DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 21, the Applicant’s position is that Lugg et al. (US 20130062455, hereinafter: “Lugg”) does not disclose a plurality of sectors; wherein the first wiring and the second wiring are configured to supply power from the first sector and the second sector, respectively, to different components of an aircraft. The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s position; however, respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the 35 USC § 112 below, the claimed sector(s) in Claim 21 is indefinite. Since the claim does not include any explanation, or definition of what is considered a plurality of sectors of the electric machine, the claimed sector(s) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the plurality of portions of the bus 122 of Lugg (as shown in annotated Figure 9 of Lugg) as the plurality of sectors. The indicated sectors are connected to cables 98 (“1st wiring” and “2nd wiring” as shown in annotated Figure 9 of Lugg) which are intended to power the plurality of lift fans [0052]. Therefore, Lugg discloses the amended claim verbiage of Claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 21, the claim verbiage “a plurality of sectors”, “a first sector” and “a second sector” are indefinite. The claim does not provide any definition or requirements of the claimed sector(s). For the purposes of examination, the claimed sector(s) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claims 22-25 are rejected as being dependent on rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lugg et al. (US 20130062455, hereinafter: “Lugg”).
In reference to Claim 21
Lugg discloses:
A hybrid aircraft powerplant (10) comprising:
a turbine engine (30) comprising a shaft (74) configured to output power from the turbine engine;
a bypass fan (44); and
an electric machine (90 electric generator, [0054]), wherein:
the shaft (74) is configured to deliver the output power to the bypass fan (44, “Rectifier 120 converts the alternating current produced by the main generator 90 into direct current, which is distributed along power bus 122 to the various lifting fans 44” [0054];
the electric machine (90 electric generator) is segmented into a plurality of sectors (sections of bus 122; as shown by “1st sector” ; “2nd sector”; and “sectors” in annotated Figure 9 of Lugg), such that the electric machine is configured to generate electric power in response to receiving the output power from the turbine engine; and
the electric power is output from the electric machine via a plurality of outputs (output of one of the sectors from bus 122 to wiring 98), each one of the plurality of outputs being associated with one of the plurality of sectors of the electric machine; wherein:
first wiring (one cable 98) is electrically connected to a first output (first output of 1st sector) of the plurality of outputs associated with a first sector of the plurality of sectors;
second wiring (second cable 98) is electrically connected to a second output of the plurality of outputs associated with a second sector (second output of 1st sector) of the plurality of sectors; and
the first wiring and the second wiring are configured to supply power from the first sector and the second sector, respectively, to different components (lift fans) of an aircraft.
[0052, Lugg] The generator 90 includes magnets 94, which are centered within and rotates within coil casing 96. Power cables 98 are used to take off electrical current generated by the generator 90 and distribute it to the lifting fan system, as explained in more detail below.
[0054, Lugg] As illustrated, gas turbine 72--coupled to the generator via the electric clutch assembly 92 (not illustrated)--drives the main generator 90. Rectifier 120 converts the alternating current produced by the main generator 90 into direct current, which is distributed along power bus 122 to the various lifting fans 44. Each lifting fan 44 is driven by a fan motor 45, and each fan motor 45 has an inverter 47 associated with it to smooth, condition, and regulate the amount of direct current from the power bus 122 before it is fed to the particular fan motor 45…
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 9 of Lugg.
In reference to Claim 22
Lugg discloses:
The hybrid aircraft powerplant of claim 21, further comprising a plurality of inverters (47), wherein each of the plurality of outputs is configured to output alternating current (AC) power to one of the plurality of inverters, and further wherein each of the plurality of inverters is configured to convert the AC power to direct current (DC) power (“Rectifier 120 converts the alternating current produced by the main generator 90 into direct current, which is distributed along power bus 122 to the various lifting fans 44,” [0054]).
In reference to Claim 23
Lugg discloses:
The hybrid aircraft powerplant of claim 22, wherein the plurality of inverters are configured to output the DC power to one or more DC busses (120, 122; “Rectifier 120 converts the alternating current produced by the main generator 90 into direct current, which is distributed along power bus 122 to the various lifting fans 44. Each lifting fan 44 is driven by a fan motor 45, and each fan motor 45 has an inverter 47 associated with it to smooth, condition, and regulate the amount of direct current from the power bus 122 before it is fed to the particular fan motor 45” [0054]; Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lugg et al. (US 20130062455, hereinafter: “Lugg”) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 202610358, hereinafter: “Zhang”).
In reference to Claim 24
Lugg discloses:
The hybrid aircraft powerplant of claim 23, wherein the one or more DC busses (120, 122) [0048] (Fig. 9).
Lugg is silent on the one or more DC busses comprises aluminum wiring.
Zhang teaches a rectifier DC outlet bus comprising aluminum wiring (“Rectifier direct current outlet bus and direct current power distribution bus is connected with structure, comprising a direct current power distribution bus and rectifier direct current outlet bus, rectifier direct current bus and the wire outlet copper-aluminium transition part of the copper column, one end of the aluminium plate and aluminium soft connection of the copper-aluminium composite welding and the other end aluminium soft connection with the DC power distribution bus. This utility model has advantages: after adopting the utility model, copper-aluminium transition part solves the problem of copper aluminium bus-bar connection, saving about the bus once investment, dismounting the rectifier and provides convenient,” Abstract of the English Translation of Zhang).
Based on the teaching of Lugg and Zhang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rectifier DC outlet bus of Lugg by constructing it using aluminum wiring as taught by Zhang for the purpose of utilizing a well-known wiring material.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lugg et al. (US 20130062455, hereinafter: “Lugg”) in view of Shinohara et al. (JP H07170652, hereinafter: “Shinohara”).
In reference to Claim 25
Lugg discloses:
The hybrid aircraft powerplant of claim 23, wherein the one or more DC busses (120, 122) [0048] (Fig. 9).
Lugg is silent on the one or more DC busses (120 rectifier, 122; [0054], Fig. 9) comprises wiring composed of a superconducting material.
Shinohara teaches a rectifier DC outlet bus comprising wiring composed of a superconducting material. (“In the superconducting coil protection device having such a structure, the AC power input from the AC power source through the transformer 31 is converted into DC power by the rectifier 32, and this is converted through the DC breaker 33 into the superconducting coil. 35a, 35b” Page 2 of the English Translation of Shinohara).
Based on the teaching of Lugg and Shinohara, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rectifier DC outlet bus of Lugg by constructing it using wiring composed of superconducting material as taught by Shinohara for the purpose of utilizing a well-known wiring material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745