DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues on pages 7-9 that Shoemaker and Tian do not disclose the claimed limitation. Applicant’s specifically argue that Shoemaker does not relate to how to display the file content of a shared file on multiple user clients at the same time. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., how to display the file content of a shared file on multiple user clients at the same time.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s also argue on page 9 that shoemaker fails to disclose how the shared client operates under the sharing mode, and thus fails to disclose a free browsing mode and a following browsing mode of the shared client, where in the free browsing mode, the shared client is configured to receive a browsing instruction from a user using the shared client, and display a shared file according to the browsing instruction to enable the user to browse the shared file in the free browsing mode, and fails to disclose presenting an indication identifier in a share client in response to the shared client being in the free browsing model and switching a mode of the shared client to the following browsing mode in response to a trigger operation for the indication identifier. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the argued “free browsing mode”, claim 1 functionally defines the free browsing mode as a mode in which the shared client receives browsing instructions from a user using the shared client and displays a shared file according to those instructions. Shoemaker discloses users interacting with content and sharing operations through user inputs and selections (e.g., selecting actions, selecting sharing operations, selecting predictions, and selecting final actions). Prior to switching to private browsing mode, Shoemaker’s client operates in a mode in which user inputs are received and content is displayed according to those inputs. This operational state corresponds to the claimed free browsing mode since the client receives user instructions and displays content according to those instructions.
Applicant’s further argues that Shoemaker fails to disclose “presenting an indication identifier in a shared client in response to the shared client being in a free browsing mode.” Prior to switching to private browsing mode, Shoemaker’s client operates in a mode corresponding to the claimed free browsing mode. While operating in this mode, Shoemaker presents sharing information associated with identified users and sharing participants, including displayed identifiers associated with users such as “Alice” and other sharing recipients or participants. The displayed identifiers correspond to user/account identifiers associated with the sharing participants and therefore function as indication identifiers. The claim does not require that entry into the free browsing mode itself generates or creates the identifier, nor does the claim the identifier to become displayed. The claim requires presenting an indication identifier in response to the shared client bring in the free browsing mode. Since Shoemaker discloses identifier user information while the client operates in the claimed free browsing mode, Shoemaker teaches the claimed limitation.
Applicant’s additionally argue that Shoemaker does not disclose switching from a free browsing mode to a following browsing mode. Claim 1 recites switching from one browsing mode to another browsing mode in response to a trigger operation. Shoemaker discloses transitions between browsing modes, including switching to private browsing mode response to user action and selections. User selections therefore operate as trigger operations and accordingly, Shoemaker teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Shoemaker (US 2015/0195995) and in view of Tian (US 2021/0097135).
Re Claim 1, Shoemaker discloses presenting an indication identifier in a shared client in response to the shared client being in a free browsing mode ([0017], [0019], [0021], [0052], user “Alice” is identified to share content with other family members. The user may want to browse in a private mode of the browser. The displayed identifier “Alice” identifies the user/account associated.);
switching a mode of the shared client to a following browsing mode in response to a trigger operation for the indication identifier ([0025], the content includes any data recorded or generated about the content, including the mode of a tool, such as the private mode of a browser); and
in the free browsing mode, the shared client is configured to receive a browsing instruction from a user using the shared client, and display a shared file according to the browsing instruction to enable the user to browse the shared file in the free browsing mode ([0017], [0019], [0021], [0052], [0069] user “Alice” is identified to share content with other family members. The user may want to browse in a private mode of the browser with an output device which includes a display. Prior to switching to private browsing mode, Shoemaker’s client operates in a mode in which user inputs are received and content is displayed according to those inputs. Shoemaker discloses sharing and presenting shared content items, such as media content, documents, images, or other shared information corresponding to the shared file.).
While Shoemaker discloses identified sharing users and sharing participants such as the user’s name, Shoemaker does not clearly disclose that the indication identifier is used to indicate an identity of a sharer client. However Tian discloses wherein the indication identifier is used to indicate an identity of a sharer client ([0051], user account identifiers and user identifying information associated with collaborative participants).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Shoemaker’s sharing system with Tian’s user account identification techniques such that identifiers associated with sharing participants are presented to indicate identities associated with sharer clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to improve user understanding by presenting identifiers associated with sharing participants recognizing sharing participants during sharing interaction.
