DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed on 07/12/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. This action is made non-final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been placed in file.
Foreign Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU (US 2017/0160921).
Re claim 1, XU teaches a method for lyric video display, comprising:
acquiring, based on a lyric video display operation of a user, multimedia data to be displayed, wherein the multimedia data comprises audio data and lyrics (fig. 3A and [0043], displaying lyrics of a song along while the song is being played);
performing a segmentation processing on the lyrics to obtain segmented lyric fragments (fig. 3B and [0062]-[0064], the user selects the part of the lyrics);
determining a target time point (fig. 3B and [0064], a start time 00:31 and an end time 00:35 of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street” are displayed, a start time 00:36 and an end time 00:40 of “Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” are displayed at the same time, and total duration of 9 seconds of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street—Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” is further displayed);
acquiring, from the segmented lyric fragments, a target lyric fragment corresponding to the target time point (fig. 3B and [0064], a start time 00:31 and an end time 00:35 of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street” are displayed, a start time 00:36 and an end time 00:40 of “Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” are displayed at the same time, and total duration of 9 seconds of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street—Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” is further displayed); and
displaying the target lyric fragment in combination with a background content in a background area, and playing audio data corresponding to the target lyric fragment (figs. 3a-b and [0062]-[0064], based on user’s selection of a certain part of the lyrics, that segment is being displayed with lyrics while the song is being played).
Re claims 2 and 14, XU teaches wherein said performing the segmentation processing on the lyrics comprises: performing the segmentation processing on the lyrics in accordance with sections of the lyrics (fig. 3B and [0064], a start time 00:31 and an end time 00:35 of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street” are displayed, a start time 00:36 and an end time 00:40 of “Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” are displayed at the same time, and total duration of 9 seconds of “You and I kiss goodbye—in an empty street—Let the wind laugh at that I cannot refuse” is further displayed).
Re claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. XU teaches wherein said displaying the target lyric fragment in combination with the background content comprises:
dividing the target lyric fragment into a plurality of target lyric lines (fig. 3B, lyrics are divided into durations of seconds); and
sequentially displaying the plurality of target lyric lines in accordance with a playing sequence of the plurality of target lyric lines (fig. 3B, lyrics are displayed based on the duration selected by the user).
Re claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. XU teaches wherein said displaying the target lyric fragment further comprises:
displaying the target lyric fragment in a preset display font comprising a handwriting font (fig. 3B, displaying lyrics).
Re claims 13 and 20, XU teaches an electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors ([0006], processor);
a memory ([0054] memory); and
one or more applications, wherein the one or more applications are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more applications are configured to implement the method for lyric video display according to claim 1 ([0057], an interface in which the mobile terminal is playing the music. An entire play time from 00:00 to 04:50 of currently played music Kiss Goodbye, a current play position, and currently played lyrics are displayed on a display screen of the mobile terminal. The display screen of the mobile terminal may be a touchscreen, and the touchscreen may be used as in input device. When the touchscreen receives a gesture of a user, the mobile terminal detects whether the gesture of the user is a gesture that triggers processing of the music. The gesture that triggers processing of the music may be a long press gesture, or a predefined gesture such as a gesture that is predefined according to a nine-square grid input method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 9, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of Manico et al. (US 2011/0032388; Hereinafter Manico).
Re claims 3 and 15, XU teaches based on user’s selection, the part of lyrics of a video will be displayed and played (figs. 3B and [0064]) but XU does not explicitly teach wherein the background area comprises a plurality of display regions, and the plurality of display regions correspond to respective target lyric fragments, and wherein said displaying the target lyric fragment in combination with the background content in the background area comprises: switching the plurality of display regions in accordance with a playing sequence of the respective target lyric fragments, and displaying, through the plurality of display regions, the respective target lyric fragments and background contents thereof. However, it is taught by Manico (figs. 10a-g and [0079]-[0081], provides the background desired for the edited music video sequence, as shown in FIG. 10b. As is shown in FIG. 10c, one or more subjects 86 are then captured, against the same background of FIG. 10a. Following capture of subjects 86, image capture and recording apparatus 14 (FIG. 1) then replaces background image 82 with stored image 84, with masking techniques applied to subjects 86, thereby forming a composited image 88, as is shown in FIG. 10d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Manico’s content into XU’s invention because it would improve the continuity and organization of lyric playback.
Re claims 5 and 17, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. XU does not teach the limitation of this claim. However, Manico teaches wherein the multimedia data further comprises image data, and the method further comprises:
inserting the image data into the background area ([0005], provides the ability to insert pre-stored image sequences and effects at suitable points in the captured image sequence in order to display a pleasing motion picture presentation without abrupt scene changes. Also see [0066], a "video karaoke" sequence that can be inserted); and
in response to switching the plurality of display regions to display the image data in one of the plurality of display regions, displaying the image data (figs. 10a-g, displaying a plurality of background along with song lyrics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Manico’s content into XU’s invention because it would enhance the user experience with the video wherein the background/image changes constantly.
Re claim 9, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. XU does not explicitly teach the limitation of this claim. However, Manico teaches wherein the image data is a motion picture, and wherein said displaying the image data comprises: playing a motion picture corresponding to the display region (figs. 10a-g and [0079]-[0081], provides the background desired for the edited music video sequence, as shown in FIG. 10b. As is shown in FIG. 10c, one or more subjects 86 are then captured, against the same background of FIG. 10a. Following capture of subjects 86, image capture and recording apparatus 14 (FIG. 1) then replaces background image 82 with stored image 84, with masking techniques applied to subjects 86, thereby forming a composited image 88, as is shown in FIG. 10d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Manico’s content into XU’s invention because it would improve the continuity and organization of lyric playback.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of Smith et al. (US Patent 10,726,874; Hereinafter Smith).
Re claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. XU teaches wherein said sequentially displaying the plurality of target lyric lines comprises:
acquiring a target word in each of the plurality of target lyric lines (fig. 3B, displaying lyrics);
XU does not teach playing an animation effect corresponding to the target word when sequentially displaying the plurality of target lyric lines. However, it is taught by Smith (col. 4 and lines 5-17, video filters, effects, and transitions. Applying these filters, effects, and transitions, for example, based on sections and components related to musical structure, may make the final product even more effective. Also, the filters, effects, and transitions may be arranged to evoke certain moods or emotions, such as “happy,” “sad,” “rainy-day,” “romance,” “birthday celebration,” etc. To enable automated processes to apply such effects to sections or components of content instances based on structural boundaries, computer processor(s) may utilize a specialized template).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Smith’s content into XU’s invention because it would enhance the video playing experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-8, 16, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims set forth in this action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 ( c ) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
/TOAN H VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178