DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upputuri et al (US Pat. 12,025,661; hereinafter referred to as Upputuri) in view of Kwon et al (US Pat. Pub. 2011/0320896; hereinafter referred to as Kwon) in view of Osawa et al (US Pat. 5,903,579; hereinafter referred to as Osawa).
As per claim 1: Upputuri teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a functional data path (col. 7, lines 8-10); and
a scan-data path, at least a portion of which is separate from the functional data path (Fig. 1, scan channels 501-520);
wherein the portion of the scan-data path which is separate from the functional data path comprises a combined gating/delay element (Fig. 1, 105) for preventing a scan-data signal from reaching any elements downstream of the combined gating/delay element during a functional mode (col. 5, lines 45-53; scan path is necessarily not selected and thus gated during functional mode).
Not explicitly disclosed is the gating/delay element providing some or all of a desired signal delay in the portion of the scan-data path which is separate from the functional data path; and wherein the functional data path goes from a first flip-flop to a second flip-flop; and wherein the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop to a third flip flop. However, Kwon in an analogous art teaches a scan path (Fig. 5, 540) comprising a gating/delay element (Fig. 5, 542) for providing signal delay in the scan-data path (Fig. 5, 543; paragraph 33); wherein the functional data path (Fig. 5, 530) goes from a first flip-flop (Fig. 5, 510) to a second flip-flop (Fig. 5, 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the scan path of Kwon in the circuit of Upputuri. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have provided a known means for lowering power consumption in the scan path (paragraph 31).
Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop to a third flip flop. However, Osawa in an analogous art teaches a scan path (Fig. 4, TC) comprising at least one flip-flop (Fig. 6, 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the scan path of Kwon with flip flops. In doing so, Kwon teaches the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop (Fig. 5, 510) to a third flip flop (flip flop 15 of Osawa in the scan path 540 of Kwon).
This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because flip-flops were necessary in a scan path, as explained by Osawa in col. 2, lines 37-40.
As per claim 7: Upputuri teaches a method comprising:
inserting a combined gating / delay element (Fig. 1, 105) into a portion of a scan-data path of an integrated circuit that is separate from a functional data path of the integrated circuit (Fig. 1, scan channels 501-520);
wherein the combined gating / delay element prevents a scan-data signal from reaching any elements downstream of the combined gating / delay element during a functional mode (col. 5, lines 45-53; scan path is necessarily not selected and thus gated during functional mode).
Not explicitly disclosed is the gating/delay element providing some or all of a desired signal delay in the portion of the scan-data path which is separate from the functional data path; and wherein the functional data path goes from a first flip-flop to a second flip-flop; and wherein the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop to a third flip flop. However, Kwon in an analogous art teaches a scan path (Fig. 5, 540) comprising a gating/delay element (Fig. 5, 542) for providing signal delay in the scan-data path (Fig. 5, 543; paragraph 33); wherein the functional data path (Fig. 5, 530) goes from a first flip-flop (Fig. 5, 510) to a second flip-flop (Fig. 5, 520).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the scan path of Kwon in the circuit of Upputuri. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have provided a known means for lowering power consumption in the scan path (paragraph 31).
Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop to a third flip flop. However, Osawa in an analogous art teaches a scan path (Fig. 4, TC) comprising at least one flip-flop (Fig. 6, 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the scan path of Kwon with flip flops. In doing so, Kwon teaches the scan-data path goes from the first flip-flop (Fig. 5, 510) to a third flip flop (flip flop 15 of Osawa in the scan path 540 of Kwon).
This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because flip-flops were necessary in a scan path, as explained by Osawa in col. 2, lines 37-40.
As per claims 2, 8: Upputuri further teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 and method of claim 7, wherein the combined gating / delay element comprises an AND gate, a NAND gate, or a NOR gate (col. 5, lines 45-49; Fig. 1, 105).
As per claims 5, 11:
Kwon further teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 and method of claim 7, wherein the scan-data path further comprises one or more delay elements downstream of the combined gating / delay element (Fig. 5, 543); and wherein the combined gating / delay element and the one or more delay elements downstream of the combined gating / delay element together provide all of the desired signal delay in the portion of the scan-data path which is separate from the functional data path (See Fig. 5, 543 providesd necessary delay for the scan path 540 which is separate from data path D).
As per claims 6, 12:
Kwon further teaches the integrated circuit of claim 5 and method of claim 7, wherein the one or more delay elements downstream of the combined gating / delay element comprise one or more buffers (Fig. 5, 562) and/or one or more inverters (Fig. 5, 561).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upputuri in view of Kwon in view of Osawa in view of Datta et al (US Pat. Pub. 2016/0124043; hereinafter referred to as Datta).
As per claims 3, 9: Upputuri et al teach the integrated circuit of claim 2 and method of claim 8 above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the combined gating / delay element comprises a NAND gate comprising a first and second transistors in series, the second transistor being closer to a ground connection than is the first transistor; and wherein a scan-enable source of the integrated circuit is connected to an input of the NAND gate leading to the first transistor. However, Datta in an analogous art teaches a NAND gate (Fig. 9, 810) comprising a first and second transistors in series (Fig. 9, 925 and 930), the second transistor being closer to a ground connection than is the first transistor (Fig. 9, 930); and wherein a scan-enable source of the integrated circuit is connected to an input of the NAND gate leading to the first transistor (Fig. 9, 925).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the NAND gate of Datta in the circuit of Upputuri. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because any suitable logic gate could have been used to perform the functionality required by Upputuri while providing expected results.
As per claims 4, 10: Upputuri et al teach the integrated circuit of claim 2 and method of claim 8 above. Not explicitly disclosed is wherein the combined gating / delay element comprises a NOR gate comprising a first and second transistors in series, the first transistor being closer to a source voltage connection than is the second transistor; and wherein a scan-enable source of the integrated circuit is connected to an input of the NOR gate leading to the second transistor. However, Datta in an analogous art teaches a NOR gate (Fig. 11, 1010) comprising a first and second transistors in series (Fig. 11, 1110 and 1115), the first transistor being closer to a source voltage connection than is the second transistor (Fig. 11, 1110 is closer to Vdd); and wherein a scan-enable source of the integrated circuit is connected to an input of the NOR gate leading to the second transistor (Fig. 11, 1120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the NOR gate of Datta in the circuit of Upputuri. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because any suitable logic gate could have been used to perform the functionality required by Upputuri while providing expected results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111