DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 08/27/2026. Claims 1, 3-7, 11, 14, 16, 17 and 20 were amended. Claims 2, 12-13, 15 and 18-19 were canceled. Claims 21-26 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3-11, 14, 16-17 and 20-26 are now pending in the application.
As a result of amendments to claims 3 and 5, the objections to each of them no longer applies.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) no longer applies, the rejection is withdrawn because of cancellation of claim 19 that it applies to.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of the amendment made by the applicant.
New references (Xu USPGPub 2023/0217288) Xu hereinafter and (Tseng USPGPub 2023/0088189) Tseng hereinafter, are now relied upon to teach the claims in combination with existing reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, 14, 16, 17 and 20-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0217288), Xu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Xu teaches a communication method, comprising: based on a first event and/or a second event, reporting, by a terminal device, beam measurement information or initiating, by the terminal device, a contention based random access procedure, in a small data transmission (SDT) (paragraph [0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network.)
Regarding Claim 3, Xu teaches claim 1.
Xu further teaches wherein the first event comprises that a beam with the best wireless link quality changes. ([0092]As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
Regarding Claim 4, Xu teaches claim 3.
Xu further teaches wherein a manner of determining whether the beam with the best wireless link quality changes, comprises: acquiring latest beam measurement results, to determine the beam with the best wireless link quality; ([0092]As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
comparing whether the beam with the best wireless link quality is the same as a beam selected under a first operation, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of: a last measurement, a last initiation of a random access procedure, or a last transmission using configured grant (CG); and ([0092]As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
determining that the beam with the best wireless link quality changes, in a case where the beam with the best wireless link quality is not the same as the beam selected under the first operation. ([0092]As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
Regarding Claim 5, Xu teaches claim 1.
Xu further teaches wherein the second event comprises at least one of: wireless link quality of a beam with the best wireless link quality being below a first threshold; or ([0091] In a first example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) this threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
there being wireless link quality of at least one beam above a second threshold. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 6, Xu teaches claim 1.
Xu further teaches wherein the beam measurement information comprises at least one of:
an index of a first beam; ([0095] … For example, the SDT measurement report 1010 may include a quality of the serving cell of the UE 1002. In some cases, an index of a best measured beam of the serving cell, and/or that beam's quality, may also be indicated.)
a first list of indices, comprising indices of first N beams in order of wireless link quality from good to bad; (Alternative)
a second list of indices, comprising a set of indices of beams meeting a third threshold; or (Alternative)
a beam measurement result corresponding to an index of a beam. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 11, Xu teaches claim 1.
Xu further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a beam reporting-triggered manner. ([0103] As illustrated, the UE 1102 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1114. The UE 1102 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1114, one or more measurement events that triggers a reaction by the UE 1102. For example, the network 1104 may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell, may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell and a threshold for a neighbor cell, to be evaluated in conjunction, and/or the UE 1102 may use the SDT measurements to determine that an RLF on the serving cell is likely, in the manner described above. The flow diagram 1100 accordingly illustrates, during the SDT measurement period 1114, the occurrence of such a measurement event 1108.)
wherein the beam reporting-triggered manner comprises event triggering, and the event triggering is used for indicating the terminal device to report the beam measurement information or initiate the contention-based random access procedure based on the first event and/or the second event. ([0103] As illustrated, the UE 1102 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1114. The UE 1102 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1114, one or more measurement events that triggers a reaction by the UE 1102. For example, the network 1104 may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell, may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell and a threshold for a neighbor cell, to be evaluated in conjunction, and/or the UE 1102 may use the SDT measurements to determine that an RLF on the serving cell is likely, in the manner described above. The flow diagram 1100 accordingly illustrates, during the SDT measurement period 1114, the occurrence of such a measurement event 1108.)
Regarding Claim 14, Xu teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the terminal device to perform: (fig. 15)
based on a first event and/or a second event, reporting beam measurement information or initiating a contention-based random access procedure a small data transmission (SDT). ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network.)
