DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0139480 by Kaneko in view of US 2015/0002073 by Ju.
Claim 1, Kaneko discloses a power supply charging system comprising: (a) a first power cell [see at least Figure 1, (12a)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least paragraph 0026], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least paragraph 0027], and to maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode [see at least paragraphs 0029-0030]; wherein in the discharging mode of the first power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the first power cell to a power outlet or a power receiving system, and wherein the power receiving system includes one or more facilities, buildings, vehicles, pieces of equipment, electronic utilities, electronic-based devices which utilize alternating current and/or direct current, or a combination thereof [see at least Figure 1, (12a) to (2)], (b) a second power cell [see at least Figure 1, (13a)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least paragraph 0026], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least paragraph 0027], and to maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode [see at least paragraphs 0029-0030]; wherein in the discharging mode of the second power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the second power cell to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Figure 1, (13a) to (2)], wherein when the first power cell is in the charging mode the second power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode and when the second power cell is in the charging mode the first power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least paragraph 0024]; and a control system [see at least Figure 1, (16)] including one or more processors and in electrical communication with the first power cell and the second power cell, wherein the control system is configured to operably switch between providing power to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode based on an occurrence of a pre-determined condition [see at least paragraphs 0024-0025].
Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first power cell and the second power cell are not simultaneously in the discharging mode. However, Ju discloses this limitation [see at least Abstract].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to alternate discharge between batteries to allow for one battery to maintain power supply while reserving or charging the other battery. Thus, extending the time of the power supply and allowing the system to operate for an extended time.
Claim 2, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Kaneko discloses wherein the first power cell is a first bank of batteries and the second power cell is a second bank of batteries [see at least Figure 1, (12a) and (13a); paragraph 0026].
Claim 3, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 2.
Kaneko discloses wherein the first bank of batteries, and/or the second bank of batteries include: an alkaline battery, an aluminum battery, a carbon battery, a lithium battery, a lithium-ion battery, a mercury battery, a zinc battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel battery, or a combination thereof [see at least paragraph 0026].
Claim 7, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 2.
Ju discloses wherein the first bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system and wherein the second bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Abstract].
Claim 8, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 7.
Ju discloses wherein one or more current inverters are electrically connected to the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries so as to convert a direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries, the second bank of batteries, or both to an alternating electrical current to be transmitted to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Abstract].
Claim 10, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Ju discloses wherein the pre-determined condition includes: a duration of time, a temperature, a voltage, a current, or a combination thereof [see at least paragraph 0040].
Claim 14, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Kaneko discloses wherein the power supply charging system includes a voltage converter to reduce a direct current voltage provided by either or both the first power cell during the discharging mode or the second power cell during the discharging mode [see at least Figure 1, (14); paragraph 0038].
Claim 21, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 1.
Kaneko discloses wherein the power supply charging system includes one or more sensing devices for sensing the pre-determined condition [see at least paragraph 0025].
Claims 12, 15 and 22-27, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0139480 by Kaneko in view of US 2015/0002073 by Ju in further view of US 2017/0267115 by Unno et al. (Unno hereinafter).
Claim 12, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 8.
Kaneko in view of Ju fails to disclose wherein the control system sends the direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries to the one or more current inverters to be converted into the alternating electrical current. However, Unno discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 5, (101); paragraph 0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to supply both DC and AC in order to be able to power loads that require DC and loads that require AC. Thus, expanding the usefulness of the invention and eliminating the need for a separate converter.
Claim 15, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of claim 1.
Kaneko in view of Ju teaches fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply charging system includes one or more power outlets, the one or more power outlets including one or more shore power outlets, one or more USB power outlets, one or more 110V power outlets, or a combination thereof to transmit the power supply from the first power cell when in a discharging mode and the second power cell when in a discharging mode to a power receiving system. However, Unno discloses this limitation as power is sent to a power network which have facilities [see at least Figure 4, (15) to (13)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to connect the system to a power network, and thus a facility which would have various outlets, in order to provide backup power to the power network. Thus, allowing for the power network to remain operational and ensure continued power supply.
Claim 22, Kaneko in view of Ju teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 1.
