Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12035831. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the current claims in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the front panel". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret this as saying “a front panel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-15,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Great Brittan Patent No. GB2578718 issued to Harrison in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160192793 issued to Cavoise
Regarding claim 1,
Harrison discloses a bedding cover and bedding insert (Harrison: Abstract “A duvet cover 10 comprises a rectangular aperture 16 for allowing insertion of a duvet into the cover 10.”) comprising: a front panel; (Harrison: FIG. 1 (12)) … a second zipper disposed proximate to a middle of the front panel; (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22)) a back panel; (Harrison: FIG. 1 (18)) and a third zipper disposed along an outside edge of a separated portion of the back panel connectable to the second zipper, (Harrison: see page 4 4th paragraph “The second 42 and third 44 edges of the opening 16 each include separate elongate fastening means 20 for attaching the edges 42, 44 of the opening 16 to the corresponding edges of the flap 18. The elongate fastening means 20 could be for instance a zip or a hook and loop fastener such as Velcro O.”) the separated portion of the back panel being smaller than the front panel and being attached to a bottom end of the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1 shows the back panel (18) attached to the front panel (12) and being smaller than the front panel (12))
Harrison does not appear to disclose a first zipper disposed proximate to an outside edge of the front panel and having a first end and a second end disposed only on one side of the outside edge of the front panel;
However, Cavosie discloses a first zipper disposed proximate to an outside edge of the front panel and having a first end and a second end disposed only on one side of the outside edge of the front panel; (Cavosie: [0070] see also [0059] “Fastener 500a can be affixed along part or a whole of a duvet side by various means.” As well as [0090] that talks about fasteners being zippers, and FIG. 15)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrison directed to a duvet cover with a centrally located flap opening by adding fasteners along the interior edges of the cover and corresponding fasteners on the comforter as taught in Cavoise, related to the problem of misalignment and bunching of the comforter within the cover, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. zippers). The modification is prompted by design incentives and consumer demand for bedding that is both easy to insert and resistant to shifting. Because the addition of fasteners is a known solution to alignment problems, the modification would have yielded the predictable result of a duvet system that allows easier insertion and secure retention of the comforter inside the cover.
Regarding claim 2,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 1, further comprising a fourth zipper, having a first portion disposed on the bedding cover which is connectable with a second portion of the fourth zipper disposed on the bedding insert. (Cavoise: FIG. 15 shows 4 fasteners, which could be zippers see [0090] that connect to the comforter.)
Regarding claim 3,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 1, wherein the first end and the second end of the first zipper end at opposing sides of the outside edge of the front panel. (Cavoise: FIG. 16 shows an embodiment where the zippers run to the opposing sides of the outside edge of the front panel.)
Regarding claim 4,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 1, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zippers separating a portion of the back panel from the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 5,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 4, wherein the one or more zippers on the bedding cover are located further from an edge of the bedding cover than the second zipper portion. (Harrison: FIG. 1, shows one or more zippers located further from an edge of the bedding cover than the second zipper portion i.e. the other zipper)
Regarding claim 7,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 1, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more buttons. (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22) see also page 4 lines 30-31 “The fourth edge 46 of the opening includes discrete fastening means 22, for instance snap fasteners or buttons.”)
Regarding claim 8,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 7, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more buttonholes sized to receive the one or more buttons. (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22) see also page 4 lines 30-31 “The fourth edge 46 of the opening includes discrete fastening means 22, for instance snap fasteners or buttons.”)
Regarding claim 9,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 8, wherein the buttons are located on the back panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1, although unlabeled the examiner notes that the back panel (18) would otherwise have the corresponding fasteners for the button holes (22) as discussed in page 4 lines 30-33 of Harrison)
Regarding claim 10,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 9, wherein the buttonholes are located on a panel attached to a back side of the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1, although unlabeled the examiner notes that the back panel (18) would otherwise have the corresponding fasteners for the button holes (22) as discussed in page 4 lines 30-33 of Harrison)
Regarding claim 11,
Harrison discloses a bedding system comprising a bedding cover and bedding insert that is connectable to the bedding cover (Harrison: Abstract “A duvet cover 10 comprises a rectangular aperture 16 for allowing insertion of a duvet into the cover 10.”) the bedding cover and bedding insert, further comprising … a second zipper disposed proximate to a middle of the front panel; (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22) is disposed proximate to (12)) a back panel; (Harrison: FIG. 1 (18)) and a third zipper disposed along an outside edge of a separated portion of the back panel connectable to the second zipper, (Harrison: see page 4 4th paragraph “The second 42 and third 44 edges of the opening 16 each include separate elongate fastening means 20 for attaching the edges 42, 44 of the opening 16 to the corresponding edges of the flap 18. The elongate fastening means 20 could be for instance a zip or a hook and loop fastener such as Velcro O.”) the separated portion of the back panel being smaller than the front panel and being attached to a bottom end of the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1 shows the back panel (18) attached to the front panel (12) and being smaller than the front panel (12))
Harrison does not appear to disclose a first zipper disposed proximate to an outside edge of the front panel and having a first end and a second end disposed only on one side of the outside edge of the front panel;
However, Cavosie discloses a first zipper disposed proximate to an outside edge of the front panel and having a first end and a second end disposed only on one side of the outside edge of the front panel; (Cavosie: [0070] see also [0059] “Fastener 500a can be affixed along part or a whole of a duvet side by various means.” As well as [0090] that talks about fasteners being zippers, and FIG. 15)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrison directed to a duvet cover with a centrally located flap opening by adding fasteners along the interior edges of the cover and corresponding fasteners on the comforter as taught in Cavoise, related to the problem of misalignment and bunching of the comforter within the cover, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. zippers). The modification is prompted by design incentives and consumer demand for bedding that is both easy to insert and resistant to shifting. Because the addition of fasteners is a known solution to alignment problems, the modification would have yielded the predictable result of a duvet system that allows easier insertion and secure retention of the comforter inside the cover.
