Detailed Action
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because although the additional agents listed in the method of Claim 11 are found in the original claim set of the instant application and have support in the provisional application cited above, such agents like CXCR4 inhibitors or fusion inhibitors for example, are not found in the specification. All of the agents listed in the claims must be expressly described in the specification.
Said agents are found in the claims of the earliest disclosure and are thus supported. Therefore, Claim 11 has the 11/5/2018 filing date, but the specification must be amended to include ALL the limitations of the claim set. Applicant is reminded that no new matter may be introduced by amendment in the specification or claim set, only that which has been previously disclosed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-5 depict stereoisomers with unclear orientations. The hydrogens in
appear to be attached to the ring system with wedge bonds rather than dashed bonds.
Claims 1-5 recite “a compound or salt” and “salts thereof”. One of the salt limitations should be deleted.
Claim 6 should recite “the compound” instead of “a compound”
Claims 7-8 should recite “the composition” instead of “a composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102(a)(2): The applied references in both this 102 section and the 103 section below have a common assignee, applicant, and/or joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11505543 (‘543; claiming domestic benefit to four US provisional applications, the earliest of which is 62655881 dated 4/11/2018, the latest being 62750336 dated 10/25/2018).
‘543 teaches
, the second compound of instant Claim 5 in Col. 187.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 10954252 (‘252; claiming domestic benefit to three provisional US applications, the earliest of which is 62500005 dated 5/02/2017, the latest being 62651345 dated 4/02/2018).
‘252 teaches the following compounds:
The first compound of instant Claim 3 is taught exactly in Col 627:
vs.
.
The second compound of instant Claim 4 (Page 5, Row 1, Col 2) is taught in Col 590, Row 3.
vs.
.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPub No. 20210393633 (‘633; claiming domestic benefit to one provisional US application: 62750395 filed 10/25/2018).
‘633 teaches
, the second compound of instant Claim 5
, in Para 167.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPub No. 20210395262 (‘262; claiming domestic benefit to one provisional US application: 62749801 filed 10/24/2018).
‘262 teaches
, the second compound of instant Claim 5
, in Para 137.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11541055 (‘055; claiming domestic benefit to one provisional US application: 62749818 filed 10/24/2018).
‘055 teaches
, the second compound of instant Claim 5
, in Col 102.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPub 20210403465 (‘465; claiming domestic benefit to one provisional US application: 62751733 filed 10/29/2018).
‘055 teaches
, the second compound of instant Claim 5
, in Para 116.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 10954252 (‘252; claiming domestic benefit to three provisional US applications, the earliest of which is 62500005 dated 5/02/2017, the latest being 62651345 dated 4/02/2028) .
‘252 teaches a genus of HIV inhibitors in Formula I, several exemplary compounds, compositions thereof, and methods of treatment therewith (Abstract). Claims 6-11 of ‘252 teach compositions comprising excipients and the claimed routes of administration and co-therapeutics.
The ‘252 compounds of Claim 5 apply to the compounds of instant Claims 1-5 as follows:
The last compound of instant Claim 1 varies from the ‘252 compound in Col 578, Row 3 by a Me/H exchange on the topmost oxygen:
vs.
.
Although, ‘252 Formula I does not teach H can be used in place of Me at the same position atop the oxygen, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. H differs from Me (CH2-H) by a CH2. Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to exchange the Me with an H.
The first compound of instant Claim 2 differs from ‘252 compound Col 618, Row 2 by a F/H exchange:
vs.
.
Formula I of ‘252 teaches H and F are alternative embodiments (Col 554, G16, Lines 50-53).
The first compound of instant Claim 3 is taught by ‘252 exactly Col 627, Row 2:
vs.
.
The second compound of instant Claim 4 is taught as the ‘252 compound of Col 590, Row 3.
vs.
.
The first compound of instant Claim 5 differs from ‘252 compound Col 578, Row 3 by a OMe/Br exchange:
vs.
.
Formula I of ‘252 teaches Br and O-C1 alkyl are alternative embodiments (Col 554, G14, Lines 37-43).
The modifications taught above are either suggested in ‘252 or characterized as known, routine modifications by the MPEP. Because the modifications are suggested to yield compounds of similar properties, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant claims would find it obvious to form and reasonably expect the successful formation of HIV inhibitors.
Double Patenting
NONPROVISIONAL:
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10954252 (hereinafter referred to as ViiV).
The claimed invention is rendered obvious over ViiV as the claimed invention teaches several HIV inhibitors, compositions, and methods of use thereof whereas ViiV teaches a genus of HIV inhibitors in Formula I, several exemplary compounds, compositions thereof, and methods of treatment therewith. Claims 8-11 of ViiV teach routes of administration and co-therapeutics.
The ViiV compounds of Claim 5 anticipate or render obvious the compounds of instant Claims 1-5.
The last compound of instant Claim 1 varies from ViiV compound Col 578, Row 3 by a Me/H exchange on the topmost oxygen:
vs.
.
Although, ViiV Formula I does not teach H can be used in place of Me at the same position atop the oxygen, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. H differs from Me (CH2-H) by a CH2. Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to exchange the Me with an H.
The first compound of instant Claim 2 differs from ViiV compound Col 618, Row 2 by a F/H exchange:
vs.
.
Formula I of ViiV teaches H and F are alternative embodiments (Col 554, G16, Lines 50-53).
The first compound of instant Claim 3 is taught by ViiV exactly Col 627, Row 2:
vs.
.
The second compound of instant Claim 4 is taught as the ViiV compound of Col 590, Row 3.
vs.
.
The first compound of instant Claim 5 differs from a ViiV compound Col 578, Row 3 by a OMe/Br exchange:
vs.
.
Formula I of ViiV teaches Br and O-C1 alkyl are alternative embodiments (Col 554, G14, Lines 37-43).
Since both applications teach the same or similar compounds used to treat HIV, compositions thereof, and methods of treatment therewith, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of ViiV.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627