DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/31/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending on this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Under remarks, with respect to claim 1, applicant argued: First, Hwang does not disclose that the satellite speed and location information constitutes "one or more configuration parameters indicating propagation delay." Hwang describes separate operations in which a base station informs a terminal of satellite speed and location information at S1410 and the terminal thereafter measures propagation delay at S 1420. Second, Hwang does not disclose the limitation "sending, by the wireless device and based on the indicated propagation delay”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following:
Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. discloses a method comprising: sending, by a server (paragraph 0157 discloses a base station for NTN network) and to a wireless device (UE)
Paragraph [0156] SMTC based on flexible SMTC duration may be configured for neighboring NTN satellites with a small propagation delay difference from the serving NTN, and each SMTC based on the propagation delay may be configured for each neighboring NTN satellites with a large propagation delay difference from the serving NTN. The order is as follows.
[0157] The base station may inform the UE of NTN satellite information on a plurality of NTNs (S1410). The NTN satellite information may include speed and location information on satellite.
[0158] The terminal may measure the propagation delay of each of the plurality of NTN satellites based on the NTN satellite information (S1420).
[0159] As the measured propagation delay, a delta (difference) delay value with the serving NTN may be reported to the base station (S1430).
Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. discloses one or more configuration parameters (velocity and location in step 1420; paragraph 0157 discloses “the base station may inform the UE of NTN satellite information on a plurality of NTNs. The NTN satellite information may include speed and location information on satellite) indicating propagation delay (paragraph 0158 discloses “The terminal may measure the propagation delay of each of the plurality of NTN satellites based on the NTN satellite information) and sending, by the wireless device and based on the indicated propagation delay (paragraph 0158-0159 discloses “ The terminal may measure the propagation delay of each of the plurality of NTN satellites based on the NTN satellite information S1420; the measured propagation delay, a delta (difference) delay value with the serving NTN may be reported to the base station S1430).
Under remarks, with respect to claim 2, applicant argued: Hwang fails to disclose at least "receiving, by the wireless device and from the first node and the second node, one or more downlink positioning reference signal configuration parameters indicating: a first downlink positioning reference signal resource aet; a second downlink positioning reference signal resource set; and a time offset of a second system frame number associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set with respect to a first system frame number associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set;" and "receiving, by the wireless device and from the second node, a downlink positioning reference signal resource of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set based on: the time offset; and the propagation delay difference between the first node and the second node”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following:
Fig. 10 to 13 of Huang discloses receiving, by the wireless device (UE) and from the first node (NTN1) and the second node (NTN 2), one or more downlink positioning reference signal configuration parameters (Paragraph 0142 discloses “The NTN terminal may measure the propagation delay by using the position and speed information of the NTN satellite. The propagation delay may vary depending on the position of the reference point of the NTN satellite, so the final propagation delay may be measured and calculated based on the reference point information of the NTN satellite”) indicating: a first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1 position of Satellite NNT 1 in Fig. 11); a second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of Satellite NTN 2 in Fig. 11 ); and a time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11) of a second system frame number (Frame SNF#1….SNF#5 of NTN 2 in Fig. 11) associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 in Fig. 11 ) with respect to a first system frame number (Frame SNF#1….SNF#5 of NTN 1 in Fig. 11) associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1 in Fig. 11) and receiving, by the wireless device (UE) and from the second node (NTN 2), a downlink positioning reference signal resource of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 in Fig. 11) based on: the time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11); and the propagation delay difference (paragraph 0143 discloses “The terminal may receive the location information of the satellite from the network. Based on the location information of the satellite and the location information of the terminal itself, the terminal may calculate the propagation delay. Here, the propagation delay may be a time taken for transmission and reception between the satellite and the terminal. The propagation delay may be calculated as a delta delay, which is the difference between the propagation delay of the serving NTN satellite NTN1 and the propagation delay of the adjacent NTN satellite NTN2.” between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2).
