DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20200150262, hereinafter, “KIM”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20200225341, hereinafter, “Li”).
Claim 1. Kim teaches: A method implemented by a first communication apparatus, - See Fig. 1, 8, (second electronic device)
wherein the method comprises: receiving, from a second communication apparatus, a measurement signal; - See Fig. 8, ¶ [0124], (“the first electronic device 210 may start a ranging operation (Ranging poll) by transmitting a data frame including RCDT(0) IE to the second electronic device 220.”, first electronic device (eq. second communication apparatus); second electronic device (eq. first communication apparatus)); See Fig. 10, ¶ [0136], (“the electronic device may broadcast a ranging start message including first data…an electronic device may multicast first data about the starting of a ranging operation…¶ [0140] The first data may include first information that requests the other electronic device to measure a ToF.”)
performing, based on the measurement signal, a measurement to obtain a measurement result; - in ¶ [0140], (“The first data may include first information that requests the other electronic device to measure a ToF…¶ [0141] The electronic device may receive, from the other electronic device, fourth data that is the ToF measured based on the first information by the other electronic device.”); ¶ [0127], (“The second electronic device 220 may measure a value of T.sub.round2, and may calculate the ToF time”) and
sending, to the second communication apparatus, measurement evaluation information – in ¶ [0148], (“The electronic device may transmit, to the other electronic device, a figure of merit (FoM) for transmission of timestamp measurement information based on the ranging operation.”) indicating either a reliability of the measurement result due to a cause or that the measurement result is unavailable due to the cause. - in ¶ [0153], (“ranging usability of the electronic device may be increased via ranging FoM information that is reliability information of timestamp measurement information”); ¶ [0148], (“The electronic device may transmit, to the other electronic device, a figure of merit (FoM) for transmission of timestamp measurement information based on the ranging operation…¶ [0149] The FoM may include information about whether a secure ranging operation fails.”, ranging operation failure (eq. cause))
KIM does not explicitly teach:
sending, to the second communication apparatus, measurement evaluation information indicating either a reliability of the measurement result due to a cause or that the measurement result is unavailable due to the cause.
However, Li teaches:
sending, to the second communication apparatus, measurement evaluation information indicating either a reliability of the measurement result due to a cause or that the measurement result is unavailable due to the cause. – See Table 3, (“No FoM 000” indicates measurement result is unavailable), ¶ [0321], (“A new IE, namely ranging&AOA figure of merit (RAFOM) IE, to report the angle and/or ranging estimation confidence can also be used to fulfill the function of negative acknowledgement.”); ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails…”, Examiner Note: This limitation does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include the measurement result is unavailable due to the cause, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by Li, RAFOM IE may be used along with the timestamp-related report and/or AoA report, so that receiver(s) can know the accuracy of these reports. - ¶ [0328]
Claim 4. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches:
wherein the measurement evaluation information – in ¶ [0322], (“The first octet, namely ranging FOM value, is used to characterize the accuracy of the timestamp related report…The structure of content fields is similar to that of the ranging FoM in IEEE standard specification”) comprises a first field - in ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails. Therefore, RAFOM IE can be used as a negative acknowledgement to an expected ranging transmission. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 31 to 33, a controlee can send RAFOM IE with FOM value “10000000” to negative-acknowledge an expected ranging transmission if failure occurs.”) and a second field, - See ¶ [0326], Table 7, (TABLE 7 AOA confidence level (ACL) Confidence level Bits: 3 No FoM 000 20% 001) wherein the first field indicates that the measurement result is available, - in ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails….a controlee can send RAFOM IE with FOM value “10000000” to negative-acknowledge an expected ranging transmission if failure occurs.”) and wherein the second field indicates the reliability.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include a first and second field, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce attacks/interference, as suggested by Li, the secure ranging can be performed within the trusted group, and the chance of being attacked is significantly reduced. - ¶ [0227]
Claim 5. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 4, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches:
wherein the first field is 0, 1, or binary sequence, wherein the binary sequence comprises two or more bits, - See Table 10, (“TABLE 10 AOA FOM value with extension bit AFE”); ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used...”) wherein the second field comprises M bits, See ¶ [0326], Table 7, (“TABLE 7 AOA confidence level (ACL) Confidence level Bits: 3 No FoM 000…”) wherein the M bits are a binary representation of the reliability, See Table 7, (“TABLE 7 AOA confidence level (ACL) Confidence level Bits: 3 No FoM 000 20% 001 55% 010…”, The ACL field is a reliability field) and wherein M is an integer greater than 0. - See Table 7, (“TABLE 7 AOA confidence level (ACL) Confidence level Bits: 3 No FoM 000 20%…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include a first and second field, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce attacks/interference, as suggested by Li, the secure ranging can be performed within the trusted group, and the chance of being attacked is significantly reduced. - ¶ [0227]
Claim 6. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches:
