DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, where the at least one first light-transmitting area and at least one second light-transmitting area have shapes different from each other, as found in claim 10; and the second planarization layer extending through a hole in at least one of a first blocking layer and a second blocking layer as found in claim 11, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 6 defines each of the first sensor area and the second sensor area has comprising at least one light-transmitting area, and claim 10 further defines the at least one light-transmitting area in each of the first and second sensor areas to have one first light-transmitting area and one second light-transmitting area having shapes different from each other: this is not shown, at least for the first sensor area (See Fig. 8-9). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(Re Claim 10) As “the at least one first light-transmitting area and at least one second light-transmitting area have shapes different from each other” was not shown, what is required for there to be different shapes between those two elements is unclear.
During examination, the quoted limitation above was read as “wherein the first sensor area and the second sensor area have different light-transmitting area shapes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2021/0233976).
(Re Claim 1) Lee teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (100+111; Fig. 7); a first area (DA+NDA; Fig. 1A) corresponding to a first portion of the substrate and configured to allow at least one first pixel (the Pmr, Pmb, and Pmg elements with leaders in Fig. 6+the Pmg element immediately above the marked Pmg element in Fig. 6) to be disposed; a second area (CA1+CA2; Fig. 1A) corresponding to a second portion of the substrate and configured to allow at least one second pixel (Pg1+Pg2; Fig. 4 and 7-8) to be disposed, at least a portion of the second area being surrounded by the first area (Fig. 1A); a circuit layer (each TFT and TFT’+112+113; Fig. 7) disposed on the substrate and configured to allow at least one transistor (TFT’; Fig. 7) configured to drive the at least one second pixel to be disposed; a first planarization layer (117; Fig. 7) disposed on the circuit layer; a second planarization layer (119; Fig. 7) disposed on the first planarization layer; and a metal layer (CM; Fig. 7) disposed between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer, wherein the second area comprises a first sensor area (CA2; Fig. 8) in which a first sensor (COM2; Fig. 8) is located, and a second sensor area (CA1; Fig. 7) in which a second sensor (COM1; Fig. 8) is located, wherein a density of second pixels (Pg2; Fig. 4) disposed in the first sensor area is different from a density of second pixels (Pg1; Fig. 4) disposed in the second sensor area, and wherein at least one of the first planarization layer (at least 115) and the second planarization layer extends to the first sensor area and the second sensor area (Fig. 7-8).
(Re Claim 2) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises a first substrate (110; Fig. 7) and a second substrate (111; Fig. 7).
(Re Claim 4) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first sensor is an image sensor (camera; ¶162), and the second sensor is an infrared sensor (IR sensor; ¶131).
(Re Claim 5) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the density of second pixels disposed in the first sensor area is less than the density of second pixels disposed in the second sensor area (Fig. 4, ¶¶65, 99).
(Re Claim 12) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first planarization layer (where 117 lowers, starting from the left edge of respectively CE4 and CE2 moving from right to left in Fig. 7 and 8) and the second planarization layer comprises at least one of a first depression overlapping with the first sensor and a second depression overlapping with the second sensor (Fig. 7-8).
(Re Claim 15) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of at least one of the at least one first pixel and the at least one second pixel comprises four subpixels (Fig. 4 and 6) including a first subpixel (respectively Pmr and Par1; Fig. 6), a second subpixel (respectively Pmb and Pab1; Fig. 6), and two third subpixels (respectively each Pmg, and each Pag1; Fig. 6).
(Re Claim 16) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising at least one blocking layer (BML; Fig. 7) disposed on the substrate and disposed in at least one of the first sensor area and the second sensor area (disposed in CA1; Fig. 7), wherein the at least one blocking layer is disposed not to overlaps with at least one light-transmitting area (TA1; Fig. 7) located in at least one of the first sensor area and the second sensor area (TA1 located in CA1; Fig. 7).
