CTFR 18/771,639 CTFR 87354 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 5, 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2014/0168923) and further in view of Tanaka (US 8,950,838) . With regard to claim 1 , Ishida discloses a recording apparatus (10) [MFD; Para. 0021] comprising: a liquid ejection head (65) [Para. 0014; Fig. 5A] configured to eject liquid from a nozzle (69) [Par. 0045] to a medium (19) [recording sheet; Para. 0024] conveyed in a first direction (15) [conveying direction; Para. 0042] and perform recording on the medium; a recording-time conveying path facing the liquid ejection head [Fig. 5B]; a pump (73) [Fig. 5B] configured to guide the liquid, which is waste liquid discharged from the nozzle, to a waste liquid storage unit (80) [Para. 0029] that is provided on an upper surface of a main body (11) [printer casing; Para. 0023] of the recording apparatus [removably supported by the printer casing; Para. 0030]; and a pump motor (not shown) [Para. 0050] configured to drive the pump. Ishida does not disclose a pump located above the recording-time conveying path and does not expressly disclose wherein the pump motor is disposed below the waste liquid storage unit. However, Tanaka teaches a pump (7) located above a conveying path [Fig. 1] and a pump controller (10) disposed above the conveying path. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a pump above a conveying path for the purpose of guiding the waste liquid above the printhead. In addition, Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to dispose of the pump motor below the waste liquid storage unit of Ishida’s image forming apparatus because the pump motor works more efficiently when near the pump it is controlling. With regard to claim 2 , Ishida’s modified apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Ishida discloses the pump below the waste liquid storage unit and Tanaka discloses wherein the pump is disposed side by side with a controller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose of the pump and pump motor side by side below the waste liquid storage in Ishida’s apparatus for the purpose of a compact layout, which is beneficial in confined spaces. With regard to claim 5 , Ishida's modified recording apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Ishida also discloses wherein the pump motor is in contact with a lower surface of the waste liquid storage unit [tubes are connected to a surface that is not the top surface; Fig. 5]. With regard to claim 7 , Ishida discloses a recording apparatus (10) [MFD; Para. 0021] comprising: a liquid ejection head (65) [Para. 0014; Fig. 5A] configured to eject liquid from a nozzle (69) [Par. 0045] to a medium (19) [recording sheet; Para. 0024] conveyed in a first direction (15) [conveying direction; Para. 0042] and perform recording on the medium; a recording-time conveying path facing the liquid ejection head [Fig. 5B]; a pump (73) [Fig. 5B] configured to guide the liquid, which is waste liquid discharged from the nozzle, to a waste liquid storage unit (80) [Para. 0029] that is provided on an upper surface of a main body (11) [printer casing; Para. 0023] of the recording apparatus [removably supported by the printer casing; Para. 0030]; and a pump motor (not shown) [Para. 0050] configured to drive the pump; and a mounting unit (11) [printer casing; Para. 0023] to which the waste liquid storage unit is detachably mounted. Ishida does not disclose a pump located above the recording-time conveying path and does not expressly disclose wherein the pump motor is disposed below the waste liquid storage unit. However, Tanaka teaches a pump (7) located above a conveying path [Fig. 1] and a pump controller (10) disposed above the conveying path. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a pump above a conveying path for the purpose of guiding the waste liquid above the printhead. In addition, Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to dispose of the pump motor below the waste liquid storage unit of Ishida’s image forming apparatus because the pump motor works more efficiently when near the pump it is controlling . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2014/0168323) in view of Tanaka (US 8,950,838) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Shimomura (US 2021/0237447) . With regard to claim 3 , Ishida’s modified apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising a guide frame that guides the liquid ejection head moving in a direction in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium, wherein the guide frame separates the pump motor and the liquid ejection head. However, Shimomura teaches a guide frame (37) [guide rail of moving unit (30); Para. 0085; Fig. 5] that guides a liquid ejection head (20) [Fig. 3] moving in a direction (B direction) in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium [Para. 0065]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to utilize a guide frame to advance and retract the ejection head with respect to the medium for the purpose of having the head intersects both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction. With Ishida modified, it would have been obvious to utilize the guide frame to separate the pump motor and the liquid ejection head for the purpose of a compact layout, which is beneficial in confined