Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0123080 (“Baudino”).
Regarding claim 1, BAUDINO teaches At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by at least one processor such that a controller ([0043] discussing the role of a processor in realizing the reference’s taught embodiments, as situated in a typical/conventional computer system, e.g. where the implementation is said to possibly be a combination of hardware and/or software, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such an implementation would necessarily feature memory elements to store the instructions to be performed by the aforementioned processor, see e.g. “A typical combination of hardware and software could be a general purpose computer system with a computer program that, when being loaded and executed, controls the computer system such that it carries out the functions described herein.”) is configured to:
associate a particular user profile of a media playback system with the controller (“individual user profile” or the like, per [0006], [0018] (#9), [0019], and [0028], where the user profile as created and maintained is understood to be associated with a particular user when for example the user is discovered and registered by the network (in accordance with FIG. 3’s process), such that once registered, the user and their profiling can realize the general benefits of having their preferences transfer seamlessly in accordance with the examples of FIGs. 4-7, and more specifically, within the context of [0031]-[0033]’s example, devices 1 and 3 as associated with two users and their profiles can be understood, in the terms of Applicants’ recitations, to be “controller” devices in relation to a “playback” device numbered 2, where device 2 is understood as being capable of taking and using the profiled preferences of those in-range users and effectively using those profiled preferences to modify its playback accordingly), wherein the media playback system comprises a first playback device and a second playback device (FIG. 1 showing a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the taught invention, having various playback devices among the depicted items 21-25 for example, each of which can be understood to be a “playback device” as Applicants recite [[0019]: “… The home environment 14 can include among a high definition (HD) receiver or television 21, a home theater system 22 having DVD or CD or MP3 players or recorders, a digital set-top box 23, a digital audio receiver 24 or a home mobile device 25 such as a remote controller or other similar device …”], such that many possible playback devices might be registered and operative for a particular instance of the taught network);
receive, via a wireless interface, a wireless transmission from the first playback device indicating that the controller is within a given proximity to the first playback device ([0031]-[0033]’s example of devices 1 and 3 approaching device 2, i.e., coming within a proximity ([0019]: “… Each device can collect data over time independently from each other. When one device is in proximity of another device, the data can be exchanged between such devices over a wireless LAN or other wireless network …”), and where the proximity is based in part on the underlying communications protocol that is operative – such as the wireless communication protocols mentioned in [0029] ([0029]: “… More specifically, once the devices are within a predetermined proximity or range (using Bluetooth, WLAN, Zigbee™ or IEEE 802.15.4, etc) of each other, they are in discovery and can start interchanging information ...”)), wherein the controller is outside the given proximity of the second playback device (as mentioned above, FIG. 1 showing a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the taught invention, having various playback devices among the depicted items 21-25 for example, such that many possible playback devices might be registered and operative for a particular instance of the taught network (such that in reference to [0031]-[0033]’s example, there might be some other playback device that is registered and active but that is not within the range of devices 1 and 3 in the aforementioned example)), and wherein the first playback device and the second playback device are connected to a local area network ([0019] teaching that information exchange between devices per the established network may be implemented in part because the devices are communicating “over a wireless LAN or other wireless network”, and see also [0029]’s mention of WLAN as an underlying communication protocol);
based on receipt of the wireless transmission from the first playback device indicating that the controller is within the given proximity to the first playback device ([0031]-[0033]’s example of devices 1 and 3 approaching device 2, i.e., coming within a proximity ([0019]: “… Each device can collect data over time independently from each other. When one device is in proximity of another device, the data can be exchanged between such devices over a wireless LAN or other wireless network …”)), retrieve at least one stored playback preference of the particular user profile ([0032]-[0033] specifically teaching the transfer of user playback preferences as profiled per user being transmitted once within range from devices 1 and 3 to device 2, for example); and send, via a network interface, instructions to modify playback by the first playback device according to the at least one stored playback preference of the particular user profile ([0031]-[0033]’s example clearly teaching the use of the transferred personal/profiled user playback preferences from users associated with devices 1 and 3 being used to modify/inform the playback as being performed by the in-range device 2).
Regarding claim 3, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least one stored playback preference comprises a volume setting, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to send the instructions to modify playback by the first playback device according to the at least one stored playback preference comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to:
send, via the network interface, an instruction to adopt the volume setting on the first playback device. ([0080]: “… Collecting user preference data can further include the step of collecting at least one among … volume preference …” and [0019]: “… The parameters of the complete profile created based on the user learning can then be exchanged among similar devices creating a seamless learning/profile exchange network 12. As noted examples above, devices providing media content such as TV's, HD cable receivers, digital set-top boxes, home theater systems can contribute to the seamless profile/learning portability aspects herein by collecting and providing … a user's habits (volume, network selected, etc), …”, such that per [0022], the collected volume information as aforementioned can be used “to take action” / “change volume settings” [see also [0030] and [0032] specifically mentioning transfer and use of volume settings])
Regarding claim 4, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least one stored playback preference comprises a content setting that designates preferred media, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to send the instructions to modify playback by the first playback device according to the at least one stored playback preference comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to:
send, via the network interface, an instruction to replace currently playing media with the preferred media. ([0019]: “… The parameters of the complete profile created based on the user learning can then be exchanged among similar devices creating a seamless learning/profile exchange network 12. As noted examples above, devices providing media content such as TV's, HD cable receivers, digital set-top boxes, home theater systems can contribute to the seamless profile/learning portability aspects herein by collecting and providing a user's favorites/preferences in a list of movies, TV series etc. … In terms of a home theater system (CD Player, DVD Player, MP3, etc.), such devices that play this type of media can collect a user's favorites or preferences list of songs, radio stations, etc. …”, and also [0036], providing a concrete example of music being played following a user from one playback device to another based on the user’s travel in location/space, and also [0005]: “song preferences” and “radio station preferences”)
Regarding claim 5, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4, wherein the preferred media comprises at least one of (i) a preferred playlist ([0019]: “… a user's favorites/preferences in a list of movies, TV series etc. … such devices that play this type of media can collect a user's favorites or preferences list of songs”; and [0042] explicitly discussing the use of a “play list” of songs that are subject to the reference’s seamless portability aspects), (ii) a preferred artist ([0005]: “… singer preferences, band preferences …”), and (iii) a preferred genre ([0027]-[0028] discussing genre like/dislike information (also, [0005]: “music style preferences”)).