Regarding Claim 16, Xu teaches claim 14.
Xu further teaches wherein the second event comprises at least one of: wireless link quality of a beam with the best wireless link quality being below a first threshold; ([0091] In a first example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) this threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
or
there being wireless link quality of at least one beam above a second threshold. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 17, Xu teaches a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the network device to perform: (fig. 16)
transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a beam reporting-triggered manner. ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network.)
wherein the beam reporting-triggered manner comprises event triggering, and the event triggering is used for indicating a terminal device to report beam measurement information or initiate a contention-based random access procedure based on a first event and/or a second event. ([0103] As illustrated, the UE 1102 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1114. The UE 1102 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1114, one or more measurement events that triggers a reaction by the UE 1102. For example, the network 1104 may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell, may have (previously) configured the UE 1102 with a threshold for its current serving cell and a threshold for a neighbor cell, to be evaluated in conjunction, and/or the UE 1102 may use the SDT measurements to determine that an RLF on the serving cell is likely, in the manner described above. The flow diagram 1100 accordingly illustrates, during the SDT measurement period 1114, the occurrence of such a measurement event 1108.)
Regarding Claim 30, Xu teaches claim 17.
Xu further teaches wherein the second event comprises at least one of: wireless link quality of a beam with the best wireless link quality being below a first threshold; ([0091] In a first example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) this threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event.).
or
there being wireless link quality of at least one beam above a second threshold. (Alternative)
Regarding Claim 21, Xu teaches claim 17.
Xu further teaches wherein the first indication information is further used for indicating whether to start a beam reporting procedure; and the first indication information comprises at least one bit for indicating whether to start the beam reporting procedure ([0092] As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event. ... [0109] The method 1200 further includes performing 1204, during an SDT measurement period of the SDT procedure, measurements of a plurality of cells of the wireless network. ... [0117] In some embodiments of the method 1200, the data comprises an indication bit corresponding to the quality of a serving cell of the plurality of cells.).
Regarding Claim 22, Xu teaches claim 11.
Xu further teaches wherein the first indication information is further used for indicating whether to start a beam reporting procedure; and the first indication information comprises at least one bit for indicating whether to start the beam reporting procedure. ([0092] As another example, the network 1004 may have (previously) configured the UE 1002 with a quality threshold for its current serving cell and a quality threshold for a neighbor cell. In this example, a measurement event occurs when the quality of the serving cell as determined by the UE 1002 is less than (or, in some embodiments, less than or equal to) the serving cell threshold, and when the quality of a neighbor cell as determined by the UE 1002 is greater than (or, in some embodiments, greater than or equal to) the neighbor cell threshold. The UE 1002 may send the SDT measurement report 1010 to the network 1004 in response to the occurrence of this measurement event. ... [0109] The method 1200 further includes performing 1204, during an SDT measurement period of the SDT procedure, measurements of a plurality of cells of the wireless network. ... [0117] In some embodiments of the method 1200, the data comprises an indication bit corresponding to the quality of a serving cell of the plurality of cells.)
Regarding Claim 23, Xu teaches claim 22.
Xu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case where the first indication information indicates not to start the beam reporting procedure, not reporting, by the terminal device, the beam measurement information and not initiating, by the terminal device, the contention-based random access procedure. ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network. ... [0112] The method 1200 further includes sending 1210, to the network, in response to the detecting of the measurement event, a measurement report having data determined using the one or more of the respective qualities of the plurality of cells of the wireless network.). The UE responded to configuration to send the measurement report. That means the UE can also respond to configuration not to send measurement report.
Regarding Claim 24, Xu teaches claim 22.
Xu further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case where the first indication information indicates to start the beam reporting procedure, determining, by the terminal device, whether to report the beam measurement information or initiate the contention-based random access procedure according to the beam reporting-triggered manner. ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network. ... [0112] The method 1200 further includes sending 1210, to the network, in response to the detecting of the measurement event, a measurement report having data determined using the one or more of the respective qualities of the plurality of cells of the wireless network.).
