DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pajic (US#2016/0039525).
Regarding claim 20, Pajic discloses a tray assembly for a passenger seat 128 for a transportation vehicle, comprising: a tray table 104 pivotably coupled to a first support arm 116 at a first corner of the tray table and pivotably coupled to a second support arm 116 at a second corner of the tray table, the tray table being pivotably coupled to the first support arm and the second support arm that are coupled to the passenger seat to pivotably move between a stow position (Fig. 1A) where the tray table is substantially parallel and anchored to a seatback of the passenger seat and an open position (Fig. 1B, service position) where the tray table is substantially parallel to a floor of the transportation vehicle and released away from the seatback, wherein the tray table further includes:
at least one wireless charging module 124 configured to wirelessly charge an electronic device 108 when the electronic device is within a threshold distance from the at least one wireless charging module ([0062], lines 13-18, “It is noted that the tray table 104 may be configured to inductively or otherwise wirelessly charge the electronic device 108 in some embodiments. Therefore, the electronic device 108 may be charged or powered by placing it on or near the tray table 104, or in the inner tray 124.”).
The inner tray 124 rotates in an opening 112 which extends through both a top surface and bottom surface of the tray table 104, such that the inner tray extends to both the top and bottom surfaces of the tray table and thus creates the following: a first charging area on the top surface of the tray table (see Fig. 1B orientation), the top surface being a surface on a top side of the tray table with respect to the floor when the tray table is in the open position, a location of the first charging area corresponding to a location of the at least one wireless charging module, and a second charging area on the bottom surface of the tray table, the bottom surface being a surface on a bottom side of the tray table facing the floor when the tray table is in the open position (see Fig. 1A orientation), a location of the second charging area corresponding to a location of the at least one wireless charging module; and a device holding structure configured to hold the electronic device to face the bottom surface of the tray table (see Fig. 1A orientation) and close to the second charging area on the bottom surface within the threshold distance to wirelessly charge the electronic device ([0075], “It is noted that the electronic device 108 may be removably secured to the inner tray 124 in various ways. For example, the electronic device 108 and inner tray 124 may comprise coupling or mating fasteners, which releasably hold the electronic device to the inner tray. Alternatively or in addition, the electronic device 108 may be removably secured to the inner tray 124 by a friction fit or magnets.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pajic (US#2016/0039525).
Regarding claim 21, Pajic discloses one inner tray 124 and thus one wireless charging module capable of charging the electronic device 108 at the top or bottom surface of the tray table 104 as discussed above in detail with respect to claim 20. Pajic fails to disclose a second wireless charging module different from the first wireless charging module and configured to wirelessly charge the electronic device when the electronic device is within the threshold distance from the second wireless charging module by contacting the second charging area on the bottom surface of the tray table. However, it would have been an obvious design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pajic by including a second opening 112 in the tray table 104 receiving a second inner tray 24 (i.e. second charging module) as duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The inclusion of the second opening in the tray table and the second inner tray (second charging module) would allow for charging multiple devices simultaneously. The addition of the second inner tray (second charging module) would provide the claimed two distinct wireless charging modules, each capable of being at the top or bottom surface of the tray table.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the applicant’s arguments are accurate and persuasive. Claim 1 was amended to include the previously indicated allowable subject matter of objected claim 6. Pajic (US#2016/0039525) fails to disclose or suggest wherein the at least one electrical outlet 208 (Fig. 2B) is accessible with the tray table in the stow position (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 11, the inner tray element 124 of Pajic (US#2016/0039525) can be viewed as a power supply bar attached to and movable with the tray table 104 and including an electrical outlet 208 (Fig. 2B). However, Pajic and the remaining prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the collective following: a power supply bar including at least one first-surface electrical outlet at a first surface of the power supply bar and at least one second-surface electrical outlet at a second surface of the power supply bar different from the first surface; wherein the power supply bar is attached to the tray table to move with the tray table and is positioned to have the at least one first-surface electrical outlet face substantially upward with respect to the floor and away from the passenger seat when the tray table is in the open position, and wherein the power supply bar is positioned to have the at least one second-surface electrical outlet face substantially upward with respect to the floor and away from the passenger seat when the tray table is in the stow position.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1 and Pajic (US#2016/0039525), and as previously stated above, the applicant's arguments are accurate and persuasive.
Regarding claim 20, the applicant’s arguments with respect to Pajic (US#2016/0039525) are not persuasive. Fig. 1A of Pajic clearly shows the electronic device 108 secured to the inner tray 124, and thus charging, when the tray table 104 is in the stow position. As discussed above, the inner tray 124 rotates in an opening 112 which extends through both a top surface and bottom surface of the tray table 104, such that the inner tray extends to both the top and bottom surfaces of the tray table and thus creates the following: a first charging area on the top surface of the tray table (see Fig. 1B orientation), the top surface being a surface on a top side of the tray table with respect to the floor when the tray table is in the open position, a location of the first charging area corresponding to a location of the at least one wireless charging module, and a second charging area on the bottom surface of the tray table, the bottom surface being a surface on a bottom side of the tray table facing the floor when the tray table is in the open position (see Fig. 1A orientation), a location of the second charging area corresponding to a location of the at least one wireless charging module; and a device holding structure configured to hold the electronic device to face the bottom surface of the tray table (see Fig. 1A orientation) and close to the second charging area on the bottom surface within the threshold distance to wirelessly charge the electronic device ([0075], “It is noted that the electronic device 108 may be removably secured to the inner tray 124 in various ways. For example, the electronic device 108 and inner tray 124 may comprise coupling or mating fasteners, which releasably hold the electronic device to the inner tray. Alternatively or in addition, the electronic device 108 may be removably secured to the inner tray 124 by a friction fit or magnets.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
It is noted Schultheis (US# 2014/0167457) discloses multiple wired charging modules 12 on a top surface 16 of the tray table 10 (Fig. 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677