(Re Claim 20) Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer (115; Fig. 7) disposed between the circuit layer and the first planarization layer including an inorganic material (e.g., silicon oxide; ¶146).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0093697) and An et al. (US 2021/0385314).
(Re Claim 1) Hong teaches a display device comprising: a substrate (100; Fig. 17); a first area (MDA; Fig. 17) corresponding to a first portion of the substrate and configured to allow at least one first pixel (Pm; Fig. 10) to be disposed; a second area (CA; Fig. 17) corresponding to a second portion of the substrate and configured to allow at least one second pixel (Pa; Fig. 11) to be disposed, at least a portion of the second area being surrounded by the first area (Fig. 8); a circuit layer (111+112+113+each TFT and TFT’; Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate and configured to allow at least one transistor (TFT’; Fig. 17) configured to drive the at least one second pixel to be disposed; a first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 17) disposed on the circuit layer; a second planarization layer (117b; Fig. 17) disposed on the first planarization layer; and a metal layer (CM’; Fig. 17) disposed between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer,
wherein the second area comprises a first sensor area (coextensive with CA; Fig. 17), and
wherein at least one of the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer extends to the first sensor area (Fig. 17).
Hong has not been explicitly shown to teach the display device wherein the second area comprises a first sensor area in which a first sensor is located, a second sensor area in which a second sensor is located, wherein a density of second pixels disposed in the first sensor area is different from a density of second pixels disposed in the second sensor area, and wherein at least one of the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer extends to the first sensor area and the second sensor area.
An teaches forming a first area (DA3) and a second area (DA1+DA2; Fig. 6), wherein the second area comprises a first sensor area (DA1; Fig. 6) in which a first sensor (305; Fig. 3, ¶81) is located, a second sensor area (DA2; Fig. 6) in which a second sensor (306; Fig. 3, ¶81) is located, wherein a density of second pixels (each PX within DA1; Fig. 7) disposed in the first sensor area is different from a density of second pixels (each PX within DA2; Fig. 7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form a first and second sensor area as the second area of Hong, as taught by An, with corresponding first and second sensors located within, to provide for additional device functionality. Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to make the density of second pixels in the first sensor area different from the density of second pixels disposed in the second sensor area, as taught by An, to provide for relatively more pixels in one of the sensor areas when a corresponding sensor does not require a light transmittance as high as the other sensor area (An: ¶86).
Forming multiple sensor areas as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17, in view of An, results in wherein at least one of the first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 17) and the second planarization layer extends to the first sensor area (Fig. 17) and the second sensor area (the second sensor area will have a cross-section as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17, where 117a extends to CA).
(Re Claim 2) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises a first substrate (101; Fig. 17) and a second substrate (103; Fig. 17).
(Re Claim 3) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein an inorganic film (102; ¶297) is disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate.
(Re Claim 5) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the density of second pixels disposed in the first sensor area is less than the density of second pixels disposed in the second sensor area (An: compare Fig. 7 and 8).
(Re Claim 6) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the first sensor area and the second sensor area comprises at least one light-transmitting area (An: each TA respectively shown within DA1 and DA2) disposed between adjacent second pixels among the at least one second pixel.
(Re Claim 7) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 6, further comprising at least one line (121’; Fig. 17) connected to the at least one second pixel, wherein the at least one line is disposed outside of the at least one light-transmitting area (Fig. 17).
(Re Claim 8) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 6, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the first sensor area and the second sensor area have different light-transmitting area shapes.
Hong does teach that a sensor area (CA) has light-transmitting areas (TA1+TA2; Fig. 19) of different shapes according to which part of the sensor area they are located in (¶¶217-220).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the light-transmitting areas in the first and second sensor of modified Hong having different light-transmitting area shapes, as taught by Hong (Fig. 19), to allow for less distortion around the perimeter of the sensor area and increased amount of light in the center (¶¶219-220).
