DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 6 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohrt (US patent 2,910,715) in view of Hojnacki (US patent 6,026,537) and Hartman (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0213035 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ohrt teaches a wiper blade (11, fig. 1) for use on a windshield (10) of a vehicle. The wiper blade comprises a support member (13, fig. 3) coupled to a blade element (12). A plurality of clips (17) are coupled to and surround a portion of the support member and a portion of the blade element. A wash tube (16) is integral with the support member and is fluidly coupled to a plurality of nozzles (18) spaced along a length of the wiper blade (fig. 2).
The publication to Ohrt discloses all of the above recited subject matter with the exception of the support member being of composite material and wherein the wash tube is an aperture that extends fully through the support member, from a first end of the support member to the second end of the support member.
The publication to Hojnacki discloses making support members (44, fig. 4) of composite material (col. 4, lines 10-32).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to make the support member of Ohrt of composite material, as clearly suggested by Hojnacki, to provide a lightweight, low noise support member.
Lastly, Hartman teaches the wash tube (hollow passage, 118) is an aperture (Fig. 11) that extends fully through the support member (22), from a first end (Fig. 8) of the support member (22) to the second end (Fig. 8) of the support member (22).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to make the support member of Ohrt of composite material, as clearly suggested by Hartman, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to claim 1, while Ohrt discloses his wiper blade for use on a vehicle, he does not specify such vehicle as an aircraft. However, such particular vehicle the wiper blade is to be used on does not limit the wiper blade in any patentable sense. The wiper blade of Ohrt could be so used on an aircraft if desired.
Regarding Claim 2, Ohrt, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (11, fig. 1) further comprising a plug (29) positioned at each distal end of the wash tube (16); wherein an outer diameter (Fig. 7) of the plugs (29) is smaller than an outer diameter (Fig. 7) of the wash tube (16), and wherein the plugs (29) are inserted into the distal ends of the wash tube (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Ohrt, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (11, fig. 1) of claim 1, as discussed above.
Ohrt does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of nozzles are apertures that extend through the support member, and wherein the plurality of nozzles is spaced along a length of the support member.
Hartman, however, teaches the plurality of nozzles (119) are apertures (Paragraph [0111]) that extend through the support member (22; Fig. 10), and wherein the plurality of nozzles is spaced along a length of the support member (22; Paragraph [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzles of Ohr to further include the plurality of nozzles are apertures that extend through the support member, and wherein the plurality of nozzles is spaced along a length of the support member as clearly suggested by Hartman, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohrt, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (11, fig. 1) further comprising a fluid input (second flexible tube, 19) extending into the support member (Fig. 2) and fluidly connecting to the wash tube within the support member (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohrt, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (11, fig. 1) wherein the fluid input (19) is an aperture (aperture of tube, 19) that is positioned at approximately a center (Fig. 2) of the support member (13) with respect to a length of the support member (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohrt, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (11, fig. 1) and further comprising an input port (port of source of washing fluid, 20) axially aligned (via fitting, 22) with and coupled to the fluid input (19) of the support member (13), wherein the input port fluidly couples the fluid input of the support member to a fluid source (Col. 2, lines 60 – 63).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: FR2648771 A1 to Leger discloses the invention substantially as is claimed, including a wiper blade (fig. 2) for use on a windshield (14) of a vehicle. The wiper blade comprises a support member (34) coupled to a blade element (8). A clip (36) is coupled to and surrounds a portion of the support member and a portion of the blade element. Each clip includes first and second extensions. A wash tube (32) is integral with the support member and is fluidly coupled to a plurality of nozzles (24) spaced along a length of the wiper blade (fig. 1).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723