Under remarks, with respect to claim 11, applicant argued: Hwang does not disclose at least "receiving, by a wireless device and from a first node and a second node in a non-terrestrial network, one or more downlink positioning reference signal configuration parameters indicating: a first downlink positioning reference signal resource set; a second downlink positioning reference signal resource set; and a time offset of a second system frame number associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set with respect to a first system frame number associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set" and "receiving, from the second node, a downlink positioning reference signal resource of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set based on: the time offset; and a propagation delay difference between the first node and the second node."
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following:
Fig. 10 to 13 of Huang discloses receiving, by the wireless device (UE) and from the first node (NTN1) and the second node (NTN 2) receiving, by a wireless device (UE) and from a first node (NTN 1) and a second node (NTN 2) in a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10), one or more downlink positioning reference signal configuration parameters (Paragraph 0142 discloses “The NTN terminal may measure the propagation delay by using the position and speed information of the NTN satellite. The propagation delay may vary depending on the position of the reference point of the NTN satellite, so the final propagation delay may be measured and calculated based on the reference point information of the NTN satellite”) indicating: a first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (downlink resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1 position in Fig. 11); a second downlink positioning reference signal resource set ((down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 position in Fig. 11; and a time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11) of a second system frame number (frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive in Fig. 11) associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (set (downlink resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 position in Fig. 11)with respect to a first system frame number associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource se set (downlink resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1 position in Fig. 11); and "receiving, from the second node (NNT 2), a downlink positioning reference signal resource of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (downlink resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 position receive by UE in Fig. 11) based on: the time offset ((time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11); and a propagation delay difference (paragraph 0143 discloses “The terminal may receive the location information of the satellite from the network. Based on the location information of the satellite and the location information of the terminal itself, the terminal may calculate the propagation delay. Here, the propagation delay may be a time taken for transmission and reception between the satellite and the terminal. The propagation delay may be calculated as a delta delay, which is the difference between the propagation delay of the serving NTN satellite NTN1 and the propagation delay of the adjacent NTN satellite NTN2) between the first node (NNT 1) and the second node (NNT 2."
Under remarks, with respect to claim 15, applicant argued:
Hwang does not disclose "a first message requesting to report at least one service link propagation delay difference between a first node and a second node in a non-terrestrial network," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following:
Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. discloses a method comprising: sending, by a server (paragraph 0157 discloses a base station for NTN network) and to a wireless device (UE)
Paragraph [0156] SMTC based on flexible SMTC duration may be configured for neighboring NTN satellites with a small propagation delay difference from the serving NTN, and each SMTC based on the propagation delay may be configured for each neighboring NTN satellites with a large propagation delay difference from the serving NTN. The order is as follows.
[0157] The base station may inform the UE of NTN satellite information on a plurality of NTNs (S1410). The NTN satellite information may include speed and location information on satellite.
[0158] The terminal may measure the propagation delay of each of the plurality of NTN satellites based on the NTN satellite information (S1420).
[0159] As the measured propagation delay, a delta (difference) delay value with the serving NTN may be reported to the base station (S1430).
From above, the terminal (UE) receive the NTN satellite information (position, velocity) on plurality NTNs) from the serving Base station (paragraph 0157), the terminal (UE) measures the propagation of each NTN of a plurality of NTN Satellites based on the satellite information (position, velocity) (paragraph 0158); as the measured propagation delay by the UE, a delta (difference) delay value with the serving NTN may be reported to the base station S1430 (paragraph 0159).
Accordingly, Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. discloses serving base station inform to the UE terminal the speed and velocity information of each NTN satellite of the Plurality NTN satellites (step S1410) and report delta (difference) delay value with the serving NTN may be reported to the based station (step S1430) construed as a requesting message to report for propagation delay difference between serving NTN Satellite (Node 1) and neighboring NTN satellite (Node 2).
As discussed above, rejections of claims 1-20 are sustained in this office action from the same references from previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. Pub. No. 2023/0109518.
