DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 21-27 and 29-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 is dependent on cancelled claim 7. It is believed that this should be dependent on claim 2 and will be examined as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 14, 21-25, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,590,443 by Ju in view of US 4,709,202 by Koenck et al. (Koenck hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Ju discloses a power supply charging system [see at least Abstract; Figure 1] comprising: (a) a first power cell [see at least Figure 4, (1)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “charging mode”], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “discharging mode”]; wherein in the discharging mode of the first power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the first power cell to a power outlet [see at least Figure 4, (30a) or (30b)] or a power receiving system [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; and wherein the power receiving system includes one or more facilities, buildings, vehicles, pieces of equipment, electronic utilities, electronic-based devices which utilize alternating current and/or direct current, or a combination thereof [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; (b) a second power cell [see at least Figure 4, (2)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “charging mode”], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “discharging mode”]; wherein in the discharging mode of the second power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the second power cell to the power outlet [see at least Figure 4, (30a) or (30b)] or the power receiving system [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; wherein when the first power cell is in the charging mode, the second power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”], and when the second power cell is in the charging mode, the first power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”]; and wherein the first power cell and the second power cell are not simultaneously in the discharging mode [see at least Abstract; column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”]; and (c) a control system [see at least Figure 4, (20)] including one or more processors and in electrical communication with the first power cell [see at least Figure 4, (B1) to (1)] and the second power cell [see at least Figure 4, (B2) to (2)], wherein the control system is configured to operably switch between providing power to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode based on a duration of time [see at least column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”].
Ju fails to disclose the batteries maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode. However, Koenck discloses a battery powered system which discharges and recharges batteries [see at least Abstract] which maintains a battery in standby mode [see at least column 40, lines 16-20] during times when the battery is not charged/discharged.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the battery charging/discharging power system of Ju with the standby mode, as disclosed by Koenck, in order to reduce power drain on a battery when it is not in use. Thus, extending the stored charge in the battery and reducing charge/discharge cycles of the battery maintaining overall battery health.
Regarding claim 10, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the duration of time is the duration of time that the first power cell, the second power cell, or both has been in the discharging mode, the charging mode, or both time [see at least column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”].
Regarding claim 14, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the power supply charging system includes a voltage converter to reduce a direct current voltage provided by either or both the first power cell during the discharging mode or the second power cell during the discharging mode [see at least column 12, lines 16-25, “the voltage of the first and second battery inputted from the battery power input unit (210), and mixed by the diode (D11, D12) for inputting to a DC-DC converter (221) of the constant-voltage circuit (220); the DC-DC converter (221) outputs constant voltage (+12V) for driving the relay and constant-voltage (+9 V) for control circuit. Further, the DC-DC converter (221) outputs the constant-voltage (+9V) for the control circuit”].
Regarding claim 21, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the power supply charging system includes one or more timer controllers to determine the duration of time [see at least column 13, lines 9-18, “Further processing, when the voltage of the first battery is decreased or the current has diminished below a predetermined value after elapsed the certain time”; column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”; a timer controller would be required to determine the elapsed time].
Regarding claim 22, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the power supply charging system is compatible with one or more alternative energy systems [see at least Figure 4, (60); column 8, line 63 – column 9, line 5, “At this moment, it is not necessary to limit the solar cells as the auxiliary power. It could be used a wind power generator, hydraulic power generator, or other power generator as the auxiliary power supply”].
Regarding claim 23, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 22.
Ju discloses wherein the power supply charging system is in electrical communication with the one or more alternative energy systems [see at least Figure 4, (60); column 8, line 63 – column 9, line 5, “At this moment, it is not necessary to limit the solar cells as the auxiliary power. It could be used a wind power generator, hydraulic power generator, or other power generator as the auxiliary power supply”].
Regarding claim 24, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 23.
Ju discloses wherein the control system is configured to relay power from the one or more alternative energy systems to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode [see at least Figure 4, (60); column 8, line 63 – column 9, line 5, “he solar cell (60), which is using a property of the semiconductor, converts the sun light (photons) to the electrical energy for supplying the DC voltage to the battery by the switching operation of the controlling unit (20). Thus, it is possible to use auxiliary power to charge the first battery (1) and the second battery (2)”].