Regarding Claim 26, Xu teaches claim 24.
Xu further teaches wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to report the beam measurement information or initiate the contention-based random access procedure according to the beam reporting-triggered manner comprises: in a case where the beam reporting-triggered manner is the event triggering, determining, by the terminal device, whether the first event and/or the second event occurs; and ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network.)
if the first event and/or the second event occurs, reporting, by the terminal device, the beam measurement information or initiating, by the terminal device, the contention-based random access procedure. ([0090] As illustrated, the UE 1002 proceeds to perform SDT measurement during an SDT measurement period 1016. The UE 1002 may be configured to detect, during the SDT measurement period 1016, one or more measurement events (or occurrenc(es) of one or more measurement events) that triggers the sending of a measurement report to the network.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0217288), Xu hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0080833), Jeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Xu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the beam measurement information is carried in a first media access control control element (MAC CE).
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses wherein the beam measurement information is carried in a first media access control control element (MAC CE) (paragraph 0165 - CSI-RSs such as those illustrated in FIG. 11B (e.g., CSI-RS 1101, 1102, 1103) may be transmitted by the base station and used by the UE for one or more measurements. For example, the UE may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of configured CSI-RS resources. The base station may configure the UE with a reporting configuration and the UE may report the RSRP measurements to a network (for example, via one or more base stations) based on the reporting configuration. In an example, the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Methods of measurement in SDT to include Jeon‘s measurement information indication on MAC CE to achieve continuous configuration of terminal device.
Regarding Claim 8, Xu in view of Jeon teaches claim 7.
Jeon further teaches further comprising: triggering, by the terminal device, a scheduling request (SR) based on the first MAC CE in a case of no uplink transmission resource, to trigger a random access procedure to acquire an uplink transmission resource. (paragraph 0247 - [0247] For an SDT (e.g., RA-based SDT and/or CG-based SDT), the wireless device may determine a size of transport block (e.g., a size of message comprising uplink data and/or data volume size of the message comprising uplink data). The transport block may comprise uplink data (e.g., associated with DTCH) that the wireless device transmits via the SDT. The transport block may comprise (e.g., further comprise) one or more MAC headers, e.g., if required, and/or one or more MAC CEs, e.g., if triggered. For example, the transport block that the wireless device transmits via the RA-based the SDT may be an MAC PDU that comprises the uplink data, the one or more MAC headers, and/or the one or more MAC CEs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Methods of measurement in SDT to include Jeon‘s RA-based SDT on MAC PDU to achieve low latency.
Regarding Claim 9, Xu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach , further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a first paging message of a current resident cell; wherein the first paging message comprises at least one of: a terminal device identifier, or a mobile terminated (MT)-SDT indication.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a first paging message of a current resident cell; wherein the first paging message comprises at least one of: a terminal device identifier, or a mobile terminated (MT)-SDT indication (paragraph 0107 - [0107] ...The purpose of mobility management in RRC idle 604 and RRC inactive 606 is to allow the network to be able to notify the UE of an event via a paging message without having to broadcast the paging message over the entire mobile communications network. The mobility management mechanism used in RRC idle 604 and RRC inactive 606 may allow the network to track the UE on a cell-group level so that the paging message may be broadcast over the cells of the cell group that the UE currently resides within instead of the entire mobile communication network. ... They may do so using different granularities of grouping. For example, there may be three levels of cell-grouping granularity: individual cells; cells within a RAN area identified by a RAN area identifier (RAI); and cells within a group of RAN areas, referred to as a tracking area and identified by a tracking area identifier (TAI).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Methods of measurement in SDT to include Jeon‘s reception of paging message on terminal device so as to be able to inform user equipment of relevant event.