(Re Claim 10) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 6, but has not been explicitly shown to teach at least one light-transmitting area comprises at least one first light-transmitting area located in an inside area of each of the first sensor area and the second sensor area and at least one second light-transmitting area located in an edge area of each of the first sensor area and the second sensor area, and wherein the at least one first light-transmitting area and at least one second light-transmitting area have shapes different from each other.
Hong does teach at least one light-transmitting area comprises at least one first light-transmitting area (TA1; Fig. 20) located in an inside area (CA1; Fig. 20) of a sensor area (CA; Fig. 20) and at least one second light-transmitting area (TA2; Fig. 20) located in an edge area (CA2; Fig. 20) of the sensor area, and wherein the at least one first light-transmitting area and at least one second light-transmitting area have shapes different from each other (Fig. 20).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second sensor areas of modified Hong such that the at least one light-transmitting area (TA from An) comprises at least one first light-transmitting area (Hong: TA1; Fig. 20) located in an inside area (Hong: CA1; Fig. 20) of a sensor area (Hong: CA; Fig. 20) and at least one second light-transmitting area (Hong: TA2; Fig. 20) located in an edge area (Hong: CA2; Fig. 20) of the sensor area, and wherein the at least one first light-transmitting area and at least one second light-transmitting area have shapes different from each other (Hong: Fig. 20), as shown by Hong, to allow for less distortion around the perimeter of each sensor area and an increased amount of light in the center (¶¶219-220).
(Re Claim 11) Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not explicitly shown to teach at least one of the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer extends through a hole in at least one of a first blocking layer and a second blocking layer disposed on the substrate and respectively disposed in the first sensor area and the second sensor area.
Hong teaches forming a first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 18D) and a second planarization layer (117b; Fig. 18D) such that they fill in an opening (H1; Fig. 18D) corresponding to a light-transmitting area (TA; Fig. 18D).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second planarization layers of modified Hong such that they fill the hole (TAH+111H+H1+H2; Fig. 17) corresponding to the light-transmitting area TA, as taught by Hong in Fig. 18D, to match the refractive index of the lower layers (such as 111; ¶307), increasing light transmittance (¶308).
As the hole TAH+111H+H1+H2 of Fig. 17 extends through at least one of a first blocking layer (BML; Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate disposed in at least the first sensor area, modified Hong teaches that at least one of the first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 17) and the second planarization layer extends through a hole in the first blocking layer.
(Re Claim 12) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not been explicitly shown to teach at least one of the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer comprises at least one of a first depression overlapping with the first sensor and a second depression overlapping with the second sensor.
Hong teaches forming a first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 18D) and a second planarization layer (117b; Fig. 18D) such that they fill in an opening (H1; Fig. 18D) corresponding to a light-transmitting area (TA; Fig. 18D), wherein at least one of the first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 18D) and the second planarization layer comprises at least one of a first depression (the part of 117a that is between the opening in BLM; Fig. 18D) overlapping with a light-transmitting area (TA; Fig. 18D) of a sensor area (CA; Fig. 18D).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second planarization layers of modified Hong such that they fill the hole (TAH+111H+H1+H2; Fig. 17) corresponding to the light-transmitting area TA, as taught by Hong in Fig. 18D, to match the refractive index of the lower layers (such as 111; ¶307), increasing light transmittance (¶308).
Hong also teaches forming a sensor (40; Fig. 7A) such that it is disposed underneath a light-transmitting area (TA; Fig. 7A) within a sensor area (CA; Fig. 7A).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to dispose the first and second sensor of modified Hong underneath at least one of the light-transmitting areas associated respectively with the first and second sensor areas, as taught by Hong, to allow for external light to reach the first and second sensor.
Doing so results in modified Hong teaching at least one of the first planarization layer (117a) and the second planarization layer comprises at least one of a first depression (the portion of 117a within the hole TAH+111H+H1+H2 in Fig. 17) overlapping with the first sensor and a second depression overlapping with the second sensor.
(Re Claim 13) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein at least one of the first depression (the first depression as defined in claim 12) and the second depression contact a portion (top part of 102 exposed by TAH; Fig. 17) of the substrate.
