DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Armstrong (US Pub. 2024/0271431 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Armstrong discloses a flooring panel for use in an elevated flooring system (Abstract, lines 1-4: “An elevated flooring system having plurality of beams configured to support a respective portion of at least one flooring panel, and at least one saddle configured to support the at least one of the beams”), the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102) comprising:
a first end of the flooring panel, an opposite second end of the flooring panel, a first side of the flooring panel, an opposite second side of the flooring panel, a length between the first end and the second end of the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first end portion, a second end portion (Fig. 26, floor panel beams 282), a first plurality of hangers, a second plurality of hangers (Fig. 26, angle brackets 286), a plurality of joists (Fig. 26, primary beams 282 or secondary beams 284), and a decking portion (Pg. 1, [0003], lines 1-9: “Modular tent/deck support structures designed for frequent assembly and disassembly are generally known in the art. Conventional structures of this type include an understructure consisting of upright legs spaced apart at standard distances with interconnecting structural beams, one or more deck panels supported by the understructure, and connector elements for supporting and securing a tent structure, all of which collectively can be attached together to make a unitary structure”);
the first end portion being provided at and adjacent the first end, the second end portion being provided at and adjacent the second end (Fig. 26, the first and second end portions are opposing beams 272), each of the first end portion and the second end portion including a first portion and a second portion attached at an angle relative to one another, the first portion of the first end portion being adapted to contact a first support beam of the elevated flooring system and, the first portion of the second end portion being adapted to contact a second support beam of the elevated flooring system (Fig. 26, primary beam 282 contacts both floor panel beams 272 at right angles);
the first plurality of hangers attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second portion of the first end portion, and the second plurality of hangers attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second portion of the second end portion (Fig. 26, a plurality of brackets 286 are shown on an interior of the frame);
a first joist and a second joist of the plurality of joists each including an upper surface (Fig. 26, beams 282, 284 each have top surfaces), and a first end and an opposite second end having a first end opening and a second end opening, respectively, and to interconnect the first end portion and the second end portion, a first one of the first plurality of hangers being received in the first end opening of and attached to the first joist, and a first one of the second plurality of hangers being received in the second end opening of and attached to the first joist, a second one of the first plurality of hangers being received in the first end opening of and attached to the second joist, and a second one of the second plurality of hangers being received in the second end opening of and attached to the second joist (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is received by beam 272 and fastened with bolts 276, 294 inserted through the beams);
and the decking portion extending between the first end portion and the second end portion and being supported by and attached to the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist (Fig. 25, walking platform 290);
wherein the first one and the second one of the first plurality of hangers are spaced from the first portion of the first end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first portion of the first end portion (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is located below the top of the beam);
wherein the first one and the second one of the second plurality of hangers are spaced from the first portion of the second end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first portion of the second end portion (See id);
and wherein, when the decking portion is supported by and attached to the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist, an upper surface of the decking portion is substantially flush with upper surfaces of each of the first portions of the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 25, walking portion 290 rests on the beams).
Regarding claim 2, Armstrong discloses wherein the first one of the first plurality of hangers is attached to the first joist via at least a first fastener extending through portions of the first one of the first plurality of hangers and the first joist, and wherein the first one of the second plurality of hangers is attached to the first joist via at least a second fastener extending through portions of the first one of the second plurality of hangers and the first joist (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is received by beam 272 and fastened with bolts 276, 294 inserted through the beams).
Regarding claim 3, Armstrong discloses wherein at least one of the first plurality of hangers and the second plurality of hangers includes a central portion, a first side portion attached to a first side of the central portion, and a second side portion attached to an opposite side of the central portion (Fig. 28, bracket 286 has two side portions and a central channel), the first side portion including an end configured to be attached the second portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion, and the second side portion including an end configured to be attached to the second portion of the one of the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 28, both side portions connect to a beam).
Regarding claim 4, Armstrong discloses wherein the ends of the first portion and the second portion can be attached to the second portion of the one of the first end portion and the second end portion using fasteners, adhesives, brazing, soldering, welding, and/or crimping (Pg. 6, [0062], lines 17-21: “The cross structures 280 include a primary beam 282 and several secondary beams 284, each having vertically oriented angle brackets 286 on their ends for fastening to the stabilizing channels 212e-212h, as will be described herein).
