DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following: the application and information disclosure statement filed on November 11, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13, and 18 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first portion of dielectric material is configured to breakdown” and “a second portion of the dielectric material is configured to break down” in claim 3.
It is not clear from the claims or specification what is meant by a “portion” of the dielectric material. As best understood from the description in the specification these are not portions of dielectric material that are both associated with a single antifuse cell, but rather each portion is associated with a separate antifuse cell. Thus, this claim is interpreted to mean that when the first switching component is activated the dielectric material breaks down in the first cell and when the second switching component is activated the dielectric material breaks down in the second cell.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al (US 20180053767 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Cheng teaches an apparatus (Fig. 4: 400), comprising:
an antifuse (fig. 1A: T2) comprising a channel (fig. 1A: 150) extending in a vertical direction and a dielectric material (fig. 1A: 180) disposed on at least one sidewall of the channel;
a digit line (Fig. 4: BL0) of a plurality of digit lines (Fig. 4: BL0, BL1) extending in a first horizontal direction, the digit line coupled with a terminal below the antifuse (Fig. 1A: T2); and
a word line (Fig. 4: WL0) of a plurality of word lines (Fig. 4: WL0, WL1) extending in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction and in contact (fig. 1A: 190) with the dielectric material (fig. 1A: 180) of the antifuse (Fig. 1A: T2).
Regarding Claim 14, Cheng teaches the limitations of Claim 13. Cheng further teaches a digit line decoder (Fig. 4: 420) coupled with the plurality of digit lines and configured to select the digit line as part of an access operation for the antifuse (Fig. 4: 400); and
a word line decoder (para 68 “While not specifically shown in FIG. 4, the memory system 400 would further comprise row decoder circuitry, word line driver circuitry, and other control circuity to control activation of the word lines (WL0, WL1, . . . ).”) coupled with the plurality of word lines and configured to select the word line as part of the access operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 20200027924 A1) in view of Cheng et al (US 20180053767 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Yang teaches an apparatus (Fig. 7: 700), comprising:
a first layer (Fig. 6: 602) comprising a switching component (Fig. 6: 112) and a first access line (Fig. 6: WL) extending in a first horizontal direction configured to activate the switching component (Fig. 6: 112); and
a second layer (Fig. 6: 218) above the first layer in a vertical direction, the second layer comprising:
a dielectric material (Fig. 6: 108a) disposed on at least one sidewall of the channel, the channel above a first terminal (Fig. 6: 204a) coupled with the switching component (Fig. 6: 112); and
a second access line (Fig. 6: BL1) extending in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction and coupled with the dielectric material (fig. 8: 108a).
Yang fails to teach an antifuse.
Cheng teaches an antifuse (Fig. 1A: T2) with a channel extending (Fig. 1A: 150) in the vertical direction and a dielectric material (Fig. 1A: 180) disposed on at least one sidewall of the channel (Fig. 1A: 150), and
Cheng further teaches that “Antifuse devices are implemented in various OTP (one-time programmable) applications, such as a one-time programmable read-only memory (PROM), and programmable logic devices (PLDs) to configure logic circuits and create customized integrated circuit designs, one-time programmable read-only memory (PROM), etc.” (para 2) Thus it would be obvious to combine the density of an RRAM cell taught in yang where a channel with variable resistance is disposed above the cell transistor element and replacing the RRAM elements with antifuses for the one time programmable applications outlined in Cheng.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cheng to the teachings of Yang to produce a memory cell disposed in two layers where the first layer contains a switching component and the second layer contains an antifuse component.
Regarding Claim 4, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 1. Yang further teaches a third layer (Fig. 6: 212) between the first layer (Fig. 6: 602) and the second layer (Fig. 6: 218), the third layer comprising a conductive plate coupling a terminal below the antifuse (Fig. 6: 102; Cheng Fig 1A: T2) with the switching component (Fig. 6: 112).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 4. Cheng further teaches a plurality of second antifuses (Fig. 4: T2, Cell 2), each second antifuse (Fig. 4: T2, Cell 2) of the plurality of second antifuses comprising a respective channel (Fig 1A: T2, 150) above a second terminal (Fig. 1A: 130) coupled with the switching component (Fig. 1A: T1) via the conductive plate (combined with Yang Fig. 6: 212) and a respective dielectric material (Fig. 1A: 180, T2) disposed on at least one respective sidewall of the respective channel (Fig. 1A: 150, T2).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 5. Cheng further teaches wherein the second access line (Fig. 4: BL1) is coupled with the respective dielectric material (Fig. 1A: 180) of each of a first subset of the plurality of second antifuses (Fig. 4: CELL 2, T2) and
Yang teaches a third access line (Fig. 7: SL1) extending in the second horizontal direction is coupled with the respective dielectric material (Fig. 108a) of each of a second subset of the plurality of second antifuses (Fig. 7: 102 combined with Cheng Fig. 1A: T2).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 4. Yang further teaches wherein the third layer (Fig. 6: 212) further comprises a second conductive plate (Fig. 6: 212; Fig 7: 102, BL2n-1, BL2n) adjacent to the conductive plate (Fig. 6: 212; Fig 7: 102, BL1, BL2), the second conductive plate (Fig. 6: 212; Fig 7: 102, BL2n-1, BL2n) coupling a terminal of a second (Fig. 6: 212; Fig 7: 102, BL2n-1, BL2n) antifuse (Cheng 1A: T2) with a second switching component ( Fig 7: 112, BL2n-1, BL2n, WL1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 7. a third antifuse between the antifuse and the second antifuse, the third antifuse isolated from the conductive plate and the second conductive plate.