Regarding claim 8, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 3 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 4 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 5 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 3 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 4 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 5 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baudino in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0029782 (“Rayner”).
Regarding claim 2, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, as discussed above. Baudino does not teach the further limitation wherein the at least one stored playback preference comprises an equalization, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to send the instructions to modify playback by the first playback device according to the at least one stored playback preference comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to:
send, via the network interface, an instruction to adopt the equalization on the first playback device.
Baudino, as discussed in relation to claim 1, and as taught for example in [0005] and [0019], teaches the transfer of a wide breadth of playback preferences as associated with a user from one device to another, to inform the playback at the second device. While a wide breadth of preferences is taught, there is no mention of equalization preference. Rather, the Examiner relies upon RAYNER to teach what Baudino lacks, see e.g., Rayner’s custom/personal playback settings, inclusive of equalization per [0021] and [0106].
Like Baudino more broadly contemplates, Rayner also contemplates user profile as used in playback ([0106], for example). Hence, they are similarly directed in how they consider personalization of playback as tailored to a particular user, and are therefore analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Baudino’s profiling features to include equalization, as Rayner does, with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to provide Baudino’s framework with even further expressivity in how it personalizes a playback experience for a particular user.
Regarding claim 9, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 2 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 2 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baudino in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0334644 (“Selig”).
Regarding claim 6, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, as discussed above. Baudino does not teach the further limitation wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to retrieve, from the particular user profile, the at least one stored playback preference corresponding to the first playback device comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the controller is configured to:
retrieve the at least one stored playback preference corresponding to the first playback device from at least one server.
Baudino’s profile is understood to be stored variously in the devices that constitute its FIG. 1 architecture. To the extent that a profile may be stored in anywhere among those devices, and made eligible for transmission to other devices, it reasons that a device that provides a profile to another device may be understood to act like a server as is further recited here. However, to the extent that Baudino’s teaching is not entirely sufficient, the Examiner further relies upon SELIG to teach what Baudino lacks, see e.g., Selig’s [0050] teaching “a remote server” that is used to store/maintain playback settings/configurations that are understood to be user preferences that can be used across different playback devices.
Like Baudino, Selig teaches user profiling of playback preferences. Hence, they are similarly directed in how they consider personalization of playback as tailored to a particular user, and are therefore analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend storage of the profile information / preferences, per Baudino, onto a server, per Selig, with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to provide an alternative means of doing the same but using a storage configuration/policy that is known in the state of the art and widely used in a similar type of network as Baudino contemplates – particularly in view of the flexibility that Baudino’s [0043] suggests at.
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 6 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 6 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baudino in view of Non-Patent Literature “FamTV: An Architecture for Presence-Aware Personalized Television” (“Cabarcos”).
Regarding claim 7, Baudino teaches The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, as discussed above. Baudino does not teach the further limitation wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to:
display, via a graphical interface, a control interface comprising one or more controls that are selectable to set the at least one stored playback preference and receive, via the control interface, input data representing selection of the at least one stored playback preference and store the at least one stored playback preference in the particular user profile.
Baudino appears to mostly contemplate the collection/learning of user preferences, such that once collected/learned then those preferences can be stored as a profile. Hence, Baudino does not teach the use of a GUI or the like, per Applicants’ further limitations addressed here. Rather, the Examiner relies upon CABARCOS to teach what Baudino lacks, see e.g., Cabarcos’s comparable playback personalization framework where playback is tailored to a user among a network of playback devices, and specifically see section 6 on page 11, discussing a web interface used to register a user’s profile, where the user provides various information including playback preferences, at least partially providing selections and ratings of items. The Examiner reasons that a web interface such as this is akin to a graphical and control interface as is recited, and to the extent that selections are made available through it for a user to select therefrom, then the reference teaches selectable options that are akin to the recited controls. The profile as specified by the user, as taught per section 6, is understood to be stored and then used to further drive the user’s experience.
Like Baudino, Cabarcos teaches user profiling of playback preferences. Hence, they are similarly directed in how they consider personalization of playback as tailored to a particular user, and are therefore analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend profile creation per Baudino to be inclusive of some input/output mechanism as is known in the state of the art such that a user can more directly and perhaps efficiently provide some of the same sought-after information, with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to provide an additional means for obtaining the same necessary information in a more direct and time-saving way that could coexist with Baudino’s existing mechanism that is mostly collection/learning based.
Regarding claim 20, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as claim 7 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure:
US 2010/0106852 Kindig:
US 2014/0248036 Saari:
CA 2714227 C Warrick:
EP 2582160 B1 Ahmed:
/SHOURJO DASGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144