Regarding claim 1. Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. discloses a method (Fig. 14) comprising: receiving (step S1410), by a wireless device (NTN UE) and from a base station (paragraph 0157), one or more configuration parameters (position, velocity) indicating propagation delay (paragraph 0156) associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTR) ; and sending, by the wireless device ( UE) and based on the indicated propagation delay (step S1420-S1430; paragraph 0157), a message (report in S1430) comprising a propagation delay difference (delta between serving NTN; paragraph 0159) between a first node (NTN 1) and a second node (NTN 2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10) .
Regarding claim 2. The method of claim 1, Figs. 10-14 of Hwang et al. further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device (UE) and from the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2), one or more downlink positioning reference signal (paragraph 0142), configuration parameters (position and Velocity; paragraph 0142) indicating: a first downlink positioning reference signal (NTN 1 DL timing in Fig. 11); a second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (NTN 2 DL timing in Fig. 11) and a time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11) of a second system frame number (time offset of SNN #1…SNF#5 of NTU 2 in Fig. 11) associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set with respect to a first system frame number (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 in Fig. 11) associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1 in Fig. 11); and receiving, from the second node (NTN 2) , a downlink positioning reference signal resource of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (down link resource set SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2 received by UE in Fig. 11) ), wherein the receiving (receiving by UE in Fig. 11) is based on: the time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11); and the propagation delay difference (see steps 1430 and S1140 in Fig. 4) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2).
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 1, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further comprising: measuring (S1420), based on the one or more configuration parameters (position and Velocity) , one or more propagation delay differences (S1430, S1440) associated with the first node (NTN 1) and the second node in the non-terrestrial network (NTN 2).
Regarding claim 4. The method of claim 1, Fig. 14 further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, (UE) at least one of: a provide-assistance data message (position, velocity); or a request-assistance data message (position, velocity).
Regarding claim 5. The method of claim 1, Figs. 11-14 further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device (UE)e, one or more messages indicating downlink positioning (SNF# 1…SNF # 5) reference signal resources NTN DL timing); and receiving, based on the propagation delay difference (step S1440) , the downlink positioning reference signal resources (SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN DL) .
Regarding claim 6. The method of claim 1, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further comprising sending, by the wireless device (UE), a second message (first and second message output of S1440) indicating whether the wireless device (UE) has a capability to measure propagation delay difference (capability of step S1430) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) in the non-terrestrial network Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7. The method of claim 1, Fig. 10 of Hwang et al. further disclose wherein the first node (NTN 1) is a serving node (serving node for UE) and the second node (NTN 2) is a neighboring node (neighboring to node NTN 1).
Regarding claim 8. The method of claim 1, Figs. 10 -14 of Hwang et al. further comprising sending, by the wireless device UE), a message (message S1442, S1441 in Fig. 4) indicating whether the wireless device (UE) has a capability to measure downlink positioning reference signal resources (NTN DL timing position in Figs. 11-13) from the first node (NTN 1) and the second node in the non-terrestrial network (NTN 2).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 1, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 further discloses wherein the propagation delay difference (step S1430) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) comprises a second propagation delay (step S1420) of the second node (NTN 2) minus (delta in step S1430) a first propagation delay (step S1420) of the first node (NTN 1).
Regarding claim 11. Figs 10-14 of Hwang et al. discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device (UE) and from a first node (NTN 1) and a second node (NTN ) in a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10) , one or more downlink positioning reference signal (paragraph 0142) configuration parameters (velocity, position; paragraph 0142) indicating: a time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11) of a second system frame number (frame number SNF#1….SNF#5 of NTN 2 in Fig. 11) associated with the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (set SNF#1….SNF#5 of resource NTN 2 in Fig. 11) with respect to a first system frame number (frame number SNF#1….SNF#5 of resource NTN 1 in Fig. 11) associated with the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (set SNF#1….SNF#5 of resource NTN 1 in Fig. 11) ; and one or more non-terrestrial network configuration parameters (position, velocity of step S141 in Fig. 4) indicating: a first non-terrestrial network configuration parameters (base station inform position, velocity of each NTN inform to UE in step S410 ) associated with the first node (NTN 1) ; and a second non-terrestrial network configuration parameters (position and velocity in Step 410) associated with the second node (NTN 2); and receiving, from the second node (NTN 2), a downlink positioning (position, velocity of each NTN in step S410) reference signal resource (NTN 2 DL) of the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set (set SNF#1….SNF#5 of resource NTN 2 in Fig. 11) based on: the time offset (time offset between Frame SNF#1…SNF#5 of NNT 1 and frame SNF#1…SN#5 of NNT 2 receive by UE in Fig. 11); and a propagation delay difference (step S1430 in Fig. 14) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) .
