DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Examiner notes that the restriction requirement in Application 17/088,042 (U.S. Patent No. 12,063,885) was withdrawn in the 04/24/2024 Notice of Allowance due to the restriction rejoinder.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,642,177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
A kernel-level grain monitoring system utilized onboard a combine harvester, the kernel-level grain monitoring system comprising: (claim 1)
an actuated harvesting component onboard the combine harvester; (claim 1)
a grain camera positioned to capture bulk grain sample images of a currently- harvested grain taken into and processed by the combine harvester; and (claim 1)
a controller architecture coupled to the grain camera, to the actuated harvesting component, and to the display device, the controller architecture configured to: (claim 1)
analyze the bulk grain sample images, as received from the grain camera, to determine an average per kernel (APK) volume representing an estimated volume of a single average kernel of the currently-harvested grain; (claim 1)
determine a target setting adjustment to the actuated harvesting component based, at least in part, on a parameter calculated utilizing the APK volume; and (claim 1 and 8)
output the target setting adjustment as a notification to an operator of the combine harvester or as an automated control command to the actuated harvesting component. (claim 1, 7 and 8)
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,885. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
A kernel-level grain monitoring system utilized onboard a combine harvester, the kernel-level grain monitoring system comprising: (claim 1)
an actuated harvesting component onboard the combine harvester; (claim 1 and 10)
a grain camera positioned to capture bulk grain sample images of a currently- harvested grain taken into and processed by the combine harvester; and (claim 1)
a controller architecture coupled to the grain camera, to the actuated harvesting component, and to the display device, the controller architecture configured to: (claim 1)
analyze the bulk grain sample images, as received from the grain camera, to determine an average per kernel (APK) volume representing an estimated volume of a single average kernel of the currently-harvested grain; (claim 1)
determine a target setting adjustment to the actuated harvesting component based, at least in part, on a parameter calculated utilizing the APK volume; and (claim 1 and 10)
output the target setting adjustment as a notification to an operator of the combine harvester or as an automated control command to the actuated harvesting component. (claim 1 and 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 21 and 28 contain the terms “the display device” without proper antecedent basis. It appears this term should be deleted from the claims here. Examiner also notes that claim 27 contains the term “a display device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wellington (PGPub 2016/0189007) in view of Young (PGPub 2017/0024876).
Regarding claim 21, Wellington discloses a kernel-level grain monitoring system utilized onboard a combine harvester, the kernel-level grain monitoring system comprising: (Wellington teaches a system for harvested grain image analysis, which scores and outputs metrics on kernel-level grain monitoring. See Fig. 2, Fig. 3A-E and ¶ 0030-0031 as well as the combine harvester at Fig. 4.)
an actuated harvesting component onboard the combine harvester; (¶ 0061)
a grain camera positioned to capture bulk grain sample images of a currently- harvested grain taken into and processed by the combine harvester; (¶ 0024, “bulk grain image source 24 comprises a camera mounted along a grain elevator of a harvester and/or a camera mounted along the tailings elevator of a harvester.”)
a controller architecture coupled to the grain camera, to the actuated harvesting component, and to the display device, the controller architecture configured to: (¶ 0027 teaches that the controller connected to these combine harvester sensors and display.)
analyze the bulk grain sample images, as received from the grain camera to determine an average size representing an estimated size of a single average piece of the currently-harvested grain; (¶ 0078 teaches segmenting individual grain pieces and ¶ 0080-0081 teach an average size of the segmented grain pieces to define a grain quality parameter.)
determine a target setting adjustment to the actuated harvesting component based, at least in part, on a parameter calculated utilizing the APK parameter; and (¶ 0067, the controller transmits adjustment signals to one or more of actuators based upon the grain quality results.)
output the target setting adjustment as a notification to an operator of the combine harvester or as an automated control command to the actuated harvesting component. (Regarding notification to the operator see ¶ 0028, “display 36 comprises one or more devices by which information regarding the quality of grain is visibly displayed.” Grain quality measurements are presented to the user and selective presentation is taught at ¶ 0051’s teaching of adjustment recommendations and ¶ 0073’s teaching of presenting poor-quality areas that exceed a threshold. Regarding automated control see ¶ 0067, the controller transmits adjustment signals to one or more of actuators based upon the grain quality results.)
