and the oblique surface are separate. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is assuming the limitation to read “at least a portion of the nose projecting proximate to the oblique surface along the longitudinal axis”.
In regards to claim 13 “wherein the nose at least partially projects from the bolt when the bolt is in the extended position” is unclear. From the claims, as written, it appears the nose is a part of the bolt however from the original disclosure the nose and the bolt are separate. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is assumed to read “wherein the nose at least partially projects proximate the bolt when the bolt is in the extended position”
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected due to their dependencies on the rejected claims above.
Allowable Subject Matter
If properly written to overcome the 112 rejection claims 17-20 would be allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youn KR 100943543 B1 (hereinafter Youn).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of the previous 112 rejections, Youn teaches a latch assembly comprising: a housing (100 and 260) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see fig 1); at least one locking bar (at least one of 110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing (see fig 3A), the at least one locking bar transversely moveable relative to the longitudinal axis (as it pivots, thus having two components of movement, one of these components are traverse to the longitudinal axis); a bolt (230) mounted at the first end of the housing, the bolt selectively moveable relative to the first end of the housing, and the bolt having an oblique surface (236) and an opposite planar surface (234, planer at least wrt 226; note the claim has not established a frame of reference for “oblique” and “planar”); a carriage (24) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1), the carriage having a first end (end facing 220 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end facing 260 wrt fig 1), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1) and the second end of the carriage disposed proximate the at least one locking bar (see fig 3a); and an interposer member (250) independently slidable along the longitudinal axis relative to the carriage and the bolt (see fig 3a and 3b), the interposer member formed as a one piece member having a nose (253) and an opposite tail (252) extending along the longitudinal axis, the nose of the interposer member disposed proximate the oblique surface of the bolt (see fig 1) with at least a portion of the nose projecting from the oblique surface along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1, also note para 66), wherein upon sliding the interposer member towards the second end of the housing via the nose, the tail of the interposer member engages the at least one locking bar and moves the at least one locking bar out of an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see figs 4a and 4b), thereby allowing the bolt to retract relative to the first end of the housing (see fig 4C).
In regards to claim 2, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the interposer member is biased along the longitudinal axis (at least via 270; also note para 63).
In regards to claim 3, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 2, further comprising an axial biasing member (considering the other of 110 and 114 as the axial biasing member; at least as it biases 250 axially due to 252’), the axial biasing member directly engaged with the interposer member (see fig 3a).
In regards to claim 5, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the nose of the interposer member has at least one oblique surface (the dog leg of 253).
In regards to claim 6, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the second end of the carriage defines at least one notch (between 245), at least a portion of the tail received within the at least one notch (see fig 1 and 3a).
In regards to claim 8, Youn teaches a latch assembly comprising: a housing (100 and 260) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see 1); at least one locking bar (at least one of 110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing, the at least one locking bar transversely moveable relative to the longitudinal axis (since 110 rotates a component of movement is transverse to the longitudinal axis) between at least a blocking position (see fig 3a) and an unblocked position (see fig 4b); a bolt (230) mounted at the first end of the housing (see figs 1 and 2), the bolt selectively moveable between at least an extended position (see fig 3a) and a retracted position (see fig 4c) relative to the first end of the housing (see fig 2), and the bolt having an oblique surface (236, oblique relative to 234) and an opposite planar surface (234, note the claim does not establish a frame of reference for planar and oblique); a carriage (240) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1), the carriage having a first end (end with 241-243) and an opposite second end (end with 247), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1), wherein when the at least one locking bar is in the blocking position, the at least one locking bar is positioned in an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see fig 3a), thereby restricting the bolt from moving from the extended position towards the retracted position; and an interposer member (250) movable between at least an engaged position (see fig 4b) and a disengaged position (see fig 3a) relative to the at least one locking bar along the longitudinal axis, the interposer member formed as a one piece member having a nose (253) and an opposite tail (252) extending along the longitudinal axis with the nose at least partially projecting from the oblique surface of the bolt when in the disengaged position (see fig 1), the interposer member including the nose and the tail being independently slidable relative to the carriage and the bolt when moving between the disengaged position and the engaged position (see figs 3a and 4b), wherein upon moving the interposer member towards the engaged position via the nose, the tail of the interposer member engages and moves the at least one locking bar towards the unblocked position, thereby removing the at least one locking bar from the axial path of the second end of the carriage and allowing the bolt to move towards the retracted position (see figs 4b-4c).
In regards to claim 9, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, further comprising an axial biasing member (at least the other of 110 and 114 biasing axially via the slope of 252) biasing the interposer member towards the disengaged position (see fig 4a).
In regards to claim 10, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 9, wherein the axial biasing member directly engages with the interposer member (see fig 4a).
In regards to claim 11, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the interposer member is at least partially disposed within the carriage (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 13, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the nose at least partially projects from the bolt when the bolt is in the extended position (see fig 1; also note para 66, this describes 230 contacting 250).
In regards to claim 16, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the bolt is pivotable relative to the interposer member (see fig 1).
**** Below is a separate interpretation of Youn claim 1 for the purposes of rejecting claim 7.
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of the previous 112 rejections, Youn teaches a latch assembly comprising: a housing (100 and 260) having a first end (end of 260 facing 240 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end of 100) defining a longitudinal axis (see fig 1); at least one locking bar (at least one of 110) disposed proximate the second end of the housing (see fig 3A), the at least one locking bar transversely moveable relative to the longitudinal axis (as it pivots, thus having two components of movement, one of these components are traverse to the longitudinal axis); a bolt (230) mounted at the first end of the housing, the bolt selectively moveable relative to the first end of the housing, and the bolt having an oblique surface (236) and an opposite planar surface (234, planer at least wrt 226; note the claim has not established a frame of reference for “oblique” and “planar”); a carriage (24) disposed within the housing and slidable along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1), the carriage having a first end (end facing 220 wrt fig 1) and an opposite second end (end facing 260 wrt fig 1), the bolt pivotably coupled to the first end of the carriage (see fig 1) and the second end of the carriage disposed proximate the at least one locking bar (see fig 3a); and an interposer member (250) independently slidable along the longitudinal axis relative to the carriage and the bolt (see fig 3a and 3b), the interposer member formed as a one piece member having a nose (254) and an opposite tail (252) extending along the longitudinal axis, the nose of the interposer member disposed proximate the oblique surface of the bolt (see fig 1) with at least a portion of the nose projecting from the oblique surface along the longitudinal axis (see fig 1, also note para 66, at least it’s thickness projects along the longitudinal axis), wherein upon sliding the interposer member towards the second end of the housing via the nose, the tail of the interposer member engages the at least one locking bar and moves the at least one locking bar out of an axial path of the second end of the carriage (see figs 4a and 4b), thereby allowing the bolt to retract relative to the first end of the housing (see fig 4C).
In regards to claim 7, Youn teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the tail includes at least one curved surface (when curving to 253, see fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 would be allowed if properly written to overcome the 112 rejections.
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the 112 of the independent is overcome.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER H WATSON whose telephone number is (571)272-5393. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 - 5.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675