Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 12/31/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kliger (US 20200045075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kliger teaches a method performed at a computing device having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising:
identifying a process running on the computing device (Fig. 3. Para [0038]-[0039]: the identification of processes being performed by a computing system (act 121).);
in response to identifying the process running on the computing device (Fig. 3. Para [0038]-[0039]):
selecting one or more countermeasures from a plurality of countermeasures based at least in part on the determined process (Para [0048]: the process of determining which processes are related to the identified alert (act 122) is performed to identify the specific processes a client performs in remediation of a detected alert condition.); and
executing each of the selected countermeasures at the computing device (Para [0071]. Claim 1: providing a mitigation file to the client system that includes the predictive set of mitigation processes for responding to the particular threat scenario. Then, the computing system 200, without receiving a request for a composite remediation file from the target system, automatically in response to detecting the alert condition.).
Regarding claim 2, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining an operating context for the identified process on the computing device where the process is running, wherein the one or more countermeasures are selected based at least in part on the determined operating context (Fig. 3. Para [0035]-[0037]: the correlation vector 300 that is generated and used to identify processes associated with an alert and which can also be used to identify an alert from processes that are being performed. For each identified alert or alert type, identifying processes performed by a corresponding plurality of different client systems within a predetermined time and/or process proximity to and after the identified alert (act 121), determining which of the plurality of processes are related to the identified alert based on a correlation vector of the plurality of processes and the identified alert (act 122), and for each client of the plurality of different client systems, creating a client remediation process set that includes the processes that are determined to be related to the identified alert and that were performed by the client within the predetermined period of time and/or process proximity to the identified alert (act 123).).
Regarding claim 6, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the countermeasures of the selected countermeasures is executed in parallel to running the process (Para [0016]. Para [0071]. Claim 1: the mitigation file comprises an executable file having executable instructions corresponding to the remediation process sets for automatically performing remedial actions in response to running the mitigation file at the client system.).
Regarding claim 7, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first countermeasure and a second countermeasure of the plurality of countermeasures are trained based on distinct types of malicious attacks (Para [0079]-[0080]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a threat vector 800, which includes one or more threats or threat types (comprising one or more processes or conditions) and various distance attributes/characteristics that are associated with the corresponding threats or threat types. The various distance attributes are defined characteristics associated with the identified threat scenarios. Nonlimiting examples of the types of distance attributes include such things as resources/components involved, detection components, severity, threat-specific information, mitigation steps taken, time stamps, and other attributes.).
Regarding claim 8, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first countermeasure and a second countermeasure of the plurality of countermeasures are configured to mitigate distinct types of malicious attacks (Para [0079]-[0080]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a threat vector 800, which includes one or more threats or threat types (comprising one or more processes or conditions) and various distance attributes/characteristics that are associated with the corresponding threats or threat types. The various distance attributes are defined characteristics associated with the identified threat scenarios. Nonlimiting examples of the types of distance attributes include such things as resources/components involved, detection components, severity, threat-specific information, mitigation steps taken, time stamps, and other attributes.).
Regarding claim 11, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more of the selected countermeasures are reactive artificial intelligence machines (Para [0083]).
As per claim 13, 14, the claim claiming a computing device essentially corresponding to the method claim 1, 2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 17, 18, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 1,2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Monastyrsky (US 20180365415 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more countermeasures are received at the computing device prior to identifying the process (Para [0053]: the generation of the composite remediation files (130) is based on assembling a cluster of remediation process sets for a particular alert type that omits some of the total identified or stored remediation process sets that are associated with the alert type. This can enable for a target system that is experiencing an alert condition to obtain a corresponding composite remediation file that is specifically tailored for and based on the remediation process sets of similarly configured client systems.).
Kliger does not explicitly disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent.
Monastyrsky does disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent (Para [0033]: a software agent 110 (i.e., an “agent”) is installed on the side of the client 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger of executing countermeasures at the computing device with the teachings of Monastyrsky to include the well-known technique of (perform an action) via a trust agent because the results would have been predictable and resulted in enhancing the security protocols.
