DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the Silicon-Clathrate Electrode Active Material Particles, Electrode Composite Material, and Lithium-Ion Battery filed July 12, 2024.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0391576 A1) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0226409 A1).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Otaki et al. discloses a silicon-clathrate electrode active material ().
Otaki et al. does not disclose wherein the silicon-clathrate electrode active material meets the following relational expression: 0/0.05 ≤ surface oxygen ratio (wt%) / specific surface area (m2/g) ≤ 0.1.
However, the ratio of surface oxygen ratio to specific surface area is a result effective variable.
Chen et al. teaches an electrode active material (see Title and Abstract) and teaches the ratio of surface oxygen ratio to specific surface area directly affects the pore structure, size, and ratio on the surface of the particle which affects the optimal gram capacity and kinetic performance (see [0009-0010]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of surface oxygen ratio to specific surface area in the particles of Otaki et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the pore structure, size, and ratio on the surface of the particle which affects the optimal gram capacity and kinetic performance.
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is obvious over Otaki et al. in view of Chen et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Otaki et al. teaches that have a porous structure (see [0011]).
With regard to claim 4, Otaki et al., as modified above, teaches an electrode composite material (see Title and Abstract) including the electrode active material particles according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
With regard to claim 5, Otaki et al., as modified above, discloses a lithium-ion battery that has an electrode material layer (see Title, Abstract, and see Fig. 2), wherein the active electrode material layer contains the electrode composite material according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 September 21, 2026