(Re Claim 14) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising at least one insulating layer (115; Fig. 17) disposed between the first planarization layer and the substrate, but has not been explicitly shown to teach a portion of at least one of the first depression and the second depression extends through a hole in the at least one insulating layer.
Hong teaches forming a first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 18D) and a second planarization layer (117b; Fig. 18D) such that they fill in an opening (H1; Fig. 18D) corresponding to a light-transmitting area (TA; Fig. 18D), wherein at least one of the first planarization layer (117a; Fig. 18D) and the second planarization layer comprises at least one of a first depression (the part of 117a that is between the opening in BLM; Fig. 18D) extending through a hole (H1; Fig. 18D) in at least one insulating layer (115; Fig. 15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first and second planarization layers of modified Hong such that they fill the hole (TAH+111H+H1+H2; Fig. 17) corresponding to the light-transmitting area TA, as taught by Hong in Fig. 18D, to match the refractive index of the lower layers (such as 111; ¶307), increasing light transmittance (¶308).
This results in modified Hong teaching a portion of at least one of the first depression (the part of 117a within the hole TAH+111H+H1+H2 as defined above; Fig. 17) and the second depression extends through a hole (corresponding to H1 shown in Fig. 18D) in the at least one insulating layer (115; Fig. 17).
(Re Claim 15) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not been explicitly shown to teach at least one of the at least one first pixel and the at least one second pixel comprises four subpixels including a first subpixel, a second subpixel, and two third subpixels.
Hong teaches that at least one first pixel (Pm; Fig. 10) comprises four subpixels including a first subpixel (top left Pr; Fig. 10), a second subpixel (Pb directly beneath the first subpixel; Fig. 10), and two third subpixels (first two Pg subpixels at the top of column 2M; Fig. 10).
Hong also teaches that at least one second pixel (Pa; Fig. 11A) comprises four subpixels including a first subpixel (top left Pr; Fig. 11), a second subpixel (Pb directly beneath the first subpixel; Fig. 11), and two third subpixels (first two Pg subpixels next to the first and second subpixel; Fig. 11).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use the subpixel arrangements shown in Hong’s Fig. 10 and 11 respectively for the first and second pixel of modified Hong, as the PenTile arrangements shown allow for a high resolution display (Hong: ¶186).
(Re Claim 16) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising at least one blocking layer (BML; Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate and disposed in at least one of the first sensor area and the second sensor area (both, in view of Hong and An above; see the claim 1 rejection).
Modified Hong has not been explicitly shown to teach the at least one blocking layer is disposed not to overlaps with at least one light-transmitting area located in at least one of the first sensor area and the second sensor area.
Hong teaches forming at least one blocking layer (BML; Fig. 20) disposed in a sensor area (CA; Fig. 20) such that the at least one blocking layer is disposed not to overlaps with at least one light-transmitting area (TA1; Fig. 20) located in the sensor area.
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the at least one blocking layer disposed in the first and second sensor area such that the at least one blocking layer is disposed not to overlaps with at least one light-transmitting area (each TA located within the first and second sensor area, as shown by Hong’s Fig. 17) located in at least one of the first sensor area and the second sensor area, in the manner taught by Hong’s Fig. 20, to allow for light to reach the sensors underlying the at least one blocking layer.
(Re Claim 17) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 16, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the at least one blocking layer comprises a first blocking layer and a second blocking layer disposed on the substrate and disposed in the first sensor area and the second sensor area, respectively, and wherein the first blocking layer and the second blocking layer have openings corresponding to a shape of a first light-transmitting area located in the first sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area and a shape of a second light-transmitting area located in the second sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area, respectively.
