DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims received on 7/12/2024.
Communications via email (MPEP 502.03)
In order to advance prosecution of the instant application, the Applicants are invited to file a form PTO/SB/439 "Internet Communications Authorized", and to include, in their response, the Applicants’ contact telephone number and e-mail address:
http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
Claim Interpretation
Plain Meaning (MPEP 2111.01): MPEP 2111.01 states: The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification. An applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer and may rebut the presumption that claim terms are to be given their ordinary and customary meaning by clearly setting forth a definition of the term that is different from its ordinary and customary meaning(s) in the specification at the relevant time. See In re Paulsen, 30 F.3d 1475, 1480, 31 USPQ2d 1671, 1674 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
"Non-transitory, computer-readable medium": Claims 17-24 recite a "non-transitory, computer-readable medium". The specification mentions "non-transitory" in par. 80 without redefining this term. The specification mentions "computer-readable medium" in par. 80, 91, without redefining this term; therefore, it also has its original meaning. Therefore, claimed "non-transitory, computer-readable medium" is interpreted as a memory device, which isn’t a nonce word or a replacement for “means” as explained in MPEP 2181. Claimed "non-transitory computer-readable medium" also excludes transitory embodiments, and therefore, these claims are eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Interpretation under 35 USC 112, sixth paragraph
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph, Invoked
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are, in claims 25, 28:
means for receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI)…
means for adjusting one or more UE parameters based on…
means for monitoring for DCI in the PDCCH based on the…
means for receiving a second indication of the scheduling duty cycle via…
The above-cited limitations use generic placeholder “means”, coupled with functional language after transitional word “for” (MPEP 2181 does not require a transitional word, such as “for”, or “configured to”. In this case, "for" is the transitional word in use) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholders are not preceded by structural modifiers.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification and drawings shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation (please refer to Fig. 7 of the Drawings). Fig. 7 represents a user equipment (UE) and its components, a processor, a transceiver, etc… the "means" at the beginning of each limitation correspond to one or more of these components. The specification describes Fig. 7 in par. 78-88, without providing an explanation about which hardware components match each "means" recited in each of the limitations described above. Each "means" refers to a component of the UE recited in the preamble of claim 25; however, the specification does not clarify in which component corresponds to the means at the beginning of each limitation.
Therefore, the specification doesn’t link a specific structure to the “means”, and claimed “means” renders the claims indefinite, because the specification did not define which structure performs the function in the corresponding functional limitation.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim limitations containing generic placeholders in claims 25, 28 invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as described in the 35 USC 112(f) section of the instant office action. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
A review of the specification and drawings shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation (please refer to Fig. 7 of the Drawings). Fig. 7 represents a user equipment (UE) and its components, a processor, a transceiver, etc… the "means" at the beginning of each limitation correspond to one or more of these components. The specification describes Fig. 7 in par. 78-88, without providing an explanation about which hardware components match each "means" recited in each of the limitations described above. Each "means" refers to a component of the UE recited in the preamble of claim 25; however, the specification does not clarify in which component corresponds to the means at the beginning of each limitation.
The specification does not define which structure performs the function in the corresponding functional limitation. Therefore, the specification does not describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. The dependent claims incorporate all limitations of the independent claims, and therefore also fail to comply with the written description requirement for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 26-29 depend upon independent claim 25, and therefore, fail to comply with the written description requirement for the same reasons as claim 25.
In order to comply with the written description requirement, the Examiner recommends amending the claims by replacing claimed "means" with a processor.
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim limitations containing generic placeholders in claims 25-29 invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as described in the 35 USC 112(f) section of the instant office action. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
A review of the specification and drawings shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation (please refer to Fig. 7 of the Drawings). Fig. 7 represents a user equipment (UE) and its components, a processor, a transceiver, etc… the "means" at the beginning of each limitation correspond to one or more of these components. The specification describes Fig. 7 in par. 78-88, without providing an explanation about which hardware components match each "means" recited in each of the limitations described above. Each "means" refers to a component of the UE recited in the preamble of claim 25; however, the specification does not clarify in which component corresponds to the means at the beginning of each limitation.
In all cases above, the generic placeholders render the claims indefinite, because the specification did not define which structure performs the function in the corresponding functional limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The dependent claims incorporate all limitations of the independent claims, and are therefore indefinite for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 26-29 incorporate all limitations of independent claim 25, and are therefore indefinite for the same reasons as claim 25.
