DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The examiner notes the claimed subject matter of independent claims 15, 21, and 22, “wherein the transform type includes a mixed transform type for transform the decoded picture by rotating and flipping the decoded picture” is not disclosed in applications KR10-2016-0127883, KR10-2016-0129383, KR10-2017-0090613, to which the instant claims foreign priority. Thus, the earliest priority benefit the instant application is entitled to is the effective filing date of PCT/KR2017/011144 (10/10/2017), to which the instant application also claims priority.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niamut et al. (Niamut) (US 2020/0177916).
Regarding claim 15, Niamut discloses an image decoding method, comprising:
generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture ([0100], [0115], a prediction block is generated for motion estimation and stored in decoded picture buffers);
decoding the picture based on the prediction block ([0100], [0115], a prediction block is generated for motion estimation and stored in decoded picture buffers);
obtaining, from a bitstream, transform information for the decoded picture ([0112], [0172], information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled);
determining a transform type based on the transform information ([0112], flipping/rotation is performed based on the type of flipping/rotation which is signaled); and
performing a transform on the decoded picture based on the transform type ([0112], flipping/rotation is performed based on the type of flipping/rotation which is signaled),
wherein the transform type includes a mixed transform type for transform the decoded picture by rotating and flipping the decoded picture ([0112], [0141], a combination rotation/flipping (mirroring) method is signaled), and
wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system ([0044], projection model information is signaled, [0080], faces of a cube are projected in a 3D coordinate system).
Regarding claim 16, Niamut discloses wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for rotating the decoded picture after flipping the decoded picture ([0141], the mirror (flip) and rotation operations maybe performed in any combination).
Regarding claim 17, Niamut discloses wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for flipping the decoded picture after rotating the decoded picture ([0141], the mirror (flip) and rotation operations maybe performed in any combination).
Regarding claim 21, Niamut discloses an image encoding method, comprising:
generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture ([0100], [0115], a prediction block is generated for motion estimation and stored in decoded picture buffers);
encoding the picture based on the prediction block (FIG. 7, entropy encoding 730 is performed using prediction blocks from decoded picture buffer 720);
encoding transform information related to a transform type of the picture ([0112], [0172], information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled);
encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system ([0044], projection model information is signaled, [0080], faces of a cube are projected in a 3D coordinate system); and
generating a bitstream comprising the transform information ([0112], [0172], information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled) and the projection information ([0044], projection model information is signaled, [0080], faces of a cube are projected in a 3D coordinate system),
wherein the transform type includes a mixed type for transform the picture by rotating and flipping the picture ([0112], [0141], a combination rotation/flipping (mirroring) method is signaled).
Regarding claim 22, the limitations of claim 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 21 (See claim 21 above). Niamut further discloses transmitting the bitstream ([0111], the bitstream is transmitted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2019/0215516) in view of Coban et al. (Coban) (US 2019/0007679).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses an image decoding method, comprising:
generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture ([0133], a prediction block is generated);
decoding the picture based on the prediction block ([0133], the image is decoded using the prediction block);
obtaining, from a bitstream, transform information for the decoded picture ([0377]- [0379], a transform type and information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled);
determining a transform type based on the transform information ([0377]- [0379], a transform type and information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled); and
performing a transform on the decoded picture based on the transform type ([0377]- [0379], a transform type and information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled for performing transformation),
wherein the transform type includes a mixed transform type for transform the decoded picture ([0377], a transform mode for each block in the image is signaled where the first value of a flag signals flipping and second value of a flag signals a different rearrangement type which may include rotation as taught in [0379]) by rotating ([0379], a rotation type is signaled) and flipping the decoded picture ([0378], [0428], a flipping method is signaled).
Lim is silent about wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system.
Coban from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream includes projection information for mapping the decoded picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system ([0097], rotation of residual samples is performed; [0066], [0067], a projection type is encoded and parsed by a decoder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Coban into the teachings of Lim for more efficient image encoding/decoding of 360 degree image data.
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses wherein a direction of the flipping is at least one of a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the decoded picture ([0370] horizontal and vertical flipping is performed).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses wherein a direction of the rotating is a counter-clockwise direction ([0379], shuffling by rotating the residual signal in the block at a predetermined angle. Here, the predetermined angle may mean … −90 degrees, −180 degrees, −270 degrees, 45 degrees, −45 degrees, 135 degrees, −135 degrees).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses wherein the transform type further includes a no-transform type ([0371], [0389], no flipping).
Regarding claim 21, Lim discloses an image encoding method, comprising:
generating a prediction block by predicting a current block in a picture ([0107], [0133], a prediction block is generated);
encoding the picture based on the prediction block ([0107], encoding is performed using the prediction block);
encoding transform information related to a transform type of the picture ([0377]- [0379], a transform type and information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled); and
generating a bitstream comprising the transform information ([0377]- [0379], a transform type and information regarding a flipping/rotation type is signaled),
wherein the transform type includes a mixed type for transform the picture by rotating and flipping the picture ([0377], a transform mode for each block in the image is signaled where the first value of a flag signals flipping and second value of a flag signals a different rearrangement type which may include rotation as taught in [0379]).
Lim is silent about encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system; and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information and the projection information.
Coban from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses encoding projection information for mapping the picture to a three-dimensional coordinate system ([0066], [0067], a projection type is encoded and parsed by a decoder); and generating a bitstream comprising the transform information ([0097], [0098], packing scheme information signals block rotation information) and the projection information ([0066], [0067], a projection type is encoded and parsed by a decoder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Coban into the teachings of Lim for more efficient image encoding/decoding of 360 degree image data.
Regarding claim 22, the limitations of claim 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 21 (See claim 21 above). Lim further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 2, the bitstream is received by a decoder 200).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2019/0215516) in view of Coban et al. (Coban) (US 2019/0007679), and further in view of Niamut et al. (Niamut) (US 2020/0177916).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Lim in view of Coban discloses the image decoding method of claim 15 (see claim 15 above).
Lim in view of Coban is silent about wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for rotating the decoded picture after flipping the decoded picture; and wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for flipping the decoded picture after rotating the decoded picture.
Niamut from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for rotating the decoded picture after flipping the decoded picture ([0141], the mirror (flip) and rotation operations maybe performed in any combination); and wherein the mixed transform type indicate a transform type for flipping the decoded picture after rotating the decoded picture ([0141], the mirror (flip) and rotation operations maybe performed in any combination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Niamut into the teachings of Lim in view of Coban for more efficient image encoding/decoding of 360 degree image data.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niamut et al. (Niamut) (US 2020/0177916) in view of Lim et al. (Lim) (US 2019/0215516).
Regarding claims 18-20, Niamut discloses the image decoding method of claim 15 (see claim 15 above).
Niamut is silent about wherein a direction of the flipping is at least one of a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the decoded picture; wherein a direction of the rotating is a counter-clockwise direction; wherein the transform type further includes a no-transform type.
Lim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a direction of the flipping is at least one of a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the decoded picture ([0370] horizontal and vertical flipping is performed); wherein a direction of the rotating is a counter-clockwise direction ([0379], shuffling by rotating the residual signal in the block at a predetermined angle. Here, the predetermined angle may mean … −90 degrees, −180 degrees, −270 degrees, 45 degrees, −45 degrees, 135 degrees, −135 degrees); and wherein the transform type further includes a no-transform type ([0371], [0389], no flipping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim into the teachings of Niamut for more efficient image encoding/decoding of 360 degree image data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Srinivasan et al. (Srinivasan) (US 2008/0199091) ([0052], [0068], a combination of flipping and rotation of an image is performed).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488