(Yang teaches 2n BL in Fig. 7, therefore one could assume there are bitlines between BL1 and BL2 and BL2n-1 and BL2 attached to programmable cells, which when applying the teachings of Cheng to the teachings of Yang are antifuses. Therefore, a third antifuse isolated from the conductive plates of the first two antifuses is understood to be between them)
Regarding Claim 9, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the switching component (Fig. 6: 112) comprises a first terminal (Fig. 6 204b) coupled with a ground voltage source (Fig. 8B: 804, 0V, selectline) and a second terminal (Fig. 6 204a) coupled with the first terminal of the channel (Fig. 6: 212).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 1. Yang further teaches a first decoder (Fig. 7: 704) coupled with the first access line (Fig. 7: WL1) and configured to apply a first voltage (Fig. 8B: 804, 0.8~1.4V, wordline) to the first access line (Fig. 7: WL1) to activate the switching component (Fig. 6: 112); and
a second decoder (Fig. 7: 706) coupled with the second access line (Fig. 7: BL1) and configured to apply a second voltage (Fig. 7: bitline1, 2.8V~3.6V, 804) to the second access line (Fig. 7: BL1).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 10. Cheng further teaches wherein the dielectric material (Fig. 1A: 180) is configured to break down based at least in part on activating the switching component and applying the second voltage to the second access line (para 57 “. In this regard, formation of the conductive channel of the vertical antifuse device T2 is achieved, at least in part, by the dielectric breakdown of the gate dielectric material of the high-k metal gate stack structure 180 caused by the application of a high-voltage pulse to the metal gate electrode 200 of the vertical antifuse device T2”).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the switching component (Fig. 6: 112) comprises a complimentary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) transistor (para 25 “wherein the control device 112 comprises a MOSFET”) within a substrate (Fig. 6: 202).
Regarding Independent Claim 18, Yang teaches an apparatus (Fig. 7: 700), comprising:
a first access line (fig. 7: SL1) extending in a first horizontal direction;
a transistor (Fig. 6: 112);
a second access line (fig. 7: WL1) extending in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction and coupled with the channel region (Fig. 6: 204c, 204d) of the transistor;
a dielectric material (Fig. 5: 108a) above the second terminal of the transistor (Fig. 6: 204a); and
a conductive contact (Fig. 5: 502a) coupled with the dielectric material (Fig. 5: 108a).
Yang fails to teach a vertical transistor.
Cheng teaches a vertical transistor (Fig. 1A: T1) above a first terminal (fig. 1A: 130) coupled with and above the first access line (Fig. 4: BL0) in a vertical direction, a channel region (Fig. 1A: 150) above the first terminal (Fig. 1A: 130) and a second terminal (Fig. 1A: 260) above the channel region (Fig. 1A: 150).
Vertical transistors are denser than planar MOSFETs thus denser layouts could be achieved by using a vertical transistor in place of a planar transistor would allow for a denser array of cells.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cheng to the teachings of Yang to produce a memory cell with vertical transistor with a second terminal below dielectric material.
Regarding Claim 19, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 18. Yang further teaches a third access line (Fig. 6: BL1) above the conductive contact (Fig. 6: 204b) and extending in the first horizontal direction, wherein the third access line (Fig. 6: BL1) is configured as a bit line for an array of memory cells above the vertical transistor.
Regarding Claim 20, Yang and Cheng teach the limitations of Claim 19. Yang further teaches wherein the dielectric material (Fig. 5: 108a) is configured to break down based at least in part on activating (Fig. 8B: 804, wordline, 0.8~1.4V) the vertical transistor using the second access line (Fig. 6: WL), applying a first voltage (Fig. 8B: 804, 0V, selectline) to the first access line (Fig. 1: SL), and applying a second voltage (Fig. 8B: 804, 2.8V~3.6V, Bitline 1) to the third access line (Fig. 6: BL1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 would be allowable for teaching a semiconductor material extending from the channel of one antifuse to the channel of another antifuse. Cheng and Yang fail to teach such a material extending between programmable memory components. Therefore, this claim would be allowable if written in independent form.
Claim 3 would be allowable for being dependent on claim 2.
Claim 15 would be allowable for teaching applying voltages of the same magnitude but different voltages to access lines during the programming. Neither Cheng nor Yang teach applying voltages with different polarities. Therefore, this claim would be allowable if written in independent form.
Claims 16 and 17 would be allowable for being dependent on Claim 15.
Conclusion
/JFS/
Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/ALEXANDER SOFOCLEOUS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2825