Regarding claim 4, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more countermeasures are received at the computing device in response to identifying the process running on the computing device (Claim 1).
Kliger does not explicitly disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent.
Monastyrsky does disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent (Para [0033]: a software agent 110 (i.e., an “agent”) is installed on the side of the client 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger of executing countermeasures at the computing device with the teachings of Monastyrsky to include the well-known technique of (perform an action) via a trust agent because the results would have been predictable and resulted in enhancing the security protocols.
As per claim 15, the claim claiming a computing device essentially corresponding to the method claim 4 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 19, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 4 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of THOMAS (US 20170063920 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1.
Kilger teaches wherein the one or more countermeasures are applied as a group.
THOMAS does disclose wherein the one or more countermeasures are applied as a group (Claim 47: wherein the response includes a plurality of groups of countermeasures, each group countermeasure from the plurality of group of countermeasures to be applied).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger with the teachings of THOMAS to include wherein the one or more countermeasures are applied as a group in order to provide defense in depth.
Claims 9, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Talati (US 20220311804 A1) in view of Monastyrsky (US 20180365415 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger does not explicitly disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device:
performing one or more checks in accordance with one or more countermeasure policies; and
in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center.
Talati does disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device:
performing one or more checks in accordance with one or more countermeasure policies (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.); and
in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger with the teachings of Talati to include further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: performing one or more checks in accordance with one or more countermeasure policies; and in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, sending an alert to a trust center in order to warn the client or administration facility of an ongoing process or interaction to prevent the threat (Talati Para [0060]).
Kliger in view Talati of does not explicitly disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent.
Monastyrsky does disclose (perform an action) via a trust agent (Para [0033]: a software agent 110 (i.e., an “agent”) is installed on the side of the client 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger in view of Talati of executing countermeasures at the computing device with the teachings of Monastyrsky to include the well-known technique of (perform an action) via a trust agent because the results would have been predictable and resulted in enhancing the security protocols.
As per claim 16, the claim claiming a computing device essentially corresponding to the method claim 9 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 20, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium essentially corresponding to the method claim 9 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Talati (US 20220311804 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger does not explicitly disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process
Talati does disclose further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device:
in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process (Para [0060]: when a threat or policy violation is detected by the threat management facility 400, the threat management facility 400 may perform or initiate remedial action through a remedial action facility 428. Remedial action may take a variety of forms, such as terminating or modifying an ongoing process or interaction, issuing an alert, sending a warning to a client or administration facility 434 of an ongoing process or interaction.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger with the teachings of Talati to include further comprising in response to identifying the process running on the computing device: in response to detecting one or more suspicious agents in accordance with the one or more countermeasure policies, terminating the process in order to warn the client or administration facility of an ongoing process or interaction to prevent the threat (Talati Para [0060]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kliger (US 20200045075 A1) in view of Tumblin (US 11449602 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Kliger teaches the method of claim 1.
Kliger does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure.
Tumblin does disclose wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure (Col 17 lines 21-32: the remedial action includes (752) applying one or more countermeasures. In some implementations, the countermeasures include detecting and preventing one or more of: heap spray, reflective injection, unknown read buffering, blocked address communication, unauthorized functions, malicious scripts, privilege escalation, function tampering, unknown shellcode, and trust tampering.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kliger with the teachings of Tumblin to include wherein the one or more countermeasures include one or more of: a no-trust countermeasure, a self-protection countermeasure, a reflective injection countermeasure, a heap spray countermeasure, a read buffer countermeasure, a write buffer countermeasure, an unauthorized function countermeasure, a malicious script countermeasure, a shell code countermeasure, a Javascript countermeasure, a privilege escalation countermeasure, a tamper countermeasure, a hollowing countermeasure, an immutable countermeasure, a registry key countermeasure, a malicious path countermeasure, an image load countermeasure, a malicious registry entry countermeasure, a DLL hooking countermeasure, a connection block countermeasure, and a digital certificate verification countermeasure in order to enhancing security and prevent the threat (Tumblin Col 17 lines 21-32).
Conclusion
/JUDY BAZNA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495