DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 6 recite the abbreviation “SEM/EDS”. The first instance of abbreviation should include the complete word or phrase that it represents. Further correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 2017/0117453 A1) in view of Xin (CN 105695774 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Tamaki discloses a thermoelectric conversion material which is a polycrystalline material composed of a plurality of crystal grains ([0065]), the thermoelectric conversion material comprising ([0008][0033]-[0040]): Mg, at least one element selected from the group consisting of Sb and Bi.
In addition, Tamaki discloses that the thermoelectric conversion material comprises Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.2-3.4 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Applicant’s specification (see USPub for mapping US 20240365669 A1) discloses a substantially similar composition Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.05-3.5 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
The instant specification performs spark plasma sintering at temperatures ranging between 550°C-800°C of mixed powders of Mg, Sb, and Bi and holding these temperatures between 5-30 mins ([0037]-[0038], [0044]-[0058]).
Tamaki does disclose that a Mg-Sb-Bi-Te powders ([0059]) ([0050]) are sintered in spark plasma sintering (SPS) method ([0062]) which is similar to the method as instantly disclosed which mixes powders of Sb, Bi, Te, Mg and then subject them to spark plasma sintering.
Tamaki discloses it is performed at 600°C for 30 mins and lowered to room temperature before it is removed ([0060]).
Xin discloses that a Mg--3Sb2 based thermoelectric material where spark plasma sintering 650°C-750°C and holding these temperatures between 5-15 mins and discloses that the boundaries of the crystalline grain structures remain unoxidized when these conditions are implemented ([0013][0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sintering temperature of Tamaki and modify the temperature to be 650°C-750°C holding it between 5-15 mins as disclosed by Xin because the boundaries of the crystalline grain structures remain unoxidized when these conditions are implemented.
Modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed “wherein the thermoelectric conversion material comprises an Mg-rich region formed in boundaries of the crystal grains, the Mg-rich region is a region in which a relative concentration of Mg with respect to the at least one element selected from the group consisting of Sb and Bi is higher than the relative concentration of Mg in the crystal grains”.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claims 2-4, modified Tamaki discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above.
As noted above Tamaki discloses that the thermoelectric conversion material comprises Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.2-3.4 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Applicant’s specification (see USPub for mapping US 20240365669 A1) discloses a substantially similar composition Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.05-3.5 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Applicant’s specification indicates that the Examples provided in Table 5 have a precipitation ratio of more than equal to 1% and less than or equal to 8% (Table 1 and Table4, Example 2 , Mg3.4Sb0.5Bi1.49Te0.01) which has a composition which substantially overlaps that of Tamaki (see Table 5).
With regards to the claim properties of:
“wherein the thermoelectric conversion material has an Mg precipitation ratio of more than or equal to 1%” (claim 2)
“wherein the Mg precipitation ratio is less than or equal to 20%” (claim 3)
“wherein the Mg precipitation ratio is less than or equal to 8%” (claim 4)
Modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed ranges for the Mg precipitation ratio.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tamaki discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above.
As noted above Tamaki discloses that the thermoelectric conversion material comprises Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.2-3.4 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Applicant’s specification (see USPub for mapping US 20240365669 A1) discloses a substantially similar composition Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.05-3.5 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed property of “wherein the Mg-rich region is a region which is composed of Mg”.
With regards to the method of confirming the region is present namely being confirmed by SEM/EDS, the region is present whether or not confirmation by SEM/EDS is performed since ,modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed property of “wherein the Mg-rich region is a region which is composed of Mg”.
Regarding claim 6, modified Tamaki discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above.
As noted above Tamaki discloses that the thermoelectric conversion material comprises Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.2-3.4 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Applicant’s specification (see USPub for mapping US 20240365669 A1) discloses a substantially similar composition Mgx(Bi,Sb)2-y(Se,Te)y wherein x is in the range of 3.05-3.5 (see Table 5) y is in the range of 0.0001-0.06.
Modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed property of “ wherein the thermoelectric conversion material has an Mg precipitation ratio of more than or equal to 1%”.
With regards to the method of confirming the region is present namely being confirmed by SEM/EDS, the region is present whether or not confirmation by SEM/EDS is performed since ,modified Tamaki discloses the same formula as instantly claimed formed by substantially the same method and therefore will also have the claimed property of “wherein the thermoelectric conversion material has an Mg precipitation ratio of more than or equal to 1%”.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 2017/0117453 A1) in view of Xin (CN 105695774 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-6 above and in further view of He (CN 108097458 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tamaki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Tamaki does disclose that the thermoelectric conversion material can be used in a thermoelectric conversion device ([0087]) and can be used as an n-type element ([0067]).
However, Tamaki does not disclose more of the details regarding the thermoelectric device.
He discloses a thermoelectric device that comprises a p-type element (304) connected to an MgSb alloy n-type element (305) connected by a first electrode (303) and another end of the p-type element (304) connected to a second electrode (306) and the n-type element (305) connected to a third electrode (306) (See Fig. 1 or Fig. 2 [0016]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of filing to modify the n-type thermoelectric element of modified Tamaki by implementing it into a thermoelectric device including a p-type thermoelectric element, first, second and third electrodes as disclosed by He because doing so would allow one to transform thermal energy to electrical energy.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12069952 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the recited substantially the same thermoelectric conversion material.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726