Regarding claim 12. The method of claim 11, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 further comprising sending, by the wireless device (UE), a message (messages of S1442 and SS1441) comprising at least one propagation delay difference (S1430) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13. The method of claim 11, Figs. 10- 13 further disclose wherein the first downlink positioning reference signal resource set (DL SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 1) is associated with the first node (NTN 1) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14. The method of claim 11, Figs 10-13 further disclose wherein the second downlink positioning reference signal resource set DL SNF#1…SNF#5 of NTN 2) is associated with the second node (NTN 2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15. Fig. 10-Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. disclose a method comprising: sending, by a server (paragraph 0157 discloses a base station for NTN network) and to a wireless device (UE), a first message (base station inform to UE step S1410) requesting to report (report in step s1430) at least one service link (service of NT1 link and NTN 2 link) propagation delay difference (Step S1430 in Fig. 4) between a first node (NT1) and a second node (NTN 2) in a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10) ; and receiving, based on the first message (base station inform UE in step s1410) and from the wireless device (UE) , a second message (report to base station from UE in Step S1430) comprising the at least one service link propagation delay difference (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 16. The method of claim 15, Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further comprising sending, by the server (paragraph 0157), at least one of: a provide-assistance data message (position, velocity); or a request-assistance data message (position, velocity).
Regarding claim 17. The method of claim 15, Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further comprising receiving, from the wireless device (UE), a second message (step S1442, step S1442) whether the wireless device (UE) has a capability to measure propagation delay differences (S1442) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18. The method of claim 15, Fig. 10 of Hwang et al. further discloses wherein the first node (NT 1) is a serving node (serving node of NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) is a neighboring node (neighboring to NTN 1).
Regarding claim 19. The method of claim 15, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further comprising receiving, from the wireless device (UE) a message indicating (step S1442) whether the wireless device (UE) has a capability to measure (step S1420) downlink positioning reference signal resources (downlink of reference signal of NTN 1 and NTN 2) from the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20. The method of claim 15, Fig. 10 and Fig. 14 of Hwang et al. further disclose wherein the propagation delay difference (Step S1430) between the first node (NTN 1) and the second node (NTN 2) comprises a second propagation delay (second propagation delay of NTN 2 measure by step S1420) of the second node (NTN 2) minus (delta of Step S1430) a first propagation delay of the first node (propagation delay of NTN 1 measure by step S1420).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. applied to claim 1 above in view of Wu et al. Pub. No. 2023/0058532.
Hwang et al. applied to claim 1 above do not disclose sending, by the wireless device, a message indicating whether the wireless device has a capability for transmitting positioning sounding reference signal resources to the first node and the second node in the non-terrestrial network.
Fig. 6 of Wu et al. discloses NTNs (600) comprising: sending, by a wireless device (604) , a message indicating whether the wireless device (604) has a capability for transmitting positioning sounding reference signal resources (paragraph 0044 discloses “The UE can then form a transmit beam for sending an uplink reference signal (e.g., sounding reference signal (SRS)) to that base station based on the parameters of the receive beam“) to a first node (601-1) and the second node (610-2) in the non-terrestrial network (Fig. 10).
Hwang et al. and Wu et al. are common subject matter of NTN; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Wu et al. into Hwang et al. for the purpose of providing positioning of UE can then form a transmit beam for sending an uplink reference signal (e.g., sounding reference signal (SRS) to NTNs (paragraph 0044 of Wu et al).
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
08/30/2026
/LINH V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845