Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 01/26/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new
ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Diehl (US 20130333040 A1) based on the new amendments to claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 13, 17, 21, 22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Diehl (US 20130333040 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kliger teaches a method performed at a computing device having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising:
identifying a process running on the computing device (Fig. 3. Para [0038]-[0039]: the identification of processes being performed by a computing system (act 121).);
in response to identifying the process running on the computing device (Fig. 3. Para [0038]-[0039]):
selecting one or more countermeasures from a plurality of countermeasures based at least in part on the determined process (Para [0048]: the process of determining which processes are related to the identified alert (act 122) is performed to identify the specific processes a client performs in remediation of a detected alert condition.); and
executing each of the selected countermeasures at the computing device (Para [0071]. Claim 1: providing a mitigation file to the client system that includes the predictive set of mitigation processes for responding to the particular threat scenario. Then, the computing system 200, without receiving a request for a composite remediation file from the target system, automatically in response to detecting the alert condition.).
Kliger does not explicitly disclose monitoring, by a trust agent at the computing device, processes running on the computing device; (perform an action) by the trust agent.
Diehl teaches monitoring, by a trust agent at the computing device, processes running on the computing device (Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118);
(perform an action) by the trust agent (Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger with the teachings of Diehl to include monitoring, by a trust agent at the computing device, processes running on the computing device; (perform an action) by the trust agent in order to flag any potential malware attempt at kernel-level.
Regarding claim 2, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining an operating context for the identified process on the computing device where the process is running, wherein the one or more countermeasures are selected based at least in part on the determined operating context (Kliger Fig. 3. Para [0035]-[0037]: the correlation vector 300 that is generated and used to identify processes associated with an alert and which can also be used to identify an alert from processes that are being performed. For each identified alert or alert type, identifying processes performed by a corresponding plurality of different client systems within a predetermined time and/or process proximity to and after the identified alert (act 121), determining which of the plurality of processes are related to the identified alert based on a correlation vector of the plurality of processes and the identified alert (act 122), and for each client of the plurality of different client systems, creating a client remediation process set that includes the processes that are determined to be related to the identified alert and that were performed by the client within the predetermined period of time and/or process proximity to the identified alert (act 123).).
Regarding claim 3, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more countermeasures are received via the trust agent prior to identifying the process (Kliger Para [0053]: the generation of the composite remediation files (130) is based on assembling a cluster of remediation process sets for a particular alert type that omits some of the total identified or stored remediation process sets that are associated with the alert type. This can enable for a target system that is experiencing an alert condition to obtain a corresponding composite remediation file that is specifically tailored for and based on the remediation process sets of similarly configured client systems. Diehl Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118.).
Regarding claim 4, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more countermeasures are received via the trust agent in response to identifying the process running on the computing device (Kliger Claim 1. Diehl Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118.).
Regarding claim 6, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the countermeasures of the selected countermeasures is executed in parallel to running the process (Kliger Para [0016]. Para [0071]. Claim 1: the mitigation file comprises an executable file having executable instructions corresponding to the remediation process sets for automatically performing remedial actions in response to running the mitigation file at the client system. Diehl Para [0014]: the kernel-level security agent performs updating while continuously monitoring).
Regarding claim 7, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first countermeasure and a second countermeasure of the plurality of countermeasures are trained based on distinct types of malicious attacks (Kliger Para [0079]-[0080]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a threat vector 800, which includes one or more threats or threat types (comprising one or more processes or conditions) and various distance attributes/characteristics that are associated with the corresponding threats or threat types. The various distance attributes are defined characteristics associated with the identified threat scenarios. Nonlimiting examples of the types of distance attributes include such things as resources/components involved, detection components, severity, threat-specific information, mitigation steps taken, time stamps, and other attributes.).
Regarding claim 8, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first countermeasure and a second countermeasure of the plurality of countermeasures are configured to mitigate distinct types of malicious attacks (Kliger Para [0079]-[0080]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a threat vector 800, which includes one or more threats or threat types (comprising one or more processes or conditions) and various distance attributes/characteristics that are associated with the corresponding threats or threat types. The various distance attributes are defined characteristics associated with the identified threat scenarios. Nonlimiting examples of the types of distance attributes include such things as resources/components involved, detection components, severity, threat-specific information, mitigation steps taken, time stamps, and other attributes.).
Regarding claim 11, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more of the selected countermeasures are reactive artificial intelligence machines (Kliger Para [0083]).
As per claim 13, 14, the claim claiming a computing device essentially corresponding to the method claim 1, 2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 17, 18, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 1,2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, Kliger in view of Diehl the method of claim 1, wherein:
the processes are system processes executed at a kernel level of the computing device (Diehl Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118); and
the identified process is a system process executed at a kernel level of the computing device (Diehl Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118).
Regarding claim 22, Kliger in view of Diehl the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, based on the executed selected countermeasures, whether the identified process corresponds to suspicious activity (Diehl Para [0052]-[0054]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Diehl (US 20130333040 A1) in view of THOMAS (US 20170063920 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger in view of Diehl teaches wherein executing the selected countermeasures includes applying the selected countermeasures as a group.
THOMAS does disclose wherein executing the selected countermeasures includes applying the selected countermeasures as a group (Claim 47: wherein the response includes a plurality of groups of countermeasures, each group countermeasure from the plurality of group of countermeasures to be applied).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger in view of Diehl with the teachings of THOMAS to include wherein executing the selected countermeasures includes applying the selected countermeasures as a group in order to provide defense in depth.
Claims 9, 10, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Diehl (US 20130333040 A1) in view of Talati (US 20220311804 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1, perform an action) via a trust agent (Diehl Para [0010]. Para [0023]. FIG. 1: a kernel-level security agent that operates on a host computing device. The kernel-level security agent 114 includes components 116 to observe events and determine appropriate action(s) to take based on those events and on a situational model 118.).
Kliger in view of Diehl does not explicitly disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: executing the selected countermeasures includes performing one or more checks in accordance with selected countermeasure policies; and in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with execution of the selected countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center via the trust agent.
Talati does disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device:
executing the selected countermeasures includes performing one or more checks in accordance with selected countermeasure policies (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.); and
in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with execution of the selected countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center via the trust agent (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger in view of Diehl with the teachings of Talati to include further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: executing the selected countermeasures includes performing one or more checks in accordance with selected countermeasure policies; and in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with execution of the selected countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center via the trust agent in order to warn the client or administration facility of an ongoing process or interaction to prevent the threat (Talati Para [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger in view of Diehl does not explicitly disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process
Talati does disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device:
in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger in view of Diehl with the teachings of Talati to include further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process in order to warn the client or administration facility of an ongoing process or interaction to prevent the threat (Talati Para [0060]).
As per claim 16, the claim claiming a computing device essentially corresponding to the method claim 9 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 20, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 9 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Diehl (US 20130333040 A1) in view of Tumblin (US 11449602 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Kliger in view of Diehl teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger in view of Diehl does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure.
Tumblin does disclose wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure (Col 17 lines 21-32: the remedial action includes (752) applying one or more countermeasures. In some implementations, the countermeasures include detecting and preventing one or more of: heap spray, reflective injection, unknown read buffering, blocked address communication, unauthorized functions, malicious scripts, privilege escalation, function tampering, unknown shellcode, and trust tampering.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger in view of Diehl with the teachings of Tumblin to include wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure in order to enhancing security and prevent the threat (Tumblin Col 17 lines 21-32).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUDY BAZNA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495