wherein the measurement evaluation information comprises a field, – in ¶ [0322], (“The first octet, namely ranging FOM value, is used to characterize the accuracy of the timestamp related report…The structure of content fields is similar to that of the ranging FoM in IEEE standard specification”) wherein the field indicates that the measurement result is unavailable, - in ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails. Therefore, RAFOM IE can be used as a negative acknowledgement to an expected ranging transmission. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 31 to 33, a controlee can send RAFOM IE with FOM value “10000000” to negative-acknowledge an expected ranging transmission if failure occurs.”) wherein the field is 0, 1, or a binary sequence, and wherein the binary sequence comprises two or more bits. - See Table 10, (“TABLE 10 AOA FOM value with extension bit AFE”); ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used...”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include a first and second field, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce attacks/interference, as suggested by Li, the secure ranging can be performed within the trusted group, and the chance of being attacked is significantly reduced. - ¶ [0227]
Claim 7. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches:
wherein the measurement evaluation information comprises a figure of merit of the measurement result, - in ¶ [0322], (“The first octet, namely ranging FOM value, is used to characterize the accuracy of the timestamp related report…The structure of content fields is similar to that of the ranging FoM in IEEE standard specification”)
wherein an eighth bit of the figure of merit is 1, - See Table 6, ¶ [0323], (“ranging FOM extension (RFE)…When RFE is set to one, the first octet to report ranging FoM has the meaning given in TABLE 6.”, Table 6 shows RFE (the extension bit i.e., the eighth bit)); ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used...”) wherein a first bit of the figure of merit to a seventh bit of the figure of merit indicate the reliability, - See Table 3, (Confidence level column, rows 20%-99%) and wherein the first bit to the seventh bit are not all 0. - See Table 3, (Confidence level column, rows 20%-99%)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include a first and second field, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce attacks/interference, as suggested by Li, the secure ranging can be performed within the trusted group, and the chance of being attacked is significantly reduced. - ¶ [0227]
Claim 8. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Li further teaches:
wherein the measurement evaluation information indicates that the measurement result is unavailable and comprises a figure of merit of the measurement result, - in ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails…controlee can send RAFOM IE with FOM value “10000000” to negative-acknowledge an expected ranging transmission if failure occurs.”) wherein an eighth bit of the figure of merit is 1, - See Table 6, ¶ [0323], (“ranging FOM extension (RFE)…When RFE is set to one, the first octet to report ranging FoM has the meaning given in TABLE 6.”, Table 6 shows RFE (the extension bit i.e., the eighth bit)); ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used...”) and wherein a first bit of the figure of merit to a seventh bit of the figure of merit are all 0. - in ¶ [0327], (“Ranging/AOA FOM value “10000000” is used to let the other end know that ranging/AOA estimation fails…a controlee can send RAFOM IE with FOM value “10000000” to negative-acknowledge an expected ranging transmission if failure occurs.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include measurement evaluation information indicates that the measurement result is unavailable and a figure of merit of the measurement result, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce attacks/interference, as suggested by Li, the secure ranging can be performed within the trusted group, and the chance of being attacked is significantly reduced. - ¶ [0227]
Claim 9. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KIM teaches:
wherein sending the measurement evaluation information comprises sending, to the second communication apparatus in media access control (MAC) layer signaling, the measurement evaluation information. - in ¶ [0148], (“The electronic device may transmit, to the other electronic device, a figure of merit (FoM) for transmission of timestamp measurement information based on the ranging operation.”); ¶ [0094], (“payload information elements (IEs) of a UWB media access control (MAC) frame”)
Claim 10. KIM teaches: A method implemented by a second communication apparatus, - See Fig. 1, 8, (first electronic device)
wherein the method comprises: sending, to a first communication apparatus, a measurement signal - See Fig. 8, ¶ [0124], (“the first electronic device 210 may start a ranging operation (Ranging poll) by transmitting a data frame including RCDT(0) IE to the second electronic device 220.”, first electronic device (eq. second communication apparatus); second electronic device (eq. first communication apparatus)); See Fig. 10, ¶ [0136], (“the electronic device may broadcast a ranging start message including first data…an electronic device may multicast first data about the starting of a ranging operation…¶ [0140] The first data may include first information that requests the other electronic device to measure a ToF.”) to obtain a measurement result; - in ¶ [0140], (“The first data may include first information that requests the other electronic device to measure a ToF…¶ [0141] The electronic device may receive, from the other electronic device, fourth data that is the ToF measured based on the first information by the other electronic device.”); ¶ [0127], (“The second electronic device 220 may measure a value of T.sub.round2, and may calculate the ToF time”)
receiving, from the first communication apparatus, measurement evaluation information – in ¶ [0148], (“The electronic device may transmit, to the other electronic device, a figure of merit (FoM) for transmission of timestamp measurement information based on the ranging operation.”) indicating either a reliability of the measurement result due to a cause - in ¶ [0153], (“ranging usability of the electronic device may be increased via ranging FoM information that is reliability information of timestamp measurement information”); ¶ [0148], (“The electronic device may transmit, to the other electronic device, a figure of merit (FoM) for transmission of timestamp measurement information based on the ranging operation…¶ [0149] The FoM may include information about whether a secure ranging operation fails.”, ranging operation failure (eq. cause)) or that the measurement result is unavailable due to the cause, - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. and
KIM does not explicitly teach:
adjusting, based on the measurement evaluation information, a first process in which a parameter is measured to obtain a new measurement result.