In order to overcome indefiniteness, the Examiner recommends amending the claims by replacing "means" with a processor.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Parent application number 16/910,009, now patent number 11,337,231, and application number 17/720,831, now patent number 12,069,639, don’t claim the features of receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI), an indication of a scheduling duty cycle for the UE; adjusting one or more UE parameters based on the indication of the scheduling duty cycle; and monitoring for DCI in the PDCCH based on the one or more UE parameters as adjusted; therefore, a double patenting rejection isn’t necessary.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Kuang et al (publication number 2021/0306952), hereinafter Kuang, teaches ways for a smart phone or other UE, to save power while using DRX. In ordinary DRX operation, the UE stays awake during certain windows and keeps timers running even when it no longer needs to listen for control signaling. The invention adds signaling that can tell the UE to go to sleep or tell it when to wake up or sleep. Like the claim, the sleep timers are carried in the downlink control information (DCI). Kuang also supports a “wake-up or sleep time” message that tells the UE how long to stay awake or asleep. Overall, the goal is to let the UE sleep more fully and earlier than in conventional DRX behavior.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
Test for Obviousness
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 17-19, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (publication number 2019/0239189), hereinafter Hwang, and further in view of Raghunathan (patent number 10,841,971), hereinafter Raghunathan.
Hwang uses the following terminology and acronyms:
[0003] Radio resource control (RRC)-idle state; RRC-connected mode.
[0008] Wake-up signal occasion (WUSO) is a window in which an attempt to receive a wake-up signal (WUS) is made.
[0009] The WUS indicates a plurality of paging windows or a paging occasion (PO). The PO indicates a subframe in which transmission of the paging message starts within the paging window.
[0051] “Base station” is the same as eNB (evolved-NodeB), BTS (base transceiver system), or access point.
[0052] User equipment (UE) is the same as device, wireless device, terminal, MS (mobile station), UT (user terminal), SS (subscriber station), MT (mobile terminal).
[0069] Downlink (DL); physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
[0071] Downlink control information (DCI).
[0074]-[0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle allows a terminal to monitor a downlink channel discontinuously in order to reduce battery consumption of a radio device. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle. A UE may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration.
[0114] Narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH); narrowband physical downlink control channel (NPDCCH).
[0191] WUS may be designed as a physical channel using DCI. [0239], [0284]: A WUS may be transmitted in the form of a DCI.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE, please refer to Hwang [0118] - [0123] in reference to FIG. 9, representing a method; UE on the left), the method comprising:
receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI, Hwang [0071] Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information, DCI), an indication of a scheduling duty cycle for the UE (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device, or for each group of wireless devices), wherein the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0077] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a DRX cycle) comprises:
a scheduling period for the UE to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH, Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle); and
a break period (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: A DRX cycle specifies periodic repetition of On Duration followed by a possible period of inactivity. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. [0079] UE monitors the PDCCH during On Duration but may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration);
adjusting one or more UE parameters based on the indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0288] Information included in DCI specifies an NPDCCH monitoring interval. [0289] Information included in DCI is used to adjust a DRX cycle for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices. [0290] The DRX cycle can be increased through the DCI of the WUS – therefore, the UE can adjust, based on the DCI indication, parameters such as a NPDCCH monitoring interval or DRX cycle); and
monitoring for DCI in the PDCCH (Hwang [0127], [0191]: The wireless device monitors an NPDCCH and then wakes up when the base station transmits a WUS to the wireless device – WUS may take the form of a DCI. [0245] The DCI is configured to be detected in the same search space as an NPDCCH for paging. The wireless device performs blind decoding of an NPDCCH for the new DCI) based on the one or more UE parameters as adjusted (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle or [0245] "in accordance with" a DRX cycle or the UE).
Hwang does not explicitly teach "scheduling duty cycle".
Raghunathan teaches a scheduling duty cycle (Raghunathan col 1 lines 25-30: Discontinuous Reception (DRX) is a form of scheduling that conserves battery power in the wireless user devices. DRX controls when a wireless user device powers up its radio circuitry to receive wireless signals or transmit network signaling and when the wireless user device powers down its radio circuitry to save battery power. The DRX on/off schedule is called a DRX duty cycle. Col 9 lines 45-60 in reference to MAC 531 UE scheduling module in Fig. 6: The scheduling module selects DRX duty cycles for UEs, and indicates the selected DRX duty cycles to the UEs – it would have been obvious to rename Hwang's DRX cycle as "scheduling duty cycle").