Regarding claim 5, Armstrong discloses wherein each of the first plurality of hangers includes a first central portion, a first side portion attached to the first central portion at a first location on the first central portion, and a second side portion attached to the first central portion at a second location on the first central portion (Fig. 28, bracket 286 has two side portions and a central channel), the first side portion including an end configured to be attached the second portion of the first end portion, and the second side portion including an end configured to be attached to the second portion of the first end portion (Fig. 28, both side portions connect to a beam).
Regarding claim 6, Armstrong discloses wherein each of the second plurality of hangers includes a second central portion, a third side portion attached to the second central portion at a third location on the second central portion, and a fourth side portion attached to the second central portion at a fourth location on the second central portion (Fig. 28, bracket 286 has two side portions and a central channel), the third side portion including an end configured to be attached the second portion of the second end portion, and the fourth side portion including an end configured to be attached to the second portion of the second end portion (Fig. 28, both side portions connect to a beam).
Regarding claim 7, Armstrong discloses wherein each of the first plurality of hangers and the second plurality of hangers can be attached to the second portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion using fasteners, adhesives, brazing, soldering, welding, and/or crimping (Pg. 6, [0062], lines 17-21: “The cross structures 280 include a primary beam 282 and several secondary beams 284, each having vertically oriented angle brackets 286 on their ends for fastening to the stabilizing channels 212e-212h, as will be described herein”).
Regarding claim 8, Armstrong discloses wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are each formed as angle metal with the first portions and the second portions thereof attached at perpendicular angles or substantially perpendicular angles relative to one another (Fig. 26, primary beam 282 contacts both floor panel beams 272 at right angles), each of the first portions being formed all or part by a first plate portion, and each the second portions being formed all or part by a second plate portion (Fig. 23, flange 206).
Regarding claim 11, Armstrong discloses a flooring panel for use in an elevated flooring system (Abstract, lines 1-4: “An elevated flooring system having plurality of beams configured to support a respective portion of at least one flooring panel, and at least one saddle configured to support the at least one of the beams”), the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102) comprising:
a first end of the flooring panel, an opposite second end of the flooring panel, a first side of the flooring panel, an opposite second side of the flooring panel, a length between the first end and the second end of the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first end portion, a second end (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first plurality of hangers, a second plurality of hangers (Fig. 26, angle brackets 286), a plurality of joists (Fig. 26, primary beams 282 or secondary beams 284), and a decking portion (Pg. 1, [0003], lines 1-9: “Modular tent/deck support structures designed for frequent assembly and disassembly are generally known in the art. Conventional structures of this type include an understructure consisting of upright legs spaced apart at standard distances with interconnecting structural beams, one or more deck panels supported by the understructure, and connector elements for supporting and securing a tent structure, all of which collectively can be attached together to make a unitary structure”);
the first end portion being provided at and adjacent the first end, the second end portion being provided at and adjacent the second end (Fig. 26, the first and second end portions are opposing beams 272), each of the first end portion and the second end portion including a first plate portion and a second plate portion attached at an angle relative to one another, the first plate portion of the first end portion including a first downwardly facing surface being adapted to contact a first upper surface of a first support beam of the elevated flooring system, and the first plate portion of the second end portion including a second downwardly facing surface being adapted to contact a second upper surface of a second support beam of the elevated flooring system (Fig. 26, primary beam 282 contacts both floor panel beams 272 at right angles);
the first plurality of hangers attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the first end portion, and the second plurality of hangers attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the second end portion (Fig. 26, a plurality of brackets 286 are shown on an interior of the frame), each of the first plurality of hangers and the second plurality of hangers including a central portion, a first side portion attached to a first side of the central portion, and a second side portion attached to an opposite side of the central portion (Fig. 28, bracket 286 has two side portions and a central channel), the first side portion including an end configured to be attached to the inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion, and the second side portion including an end configured to be attached to the inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the one of the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 26, a plurality of brackets 286 are shown on an interior of the frame);
a first joist of the plurality of joists positioned on the first side of the flooring panel, and a second joist of the plurality of joists positioned on the second side of the flooring panel (Fig. 26, beams 282, 284 each have top surfaces), the first joist and the second joist of the plurality of joists each including an upper surface, and a first end and an opposite second end having a first end opening and a second end opening, respectively, and to interconnect the first end portion and the second end portion, a first one of the first plurality of hangers being received in the first end opening of and attached to the first joist, and a first one of the second plurality of hangers being received in the second end opening of and attached to the first joist, a second one of the first plurality of hangers being received in the first end opening of and attached to the second joist, and a second one of the second plurality of hangers being received in the second end opening of and attached to the second joist (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is received by beam 272 and fastened with bolts 276, 294 inserted through the beams);
and the decking portion extending between the first end portion and the second end portion and being supported by the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist (Fig. 25, walking platform 290);
wherein the first one and the second one of the first plurality of hangers are spaced from the first plate portion of the first end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first plate portion of the first end portion (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is located below the top of the beam);
and wherein the first one and the second one of the second plurality of hangers are spaced from the first plate portion of the second end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first plate portion of the second end portion (See id).
