DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "drug free period" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 11 is directed to a method of treating cancer. The term cancer is interpreted to include any and all forms of cancer. In light of this, it can be asserted that in spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in treating all types of cancer because it is not a simple disease, nor is it even a single disease, but a complex of a multitude of different entities, each behaving in a different way. In re Hozumi, 226 USPQ 353 (ComrPats 1985).
The determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims
The breadth of the instant claims is seen to encompass methods for treating cancer by administering to a patient in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of compound of Formula I. Thus, the claims are extremely broad.
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is the treatment of cancer through the use of the claimed compound and derivatives thereof. Currently, there are no known agents that treat cancers all inclusively. (See Pinedo et al. pages 1-2).
The level of predictability in the art
The treatment of cancer is highly unpredictable due to the differing forms of cancerous cells, their location, their potential for metastases, the fact that cancer therapeutics is palliative rather than curative and that cancer treatment readily harms normal tissues. (See McMahon, page 5, col. 2).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor.
The applicant has not demonstrated sufficient guidance provided in the form of administration profiles, combination ratios of the active agents or reference to the same in the prior art to provide a skilled artisan with sufficient guidance to practice the instant treatment of cancer claimed. Further, the applicant discloses that an effective amount of the compound will be administered without providing any direction other than that the compounds of the invention have a high therapeutic index and follows this with a definition readily found in a basic pharmacology textbook. It should be noted that the therapeutic index of a drug in humans is almost never known and is only determined through clinical experience.
The existence of working examples.
There is not seen in the disclosure, sufficient evidence to support Applicant’s claims of treating cancer. A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 27 USPQ2d 1510 (CAFC). The disclosure does not demonstrate sufficient evidence to support the applicant's claim to the treatment of cancer. There are not sufficient working examples or data from references of the prior art to provide a nexus between those examples and a method of treating cancer with the claimed compound.
The level of one of ordinary skill.
The level of skill is that of one with a doctoral understanding of cancer therapeutics.
The quantity of experimentation.
A great deal of experimentation is required. In order for there to be a method of treating cancer generally, as claimed by the applicant, it would be necessary to show that a vast range of different types of cancers can be treated that have differing cell types, locations and potentials for metastases. Furthermore, direction, in the form of examples, must be shown to determine what an effective dose may be. The references submitted do not demonstrate this. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would require a significant amount of experimentation in order to determine the effective dosage to treat the multitudes of different types of cancer with the claimed compound individually or in combination with other therapeutic agents.
Thus, it can be safely concluded that the instant case fails to provide an enabling disclosure for the treatment of cancer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spector et al. (AU2012200856) in view of Spector et al. (WO2011/047195).
Applicants claims in claims 1, 8 and 11 methods for determining frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration to a subject comprising the following steps:
Spector teaches methods for determining frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration to a subject. (See Abstract, pages 4-7, and 27-35).
Spector does not explicitly disclose specifically testing the subject for 5-FU or FBAL before deciding whether or not repeating the treatment.
Spector, in the WO2011/47195 reference, teaches assaying 5-FU with an aim to optimize treatment. Additionally, it is well known in the art that toxicity with 5-FU is well established. (See Abstract and pages 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Spector (AU2012200856) and Spector (WO11/047195) to design a method for determining frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration to a subject, and testing the subject for 5-FU or FBAL before deciding whether or not repeating the treatment to optimize the treatment by monitoring the hematic level of a subject. Both teaches determining frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration to a subject, and Spector (WO11/047195) teaches that assaying 5-FU is used to optimize treatment. Furthermore, toxicity with 5-FU is well known in the art and a skilled person would be prompted to monitor the hematic level of a subject. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Spector (AU2012200856) and Spector (WO11/047195) when confronted with an alternate method for determining the frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration to a subject, would include a step for testing the subject for 5-FU or FBAL before deciding whether or not repeating the treatment, to optimize the treatment by monitoring the hematic level of a subject, and thus is an obvious alternative for determining frequency of PCS6422 and capecitabine administration. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Spector (AU2012200856) and Spector (WO11/047195), Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 are pending in this application. Claims 1-11 are rejected. No claims allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622