An teaches forming at least on blocking layer (810+820; Fig. 11 and 14) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (810; Fig. 9 and 11) and a second blocking layer (820; Fig. 12 and 14, ¶114) respectively disposed in a first sensor area (DA1; Fig. 7) and a second sensor area (DA2; Fig. 8).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the at least one blocking layer (Hong: BML) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (the BLM layer within the first sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) and a second blocking layer (the BLM layer within the second sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate (Hong’s Fig. 17) and disposed in the first sensor area and the second sensor area, respectively, such that there are two BML layers separately formed as taught by An, to provide for localized protection to the TFTs driving the second pixels in the first and second sensor areas.
Hong teaches an at least one blocking layer BML; Fig. 20) disposed in a sensor area (CA; Fig. 20) with openings (BMLH1; Fig. 20) corresponding to a shape of a first light-transmitting area (TA1; Fig. 20) located in the sensor area.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first blocking layer and the second blocking layer have openings corresponding to a shape of a first light-transmitting area (each TA associated with the first sensor area, as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) located in the first sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area and a shape of a second light-transmitting area area (each TA associated with the second sensor area, as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) located in the second sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area, respectively, as taught by Hong, to minimize light loss due to either blocking layer overlapping with the light-transmitting areas.
(Re Claim 20) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer (115; Fig. 17) disposed between the circuit layer and the first planarization layer including an inorganic material (e.g., silicon oxide; ¶243).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0093697) and An et al. (US 2021/0385314) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0233976).
(Re Claim 4) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the first sensor is an image sensor, and the second sensor is an infrared sensor.
Lee teaches a first sensor (COM2) may be an image sensor (¶162) and a second sensor (COM1) may be an infrared sensor (¶131).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first sensor of modified Hong as an image sensor and the second sensor of modified Hong as an infrared sensor, as taught by Lee, to provide multiple sensing functionality to the display device, such as both camera imaging and infrared camera imaging.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0093697) and An et al. (US 2021/0385314) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hai et al. (US 2021/0174049).
(Re Claim 9) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 8, but has not been explicitly shown to teach one or more light-transmitting areas of located in the first sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area are circular or elliptical, and one or more light-transmitting areas of located in the second sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area has a stripe shape extending in a horizontal, vertical, or slanted direction.
An teaches forming at least on blocking layer (810+820; Fig. 11 and 14) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (810; Fig. 9 and 11) and a second blocking layer (820; Fig. 12 and 14, ¶114) respectively disposed in a first sensor area (DA1; Fig. 7) and a second sensor area (DA2; Fig. 8), wherein the first and second blocking layers have different shapes for the light-transmitting areas (OP1 and OP2; Fig. 9 and 12).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the at least one blocking layer (Hong: BML) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (the BLM layer within the first sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) and a second blocking layer (the BLM layer within the second sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate (Hong’s Fig. 17) and disposed in the first sensor area and the second sensor area, respectively, such that there are two BML layers separately formed as taught by An, to provide for localized protection to the TFTs driving the second pixels in the first and second sensor areas. Furthermore, A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the light-transmitting areas of the first and second sensor areas with different structure and shape, as taught by An, to provide for minimal display resolution loss when large light transmittance is not locally required for one of the sensor areas (An: ¶86).
Furthermore, Hong teaches an at least one blocking layer BML; Fig. 20) disposed in a sensor area (CA; Fig. 20) with openings (BMLH1; Fig. 20) corresponding to a shape of a first light-transmitting area (TA1; Fig. 20) located in the sensor area.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first blocking layer and the second blocking layer have openings corresponding to a shape of a first light-transmitting area (each TA associated with the first sensor area, as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) located in the first sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area and a shape of a second light-transmitting area area (each TA associated with the second sensor area, as shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) located in the second sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area, respectively, as taught by Hong, to minimize light loss due to either blocking layer overlapping with the light-transmitting areas.