However, Li teaches:
adjusting, - in ¶ [0375], (“…the controlee transmits the RCR IE if the controlee needs to request change in certain ranging parameters…”) based on the measurement evaluation information, - in ¶ [0366], (“RAFOM, RFOM, AFOM IEs can be used to report negative acknowledgement/confirmation of expected RFRAMEs. RAFOM, RFOM, AFOM IEs can also be used to report the quality of the estimation result, i.e., ranging and/or AOA.”) a first process in which a parameter is measured – in ¶ [0374], (“Ranging change request (RCR) IE can be used to convey the request…¶ [0375] The first bit is the request change indicator. the controlee sending this IE requests to change the ranging configuration or the ranging interval for the next ranging round…the controlee transmits the RCR IE if the controlee needs to request change in certain ranging parameters…¶ [0376] The contents for change request can include one or more of ranging method…and ranging interval.”) to obtain a new measurement result. – in ¶ [0386], (“the controller is able to collect requests from controlees to update the setting of ranging configuration or ranging interval.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM with Li to include adjusting, based on the measurement evaluation information, a first process in which a parameter is measured to obtain a new measurement result, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by Li, RAFOM IE may be used along with the timestamp-related report and/or AoA report, so that receiver(s) can know the accuracy of these reports. - ¶ [0328]
Claims 13-17 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 4-8 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of Claim 10 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 2-3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20200150262, hereinafter, “KIM”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20200225341, hereinafter, “Li”), and further in view of Hehn et al. (US 20160259032, hereinafter, “Hehn”).
Claim 2. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KIM and Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein performing the measurement comprises measuring, based on the measurement signal and in a presence of a communication interference, a parameter to obtain the measurement result, wherein the cause is the communication interference.
However, Hehn teaches:
wherein performing the measurement comprises measuring, based on the measurement signal and in a presence of a communication interference, - in ¶ [0204], (“in the case where transmission ranges 1400 of two transceivers overlap, the transceivers will be referred to as “interfering”, because simultaneous transmission of UWB signals 102 by both transceivers may result in the UWB signals 102 interfering.”) a parameter to obtain the measurement result, -- in ¶ [0176], (“A first kind of measurement is the reception of an UWB signal…The resulting corrected time of arrival 806 represents an estimate of when the UWB signal reached an apparatus' antenna 132...¶ [0177] The transmission information, together with the corrected time of arrival, is a measure for the distance between apparatus 130 and the transceiver 110.”) wherein the cause is the communication interference. - in ¶ [0204], (“in the case where transmission ranges 1400 of two transceivers overlap, the transceivers will be referred to as “interfering”, because simultaneous transmission of UWB signals 102 by both transceivers may result in the UWB signals 102 interfering.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM and Li with Hehn to include measuring, based on the measurement signal and in a presence of a communication interference, a parameter to obtain the measurement result, as taught by Hehn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by Hehn, This communication architecture also results in a relatively higher risk of lost signals (e.g., due to wireless interference) and correspondingly lower system robustness. - ¶ [0006]
Claim 3. Combination of KIM, Li, and Hehn teaches The method of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Hehn further teaches:
wherein the communication interference comprises a first signal or a second signal, - in ¶ [0204], (“in the case where transmission ranges 1400 of two transceivers overlap, the transceivers will be referred to as “interfering”, because simultaneous transmission of UWB signals 102 by both transceivers may result in the UWB signals 102 interfering.”) wherein the first signal interferes with measurement of the parameter, - in ¶ [0176], (“A first kind of measurement is the reception of an UWB signal…The resulting corrected time of arrival 806 represents an estimate of when the UWB signal reached an apparatus' antenna 132...¶ [0177] The transmission information, together with the corrected time of arrival, is a measure for the distance between apparatus 130 and the transceiver 110.”) and wherein the second signal does not interfere with the measurement. – in ¶ [0220], (“Signal 1520 may use a different set of UWB signals (e.g., different frequency, different preamble, different timing, etc.). Signals 1520 and UWB signals 102 may be designed to not interfere.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM and Li with Hehn to include the first signal interferes with measurement of the parameter and the second signal does not interfere with the measurement, as taught by Hehn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by Hehn, This communication architecture also results in a relatively higher risk of lost signals (e.g., due to wireless interference) and correspondingly lower system robustness. - ¶ [0006]
Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20200150262, hereinafter, “KIM”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20200225341, hereinafter, “Li”), and further in view of HAN et al. (US 20210014677, hereinafter, “HAN”).
