DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 18/771,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct, as shown by the prior art rejection below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/771199 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
18/771,208 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
9. (New) An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: receiving a bitstream including information on a current image; partitioning the current image to obtain one or more coding blocks based on partitioning information included in the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block based on first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction; and decoding the one or more subblocks, wherein the third information indicates whether the split direction is a vertical direction or a horizontal direction.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein a transform type for an inverse-transform on inverse-quantized coefficients is determined by considering whether or not a size of the subblock is greater than a threshold size pre-defined in the image decoding apparatus.
11. (New) The method of claim 10, wherein a number of transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is greater than the threshold size is different from the number of the transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is less than or equal to the threshold size.
12. (New) An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into a bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; and encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the third information indicates whether the split direction is a vertical direction or a horizontal direction.
13. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable recoding medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad- tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; and encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the third information indicates whether the split direction is a vertical direction or a horizontal direction.
14. (New) A method for transmitting a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performedusing tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad- tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure;obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; andencoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the third information indicates whether the split direction is a vertical direction or a horizontal direction.
9. (New) An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: receiving a bitstream including information on a current image; partitioning the current image to obtain one or more coding blocks based on partitioning information included in the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block based on first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction; and decoding the one or more subblocks, wherein the decoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-decoding information on the subblock included in the bitstream, and wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block based on prediction information included in the bitstream.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein a transform type for an inverse-transform on inverse-quantized coefficients is determined by considering whether or not a size of the subblock is greater than a threshold size pre-defined in the image decoding apparatus.
11. (New) The method of claim 10, wherein a number of transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is greater than the threshold size is different from the number of the transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is less than or equal to the threshold size.
12. (New) An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into a bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; and encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the encoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-encoding information on the subblock into the bitstream, and wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block, prediction information on the prediction being encoded into the bitstream.
13. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable recoding medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad- tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; and encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the encoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-encoding information on the subblock into the bitstream, and wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block, prediction information on the prediction being encoded into the bitstream.
14. (New) A method for transmitting a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into the bitstream, wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures, the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad- tree partitioning structure, a binary-tree partitioning structure and a triple-tree partitioning structure; obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block, first information indicating whether to split the coding block, second information indicating a split ratio and third information indicating a split direction being encoded into the bitstream; and encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image, wherein the encoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-encoding information on the subblock into the bitstream, and wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block, prediction information on the prediction being encoded into the bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Li et al. (Li) (US 2017/0208336).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising:
receiving a bitstream including information on a current image ([0047], an encoded bitstream is received);
partitioning the current image to obtain one or more coding blocks based on partitioning information included in the bitstream ([0072], [0147], blocks in the bitstream are partitioned according to encoded information), wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures ([0062], the image is divided into treeblocks), the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure ([0062], a quadtree structure), and a binary-tree partitioning structure (FIG. 6, 148-158);
obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block based on first information indicating whether to split the coding block ([0038], SDIP_FLAG indicates whether or not splitting of a coding unit is performed; [0061], a flag indicating whether or not splitting is performed), second information indicating whether to allow an asymmetric split of the coding block ([0150], SDIP partition modes are only allowed for blocks having a certain size; FIGs. 6 and 8, [0019], [0154], TABLE 3, SDIP partition modes including asymmetric partitions are signaled if SDIP is allowed based on a block size), third information indicating a split direction ([0039], SDIP_direction_flag) ([0041], [0072], [0147], the SDIP_Flag and the SDIP_direction_Flag syntax elements must be provided in addition to the bin strings of Table 1 (i.e. all three flags must be signaled)), and fourth information indicating a split location of each of the one or more sub-blocks ([0179], the sizes and locations of each prediction unit (PU) is signaled), and
decoding the one or more subblocks ([0170], [0171], decoding is performed),
wherein the decoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-decoding information on the subblock included in the bitstream ([0082], [0112], entropy encoded syntax information is used for performing entropy decoding), and
wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block based on prediction information included in the bitstream ([0036], [0078], prediction mode information is signaled for selecting a prediction mode).