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang, by incorporating the teachings of Raghunathan into the disclosure of Hwang, in order to conserve battery power of user devices, and to efficiently and effectively use subscriber data to control DRX (Raghunathan col 1 lines 5-40).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 18, 26, Hwang teaches wherein the break period comprises one or more slots during which the UE does not monitor the PDCCH (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: A DRX cycle specifies periodic repetition of On Duration followed by a possible period of inactivity. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. [0079] UE monitors the PDCCH during On Duration but may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration. Fig. 2 and [0060] - [0064]: Time may be represented in the form of time slots).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19, 27, Hwang teaches wherein the scheduling period comprises a multiple slot PDCCH scheduling (PDCCH, Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle. Fig. 2 and [0060] - [0064]: Time may be represented in the form of time slots. [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4, [0087], [0252]: PDCCH are scheduled to be transmitted within the ON duration).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang teaches a user equipment (UE, please refer to Hwang [0118] - [0123] in reference to FIG. 9, representing a method; UE on the left), comprising:
one or more processors (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: processor 101); and
one or more memory components coupled with the one or more processors (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: processor 101, memory 102), wherein the UE (Hwang [0118] - [0123] in reference to FIG. 9, UE on the left) is configured to:
receive, via a downlink control information (DCI, Hwang [0071] Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information, DCI), an indication of a scheduling duty cycle for the UE (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device, or for each group of wireless devices), wherein the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0077] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a DRX cycle) comprises:
a scheduling period for the UE to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH, Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle); and
a break period (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: A DRX cycle specifies periodic repetition of On Duration followed by a possible period of inactivity. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. [0079] UE monitors the PDCCH during On Duration but may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration);
adjust one or more UE parameters based on the indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0288] Information included in DCI specifies an NPDCCH monitoring interval. [0289] Information included in DCI is used to adjust a DRX cycle for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices. [0290] The DRX cycle can be increased through the DCI of the WUS – therefore, the UE can adjust, based on the DCI indication, parameters such as a NPDCCH monitoring interval or DRX cycle); and
monitor for DCI in the PDCCH (Hwang [0127], [0191]: The wireless device monitors an NPDCCH and then wakes up when the base station transmits a WUS to the wireless device – WUS may take the form of a DCI. [0245] The DCI is configured to be detected in the same search space as an NPDCCH for paging. The wireless device performs blind decoding of an NPDCCH for the new DCI) based on the one or more UE parameters as adjusted (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle or [0245] "in accordance with" a DRX cycle or the UE).
Hwang does not explicitly teach "scheduling duty cycle".
Raghunathan teaches a scheduling duty cycle (Raghunathan col 1 lines 25-30: Discontinuous Reception (DRX) is a form of scheduling that conserves battery power in the wireless user devices. DRX controls when a wireless user device powers up its radio circuitry to receive wireless signals or transmit network signaling and when the wireless user device powers down its radio circuitry to save battery power. The DRX on/off schedule is called a DRX duty cycle. Col 9 lines 45-60 in reference to MAC 531 UE scheduling module in Fig. 6: The scheduling module selects DRX duty cycles for UEs, and indicates the selected DRX duty cycles to the UEs – it would have been obvious to rename Hwang's DRX cycle as "scheduling duty cycle").
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang, by incorporating the teachings of Raghunathan into the disclosure of Hwang, in order to conserve battery power of user devices, and to efficiently and effectively use subscriber data to control DRX (Raghunathan col 1 lines 5-40).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: processor 101, memory 102), wherein the program code comprises instructions executable by one or more processors (Hwang [0304] software) of a user equipment (UE, please refer to Hwang [0118] - [0123] in reference to FIG. 9, representing a method; UE on the left) to cause the UE to:
receive, via a downlink control information (DCI, Hwang [0071] Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information, DCI), an indication of a scheduling duty cycle for the UE (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device, or for each group of wireless devices), wherein the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0077] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a DRX cycle) comprises:
a scheduling period for the UE to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH, Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle); and
a break period (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: A DRX cycle specifies periodic repetition of On Duration followed by a possible period of inactivity. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. [0079] UE monitors the PDCCH during On Duration but may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration);
adjust one or more UE parameters based on the indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0288] Information included in DCI specifies an NPDCCH monitoring interval. [0289] Information included in DCI is used to adjust a DRX cycle for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices. [0290] The DRX cycle can be increased through the DCI of the WUS – therefore, the UE can adjust, based on the DCI indication, parameters such as a NPDCCH monitoring interval or DRX cycle); and
monitor for DCI in the PDCCH (Hwang [0127], [0191]: The wireless device monitors an NPDCCH and then wakes up when the base station transmits a WUS to the wireless device – WUS may take the form of a DCI. [0245] The DCI is configured to be detected in the same search space as an NPDCCH for paging. The wireless device performs blind decoding of an NPDCCH for the new DCI) based on the one or more UE parameters as adjusted (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle or [0245] "in accordance with" a DRX cycle or the UE).