Re Claim 2, Shoemaker discloses stopping displaying the indication identifier in response to the shared client being in the following browsing mode ([0021], browsing in private mode will eliminate the user identities).
Re Claim 3, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses wherein the indication identifier further comprises indication information for indicating a position of the shared file being browsed by the sharer client ([0059] The access module 410 receives a request to provide a collaborative content item to a client device. In some example embodiments, the access module generates an access link to the collaborative content item, for instance in response to a request to share the collaborative content item by an author. The access link can be a hyperlink including or associated with the identification information of the CCI (i.e., unique identifier, content pointer, etc.). The hyperlink can also include any type of relevant metadata within the content management system (i.e., author, recipient, time created, etc.).
Re Claim 4, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses acquiring a first position parameter of first target information in a current page, wherein the current page is a page in the shared file shared by the sharer client (para. 0039, 0073-0079, 0098-0100 and figure 5a) a means of receiving a selection of specific textual locations within the shared document file.);
acquiring a second position parameter of second target information in a display page of the sharer client; and determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter, and indicating the second target information according to the indication identifier. (para. 0073-0079, 0098-0100 and figure 5a) a mean of receiving, on a client device, a second position content level comment directly related to a span. Figure 5a includes 504b which includes a second position parameter (i.e. overlapping span) that includes specific text within the third paragraph of the ‘Draft Speech’ and includes specific textual comments (i.e. second target information) into a comment..).
Re Claim 5, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein the first position parameter and the second position parameter are determined based on a same position parameter determination rule (See Tian, para. 0073-0076) the presence of content level comments within the content item may be indicated by underlined (or colored underlined) portions of content, lines connecting the content level comments to the content item, comment numbers, etc. The portion of content with which a content level comment is associated is a span and are arranged in a comment pane positioned to the side of the span in which it is applied.
Re Claim 6, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses In a client presenting a shared file, determining the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on position information of the shared file presented at a first preset position of a client interface; or (See Tian, para. 0073-0078) a means of displaying the first and second content level comments in a separate preset position and the position of the spans as they relate to the shared document file.
In a client presenting a shared file, determining the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on position information of the shared file corresponding to a cursor in the shared file presented in a client interface.
The examiner notes that the limitations are in alternative language and thus the second limitation is not required based on the examiner providing adequate teaching of the first limitation.
Re Claim 7, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on an indication identifier determination mode corresponding to a file type of the shared file; or (See Tian, para. 0073-0078 and 0098-0102) a mean of creating annotation blocks that are positioned approximate to the respective span based on it being a document file type. As presently claimed, the indication identifier is taught by lines marking the text corresponding to the received content level annotations such as the first and second. Further, the marks may indicate the second content level annotation through a direct line from the text to the second content level annotation.
Determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on a file type of the shared file and an indication identifier determination mode corresponding to display states of the shared file in a shared client and the sharer client. The examiner notes that the limitations are in alternative language and thus the second limitation is not required based on the examiner providing adequate teaching of the first limitation.
Re Claim 8, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein the indication identifier determination mode comprises at least one of the following: A line parameter comparison mode, a column parameter comparison mode, a page parameter comparison mode and a scroll bar parameter comparison mode of a client interface (See Tian, para. 0039, 0073-0079, 0098-0100 and figure 5a) a means of receiving a selection of specific textual locations within the shared document file. A first user creates content level comments that are placed in a location proximate to the span in which they are directing a comment. Content items (i.e. document files illustrated in 5a) and individuals can be assigned different access privileges to a content item shared with them.
Re Claim 9, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a document type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on a line parameter comparison mode corresponding to the document type (See Tian, para. 0039, 0073-0079, 0098-0100 and figure 5a) a means of receiving a selection of specific textual locations within the shared document file. A first user creates content level comments that are placed in a location proximate to the span in which they are directing a comment. Content items (i.e. document files illustrated in 5a) and individuals can be assigned different access privileges to a content item shared with them.