In the field of grain analysis Young teaches what Wellington does not expressly disclose, namely, that the grain size analysis is an average per kernel (APK) volume (Young is system for analyzing corn grain kernels to provide yield estimates for a crop of corn. ¶ 0024 teaches “determining the average volume of a kernel of corn from its dimensions.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wellington’s grain analysis system with Young’s grain analysis system. Wellington a system for combine harvester-based bulk grain analysis which continually monitors quality parameters such as grain size per kernel. Average per kernel volume is not taught. Young is system for analyzing corn grain kernels to provide yield estimates for the crop, via image analysis. The combination constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of simply applying Young’s teachings of grain image analysis to Wellington’s combine harvester-based grain image analysis system, for the purpose of providing Wellington with the ability to output yield estimates such average per kernel volume. Extending Wellington in this way cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here in field of grain image analysis. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 22, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the controller architecture is configured to calculate one or more topline harvesting parameters based, at least in part, on the determined APK volume. (Wellington’s topline quality analysis happens overtime as the combine harvester is operating in order to adjust combine actuation, ¶ 0048 teaches that the analysis is performed continuously so that an operator is notified of changes to grain quality. Also see multiple images analyzed at ¶ 0099 and 0101. See rejection of claim 21.)
Regarding claim 23, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 22, wherein the topline harvesting parameters comprise a grain yield parameter calculated utilizing a mass flow rate as an input. (Wellington ¶ 0059 and 0046.)
Regarding claim 24, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 22, further comprising a moisture sensor configured to generate moisture sensor data indicative of a moisture level of the currently-harvested grain, and wherein the controller architecture is configured to calculate the one or more topline harvesting parameters based, at least in part, on the determined APK volume and the moisture sensor data. (Young ¶ 0047, “the estimated average kernel volume may be adjusted to take into account a current and target moisture content of the kernels . . . If the estimated average kernel volume is determined in step 140 on corn having a relatively high moisture content, the estimated average kernel volume can be expected to be higher than the average kernel volume when the corn has adequately dried down. The estimated average kernel volume may therefore be adjusted to take into account this future shrinkage.” Thus, the topline harvesting parameter of adjusted average per kernel volume is calculated.)
Regarding claim 25, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the target setting adjustment pertains to one or more of shoe positioning, sieve positioning, chaffer positioning, and fan speeds associated with the combine harvester. (Wellington ¶ 0061)
Regarding claim 26, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 25, wherein the target setting adjustment comprises a fan speed adjustment. (Wellington ¶ 0061)
Regarding claim 27, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 21, further comprising a display device that includes a display screen on which parameters pertaining to the currently-harvested grain are selectively presented, wherein the controller architecture is configured to, when generating the notification, generate graphics on the display screen of the display device visually prompting the operator to implement the target setting adjustment. (Wellington ¶ 0028, “display 36 comprises one or more devices by which information regarding the quality of grain is visibly displayed.” Grain quality measurements are presented to the user and selective presentation is taught at ¶ 0051’s teaching of adjustment recommendations and ¶ 0073’s teaching of presenting poor-quality areas that exceed a threshold.)
Claims 28-32 is the system claim corresponding to claim 21-23 and 25, but requiring only an average per kernel parameter rather than an average per kernel volume in particular. The rejection of claim 21 teaches an average per kernel parameter. Claim 30 requires that the parameter comprises a volume. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Claims 33-34 and 36-40 is the system claim similar to the corresponding to claim 21-25 and 27. Claim 33 requires only an average per kernel parameter rather than an average per kernel volume in particular. The rejection of claim 21 teaches an average per kernel parameter. Claim 33 also requires a display device, which is taught in the rejection of claim 27. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Regarding claim 35, the above combination teaches the kernel-level grain monitoring system of claim 33, further comprising a grain loss sensor onboard the combine harvester and coupled to the controller architecture; and wherein the controller architecture is configured to: monitor a grain loss parameter of the combine harvester based, at least in part, on the APK parameter and data provided by the grain loss sensor; and determine the target setting adjustment to the actuated harvesting component based, at least in part, the grain loss parameter. (¶ 0059-0060 teaches that three different grain loss sensors are among the sensor signal information used to control the adjustable actuators via the controller. See also rejection of claim 21 regarding controlling the combine based on the APK parameter.)
Conclusion
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671