Regarding Claim 10, Xu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach further comprising: initiating, by the terminal device, a procedure of the SDT; wherein the procedure of the SDT comprises: transmitting first uplink data to a network device by using a first uplink resource.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses further comprising: initiating, by the terminal device, a procedure of the SDT; wherein the procedure of the SDT comprises: transmitting first uplink data to a network device by using a first uplink resource. (paragraph 0270 - [0270] The wireless device may (re-)initiate transmission via one or more uplink radio resources in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state based on one or more conditions. For example, the transmission may be a CG-based SDT. …)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Methods of measurement in SDT to include Jeon‘s small data transmission on uplink radio resources to minimize signaling overhead that will be involved in alternative procedure.
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0217288), Xu hereinafter, in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0088189), Tseng hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 25, Xu teaches claim 24.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the beam reporting-triggered manner further comprises timer triggering, and determining, by the terminal device, whether to report the beam measurement information or initiate the contention-based random access procedure according to the beam reporting-triggered manner comprises: in a case where the beam reporting-triggered manner is the timer triggering, determining, by the terminal device, whether a first timer is restarted; and if the first timer is restarted, reporting, by the terminal device, the beam measurement information or initiating, by the terminal device, the contention-based random access procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Tseng explicitly discloses wherein the beam reporting-triggered manner further comprises timer triggering, and determining, by the terminal device, whether to report the beam measurement information or initiate the contention-based random access procedure according to the beam reporting-triggered manner comprises: in a case where the beam reporting-triggered manner is the timer triggering, determining, by the terminal device, whether a first timer is restarted; and ([0122] After receiving the idle mode measurement configuration, in action 202, the UE 210 may start an idle mode measurement activity (e.g., an idle/inactive measurement activity and/or a logged measurement activity) and start to count a timer to zero (e.g., a first timer (T330) associated with a logged measurement activity and/or a second timer (T331) associated with an idle/inactive measurement activity). The UE 210 may maintain the idle mode measurement activity while associated timer is counting.[0123] In some implementations, after the timer (e.g., T330/T331) is counted to zero, the UE 210 may release the stored idle mode measurement configuration and stop the idle mode measurement activity. However, the idle mode measurement results observed during action 202 (e.g., “idle/inactive measurement results” and/or “logged measurement results”) may still be kept by the UE 210 and then the UE 210 may be able to report the idle mode measurement reports (e.g., “idle/inactive measurement report” and/or “logged measurement report”) to its serving RAN 220 later (e.g., in action 204). ... [0135] ... In this case, the UE may (re)start to count the first timer (e.g., T330) by, for example, re-configuring the initial value=loggingDuration, only after the SDT procedure is terminated).
if the first timer is restarted, reporting, by the terminal device, the beam measurement information or initiating, by the terminal device, the contention-based random access procedure (([0123] In some implementations, after the timer (e.g., T330/T331) is counted to zero, the UE 210 may release the stored idle mode measurement configuration and stop the idle mode measurement activity. However, the idle mode measurement results observed during action 202 (e.g., “idle/inactive measurement results” and/or “logged measurement results”) may still be kept by the UE 210 and then the UE 210 may be able to report the idle mode measurement reports (e.g., “idle/inactive measurement report” and/or “logged measurement report”) to its serving RAN 220 later (e.g., in action 204). ... [0135] In some implementations, the UE may receive an updated LoggedMeasurementConfiguration during an SDT procedure. In this case, the UE may (re)start to count the first timer (e.g., T330) by, for example, re-configuring the initial value=loggingDuration, only after the SDT procedure is terminated. In this case, the UE may not implement the logged measurement based on the (updated) LoggedMeasurementConfiguration until (or unless) the SDT procedure is terminated. In other words, the UE may restart the first timer (e.g., T330) and apply the updated logged measurement configuration after the SDT procedure is terminated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Methods of measurement in SDT to include Tseng‘s reporting after elapsed timer to minimize network signaling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472