Guo is silent about a triple-tree partitioning structure.
Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a quad-tree partitioning structure ([0020], quad tree), a binary-tree partitioning structure ([0021], [0022], binary tree), and a triple-tree partitioning structure ([0018], [0019], triple tree).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Guo for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 12, Guo discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
partitioning a current image to obtain one or more coding blocks, partitioning information for the partitioning being encoded into a bitstream ([0072], [0147], blocks in the bitstream are partitioned according to encoded information), wherein the partitioning being performed using tree-based partitioning structures ([0062], the image is divided into treeblocks), the tree-based partitioning structures including a quad-tree partitioning structure ([0062], a quadtree structure), and a binary-tree partitioning structure (FIG. 6, 148-158);
obtaining one or more subblocks by splitting a coding block based on first information indicating whether to split the coding block ([0038], SDIP_FLAG indicates whether or not splitting of a coding unit is performed; [0061], a flag indicating whether or not splitting is performed), second information indicating whether to allow an asymmetric split of the coding block ([0150], SDIP partition modes are only allowed for blocks having a certain size; FIGs. 6 and 8, [0019], [0154], TABLE 3, SDIP partition modes including asymmetric partitions are signaled if SDIP is allowed based on a block size), third information indicating a split direction ([0039], SDIP_direction_flag) ([0041], [0072], [0147], the SDIP_Flag and the SDIP_direction_Flag syntax elements must be provided in addition to the bin strings of Table 1 (i.e. all three flags must be signaled)), and fourth information indicating a split location of each of the one or more sub-blocks ([0179], the sizes and locations of each prediction unit (PU) is signaled), and
encoding the one or more subblocks to generate the bitstream including information on the current image ([0037], the encoder generates an encoded bitstream),
wherein the encoding a subblock comprises performing entropy-encoding information on the subblock into the bitstream ([0082], syntax data is entropy encoded into the bitstream for use by a decoder), and
wherein a prediction for the coding block is performed by selecting a prediction method for the coding block, prediction information on the prediction being encoded into the bitstream ([0036], [0078], prediction mode information is signaled for selecting a prediction mode).
Guo is silent about a triple-tree partitioning structure.
Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a quad-tree partitioning structure ([0020], quad tree), a binary-tree partitioning structure ([0021], [0022], binary tree), and a triple-tree partitioning structure ([0018], [0019], triple tree).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Guo for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of claim 12 above. Guo further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recoding medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method ([0185], a program stored on a CRM is executed).
Claim 13’s recitation of “a bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the modes, coding block, bitstream information manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Smith recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (¶185).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 12 above. Guo further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream generated by an image encoding method (FIG. 1. The bitstream is received by device 14).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Li et al. (Li) (US 2017/0208336), and further in view of Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2016/0219290).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Guo discloses the method of claim 9 (See claim 9 above).
Guo is silent about wherein a transform type for an inverse-transform on inverse-quantized coefficients is determined by considering whether or not a size of the subblock is greater than a threshold size pre-defined in the image decoding apparatus; and wherein a number of transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is greater than the threshold size is different from the number of the transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is less than or equal to the threshold size.
Zhao from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a transform type for an inverse-transform on inverse-quantized coefficients is determined by considering whether or not a size of the subblock is greater than a threshold size pre-defined in the image decoding apparatus ([0027], [0051], [0124], the decoder selects a stored transform type, [0083 ], [0120], the decoder reconstructs a block, [0200], [0222], the transform type is determined based on a size of a block (i.e. size threshold determine a transform type) for inverse transformation); and wherein a number of transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is greater than the threshold size is different from the number of the transform types available for the subblock when the size of the subblock is less than or equal to the threshold size ([0147], the number of transforms in a subset is determined based on a size of the block (i.e. if a predetermined block size is exceeded, a the subset contains a different amount of transforms)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488