Claim 11. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The method of claim 10, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KIM and Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the cause comprises a communication interference occurring in a second process in which the first communication apparatus measures the parameter based on the measurement signal.
However, HAN teaches
wherein the cause comprises a communication interference occurring in a second process - in ¶ [0095], (“ranging accuracy may be reduced due to repeated or temporary interference. The reduction in ranging accuracy is more likely to occur when an SNR of an interference signal is higher than the SNR of a signal transmitted by a device participating in ranging…¶ [0096] In general, when the number of HRP-ERDEVs is increased or when a ranging cycle is shortened, a probability of signal collision may be increased and, thus, the ranging accuracy may be reduced. Therefore, when the ranging cycle is lengthened to increase the ranging accuracy, the probability of signal collision is reduced but more time is taken to attempt new ranging.”) in which the first communication apparatus measures the parameter - in ¶ [0111], (“The electronic device may perform ranging by using an STS. When (or based on) the electronic device transmits a first frame to the other electronic device and receives a second frame from the other electronic device…the electronic device may determine a reception timing of the second frame on the basis of a peak value of cross correlation of a pre-calculated STS and an STS included in the received second frame. The electronic device may calculate the ranging values, based on determined timings.”) based on the measurement signal. - in ¶ [0109], (“the electronic device according to an embodiment may transmit and receive at least one frame for ranging, to and from at least one other electronic device.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM and Li with HAN to include the cause is a communication interference occurring in a second process in which the first communication apparatus measures the parameter based on the measurement signal, as taught by HAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by HAN, securely and accurately performing ranging by using an ultra-wideband (UWB) in a wireless communication system, and a method of operating the electronic device. - ¶ [0002]
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20200150262, hereinafter, “KIM”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of Li et al. (US 20200225341, hereinafter, “Li”), and further in view of HAN et al. (US 20210014677, hereinafter, “HAN”) and Muckle et al. (US 5603077 A, hereinafter, “Muckle”).
Claim 19. Combination of KIM and Li teaches The first communication apparatus of claim 18, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KIM and Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first communication apparatus to: perform an integrity check on the measurement signal to obtain an integrity check score, wherein the integrity check score is positively correlated with integrity of the measurement signal; and obtain, based on the integrity check score, the reliability, wherein the reliability is positively correlated with the integrity check score.
However, HAN teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first communication apparatus to: - in ¶ [0009], (“an electronic device…includes…at least one processor…”) perform an integrity check on the measurement signal to obtain an integrity check score, wherein the integrity check score is positively correlated with integrity of the measurement signal; - in ¶ [0009], (“an electronic device for performing ranging by using an ultra-wideband (UWB) in a wireless communication system includes…at least one processor…perform integrity checking, based on a result of comparing the first ranging value with the second ranging value”)and
obtain, based on the integrity check score, the reliability, wherein the reliability is positively correlated with the integrity check score. – in ¶ [0132], (“an electronic device…may determine that reliability of a ranging value is low or that a higher security level and/or higher accuracy are required, based on the result of integrity checking.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM and Li with HAN to include integrity checking, as taught by HAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by HAN, The disclosure relates to an electronic device for securely and accurately performing ranging by using an ultra-wideband (UWB) in a wireless communication system, and a method of operating the electronic device. - ¶ [0002]
Combination of KIM, Li, and HAN does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first communication apparatus to: perform an integrity check on the measurement signal to obtain an integrity check score, wherein the integrity check score is positively correlated with integrity of the measurement signal; and obtain, based on the integrity check score, the reliability, wherein the reliability is positively correlated with the integrity check score.
However, Muckle teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first communication apparatus to: perform an integrity check on the measurement signal to obtain an integrity check score, wherein the integrity check score is positively correlated with integrity of the measurement signal; - See [Col. 5, lines 66-67], (“When an error is detected, an integrity score is incremented”) and
obtain, based on the integrity check score, the reliability, wherein the reliability is positively correlated with the integrity check score. – See [Col. 5, lines 66-67], (“When an error is detected, an integrity score is incremented…[Col. 6, lines 6-8], (“ignore a duplicate message that has already been received and to increment a reliability score when a duplicate message is not received”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM, Li, and HAN with Muckle to include the integrity check score is positively correlated with integrity of the measurement signal and the reliability is positively correlated with the integrity check score, as taught by Muckle. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve measurement accuracy, as suggested by Muckle, monitoring statistics for the integrity, reliability and latency of the message signal. – See [Col. 2, lines 27-29]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475 /KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475