DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action in response to claims on 07/12/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending. The effective filing date is 02/07/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Connection module in Para. 2 of Claim 1.
Setting module in Para. 2 of Claim 1.
Receiving module in Para. 3 of Claim 1.
Determining module in Para. 4 of Claim 1.
Reporting module in Para. 5 of Claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The modules are not given a specific structure in the specification, as there are no details to whether these modules are processors, circuits or other similar electronic component. The claims should be amended to remove the module language which indicates the use of 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1- Claims 1-4 are directed to a system, which is a statutory category. Claims 5-8 are directed to a method, which is a statutory category. Claims 1-8 pass step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1-The independent claim 1, and similarly claim 5, recites:
A digital transport system disposed on a server and applied to a warehouse environment having a plurality of storage areas, each storage area providing goods storage for a plurality of goods senders and recipients (additional element analyzed in Step 2A, Prong 2);
the digital transport system comprising:
a connection module connecting a warehouse management system of each of the senders and each of the recipients through an application interface (connecting a sender and recipient to communicate information is a method of collecting information, which can be grouped as a certain method of organizing human activity under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016));
a setting module coupled with the connection module, the setting module allowing each sender and recipient to set up a direct transport according to a transport request of goods on the setting module (a setting module is being used to direct transportation based on the requests received, which is a method of organizing a business, which is grouped under commercial interactions by managing sales activities, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B) structuring a sales force or marketing company, which pertains to marketing or sales activities or behaviors, In re Ferguson, 558 F.3d 1359, 1364, 90 USPQ2d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 2009));
a receiving module coupled with the connection module, the receiving module receiving a request task from the warehouse management system of the sender through the application interface, wherein the request task comprises a task information and one corresponding recipient (the receiving module is used to receive information, and specific tasks that need to be accomplished by the warehouse, this can be considered both a mental process, as it collects information, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) and a commercial interaction that helps manage the sending and receiving of items to a warehouse, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B));
a determining module coupled with the setting module and the receiving module, the determining module determining if the transport request corresponding to the request task is set as the direct transport (making a determination is an analysis of information, and is grouped as a mental process, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016));
when the determining module determines that the transport request corresponding to the request task is set as the direct transport, the determining module generates a simplified signal (making a determination is an analysis of information, and is grouped as a mental process, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)); and
a reporting module coupled with the determining module, the reporting module receiving the simplified signal from the determining module, and sending the task information of the request task and an integrated report command to the warehouse management system of the recipient through the application interface, the warehouse management system of the recipient automatically completing a goods transport report of the request task in the warehouse management system according to the integrated report command (reporting of information is a way to display the information that has been made in the determination step, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Therefore, Claim 1, and similarly claim 5, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2- The additional elements include a digital transport system, a server, a warehouse environment, storage areas, and application interface.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are presented as tools to perform the abstract idea. Under MPEP 2106.05(f))2) when the claim invoked computer, such as the digital transport system, server and application interface, when they are used to perform the business action and mental process of making decision about shipments and sending and receiving information. The fact the system is within a warehouse environment and storage means showcases the environment that the system and method are implemented in, but under MPEP 2106.05(h), there must be more than just linking the abstract idea to a specific environment, which in this case is using the sending and receiving within a warehouse environment, and does not provide more than just a background information about the type of environment to use the claim within. Therefore, claim 1, and similarly claim 5, do not pass Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B-The independent claim 1, and similarly claim 5, does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the elements that are included do not include specificity beyond naming an environment, and general purpose computer named as a server and interface. Therefore, claim 1, and similarly claim 5, fails Step 2B.
Dependent claims 2-4, and 6-8, add additional determination steps, and reporting steps which continue to be collecting and analyzing data as a mental process, and fails to provide additional elements beyond modules that have no physical aspect, and therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0136255 A1 Grabovski et al. (hereinafter Grabovski).
Regarding claim 1, Grabovski teaches a digital transport system disposed on a server and applied to a warehouse environment having a plurality of storage areas, each storage area providing goods storage for a plurality of goods senders and recipients (Grabovski Abstract, management of warehouse; [0044] the system being on a computer network); the digital transport system comprising:
a connection module connecting a warehouse management system of each of the senders and each of the recipients through an application interface (Grabovski [0062-0063] task manager includes a task source interface, including scheduling agent that manages assignments);
a setting module coupled with the connection module, the setting module allowing each sender and recipient to set up a direct transport according to a transport request of goods on the setting module (Grabovski [0063] the scheduling agent matches the incoming tasks and assign to a worker);
a receiving module coupled with the connection module, the receiving module receiving a request task from the warehouse management system of the sender through the application interface, wherein the request task comprises a task information and one corresponding recipient (Grabovski [0066-0067] the task request includes information about the task itself, and helps to connect);
a determining module coupled with the setting module and the receiving module, the determining module determining if the transport request corresponding to the request task is set as the direct transport (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route);
when the determining module determines that the transport request corresponding to the request task is set as the direct transport, the determining module generates a simplified signal (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route); and
a reporting module coupled with the determining module, the reporting module receiving the simplified signal from the determining module (Grabovski [0079] the task performer interface is able to receive tasks from the scheduling agent, and therefore the scheduling agent sends the task information, with commands on the task to complete, within the warehouse management system; Fig. 2), and
sending the task information of the request task and an integrated report command to the warehouse management system of the recipient through the application interface, the warehouse management system of the recipient automatically completing a goods transport report of the request task in the warehouse management system according to the integrated report command (Grabovski [0079] the task performer interface is able to receive tasks from the scheduling agent, and therefore the scheduling agent sends the task information, with commands on the task to complete, within the warehouse management system; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Grabovski teaches the digital transport system of claim 1, wherein when the request task is a purchase request, the recipient is allowed to establish a purchase order from an enterprise resource planning system (Grabovski [0036] an order is generated to create a task, and this can be an example of a purchase order);
the enterprise resource planning system sends the purchase order to an enterprise resource planning system of the sender (Grabovski [0038; Fig. 2, the task generator, is the request task, the task source interface is able to send the order to a planning system, or the scheduling agent, and then send out to perform);
the enterprise resource planning system of the sender establishes an outbound order based on the purchase order, and the sender transmits the outbound order to the warehouse management system of the sender (Grabovski [0038; Fig. 2, the task generator, is the request task, the task source interface is able to send the order to a planning system, or the scheduling agent, and then send out to perform).
