DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
This Office Action is in response to amendment filed on 9/3/2026, where claims 1, 16, and 20 are amended, and claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, filed on 9/3/2026, with respect to previous rejections of independent claims 1, 16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. As such, the instant claims are currently rejected under new grounds.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, that all dependent claims are patentably distinguished over the cited prior art at least in view of the dependency from their respective independent claims, and requests that the rejections for all dependent claims be reconsidered and withdrew for the reasons argued above. However, their respective independent claims are now rejected under new grounds in view of the amendment and thus the dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luerkens et al., (US 2013/0144448 A1) (hereinafter Luerkens) in view of Goergen et al., (US 2022/0021548 A1) (hereinafter Goergen).
Referring to claim 1, Luerkens teaches an electronic device comprising:
one or more downstream ports, each of the one or more downstream ports configured to connect to a respective one or more downstream cables;
an upstream port connectable to an upstream cable (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “The PoE switch 200 comprises a first PoE port 210 which can e.g. be used to connect (via an Ethernet cable, not shown) the PoE switch to an upstream central control unit or another PoE switch. The PoE switch further comprises three second PoE ports 220 which can be used to connect to downstream devices that are to be powered and/or controlled.”); and
internal circuitry configured to cause, when the upstream port extracts upstream power from the upstream cable, the one or more downstream ports to inject deliverable power into the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220…The PoE switch 200 further comprises a control unit 240 for controlling the data and power communication between the first and second PoE ports and a local power supply 250 of the PoE switch.”)
Luerkens teaches the limitations above. However, Luerkens does not explicitly teach wherein the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state.
Goergen teaches the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state (¶ [0045], fig. 2, “The port 28 switches between operation as a PSE port or PD port based on operating state of the energy resource device 32. As described in detail below, each of the bi-directional ports 28 and one or more ports at the endpoint devices 32 may be configurable as responsive to an enable signal to operate as either a PSE port to source power or as a PD port to receive power.” ¶ [0059], fig. 5, “FIG. 5 is a simplified block diagram illustrating an overview of bi-directional PoE operation, in accordance with one embodiment. A front end power distribution system 55 provides power to one or more bi-directional PoE ports 56. Each port comprises a PD circuit 57a and a PSE circuit 57b coupled to a controller 58 operable to detect power direction and enable PD or PSE operation.” Examiner recognizes the open state and the closed state as PSE operation and PD operation.)
Luerkens and Goergen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with multi-ports device that can deliver power (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Luerkens and Goergen before them to modify the cascaded PoE system of Luerkens to incorporate the function of switching operation of a port by Goergen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Goergen (¶ [0333]-[0358]), because the function of switching operation of a port does not depend on the cascaded PoE system. That is the function of switching operation of a port performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to provide additional capabilities that are not currently provided by the conventional system as suggested by Goergen (¶ [0003]).
Referring to claim 2, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to detect an absence of a downstream node on the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0028], “If subsequently a device is deactivated, and it was the only one currently active, the PoE power supply of the PoE device can be deactivated again and power supply can be transferred to the central control unit. If it is detected (e.g. by a user input signal provided to the central control unit), that the PoE device does not anymore need a connection to the network either, then the entire PoE-device, including the device's control unit, can be powered down, and the PoE-power is removed from the cable 120.”)
Referring to claim 3, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to detect a presence of the downstream node on the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0028], “If subsequently a device is deactivated, and it was the only one currently active, the PoE power supply of the PoE device can be deactivated again and power supply can be transferred to the central control unit. If it is detected (e.g. by a user input signal provided to the central control unit), that the PoE device does not anymore need a connection to the network either, then the entire PoE-device, including the device's control unit, can be powered down, and the PoE-power is removed from the cable 120.”)
Referring to claim 4, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein an amount of available upstream power comprises an amount of the deliverable power (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “In the embodiment as shown, a signal 340 received at the first PoE port is split into a data signal 330 and a power supply signal 320…the power supply signal 320 may also be used to power any devices connected to the second PoE ports 220 by providing the power supply signal, via the power splitters connected at the second PoE ports, to the devices.”)
Referring to claim 5, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the amount of the available upstream power comprises an amount of electric power consumable by the electronic device (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “In the embodiment as shown, a signal 340 received at the first PoE port is split into a data signal 330 and a power supply signal 320 which can be used to power the control unit of the PoE switch 200.”)
