DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-8 are pending and currently under consideration.
3. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, e.g. on page 16 of the specification as-filed. Applicant is required to review the entire specification and to delete any embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination and application of prior art, claim 6 is read as 4F6 anti-Trop-2 antibody radioactive isotope-bound conjugate.
7. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is apparent that the hybridoma 4F6 that produce the anti-trop-2 antibody is required to practice the claimed invention. As a required element, it must be known and readily available to the public or obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification. If it is not so obtainable or available, the enablement requirements of 35 USC 112, a deposit of the hybridoma, which produces this antibody, may satisfy first paragraph. See 37 CFR 1.801-1.809.
If the deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, an affidavit or declaration by applicants or someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature, stating that the hybridoma has been deposited under the Budapest Treaty and that the hybridoma will be irrevocably and without restriction or condition released to the public upon the issuance of a patent would satisfy the deposit requirement made herein. See 37 CFR 1.808. Further, the record must be clear that the deposit will be maintained in a public depository for a period of 30 years after the date of deposit or 5 years after the last request for a sample or for the enforceable life of the patent whichever is longer. See 37 CFR 1.806. If the deposit has not been made under the Budapest treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by applicants or someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature must be made, stating that the deposit has been made at an acceptable depository and that the criteria set forth in 37 CFR 1.801-1.809, have been met.
If the deposit(s) was/were made after the effective filing date of the application for a patent in the United States, a verified statement is required from a person in a position to corroborate that the hybridoma described in the specification as filed are the same as that deposited in the depository. Corroboration may take the form of a showing of a chain of custody from applicant to the depository coupled with corroboration that the deposit is identical to the biological material described in the specification and in the applicant’s possession at the time the application was filed.
Further, amendment of the specification to disclose the date of deposit and the complete name and address of the depository is required as set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.809(d).
The instant specification discloses the amino acid sequences of VH (SEQ ID NO:2) and VL (SEQ ID NO:4) of the anti-Trop-2 antibody 4F6 (e.g. see pages 12-13 of the specification as-filed).
Note that satisfaction for the biological deposit of the specific 4F6 antibody requires the disclosure and recitation of its entire amino acid sequence and not based upon partial sequences
10. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alberti (US 2012/0052076).
Alberti teaches an anti-Trop-2 monoclonal antibody having high affinity for the tumor antigen Trop-2 and can be used in a method of treatment and diagnosis of tumors including tumors in endometrium, breast, head and neck, colon-rectum, stomach, lung, ovary, prostate, pancreas, cervix (e.g. see abstract and [0001]). Alberti further teach that Trop-2 antigen is expressed by the majority of tumors in human (e.g. see [0003]). Albert teaches that the antibody is 4F6 a hybridoma cell line N. PD08019 and provides the VH and VL amino acid sequences of the antibody (e.g. see [0091]-[0118]). Alberti teaches that the tumor expressing Trop-2 can be treated by administering the anti-Trop-2 antibody before or after the tumor removal and by administering together with other anti-neoplastic agents including another anti-Trop-2 antibody that binds different epitopes (e.g. see [0046] and claims 1-15). Alberti teach that the Trop-2 is also overexpressed in metastatic cells (e.g. see [0009]-[0012]). Alberti further teaches that the antibody can be conjugated to a tag such as radioisotopic or flurescent tracers for diagnostic and imaging of the tumor in vivo which would involve in administering the antibody conjugate (e.g. see [0049]-[0050]).
Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the instant invention.
11. No claim is allowed.
/CHUN W DAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641