Regarding claim 25, Ju discloses a power supply charging system [see at least Abstract; Figure 4] comprising: (a) a first power cell [see at least Figure 4, (1)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “charging mode”], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “discharging mode”]; wherein in the discharging mode of the first power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the first power cell to a power outlet [see at least Figure 4, (30a) or (30b)] or a power receiving system [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; and wherein the power receiving system includes one or more facilities, buildings, vehicles, pieces of equipment, electronic utilities, electronic-based devices which utilize alternating current and/or direct current, or a combination thereof [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; (b) a second power cell [see at least Figure 4, (2)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “charging mode”], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “discharging mode”]; wherein in the discharging mode of the second power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the second power cell to the power outlet [see at least Figure 4, (30a) or (30b)] or the power receiving system [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb”]; wherein when the first power cell is in the charging mode, the second power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”], and when the second power cell is in the charging mode, the first power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”]; and wherein the first power cell and the second power cell are not simultaneously in the discharging mode [see at least Abstract; column 8, lines 51-62, “while one battery is discharging, other battery is charging, according to the controlling operation by the controlling unit (20)”]; (c) a control system [see at least Figure 4, (20)] including one or more processors and in electrical communication with the first power cell [see at least Figure 4, (B1) to (1)] and the second power cell [see at least Figure 4, (B2) to (2)], wherein the control system is configured to operably switch between providing power to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode based on a duration of time [see at least column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”]; wherein the power supply charging system is in electrical communication with the one or more alternative energy systems [see at least Figure 4, (60); column 8, line 63 – column 9, line 5, “At this moment, it is not necessary to limit the solar cells as the auxiliary power. It could be used a wind power generator, hydraulic power generator, or other power generator as the auxiliary power supply”]; and wherein the control system is configured to relay power from the one or more alternative energy systems to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode [see at least Figure 4, (60); column 8, line 63 – column 9, line 5, “he solar cell (60), which is using a property of the semiconductor, converts the sun light (photons) to the electrical energy for supplying the DC voltage to the battery by the switching operation of the controlling unit (20). Thus, it is possible to use auxiliary power to charge the first battery (1) and the second battery (2)”].
Ju fails to disclose the batteries maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode. However, Koenck discloses a battery powered system which discharges and recharges batteries [see at least Abstract] which maintains a battery in standby mode [see at least column 40, lines 16-20] during times when the battery is not charged/discharged.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the battery charging/discharging power system of Ju with the standby mode, as disclosed by Koenck, in order to reduce power drain on a battery when it is not in use. Thus, extending the stored charge in the battery and reducing charge/discharge cycles of the battery maintaining overall battery health.
Regarding claim 31, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of claim 25.
Ju discloses wherein the duration of time is the duration of time the first power cell, the second power cell, or both has been in the discharging mode, the charging mode or both [see at least column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”].
Regarding claim 33, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply system of claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the duration of time is a pre-set duration of time depending on a power need of the power receiving system [see at least column 14, lines 4-36, “the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 2.5 minutes. The DIP switch No. 6 is on, the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 5 minutes. The DIP switch No. 7 is on, the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 10 minutes. The DIP switch No. 8 is on, the mode switch is set to reverse when the discharging time of the battery in discharge mode is elapsed 20 minutes…it is possible to program the switching mode, which is determined the charge-reverse by combination of the voltage, current and elapsed time”].
Claims 2-3, 8, 12, 26-27, 29-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,590,443 by Ju in view of US 4,709,202 by Koenck et al. (Koenck hereinafter) in further view of US 8,729,865 by Scheucher.
Regarding claim 2, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Ju in view of Koenck fails to disclose wherein the first power cell is a first bank of batteries and the second power cell is a second bank of batteries. However, Scheucher discloses a scalable power supply [see at least abstract] with expandable battery enclosures [see at least Figure 1, (102)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the battery charging/discharging power system of Ju in view of Koenck to include the battery bank, as disclosed by Scheucher, for use as the batteries in order to expand the amount of energy that the system can store and use. Thus, expanding operating time for powering loads.
Regarding claim 3, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 2.
Scheucher discloses wherein the first bank of batteries and/or the second bank of batteries include: an alkaline battery, an aluminum battery, a carbon battery, a lithium battery, a lithium-ion battery, a mercury battery, a zinc battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel battery, or a combination thereof [see at least column 12, lines 37-52, “Any type of battery may be used but Li-ion (lithium ion), NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride), NiCd (Nickel Cadmium), Li-ion polymer, lead acid or alkaline batteries are presently contemplated”].
