DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (hereinafter Yoon, US 2022/0061616 A1) in view of Jang et al. (hereinafter Jang, US 2019/0038107 A1), further in view of Yan (US 2020/0221917 A1).
For claim 1, Yoon discloses a robot cleaner (Fig. 1 of Yoon discloses a robot cleaner 1 – see Yoon, Fig. 1, paragraph [0074]) comprising;
a cleaner main body configured to travel and clean a cleaning area (Fig. 1 of Yoon discloses a cleaner main body 10 configured to travel and clean a cleaning area (floor) – see Yoon, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0007]);
a sensor case arrangeable on the cleaner main body such that while the sensor case is arranged on the cleaner main body, the sensor case is configured to cover a sensor for detecting an obstacle in the cleaning area (Figs. 1 and 4-5 of Yoon disclose a sensor case 140 arrangeable on the cleaner main body 10 such that while the sensor case 140 is arranged on the cleaner main body 10, the sensor case 140 is configured to cover a sensor 110 for detecting an obstacle in the cleaning area – see Yoon, Figs. 1 and 5, paragraphs [0075] and [0087]-[0089]); and
a sensor collision detector configured to detect an impact applied to the sensor (Figs. 5 of Yoon discloses a sensor collision detector 130 configured to detect an impact applied to the sensor 110 – see Yoon, Fig. 5 , paragraphs [0089]-[0090]);
wherein the sensor collision detector (Fig. 5, the sensor collision detector 130) comprises:
a bumper connectable to the sensor case which covers the sensor such that while the bumper is connected to the sensor case, at least a portion of the bumper is arranged along an outer circumference of the sensor (Fig. 5 of Yoon discloses a bumper 150 connectable to the sensor case 140 which covers the sensor 110 such that while the bumper 150 is connected to the sensor case 140, at least a portion of the bumper 150 is arranged along an outer circumference of the sensor 110 (the bumper member 150 includes guide member 151 corresponding to guide groove 141 of the sensor case 140) – see Yoon, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0086] and [0092]),
at least a portion of the bumper 150 is arranged along an outer circumference of the sensor 110 – see Yoon, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0091]-[0092] and [0135]),
a detecting portion to interact with the bumper based on positioning of the bumper to detect a collision of the sensor case (Fig. 8 pf Yoon discloses a detect portion to interact with the bumper 150 based on positioning of the bumper 150 to detect a collision of the sensor case 140 – see Yoon, Figs. 5 and 8, paragraphs [0092], [0131] and [0136]-[0137]).
Yoon is silent for disclosing the bumper which is moveable.
However, Jang discloses a robot cleaner having a bumper which is moveable (Fig. 1 of Yang discloses a robot cleaner 10 having a bumper 100 protruding from the outer periphery of main body 20 and movable when impacted by an obstacle – see Jang, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0034] and [0036]). Also, Yan discloses a robot cleaner having a bumper which is moveable (Figs. 1-2 of Yan discloses a robot cleaner comprising a bumper 3 which is moveable when obstacle is impacted – see Yan, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0019] and [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon’s circumferential collision-protection structure according to the movable bumper teaching of Jang or Yan for purpose of protecting sensor mechanically and/or providing the direction of an obstacle accurately.
Yoon discloses the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower side of the sensor (Figs. 5 and 8 of Yoon disclose bumper member 150 and bumper sensor 130 which are positioned in the sensor assembly adjacent/below the LiDAR sensing structure 110 – see Yoon, Figs. 5 and 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0094] and [0132]-[0135]. Yoon does not discloses specific bumper and the detecting portion which are on a lower side of the sensor. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice that It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower side of the LiDAR sensor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Locating the mechanical bumper actuation components beneath the LiDAR sensing region predictably prevents interference with the sensor’s field of view).