Regarding claim 12, Armstrong discloses wherein each of the first plurality of hangers and the second plurality of hangers can be attached to the second plate portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion using fasteners, adhesives, brazing, soldering, welding, and/or crimping (Pg. 6, [0062], lines 17-21: “The cross structures 280 include a primary beam 282 and several secondary beams 284, each having vertically oriented angle brackets 286 on their ends for fastening to the stabilizing channels 212e-212h, as will be described herein).
Regarding claim 13, Armstrong discloses wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are each formed as angle metal with the first plate portions and the second plate portions thereof attached at perpendicular angles or substantially perpendicular angles relative to one another (Fig. 26, primary beam 282 contacts both floor panel beams 272 at right angles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong (US Pub. 2024/0271431 A1) in view of Wyse (US Pub. 2022/0098895 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Armstrong discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Wyse, similarly drawn to an elevated flooring system, wherein the first plate portions of the first portions of each of the first end portion and the second end portion each include a downwardly facing surface configured to be supported by an upper surface of one of the first support beam and the second support beam (Fig. 2, flooring shelves 120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring panel of Armstrong to include the downwardly facing plate portion of Wyse to allow for the support of adjoining joists.
Regarding claim 10, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Wyse, wherein the second plate portions of the second portions of each of the first end portion and the second end portion each include an outwardly facing surface configured to contact a side surface of one of the first support beam and the second support beam (See id).
Regarding claim 14, Armstrong discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Wyse, similarly drawn to an elevated flooring system, wherein the second plate portions of each of the first end portion and the second end portion each include an outwardly facing surface configured to contact a side surface of one of the first support beam and the second support beam (Fig. 2, flooring shelves 120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring panel of Armstrong to include the downwardly facing plate portion of Wyse to allow for the support of adjoining joists.
Regarding claim 15, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Armstrong, wherein, when the decking portion is supported by the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist, an upper surface of the decking portion is substantially flush with upper surfaces of the first plate portions of each the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 25, walking portion 290 rests on the beams).