Referring to claim 6, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the upstream port to insert upstream data onto the upstream cable while the upstream port extracts the upstream power (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal”).
Referring to claim 7, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the upstream port to obtain downstream data from the upstream cable while the upstream port extracts the upstream power (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220.”)
Referring to claim 8, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the one or more downstream ports to insert the downstream data onto the respective one or more downstream cables while the one or more downstream ports injects the deliverable power onto the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220.”)
Referring to claim 9, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the one or more downstream ports to extract upstream data from the respective one or more downstream cables while the one or more downstream ports injects the deliverable power onto the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220. the power supply signal can e.g. be provide to a power input terminal 305 of the control unit and used for powering the control unit. The PoE switch 200 further comprises a control unit 240 for controlling the data and power communication between the first and second PoE ports”).
Referring to claim 10, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the one or more downstream ports to obtain the upstream data from the respective one or more downstream cables while the one or more downstream ports injects the deliverable power onto the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220. the power supply signal can e.g. be provide to a power input terminal 305 of the control unit and used for powering the control unit. The PoE switch 200 further comprises a control unit 240 for controlling the data and power communication between the first and second PoE ports”).
Referring to claim 11, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to detect, on the upstream port, an electrical connection to an upstream node (¶ [0028], “If it is detected (e.g. by a user input signal provided to the central control unit), that the PoE device does not anymore need a connection to the network either, then the entire PoE-device, including the device's control unit, can be powered down, and the PoE-power is removed from the cable 120.” ¶ [0029], fig. 2, “The PoE switch 200 comprises a first PoE port 210 which can e.g. be used to connect (via an Ethernet cable, not shown) the PoE switch to an upstream central control unit or another PoE switch.”)
Referring to claim 12, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the upstream port to extract, from the upstream cable, the upstream power from the upstream node (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal…the power supply signal can e.g. be provide to a power input terminal 305 of the control unit and used for powering the control unit.”)
Referring to claim 13, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is configured to cause the one or more downstream ports to permit injection of the deliverable power into the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220.” Examiner notes, if the power is delivered to the second PoE port, then it is understood as permitted.)
Referring to claim 14, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more downstream ports is configured to inject the deliverable power to a downstream node (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “The PoE switch further comprises three second PoE ports 220 which can be used to connect to downstream devices that are to be powered and/or controlled…the power supply signal 320 may also be used to power any devices connected to the second PoE ports 220 by providing the power supply signal”).
Referring to claim 15, Luerkens further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the internal circuitry is electrically connected to the upstream port and the one or more downstream ports (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220.”)
Referring to claim 16, Luerkens teaches a method comprising:
connecting one or more downstream ports to a respective one or more downstream cables;
connecting an upstream port to an upstream cable (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “The PoE switch 200 comprises a first PoE port 210 which can e.g. be used to connect (via an Ethernet cable, not shown) the PoE switch to an upstream central control unit or another PoE switch. The PoE switch further comprises three second PoE ports 220 which can be used to connect to downstream devices that are to be powered and/or controlled.”);
causing, by internal circuitry when the upstream port extracts upstream power from the upstream cable, the upstream port to extract the upstream power from the upstream cable; and
causing, by the internal circuitry when the upstream port extracts the upstream power from the upstream cable, the one or more downstream ports to inject deliverable power into the respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220…The PoE switch 200 further comprises a control unit 240 for controlling the data and power communication between the first and second PoE ports and a local power supply 250 of the PoE switch.”)
Luerkens teaches the limitations above. However, Luerkens does not explicitly teach wherein the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state.
Goergen teaches the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state (¶ [0045], fig. 2, “The port 28 switches between operation as a PSE port or PD port based on operating state of the energy resource device 32. As described in detail below, each of the bi-directional ports 28 and one or more ports at the endpoint devices 32 may be configurable as responsive to an enable signal to operate as either a PSE port to source power or as a PD port to receive power.” ¶ [0059], fig. 5, “FIG. 5 is a simplified block diagram illustrating an overview of bi-directional PoE operation, in accordance with one embodiment. A front end power distribution system 55 provides power to one or more bi-directional PoE ports 56. Each port comprises a PD circuit 57a and a PSE circuit 57b coupled to a controller 58 operable to detect power direction and enable PD or PSE operation.” Examiner recognizes the open state and the closed state as PSE operation and PD operation.)