Hwang does not explicitly teach "scheduling duty cycle".
Raghunathan teaches a scheduling duty cycle (Raghunathan col 1 lines 25-30: Discontinuous Reception (DRX) is a form of scheduling that conserves battery power in the wireless user devices. DRX controls when a wireless user device powers up its radio circuitry to receive wireless signals or transmit network signaling and when the wireless user device powers down its radio circuitry to save battery power. The DRX on/off schedule is called a DRX duty cycle. Col 9 lines 45-60 in reference to MAC 531 UE scheduling module in Fig. 6: The scheduling module selects DRX duty cycles for UEs, and indicates the selected DRX duty cycles to the UEs – it would have been obvious to rename Hwang's DRX cycle as "scheduling duty cycle").
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang, by incorporating the teachings of Raghunathan into the disclosure of Hwang, in order to conserve battery power of user devices, and to efficiently and effectively use subscriber data to control DRX (Raghunathan col 1 lines 5-40).
Regarding claim 25, Hwang teaches a user equipment (UE, please refer to Hwang [0118] - [0123] in reference to FIG. 9, representing a method; UE on the left), comprising:
means (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: components of a wireless device) for receiving, via a downlink control information (DCI, Hwang [0071] Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information, DCI), an indication of a scheduling duty cycle for the UE (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device, or for each group of wireless devices), wherein the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0077] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a DRX cycle) comprises:
a scheduling period for the UE to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH, Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. On Duration is a period of time in which a UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle); and
a break period (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: A DRX cycle specifies periodic repetition of On Duration followed by a possible period of inactivity. The DRX cycle includes On Duration and Off Duration. [0079] UE monitors the PDCCH during On Duration but may not monitor a PDCCH during Off Duration);
means (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: components of a wireless device) for adjusting one or more UE parameters based on the indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0288] Information included in DCI specifies an NPDCCH monitoring interval. [0289] Information included in DCI is used to adjust a DRX cycle for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices. [0290] The DRX cycle can be increased through the DCI of the WUS – therefore, the UE can adjust, based on the DCI indication, parameters such as a NPDCCH monitoring interval or DRX cycle); and
means (Hwang [0305]- [0310] in reference to Fig. 19: components of a wireless device) for monitoring for DCI in the PDCCH (Hwang [0127], [0191]: The wireless device monitors an NPDCCH and then wakes up when the base station transmits a WUS to the wireless device – WUS may take the form of a DCI. [0245] The DCI is configured to be detected in the same search space as an NPDCCH for paging. The wireless device performs blind decoding of an NPDCCH for the new DCI) based on the one or more UE parameters as adjusted (Hwang [0078] - [0081] in reference to Fig. 4: UE monitors a PDCCH in a DRX cycle or [0245] "in accordance with" a DRX cycle or the UE).
Hwang does not explicitly teach "scheduling duty cycle".
Raghunathan teaches a scheduling duty cycle (Raghunathan col 1 lines 25-30: Discontinuous Reception (DRX) is a form of scheduling that conserves battery power in the wireless user devices. DRX controls when a wireless user device powers up its radio circuitry to receive wireless signals or transmit network signaling and when the wireless user device powers down its radio circuitry to save battery power. The DRX on/off schedule is called a DRX duty cycle. Col 9 lines 45-60 in reference to MAC 531 UE scheduling module in Fig. 6: The scheduling module selects DRX duty cycles for UEs, and indicates the selected DRX duty cycles to the UEs – it would have been obvious to rename Hwang's DRX cycle as "scheduling duty cycle").
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang, by incorporating the teachings of Raghunathan into the disclosure of Hwang, in order to conserve battery power of user devices, and to efficiently and effectively use subscriber data to control DRX (Raghunathan col 1 lines 5-40).
Claims 4, 12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Raghunathan, and further in view of Hu et al (publication number 2015/0189590), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claims 4, 12, 20, Hwang teaches receiving a second indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices) via radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling (Hwang [0253] DCI transmitted through a higher-layer signal, such as an RRC signal. [0261] Configuration information may transmitted via a higher-layer signal, such as an RRC signal).