spaces. With regard to claim 4 , Ishida’s modified apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Shimomura also discloses wherein the recording apparatus includes a substrate (94) [Para. 0127] on a side of the waste liquid storage unit (60) [Para. 0094]. With regard to claim 8 , Ishida discloses a recording apparatus (10) [MFD; Para. 0021] comprising: a liquid ejection head (65) [Para. 0014; Fig. 5A] configured to eject liquid from a nozzle (69) [Par. 0045] to a medium (19) [recording sheet; Para. 0024] conveyed in a first direction (15) [conveying direction; Para. 0042] and perform recording on the medium; a recording-time conveying path facing the liquid ejection head [Fig. 5B]; a pump (73) [Fig. 5B] configured to guide the liquid, which is waste liquid discharged from the nozzle, to a waste liquid storage unit (80) [Para. 0029]; a pump motor (not shown) [Para. 0050] configured to drive the pump, wherein the pump motor is disposed below the waste liquid storage unit Ishida does not disclose a pump located above the recording-time conveying path, the pump is disposed side by side with the pump motor below the wat liquid storage unit, a guide frame that guides the liquid ejection head moving in a direction in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium, wherein the guide frame separates the pump motor and the liquid ejection head; the guide frame separates the pump motor and the liquid ejection head and does not expressly disclose wherein the pump motor is disposed below the waste liquid storage unit. However, Tanaka teaches a pump (7) located above a conveying path [Fig. 1], a pump controller (10) disposed above the conveying path and also teaches the pump is disposed side by side with a controller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a pump above a conveying path for the purpose of a compact layout, which is beneficial in confined spaces. Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to dispose of the pump motor below the waste liquid storage unit of Ishida’s image forming apparatus because the pump motor works more efficiently when near the pump it is controlling. It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to dispose of the pump and pump motor side by side below the waste liquid storage in Ishida’s apparatus for the purpose of a compact layout, which is beneficial in confined spaces. In addition, Shimomura teaches a guide frame (37) [guide rail of moving unit (30); Para. 0085; Fig. 5] that guides a liquid ejection head (20) [Fig. 3] moving in a direction (B direction) in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium [Para. 0065]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to utilize a guide frame to advance and retract the ejection head with respect to the medium for the purpose of having the head intersects both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction. With regard to claim 9 , Ishida’s modified apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Shimomura also discloses wherein the recording apparatus includes a substrate (94) on a side of the waste liquid storage unit (60). With regard to claim 10 , Ishida's modified recording apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Ishida also discloses wherein the pump motor is in contact with a lower surface of the waste liquid storage unit [tubes are connected to a surface that is not the top surface; Fig. 5]. With regard to claim 12 , Ishida discloses a recording apparatus (10) [MFD; Para. 0021] comprising: a liquid ejection head (65) [Para. 0014; Fig. 5A] configured to eject liquid from a nozzle (69) [Par. 0045] to a medium (19) [recording sheet; Para. 0024] conveyed in a first direction (15) [conveying direction; Para. 0042] and perform recording on the medium; a recording-time conveying path facing the liquid ejection head [Fig. 5B]; a pump (73) [Fig. 5B] configured to guide the liquid, which is waste liquid discharged from the nozzle, to a waste liquid storage unit (80) [Para. 0029] that is provided on an upper surface of a main body (11) [printer casing; Para. 0023] of the recording apparatus [removably supported by the printer casing; Para. 0030]; and a pump motor (not shown) [Para. 0050] configured to drive the pump; and a mounting unit (81) [enclosure; Para. 0053] to which the waste liquid storage unit is detachably mounted. Ishida does not disclose a pump located above the recording-time conveying path; a guide frame that guides the liquid ejection head moving in a direction in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium, wherein the guide frame separates the pump motor and the liquid ejection head and does not expressly disclose wherein the pump motor is disposed below the waste liquid storage unit. However, Tanaka teaches a pump (7) located above a conveying path [Fig. 1] and a pump controller (10) disposed above the conveying path. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a pump above a conveying path for the purpose of guiding the waste liquid above the printhead. Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to dispose of the pump motor below the waste liquid storage unit of Ishida’s image forming apparatus because the pump motor works more efficiently when near the pump it is controlling. In addition, Shimomura teaches a guide frame (37) [guide rail of moving unit (30); Para. 0085; Fig. 5] that guides a liquid ejection head (20) [Fig. 3] moving in a direction (B direction) in which the liquid ejection head advances and retracts with respect to the medium [Para. 0065]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to utilize a guide frame to advance and retract the ejection head with respect to the medium for the purpose of having the head intersects both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction. With Ishida modified, it would have been obvious to utilize the guide frame to separate the pump motor and the liquid ejection head for the purpose of a compact layout, which is beneficial in confined spaces . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2014/0168323) in view of Tanaka (US 8,950,838) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukaida (US 2022/0184977) in view of Ohta (US 2018/0281430) With regard to claims 6 , Ishida's modified recording apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Ishida also discloses a discharge path located downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 4], the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed [Fig.4]. Ishida modified does not disclose further comprising: a guide path that is a medium conveying path located below the recording-time conveying path, the guide path guiding, in a second direction opposite to the first direction, the medium being passed through the recording- time conveying path; a reversing path that is a medium conveying path coupled to the guide path, the reversing path reversing the medium and causing the medium to join the recording-time conveying path; a discharge path located downstream in the recording-time conveying path, the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed; a reversing roller disposed in the reversing path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the reversing path; a motor for reversing configured to drive the reversing roller; a first path forming section forming a lower surface of the recording-time conveying path; a second path forming section forming an upper surface of the guide path; a discharge roller disposed in the discharge path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the discharge path; a motor for discharge configured to drive the discharge roller; a conveying roller disposed in the recording-time conveying path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the recording-time conveying path; and a motor for conveyance configured to drive the conveying roller, wherein the motor for reversing, the motor for discharge, and the motor for conveyance are disposed at positions between the first path forming section and the second path forming section. However, Mukaida teaches a guide path (R1) [supply path; Para. 0045] that is a medium conveying path located below a recording-time conveying path (T2) [recording transport path; Para. 0049; Fig. 1], the guide path guiding, in a second direction (X direction) opposite to the first direction [Z direction; Fig. 1], the medium being passed through the recording- time conveying path [Fig. 1]; a reversing path (R2) [second curved path; Para. 0048; Para. 0048] that is a medium conveying path coupled to the guide path [Fig. 1], the reversing path reversing the medium and causing the medium to join the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1]; a discharge path [path connected to port (A1/A2); Para. ; Fig. 1] located downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1], the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed [Para. 0053]; a reversing roller (31) [transport rollers; Para. 0045] disposed in the reversing path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the reversing path [Fig. 1]; a motor for reversing (not shown) configured to drive the reversing roller [Para. 0043]; a discharge roller (37, 38) disposed in the discharge path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the discharge path [Fig. 1]; a motor (not shown) for discharge configured to drive the discharge roller [Para. 0043]; a conveying roller (31) disposed in the recording- time conveying path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1]; and a motor (not shown) for conveyance configured to drive the conveying roller [Para. 0043], wherein the motor for reversing, the motor for discharge, and the motor for conveyance are disposed at positions between the first path forming section and the second path forming section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a guide path, reversing path, motors to drive the reversing roller, the discharge roller and the conveying roller since it would be an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that a guide path, reversing path, and motor drive the rollers associated with each path solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a guide path and conveying rollers. In addition, Ohta teaches a first path forming section forming a lower surface of the recording- time conveying path [Fig. 1]; and a second path forming section forming an upper surface of the guide path [Fig. 1]. PNG media_image1.png 546 696 media_image1.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first path and second path of Tanaka modified with a lower surface and upper surface as taught by Ohta in order to keep the recording material from bending outside of the path and creating a paper jam . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2014/0168323) in view of Tanaka (US 8,950,838) and in view of Shimomura (JP 2021121478) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mukaida (US 2022/0184977) in view of Ohta (US 2018/0281430) . With regard to claim 11 , Ishida's modified recording apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Ishida also discloses a discharge path located downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 4], the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed [Fig.4]. Ishida modified does not disclose further comprising: a guide path that is a medium conveying path located below the recording-time conveying path, the guide path guiding, in a second direction opposite to the first direction, the medium being passed through the recording- time conveying path; a reversing path that is a medium conveying path coupled to the guide path, the reversing path reversing the medium and causing the medium to join the recording-time conveying path; a discharge path located downstream in the recording-time conveying path, the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed; a reversing roller disposed in the reversing path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the reversing path; a motor for reversing configured to drive the reversing roller; a first path forming section forming a lower surface of the recording-time conveying path; a second path forming section forming an upper surface of the guide path; a discharge roller disposed in the discharge path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the discharge path; a motor for discharge configured to drive the discharge roller; a conveying roller disposed in the recording-time conveying path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the recording-time conveying path; and a motor for conveyance configured to drive the conveying roller, wherein the motor for reversing, the motor for discharge, and the motor for conveyance are disposed at positions between the first path forming section and the second path forming section. However, Mukaida teaches a guide path (R1) [supply path; Para. 0045] that is a medium conveying path located below a recording-time conveying path (T2) [recording transport path; Para. 0049; Fig. 1], the guide path guiding, in a second direction (X direction) opposite to the first direction [Z direction; Fig. 1], the medium being passed through the recording- time conveying path [Fig. 1]; a reversing path (R2) [second curved path; Para. 0048; Para. 0048] that is a medium conveying path coupled to the guide path [Fig. 1], the reversing path reversing the medium and causing the medium to join the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1]; a discharge path [path connected to port (A1/A2); Para. ; Fig. 1] located downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1], the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which the recording was performed [Para. 0053]; a reversing roller (31) [transport rollers; Para. 0045] disposed in the reversing path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the reversing path [Fig. 1]; a motor for reversing (not shown) configured to drive the reversing roller [Para. 0043]; a discharge roller (37, 38) disposed in the discharge path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the discharge path [Fig. 1]; a motor (not shown) for discharge configured to drive the discharge roller [Para. 0043]; a conveying roller (31) disposed in the recording- time conveying path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the recording-time conveying path [Fig. 1]; and a motor (not shown) for conveyance configured to drive the conveying roller [Para. 0043], wherein the motor for reversing, the motor for discharge, and the motor for conveyance are disposed at positions between the first path forming section and the second path forming section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a guide path, reversing path, motors to drive the reversing roller, the discharge roller and the conveying roller since it would be an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that a guide path, reversing path, and motor drive the rollers associated with each path solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a guide path and conveying rollers. In addition, Ohta teaches a first path forming section forming a lower surface of the recording- time conveying path [See Fig. 1 and the above drawing]; and a second path forming section forming an upper surface of the guide path [See Fig. 1 and the above drawing]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first path and second path of Tanaka modified with a lower surface and upper surface as taught by Ohta in order to keep the recording material from bending outside of the path and creating a paper jam. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACEY M MCMILLION whose telephone number is (571)270-5193. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 6AM-2:30PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at 571-272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 13 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 14 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 15 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/771,639 Page 16 Art Unit: 2853