Luerkens and Goergen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with multi-ports device that can deliver power (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Luerkens and Goergen before them to modify the cascaded PoE system of Luerkens to incorporate the function of switching operation of a port by Goergen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Goergen (¶ [0333]-[0358]), because the function of switching operation of a port does not depend on the cascaded PoE system. That is the function of switching operation of a port performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to provide additional capabilities that are not currently provided by the conventional system as suggested by Goergen (¶ [0003]).
Referring to claim 17, Luerkens further teaches the method of claim 16, wherein an electronic device comprises:
the upstream port (¶ [0029], fig. 2, first PoE port 210);
the one or more downstream ports (¶ [0029], fig. 2, second PoE ports 220); and
the internal circuitry (¶ [0029], fig. 2, power splitter 230 and control unit 240).
Referring to claim 18, Luerkens further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein an amount of available upstream power comprises an amount of electric power consumable by the electronic device (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “In the embodiment as shown, a signal 340 received at the first PoE port is split into a data signal 330 and a power supply signal 320 which can be used to power the control unit of the PoE switch 200.”)
Referring to claim 19, Luerkens further teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the amount of the available upstream power comprises an amount of the deliverable power (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “In the embodiment as shown, a signal 340 received at the first PoE port is split into a data signal 330 and a power supply signal 320…the power supply signal 320 may also be used to power any devices connected to the second PoE ports 220 by providing the power supply signal, via the power splitters connected at the second PoE ports, to the devices.”)
Referring to claim 20, Luerkens teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions that, when executed by internal circuitry, causes the internal circuitry to perform a sequence of activities comprising:
causing, when an upstream port extracts upstream power from an upstream cable, the upstream port to extract the upstream power from the upstream cable (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal”); and
causing, when the upstream port extracts the upstream power from the upstream cable, one or more downstream ports to inject deliverable power into a respective one or more downstream cables (¶ [0029], fig. 2, “Each PoE port is, as shown, provided with a power splitter 230. Such a power splitter may be used for separating an input signal (e.g. received at the first PoE port 210) into a data signal and a power supply signal or for combining a data signal 335 and a power supply signal 320 into an output signal for the second PoE port 220…The PoE switch 200 further comprises a control unit 240 for controlling the data and power communication between the first and second PoE ports and a local power supply 250 of the PoE switch.”)
Luerkens teaches the limitations above. However, Luerkens does not explicitly teach wherein the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state.
Goergen teaches the upstream port comprises upstream switch circuitry and each of the one or more downstream ports comprises downstream switch circuitry, the internal circuitry being configured to output a control signal that causes the upstream switch circuitry to switch between an open state and a closed state (¶ [0045], fig. 2, “The port 28 switches between operation as a PSE port or PD port based on operating state of the energy resource device 32. As described in detail below, each of the bi-directional ports 28 and one or more ports at the endpoint devices 32 may be configurable as responsive to an enable signal to operate as either a PSE port to source power or as a PD port to receive power.” ¶ [0059], fig. 5, “FIG. 5 is a simplified block diagram illustrating an overview of bi-directional PoE operation, in accordance with one embodiment. A front end power distribution system 55 provides power to one or more bi-directional PoE ports 56. Each port comprises a PD circuit 57a and a PSE circuit 57b coupled to a controller 58 operable to detect power direction and enable PD or PSE operation.” Examiner recognizes the open state and the closed state as PSE operation and PD operation.)
Luerkens and Goergen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with multi-ports device that can deliver power (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Luerkens and Goergen before them to modify the cascaded PoE system of Luerkens to incorporate the function of switching operation of a port by Goergen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Goergen (¶ [0333]-[0358]), because the function of switching operation of a port does not depend on the cascaded PoE system. That is the function of switching operation of a port performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to provide additional capabilities that are not currently provided by the conventional system as suggested by Goergen (¶ [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2019/0182056 (Ramanujam) – discloses ethernet power distribution system.
US 2020/0067718 (Karnik) – discloses hybrid power over Ethernet/Device system.
US 9,705,325 (Dwelley) – discloses controlling switching circuits to balance power or current drawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONG-SHUNE CHUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118