Kaneko in view of Ju teaches fails to teach wherein the power supply charging system is compatible with one or more alternative energy systems. However, Unno discloses connecting to a power network which also includes alternative energy systems [see at least Figure 4, (15) to (11); paragraph 0045].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to connect the system to a power network, and thus alternative energy systems, in order to provide backup power to the power network when the alternative energy systems are not function such as during night with photovoltaics. Thus, allowing for the power network to remain operational and ensure continued power supply.
Claim 23, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches he power supply charging system of Claim 22.
Unno discloses wherein the power supply charging system is in electrical communication with the one or more alternative energy systems [see at least Figure 4, (15) to (11)].
Claim 24, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of Claim 23.
Unno discloses wherein the control system is configured to relay power from the one or more alternative energy systems to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode [see at least paragraph 0045].
Claim 25, Kaneko discloses a power supply charging system comprising: (a) a first power cell [see at least Figure 1, (12a)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least paragraph 0026], to supply power when in a discharging mode [see at least paragraph 0027], and to maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode [see at least paragraphs 0029-0030]; wherein in the discharging mode of the first power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the first power cell to a power outlet or a power receiving system, and wherein the power receiving system includes one or more facilities, buildings, vehicles, pieces of equipment, electronic utilities, electronic-based devices which utilize alternating current and/or direct current, or a combination thereof [see at least Figure 1, (12a) to (2)], (b) a second power cell [see at least Figure 1, (13a)] adapted to be at least partially charged when in a charging mode [see at least paragraph 0026], to supply power when in a discharging mode, [see at least paragraph 0027] and to maintain a generally constant supply of power while in a resting mode [see at least paragraphs 0029-0030]; wherein in the discharging mode of the second power cell, the supply of power is transmitted from the second power cell to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Figure 1, (13a) to (2)], wherein when the first power cell is in the charging mode the second power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode and when the second power cell is in the charging mode the first power cell is either in the discharging mode or the resting mode [see at least paragraph 0024]; (c) a control system [se at least Figure 1, (16)] including one or more processors and in electrical communication with the first power cell and the second power cell, wherein the control system is configured to operably switch between providing power to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode based on an occurrence of a pre-determined condition [see at least paragraphs 0024-0025].
Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first power cell and the second power cell are not simultaneously in the discharging mode. However, Ju discloses this limitation [see at least Abstract].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to alternate discharge between batteries to allow for one battery to maintain power supply while reserving or charging the other battery. Thus, extending the time of the power supply and allowing the system to operate for an extended time.
Kaneko in view of Ju fails to teach and wherein the power supply charging system is in electrical communication with the one or more alternative energy systems; and wherein the control system is configured to relay power from the one or more alternative energy systems to the first power cell when in the charging mode and the second power cell when in the charging mode. However, Unno discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 4, (15) to (11); paragraph 0045].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to connect the system to a power network, and thus alternative energy systems, in order to provide backup power to the power network when the alternative energy systems are not function such as during night with photovoltaics while also allowing the system to be charged by alternative energy systems. Thus, allowing for the power network to remain operational and ensure continued power supply and utilizing inexpensive renewable energy to charge the system.
Claim 26, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 25.
Kaneko discloses wherein the first power cell is a first bank of batteries and the second power cell is a second bank of batteries [see at least paragraph 0026].
Claim 27, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 26.
Kaneko discloses wherein the first bank of batteries, and/or the second bank of batteries include: an alkaline battery, an aluminum battery, a carbon battery, a lithium battery, a lithium-ion battery, a mercury battery, a zinc battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel battery, or a combination thereof [see at least paragraph 0026].
Claim 29, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 26.
Unno discloses wherein the first bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system and wherein the second bank of batteries in the discharging mode supplies power to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Figure 5, (101); paragraph 0036].
Claim 30, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 29.
Unno discloses wherein one or more current inverters are electrically connected to the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries so as to convert a direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries, the second bank of batteries, or both to an alternating electrical current to be transmitted to the power outlet or the power receiving system [see at least Figure 5, (101); paragraph 0036].
Claim 31, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 25.
Ju discloses wherein the pre-determined condition includes: a duration of time, a temperature, a voltage, a current, or a combination thereof [see at least paragraph 0040].
Claim 32, Kaneko in view of Ju in further view of Unno teaches the power supply charging system of claim 30.
Ju discloses wherein the control system sends the direct electrical current from the first bank of batteries and the second bank of batteries to the one or more current inverters to be converted into the alternating electrical current [see at least paragraph 0023].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836