DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2012005428A (hereinafter “JP ‘428”).
With respect to Claim 1, JP ‘428 discloses a fishing reel, comprising a reel body; an electronic circuit unit 68 disposed in the reel body; a communication unit 74 configured to communicate with an external electronic device (see Fig. 9; also claim 1, “A wireless communication unit capable of wireless communication with an external device provided outside the reel body…”); and a shielding part 50 disposed between the electronic circuit unit and the communication unit and configured to magnetically shield the electronic circuit unit from the communication unit.
With respect to Claim 2, JP ‘428 discloses the fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein the shielding part 50 is a shielding sheet.
With respect to Claim 4, JP ‘428 discloses the fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit unit has a storage unit 78 configured to store setting information, and a control unit 73 configured to cause the communication unit and the electronic device to communicate when the communication unit 74 and the electronic device are disposed in a field capable of enabling Near Field wireless Communication, and configured to update the setting information of the storage control unit.
With respect to Claim 6, JP ‘428 The fishing reel according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit unit includes a braking part 45 configured to control the braking force of a spool 3, and the shielding part is configured to magnetically shield the braking part from the communication unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is allowed over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including the shielding part has at least one of a magnetic sheet or a copper foil, in accordance with a magnitude of an inductor value.
Claim 5 is allowed over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including the communication unit is an antenna substrate on which a pattern coil is disposed, and the shielding part is disposed on a surface of the antenna substrate facing the electronic circuit unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows various fishing reels.
/EMMANUEL M MARCELO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/emm/