Hwang as modified does not explicitly teach "radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling".
Hu teaches receiving a second indication of the scheduling duty cycle via radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling (Hu [0070]- [0070] in reference to Fig. 3 step 302: The first base station transmits the information about allowance of reporting the DRX configuration recommendation to the UE through the RRC reconfiguration signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang as modified, by incorporating the teachings of Hu into the disclosure of Hwang as modified, in order to study and optimize a future network with respect to service characteristics of the mobile Internet, so as to match the service characteristics more efficiently, and to provide DRX configuration recommendation including a power-saving recommendation for user equipment (Hu [0003]-[0005] Background).
Claims 5, 13, 21, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Raghunathan, in view of Hu, and further in view of Choi et al (publication number 2020/0221379), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claims 5, 13, 21, 28, Hwang teaches receiving a second indication of the scheduling duty cycle (Hwang [0289] information included in DCI, such as a P number of bits, is used to adjust a DRX cycle, the information may be for performing dynamic DRX control for each wireless device or each group of wireless devices) via radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling (Hwang [0253] DCI transmitted through a higher-layer signal, such as an RRC signal. [0261] Configuration information may transmitted via a higher-layer signal, such as an RRC signal).
Hwang as modified does not explicitly teach "wherein the RRC reconfiguration signaling reconfigures a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the UE".
Choi teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration signaling reconfigures a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of the UE (Choi [0152] In operation 801, the terminal reports, to a base station, capability relating to a PDCCH monitoring period, in a terminal capability reporting message. In operation 802, the base station sends configuration information of the PDCCH to the terminal, based on the capability reported by the terminal in operation 801).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang as modified, by incorporating the teachings of Choi into the disclosure of Hwang as modified, in order to efficiently manage, reduce, and minimize power consumption in a mobile terminal (Choi [0011]-[0013]).
Claims 6, 14, 22, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Raghunathan, in view of Choi.
Regarding claims 6, 14, 22, 29, Hwang as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the scheduling duty cycle is based at least in part on a feedback information specifying UE capability information for monitoring and/or decoding DCI in the PDCCH.
Choi teaches wherein the scheduling duty cycle is based at least in part on a feedback information specifying UE capability information for monitoring and/or decoding DCI in the PDCCH (Choi [0152] In operation 801, the terminal reports, to a base station, capability relating to a PDCCH monitoring period, in a terminal capability reporting message. In operation 802, the base station sends configuration information of the PDCCH to the terminal, based on the capability reported by the terminal in operation 801. [0066]-[0068] The downlink control information (DCI) is transmitted through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang as modified, by incorporating the teachings of Choi into the disclosure of Hwang as modified, in order to efficiently manage, reduce, and minimize power consumption in a mobile terminal (Choi [0011]-[0013]).
Claims 7-8, 15-16, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Raghunathan, in view of Choi, and further in view of Yang (publication number 2017/0094572), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claims 7, 15, 23, Hwang as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the UE capability information comprises an indirect indication of a UE capability.
Yang teaches wherein the UE capability information comprises an indirect indication of a UE capability (Yang Fig. 11 and [0074] In step S1100 (not shown), a UE notifies the network side about whether the UE has a capability of supporting the method through direct or indirect capability indication information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang as modified, by incorporating the teachings of Yang into the disclosure of Hwang as modified, in order to solve the issues of: reasonable resource pre-configuration not being performed for a UE's movement process, resource allocation and utilization efficiency in the 3GPP system being low, existing services of the user being released partly since the target cell taking over the control, data transmission throughput fluctuating greatly, and the consistency experience being relatively poor (Yang [0009]).
Regarding claims 8, 16, 24, Hwang as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the UE capability information comprises a direct indication of a UE capability.
Yang teaches wherein the UE capability information comprises a direct indication of a UE capability (Yang Fig. 11 and [0074] In step S1100 (not shown), a UE notifies the network side about whether the UE has a capability of supporting the method through direct or indirect capability indication information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Hwang as modified, by incorporating the teachings of Yang into the disclosure of Hwang as modified, in order to solve the issues of: reasonable resource pre-configuration not being performed for a UE's movement process, resource allocation and utilization efficiency in the 3GPP system being low, existing services of the user being released partly since the target cell taking over the control, data transmission throughput fluctuating greatly, and the consistency experience being relatively poor (Yang [0009]).
Conclusion
/RONALD EISNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644