Regarding claim 12,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 11, further comprising a fourth zipper, having a first portion disposed on the bedding cover which is connectable with a second portion of the fourth zipper disposed on the bedding insert. (Cavoise: FIG. 15 shows 4 fasteners, which could be zippers see [0090] that connect to the comforter.)
Regarding claim 13,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 11, wherein the first end and the second end of the first zipper end at opposing sides of the outside edge of the front panel. (Cavoise: FIG. 16 shows an embodiment where the zippers run to the opposing sides of the outside edge of the front panel.)
Regarding claim 14,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 11, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zippers separating a portion of the back panel from the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 15,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system claim 14, wherein the one or more zippers on the bedding cover are located further from an edge of the bedding cover than the second zipper portion. (Harrison: FIG. 1, shows one or more zippers located further from an edge of the bedding cover than the second zipper portion i.e. the other zipper)
Regarding claim 17,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 11, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more buttons. (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22) see also page 4 lines 30-31 “The fourth edge 46 of the opening includes discrete fastening means 22, for instance snap fasteners or buttons.”)
Regarding claim 18,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 17, the bedding cover further comprising: one or more buttonholes sized to receive the one or more buttons. (Harrison: FIG. 1 (22) see also page 4 lines 30-31 “The fourth edge 46 of the opening includes discrete fastening means 22, for instance snap fasteners or buttons.”)
Regarding claim 19,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 18, wherein the buttons are located on the back panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1, although unlabeled the examiner notes that the back panel (18) would otherwise have the corresponding fasteners for the button holes (22) as discussed in page 4 lines 30-33 of Harrison)
Regarding claim 20,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 19, wherein the buttonholes are located on a panel attached to a back side of the front panel. (Harrison: FIG. 1, although unlabeled the examiner notes that the back panel (18) would otherwise have the corresponding fasteners for the button holes (22) as discussed in page 4 lines 30-33 of Harrison)
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Great Brittan Patent No. GB2578718 issued to Harrison in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160192793 issued to Cavoise further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20120311785 issued to Goldberg.
Regarding claim 6,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding cover and bedding insert of claim 5.
Harrison in view of Cavoise does not appear to disclose the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zipper pockets sized to house one or more zipper sliders attached to the one or more zippers.
However, Goldberg discloses the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zipper pockets sized to house one or more zipper sliders attached to the one or more zippers. (Goldberg: [0073] “The housing cover may also be constructed to cover the front region 124 of the zipper slider when the slider connecting region of the barrier and the barrier connection portion of the zipper slider are connected. In some embodiments, the housing or cover may be constructed to cover the entire zipper slider when the zipper assembly is placed in a closed position.” See also FIG. 8 (450))
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrison in view of Cavoise by incorporating zipper pockets to house zipper sliders therein as taught by Goldberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “prevent the zipper assembly from becoming partially unzipped, for example, resulting from incidental movement or rustling of the zipper assembly and/or article” or “further contribute to obstructing migration of particles or organisms between opposing sides of the barrier.” (Goldberg: [0073])
Regarding claim 16,
Harrison in view of Cavoise discloses the bedding system of claim 15.
Harrison in view of Cavoise does not appear to disclose the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zipper pockets sized to house one or more zipper sliders attached to the one or more zippers.
However, Goldberg discloses the bedding cover further comprising: one or more zipper pockets sized to house one or more zipper sliders attached to the one or more zippers. (Goldberg: [0073] “The housing cover may also be constructed to cover the front region 124 of the zipper slider when the slider connecting region of the barrier and the barrier connection portion of the zipper slider are connected. In some embodiments, the housing or cover may be constructed to cover the entire zipper slider when the zipper assembly is placed in a closed position.” See also FIG. 8 (450))
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrison in view of Cavoise by incorporating zipper pockets to house zipper sliders therein as taught by Goldberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “prevent the zipper assembly from becoming partially unzipped, for example, resulting from incidental movement or rustling of the zipper assembly and/or article” or “further contribute to obstructing migration of particles or organisms between opposing sides of the barrier.” (Goldberg: [0073])
Conclusion
/ADAM C ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673