Regarding claim 16, Armstrong discloses a flooring panel for use in an elevated flooring system (Abstract, lines 1-4: “An elevated flooring system having plurality of beams configured to support a respective portion of at least one flooring panel, and at least one saddle configured to support the at least one of the beams”), the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102) comprising:
a first end of the flooring panel, an opposite second end of the flooring panel, a first side of the flooring panel, an opposite second side of the flooring panel, a length between the first end and the second end of the flooring panel (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first end portion, a second end portion (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first hanger, a second hanger, a third hanger, a fourth hanger (Fig. 2, flooring structure 102 comprises at least four distinct portions on its ends and sides), a first joist, a second joist joists (Fig. 26, primary beams 282 or secondary beams 284), and a decking portion (Pg. 1, [0003], lines 1-9: “Modular tent/deck support structures designed for frequent assembly and disassembly are generally known in the art. Conventional structures of this type include an understructure consisting of upright legs spaced apart at standard distances with interconnecting structural beams, one or more deck panels supported by the understructure, and connector elements for supporting and securing a tent structure, all of which collectively can be attached together to make a unitary structure”);
the first end portion being provided at and adjacent the first end, the second end portion being provided at and adjacent the second end (Fig. 26, the first and second end portions are opposing beams 272), each of the first end portion and the second end portion including a first plate portion and a second plate portion attached at an angle relative to one another, the first plate portion of the first end portion including a first downwardly facing surface being adapted to contact a first upper surface of a first support beam of the elevated flooring system (Fig. 26, the first and second end portions are opposing beams 272);
the first hanger and the second hanger being attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the first end portion, and the third hanger and the fourth hanger being attached to an inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the second end portion (Fig. 26, a plurality of brackets 286 are shown on an interior of the frame), each of the first hanger, the second hanger, the third hanger, and the fourth hanger including a central portion, a first side portion attached to a first side of the central portion, and a second side portion attached to an opposite side of the central portion (Fig. 28, bracket 286 has two side portions and a central channel), the first side portion including an end configured to be attached to the inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion, and the second side portion including an end configured to be attached to the inwardly facing surface of the second plate portion of the one of the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 26, a plurality of brackets 286 are shown on an interior of the frame);
the first joist and the second joist each including an upper surface (Fig. 27, bracket 272 has an upper surface), and a first end and an opposite second end having a first end opening and a second end opening, respectively, and to interconnect the first end portion and the second end portion, the first hanger being received in the first end opening of and attached to the first joist, and the third hanger being received in the second end opening of and attached to the first joist, the second hanger being received in the first end opening of and attached to the second joist, and the fourth hanger being received in the second end opening of and attached to the second joist (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is received by beam 272 and fastened with bolts 276, 294 inserted through the beams);
wherein the first hanger and the second hanger are spaced from the first plate portion of the first end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first plate portion of the first end portion (Fig. 27, bracket 286 is located below the top of the beam) to at least in part form a recess for receiving the decking portion above the first joist and the second joist, and between the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 25, a recess is formed between the frame to receive walking platform 290);
and wherein the third hanger and the fourth hanger are spaced from the first plate portion of the second end portion such that, when the first joist and the second joist are attached thereto, the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist are spaced from the first plate portion of the second end portion to at least in part form the recess for receiving the decking portion (See id).
However, Armstrong discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Wyse, similarly drawn to an elevated flooring system, the first plate portion of the second end portion including a second downwardly facing surface being adapted to contact a second upper surface of a second support beam of the elevated flooring system (Fig. 2, flooring shelves 120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring panel of Armstrong to include the downwardly facing plate portion of Wyse to allow for the support of adjoining joists.
Regarding claim 17, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Armstrong, wherein each of first hanger, the second hanger, the third hanger, and the fourth hanger can be attached to the second plate portion of one of the first end portion and the second end portion using fasteners, adhesives, brazing, soldering, welding, and/or crimping (Pg. 6, [0062], lines 17-21: “The cross structures 280 include a primary beam 282 and several secondary beams 284, each having vertically oriented angle brackets 286 on their ends for fastening to the stabilizing channels 212e-212h, as will be described herein).
Regarding claim 18, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Armstrong, wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are each formed as angle metal with the first plate portions and the second plate portions thereof attached at perpendicular angles or substantially perpendicular angles relative to one another (Fig. 26, primary beam 282 contacts both floor panel beams 272 at right angles).
Regarding claim 19, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Wyse, wherein the second plate portions of each of the first end portion and the second end portion each include an outwardly facing surface configured to contact a side surface of one of the first support beam and the second support beam (Fig. 2, flooring shelves 120).
Regarding claim 20, Armstrong as modified by Wyse discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Armstrong, wherein, when the decking portion is supported to the upper surfaces of the first joist and the second joist, an upper surface of the decking portion is substantially flush with upper surfaces of the first plate portions of each the first end portion and the second end portion (Fig. 25, walking portion 290 rests on the beams).
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642