Re Claim 10, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a spreadsheet type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on a line parameter comparison mode and/or a column parameter comparison mode corresponding to the spreadsheet type (See Tian, para. 0024-0025, 0071) The content stored by content management system can include any type of content items, such as documents, spreadsheets, collaborative content items, text files, audio files, etc. Figure 5a illustrates an example user interface with a collaborative content item include paragraph blocks but may include spreadsheets.
Re Claim 11, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a mind map type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on the mind map and a line parameter comparison mode corresponding to display states of the shared file in the shared client and the sharer client (See Tian, para. 0024) the content stored by content management system can include any type of content items, such as documents, spreadsheets, collaborative content items, text files, audio files, image files, video files, webpages, executable files, placeholder files that reference other content items.
Re Claim 12, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a presentation type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on the presentation type and a page parameter comparison mode corresponding to display states of the shared file in the shared client and the sharer client (See Tian, para. 0024) the content stored by content management system can include any type of content items, such as documents, spreadsheets, collaborative content items, text files, audio files, image files, video files, webpages, executable files, placeholder files that reference other content items. (See Tian, para. 0073-0078 and 0098-0102) a mean of creating annotation blocks that are positioned approximate to the respective span. As presently claimed, the indication identifier is taught by lines marking the text corresponding to the received content level annotations such as the first and second. Further, the marks may indicate the second content level annotation through a direct line from the text to the second content level annotation.
Re Claim 13, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a portable document type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on a page parameter comparison mode corresponding to the portable document type (See Tian, para. 0024) the content stored by content management system can include any type of content items, such as documents, spreadsheets, collaborative content items, text files, audio files, image files, video files, webpages, executable files, placeholder files that reference other content items. (See Tian, para. 0073-0078) a means of comparing content level comments made by different users and comparing against the spans to determine positions of identifiers according to the result of the first and second content parameters.
Re Claim 14, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein if the file type is a web page type, determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter based on a scroll bar parameter comparison mode of a client interface corresponding to the web page type (See Tian, para. 0024) the content stored by content management system can include any type of content items, such as documents, spreadsheets, collaborative content items, text files, audio files, image files, video files, webpages, executable files, placeholder files that reference other content items. (See Tian, para. 0073-0078) a means of comparing content level comments made by different users and comparing against the spans to determine positions of identifiers according to the result of the first and second content parameters.
Re Claim 15, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Setting an indication control at a second preset position in a client interface; and adding an arrow indication effect on the indication control according to the direction to indicate the second target information (See Tian, para. 0073-0078 and 0098-0102) a mean of creating annotation blocks that are positioned approximate to the respective span. As presently claimed, the indication identifier is taught by lines marking the text corresponding to the received content level annotations such as the first and second. Further, the marks may indicate the second content level annotation through a direct line from the text to the second content level annotation.
Re Claim 16, Shoemaker discloses wherein the following browsing mode is a mode of following and displaying a display page of the sharer client. ([0017], [0019], [0021], [0052], [0069] user “Alice” is identified to share content with other family members. The user may want to browse in a private mode of the browser with an output device which includes a display).
Re Claim 17, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Stopping acquiring the first position parameter, receiving the second position parameter, and determining the indication identifier according to the first position parameter and the second position parameter in the follow mode (See Tian, para. 0073-0078 and 0098-0102) a mean of creating annotation blocks that are positioned approximate to the respective span. As presently claimed, the indication identifier is taught by lines marking the text corresponding to the received content level annotations such as the first and second. Further, the marks may indicate the second content level annotation through a direct line from the text to the second content level annotation.
Re Claim 18, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses Wherein the method is applied to a real-time interactive application, and the real-time interactive application comprises at least one of an instant messaging application, a multimedia conference application, a live video application and a group chat interactive application (See Tian, para. 0023-0027) a collaborative content management system providing real-time functionality for sharing content with multiple user wherein the content shared includes interactive text files, audio files, image files, video files, webpages, etc.
Re Claim 19, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Shoemaker for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Tian discloses reference to dependent claim 27, Tian teaches:
Wherein the current page is a page presented by a shared client (See Tian, para. 0039-0042, 0059) Content items can be shared across multiple client devices and can be shared across varying types of user accounts. Requests are received to share the collaborative content item by an author.
With respect to claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443