Regarding claim 8, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 7.
Ju discloses wherein one or more current inverters [see at least Figure 4, (30)] are electrically connected to the first bank of batteries [see at least Figure 4, (1) to (30)] and the second bank of batteries [see at least Figure 4, (2) to (30)] so as to convert a direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries, the second bank of batteries, or both to an alternating electrical current to be transmitted to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “an inverter (30) for inverting the DC voltage of the battery in discharging mode to the AC for supplying power to the load (50)”].
Regarding claim 12, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 8.
Ju discloses wherein the control system sends the direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries to the one or more current inverters to be converted into the alternating electrical current [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “an inverter (30) for inverting the DC voltage of the battery in discharging mode to the AC for supplying power to the load (50)”].
Regarding claim 26, Ju in view of Koenck teaches he power supply charging system of claim 25.
Ju in view of Koenck fails to disclose wherein the first power cell is a first bank of batteries, and the second power cell is a second bank of batteries. However, Scheucher discloses a scalable power supply [see at least abstract] with expandable battery enclosures [see at least Figure 1, (102)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the battery charging/discharging power system of Ju in view of Koenck to include the battery bank, as disclosed by Scheucher, for use as the batteries in order to expand the amount of energy that the system can store and use. Thus, expanding operating time for powering loads.
Regarding claim 27, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 26.
Scheucher discloses wherein the first bank of batteries and/or the second bank of batteries include: an alkaline battery, an aluminum battery, a carbon battery, a lithium battery, a lithium-ion battery, a mercury battery, a zinc battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel battery, or a combination thereof [see at least column 12, lines 37-52, “Any type of battery may be used but Li-ion (lithium ion), NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride), NiCd (Nickel Cadmium), Li-ion polymer, lead acid or alkaline batteries are presently contemplated”].
Regarding claim 29, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 26.
Ju discloses wherein the first bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system, and wherein the second bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least column 10, lines 34-39, “Thus, the inverter (30) outputs the AC to the first output receptacle (30a) and a second output receptacle (30b) inverting the DC power from the first battery to the AC through the internal circuit. Accordingly, the user can connect the plug (SW3) of the load (e.g. 300 W bulb) to the first outlet to lit the bulb ”].
Regarding claim 30, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 29.
Ju discloses wherein one or more current inverters [see at least Figure 4, (30)] are electrically connected to the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries so as to convert a direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries, the second bank of batteries, or both to an alternating electrical current to be transmitted to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “an inverter (30) for inverting the DC voltage of the battery in discharging mode to the AC for supplying power to the load (50)”].
Regarding claim 32, Ju in view of Koenck in further view of Scheucher teaches the power supply charging system of claim 30.
Ju discloses wherein the control system sends the direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries to the one or more current inverters [see at least Figure 4, (30)] to be converted into the alternating electrical current [see at least column 8, lines 34-45, “an inverter (30) for inverting the DC voltage of the battery in discharging mode to the AC for supplying power to the load (50)”].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,590,443 by Ju in view of US 4,709,202 by Koenck et al. (Koenck hereinafter) in further view of US 9,209,648 by Wheatley et al .(Wheatley hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Ju in view of Koenck teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the power supply charging system includes one or more power outlets [see at least Figures 4 and 11A, (30a)].
Ju in view of Koenck fails to explicitly teach the one or more power outlets including one or more shore power outlets, one or more USB power outlets, one or more 110V power outlets, or a combination thereof to transmit the power supply from the first power cell when in a discharging mode and the second power cell when in a discharging mode to the power receiving system. However, Wheatley discloses a renewable battery charging system [see at least Abstract; Figure 3] which outputs power to outlets including 120 VAC and USB [see at least column 4, lines 6-30, “for EV charging, e.g. level 1 (110V) or level 2 (220V) EV charging… In addition, as shown in FIG. 3, auxiliary AC loads 48, which can include, for example, lights and 120 VAC and USB outlets, can be powered from the inverter”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the battery charging/discharging power system of Ju in view of Koenck to include the 120 VAC and USB outlets, as disclosed by Wheatley, in order to expand the types of loads that can be powered by the system to be inline with common loads that are widely used. Thus, allowing a user to power many common loads.
Conclusion
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836