For claim 2, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 1, wherein the sensor collision detector further includes a sensor holder to support the sensor (Fig. 5 of Yoon discloses LiDAR sensor hosing 140 accommodating and supporting LiDAR sensor 110. Yoon further discloses bumper member 150 disposed around LiDAR sensor housing 140 and bumper sensor 130 associate therewith – see Yoon, Fig. 5, paragraph [0087] and [0091]). Thus, LiDAR sensor 140 housing correspond to the claimed sensor holder to support the sensor), and
wherein the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower surface of the sensor holder (Yoon does not disclose specifically the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower surface of the sensor holder. Further, Jang discloses the bumper movement guide and impact detection structures on supporting surfaces of the cleaner body 20 – see Yang, Figs. 1-2 and 13, paragraphs [0035]-[0036]. Yoon does not disclose specifically the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower surface of the sensor holder. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice that It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the bumper and the detecting portion are on a lower side of the LiDAR sensor holder, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Locating the mechanical bumper actuation components beneath the LiDAR sensing region predictably prevents interference with the sensor’s field of view). Locating the movable bumper and its detecting portion on a lower portion/surface of Yoon’s LiDAR sensor supporting structure to provide mechanical support for the collision mechanism while for purpose of avoiding interference with the optical sensing region of LiDAR sensor).
For claim 3, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 2, wherein the bumper and the detecting portion are arranged along a same line on a lower portion of the sensor holder (Figs. 5 and 8 of Yoon disclose bumper member 150, contact portion 163, stoper 133, and first and second bumper sensors 131, 132 arranged such that collision induced movement is mechanically transferred to the switches – see Yoon, Figs. 5 and 8, paragraphs [0131]-[0132]. Further Jang discloses a pressing unit 112 coupled to bumper 100 that moves into contact with impact sensor 40 when the bumper moves – see Jang, Figs. 8 and 13, paragraphs [0031] and [0055]. It would have been obvious to align the bumper-actuating portion and corresponding detecting portion along the same mechanical actuation line so that movement of the bumper is directly and reliably transferred to the collision detector, thereby simplifying the force transfer path).
For claim 4, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 2, wherein the sensor collision detector further comprises:
a link member to connect the sensor case and the bumper such that the sensor case and the bumper are interlocked with each other in an event of a collision with an obstacle (Yoon discloses a link member 141, 151 to connect the sensor case 140 and the bumper member 150 such that the sensor case 140 and the bumper are interlocked with each other in an event of a collision with an obstacle -- see Yoon, Fig. 5, paragraph [0136]-[0137]).
Yoon discloses the link member which is silent for including at least one link arranged to be spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the sensor case.
However, Yan discloses the link member includes at least one link arranged to be spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the sensor case (Yan discloses the bumper 3 movably/floatingly connected to robot body 1 by a plurality of shaft/coupling units 11, 12 disposed at spaced locations. Movement of bumper 3 caused by collision is constrained and guided by these spaced connecting structure – see Yan, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ a plurality of circumferentially spaced connecting/link structures between Yoon’s sensor case and movable bumper to maintain alignment of the generally circumferential bumper as teaching of Yan for purpose of maintaining alignment of the generally circumferential bumper while permitting controlled collision induced movement from different directions.
For claim 5, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 4, wherein the sensor collision detector further comprises:
a bumper connection portion on the at least one link so as to connect the bumper, and a link connection portion on the bumper so as to correspond to the bumper connection portion (Yoon in view of Yan does not specifically discloses a bumper connection portion on the at least one link so as to connect the bumper, and a link connection portion on the bumper so as to correspond to the bumper connection portion. However, Yan discloses corresponding shaft/coupling structures correcting moveable contact unit/bumper 3 to robot 1, including positioning shafts, corresponding holes, floating members, and fasteners – see Yan, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0021]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide complementary connection portions on the link and bumper because such cooperating connection structures permit the link to constrain and transmit movement of the movable bumper while retaining the bumper on the supporting assembly).
For claim 6, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 2, wherein the sensor collision detector further comprises an elastic member that provides tension to allow the bumper to return to an original position (Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan does not disclose specifically the sensor collision detector further comprises an elastic member that provides tension to allow the bumper to return to an original position. However, Yoon discloses damping member 142 associated with LiDAR sensor housing 140. Khi the sensor housing changes position because of external impact, the restoring force of damping member 142 moves the housing back toward its original. Jang discloses elastic member/spring 134 providing an elastic force that restores bumper 100 to its reference position (see Jang, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0066]-[0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon’s movable sensor bumper with return spring taught by Jang so that the bumper automatically return to its normal position after removal of the collision force).