Regarding claim 3, Grabovski teaches the digital transport system of claim 2, wherein the determining module determines if the warehouse management system of the recipient has set the transport request as the direct transport (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route); when the determining module determines that the warehouse management system of the recipient has set the transport request as the direct transport, the reporting module sends the task information of the request task and the integrated report command to the warehouse management system of the recipient through the application interface (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route, and send to the task performer interface).
Regarding claim 4, Grabovski teaches the digital transport system of claim 3, wherein the integrated report command is used to conduct the goods transport report which includes two and/or a combination of operations selected from vehicle scheduling, goods picking, packaging, loading, dispatching, checking on delivery, and shelving (Grabovski [0028] picking tasks, including picking, restocking, unloading and tracking).
Regarding claim 5, Grabovski teaches a digital transport method using a digital transport system, the digital transport method applied to a warehouse environment having a plurality of storage areas, each storage area providing goods storage for a plurality of goods senders and recipients (Grabovski Abstract, management of warehouse; [0044] the system being on a computer network); the digital transport method comprising: a connection step: connecting a warehouse management system of each of the senders and each of the recipients through an application interface (Grabovski [0062-0063] task manager includes a task source interface, including scheduling agent that manages assignments): a transport setting step: each sender and recipient setting a transport request of goods as a direct transport on the warehouse management system (Grabovski [0063] the scheduling agent matches the incoming tasks and assign to a worker); a task determining step: the application interface receiving a request task from the warehouse management system of the sender, the application interface determining if the transport request corresponding to the request task is the direct transport (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route); when the application interface determines that the transport request corresponding to the request task is the direct transport, the application interface generates a simplified signal, wherein the request task comprises a task information and one corresponding recipient (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route); a simplified reporting step: the application interface sending the task information of the request task and an integrated report command to the warehouse management system of the recipient, the warehouse management system of the recipient automatically completing a goods transport report of the request task in the warehouse management system according to the integrated report command (Grabovski [0079] the task performer interface is able to receive tasks from the scheduling agent, and therefore the scheduling agent sends the task information, with commands on the task to complete, within the warehouse management system; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Grabovski teaches the digital transport method of claim 5, wherein when the request task is a purchase request, the recipient is allowed to establish a purchase order from an enterprise resource planning system (Grabovski [0036] an order is generated to create a task, and this can be an example of a purchase order); the enterprise resource planning system sends the purchase order to an enterprise resource planning system of the sender (Grabovski [0038; Fig. 2, the task generator, is the request task, the task source interface is able to send the order to a planning system, or the scheduling agent, and then send out to perform); the enterprise resource planning system of the sender establishes an outbound order based on the purchase order, and the sender transmits the outbound order to the warehouse management system of the sender (Grabovski [0038; Fig. 2, the task generator, is the request task, the task source interface is able to send the order to a planning system, or the scheduling agent, and then send out to perform).
Regarding claim 7, Grabovski teaches the digital transport method of claim 6, wherein in the simplified reporting step, according to the simplified signal, the application interface determines if the warehouse management system of the recipient has set the transport request as the direct transport (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route); when the application interface determines that the warehouse management system of the recipient has set the transport request as the direct transport, the application interface sends the task information of the request task and the integrated report command to the warehouse management system of the recipient (Grabovski [0068-0070] the scheduling agent uses an optimization engine that is able to determine the best route, and make a determination about the best route, and send to the task performer interface).
Regarding claim 8, Grabovski teaches the digital transport method of claim 7, wherein the integrated report command is used to conduct the goods transport report which includes two and/or a combination of operations selected from vehicle scheduling, goods picking, packaging, loading, dispatching, checking on delivery, and shelving (Grabovski [0028] picking tasks, including picking, restocking, unloading and tracking).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2014/0308098 A1 Lert et al. teaches management of storage (Abstract).
Conclusion
/JESSICA E SULLIVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FAHD A OBEID/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627