Hong teaches the use of one mor more light-transmitting areas located in a sensor area (CA; Fig. 20) having a circular shape (TA2; Fig. 20)
Hai teaches the use of striped light-transmitting areas (41; Fig. 5) defined by openings in a blocking layer (4; Fig. 5).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious both to form one or more light-transmitting areas in the first sensor area in a circular shape to provide for reduce diffraction around the perimeter of the first sensor area (Hong:¶¶219-220), and to form one or more light-transmitting areas located in the second sensor area among the at least one light-transmitting area having a stripe shape extending in a slanted direction as taught by Hai to provide for directional light filtering (Hai: ¶85) in the second sensor area.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0093697) and An et al. (US 2021/0385314) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0233976) and Cho et al. (US 2011/0032461).
(Re Claim 18) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 16, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the at least one blocking layer comprises a first blocking layer and a second blocking layer disposed on the substrate and disposed in the first sensor area and the second sensor area, respectively, and wherein the first blocking layer comprises a different material than the second blocking layer, and the first blocking layer and the second blocking layer are disposed in a same layer.
An teaches forming at least on blocking layer (810+820; Fig. 11 and 14) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (810; Fig. 9 and 11) and a second blocking layer (820; Fig. 12 and 14, ¶114) respectively disposed in a first sensor area (DA1; Fig. 7) and a second sensor area (DA2; Fig. 8), where the first blocking layer and the second blocking layer are disposed in a same layer (compare the positions of the first and second blocking layer in Fig. 11 and 14).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the at least one blocking layer (Hong: BML) such that it comprises a first blocking layer (the BLM layer within the first sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) and a second blocking layer (the BLM layer within the second sensor area, in the manner shown in Hong’s Fig. 17) disposed on the substrate (Hong’s Fig. 17), in the first sensor area and the second sensor area, and in the same layer, respectively, such that there are two BML layers separately formed as taught by An, to provide for localized protection to the TFTs driving the second pixels in the first and second sensor areas with simultaneously formation of parts of the first and second blocking layers due to their formation in the same layer.
Lee teaches a first sensor (COM2) may be an image sensor (¶162) and a second sensor (COM1) may be an infrared sensor (¶131).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the first sensor of modified Hong as an image sensor and the second sensor of modified Hong as an infrared sensor, as taught by Lee, to provide multiple sensing functionality to the display device, such as both camera imaging and infrared camera imaging.
Hong teaches forming a blocking layer (BML; ¶231) using titanium.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first and second blocking layers using titanium as taught by Hong, to allow for a constant voltage to be placed on them, reducing a probability for electrostatic discharge (Hong: ¶231).
Cho teaches an infrared sensor (TRi; ¶60) includes a blocking layer in two parts: a first layer of amorphous silicon to selectively transmit incident infrared rays and a second layer of titanium for blocking visible-light (¶¶28, 33, and 37-38).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the second blocking layer of modified Hong – in view of An – from titanium and amorphous silicon as taught by Cho, where the amorphous silicon is only locally deposited in the second sensor area having the infrared sensor (Cho: ¶28), to optimize for sensitivity to infrared light in the second sensor area, and prevent interference with other sensor areas.
Doing so results in the first blocking layer (titanium) comprising a different material than the second blocking layer (amorphous silicon).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0093697) and An et al. (US 2021/0385314) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beon et al. (US 2021/0280825).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not been explicitly shown to teach a polarizer disposed over the at least one first pixel and the at least one second pixel, wherein the polarizer comprises a first hole overlapping with the first sensor and a second hole overlapping with the second sensor.
Beon teaches a polarizer (OFL; Fig. 2, ¶71) disposed over at least one first pixel (Pm; Fig. 2) and at least one second pixel (Pa; Fig. 2), wherein the polarizer comprises a first hole (NPLA; Fig. 2) overlapping with a sensor (40; Fig. 2).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form a polarizer disposed over the at least one first pixel and the at least one second pixel, as taught by Beon, to decrease reflection of light incident on the display device (Beon: ¶70). Furthermore, a PHOSITA to form the polarizer comprising a first hole overlapping with the first sensor and a second hole overlapping with the second sensor, as Beon teaches forming openings in the polarizer to correspond with light-transmitting areas (Beon: ¶194), allowing for improved light transmittance to underlying sensors (Beon: ¶71).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898