For claim 7, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 6, wherein the detecting portion includes:
a pair of a first switch and a second switch arranged to face each other and spaced apart from each other at a predetermined angle so as to be in contact with at least a portion of the bumper, the first switch and the second switch having first and second terminals, respectively, on opposite surfaces facing each other and contactable with each other (Fig. 8 of Yoon discloses a pair of a first switch 131 and a second switch 132 arranged to face each other and spaced apart from each other at a predetermined angle so as to be in contact with at least a portion of the bumper , the first switch and the second switch having first and second terminals, respectively – see Yoon, Fig. 8, paragraphs [0131]-[0133]. Yoon discloses the pair of the first switch and the second switch which is not on opposite surfaces facing each other and contactable with each other. However, Yan discloses two sensor unit 4 positioned on different sides of movable contact unit 3 (see Yan, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0022]) so that movement in different direction causes one or both sensing units to be actuated, thereby determining obstacle direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon’s first and second switches which is on opposite surface facing each other and contactable with each other as taught by Yan for purpose of detecting impacts occurring from different directions).
For claim 8, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 7, wherein the bumper includes:
a bumper body formed to correspond to an outer circumference of the sensor case (Yoon discloses a bumper body 150, 151 formed to correspond to an outer circumference of the sensor case 140 – see Yoon, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0135]), and
a contact portion, as at least a portion of the bumper body, between the first switch and the second switch, and configured to contact each first terminal by pressing each second terminal (Figs. 5 and 8 of Yoon disclose contact portion 163 and stopper 133 for transmitting collision induced movement to first and second bumper sensors/first and second switches 131-132. Yoon disclose the contact portion which is silent for configured to contact each first terminal by pressing each second terminal. However, Jang discloses pressing unit 112 coupled to bumper 100, wherein movement of the bumper causes the pressing unit to contact impact sensor 40 – see Jang, Figs. 12-13, paragraphs [0058]-[0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon’s circumferential bumper body with connected contact portion positioned relative to the two switches as taught by Jang so that displacement of the bumper actuates the appropriate switch according to collision direction).
For claim 9, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan discloses the robot cleaner of claim 8, wherein the sensor collision detector further comprises a fixing member configured to be movably and coupleable to the sensor holder, wherein the fixing member includes a first fixing member on which the bumper is seated, and a second fixing member securing the first fixing member to the sensor holder (Yang discloses bumper guider 120, guide hole 126, protruding guider/boss 28, and fixing nut 130, wherein protruding guider 28 extends from the stationary main body and is positioned within guide hole 126 of bumper guider 120. Fixing nut 130 is fastened to the end of protruding guider 28 to connect bumper 100 to main body 20 while permitting front/rear and left/right bumper movement – see Jang, Figs. 11-13, paragraphs [0061]-[0064]). Additionally, Yan discloses floating members 33 mounted within corresponding fisheye holes 32, fasteners 34 passing through long holes 331, and positioning shafts 12 to which the fasteners are secured – see Yan, Figs. 2-3, paragraph [0021]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ such a two-part movable fixing structure for Yoon’s sensor bumper so that the bumper is retained on the sensor holder while remaining free to undergo controlled collision induced displacement).
For claim 10, Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan, Yoon discloses the robot cleaner of claim 9, wherein the bumper and the lower surface of the sensor holder spaced apart by a gap (Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan does not specifically disclose the bumper and the lower surface of the sensor holder spaced apart by a gap. However, Jang discloses fixing nut 130 retains bumper 100 on protruding guider 28 without restricting front/rear or left/right movement -- see Jang, Figs. 11-13, paragraph [0064]). Yan discloses the periphery and bottom surface of each floating member have a gap relative to the inner wall surface of the corresponding fisheye hole – see Yan, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0010] and [0021]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Yoon in view of Jang, further in view of Yan to provide a clearance gap between the movable bumper and stationary sensor holder for purpose of preventing mechanical binding and permit the collision induced movement required for operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 10, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Sep 26, 2026