DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2012005428A (hereinafter “JP ‘428”).
With respect to Claim 1, JP ‘428 discloses a fishing reel 100, comprising a reel body 1 having a first portion 11 and a second portion 10 which is separate from the first portion; a handle 4 disposed on the first portion of the reel body; a storage unit 79 disposed in the reel body and configured to store setting information; a communication unit 74 disposed in the second portion and configured to communicate with an external electronic device (see Fig. 9; also claim 1, “A wireless communication unit capable of wireless communication with an external device provided outside the reel body…”); and a control unit 73 configured to cause the communication unit and the electronic device to communicate when the communication unit and the electronic device are disposed in a field capable of enabling near field wireless communication, and configured to update the setting information of the storage unit.
With respect to Claim 2, JP ‘428 discloses the fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein the second portion 10 is disposed on a palming side (see Figs. 1 and 2, “palming side” is the side opposite the handle side) which is an opposite side of the first portion 11, and the communication unit 74 is disposed on the palming side (see Figs. 3-6 wherein 74 is located within second portion 10).
With respect to Claim 3, JP ‘428 discloses the fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein the communication unit 74 has an annular shape (see Fig. 6) and is disposed around a spool shaft supported by the reel body (communication unit 74 is disposed near or “around” spool shaft 2).
With respect to Claim 8, JP ‘428 discloses the fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein a shielding part 50 is disposed between the communication unit 74 and the storage unit 79.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach the entire combination of elements set forth including the communication unit has an annular shape and is disposed around a rotational shaft of a level winding device configured to move a line guide unit in reciprocating fashion.
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach the entire combination of elements set forth including the communication unit has an antenna portion which is a pattern coil antenna.
Claim 6 is allowed by virtue of its dependence from claim 5.
Claim 7 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach the entire combination of elements set forth including the communication unit has an air core coil antenna which is enameled wire.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows various fishing reels.
/EMMANUEL M MARCELO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/emm/