DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 18-30 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-22, 24, and 29-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, "the silicone-based material” should read –a silicone-based material--.
In claim 21, "claim 19” should read – claim 20--.
In claim 22, "pMUT” should read –pMUTs--.
In claim 24, "the first” should read –a first--.
In claim 29, "claim 23” should read –claim 27--. Otherwise, the claim duplicates claim 25.
In claim 30, "claim 23” should read –claim 27--. Otherwise, the claim duplicates claim 26.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 18-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12059300.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the instant application correspond to the parent claim 1. In particular, claim 16 of the ‘300 patent recites the “handheld ultrasound imager comprising:
a transducer element comprising an array of piezoelectric Micromachined Ultrasound Transducers (pMUTs), wherein the transducer element is integrated onto an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) forming a transducer tile, and wherein a dam extends upwardly from the ASIC and along a side region of the transducer tile to form a boundary that defines a cavity between the transducer element and the ASIC to provide acoustic isolation of the transducer element from the ASIC, and
an overmolded multilayer lens, the multilayer lens comprising a plurality of layers comprising at least a first layer and a second layer, the first layer having an acoustic impedance higher than an acoustic impedance of the transducer element and lower than an acoustic impedance of the second layer, the acoustic impedance of the second layer being lower than an acoustic impedance of an imaging target, wherein the overmolded multilayer lens is configured to focus the imaging beams.”
Other clams correspond to each other as follows.
Claims 18-21 of the instant application correspond to claims 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12059300, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodnicki (US 20090182233), hereinafter Wodnicki, in view of Bowles et al (US 20150274515), hereinafter Bowles and further in view of Kiyose et al (US 20160058417), hereinafter, Kiyose.
Regarding claim 27, Wodnicki teaches an ultrasound transducer for a handheld ultrasound imager device (42) ("The transducer elements and circuit support cells of the ultrasound imaging system may be formed in a hand-held probe unit" [0018]; “the probe unit 42" [0057], Fig. 3) comprising a transducer element (a group of subelements, the “matrix switches 26 positioned in each subelement, the associated acoustical subelement 32” [0047], Fig. 2) comprising an array (5) (“Multiple acoustical subelements 32 in a two dimensional array 5 are positioned in Columns C." [0046], Fig. 2) of piezoelectric Micromachined Ultrasound Transducers (pMUTs) (“the present invention …may … be practiced in arrays that employ pMUTs … elements” [0034]), wherein the transducer element is coupled (“integrated electronics” [0081]) to an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (88) (100) (“FIG. 5C is a simplified partial cross sectional view of the subelement array 46 illustrating three acoustical subelements 32 formed on a substrate 4, and three associated ASIC cells 92 along a portion of an ASIC 88. Each acoustical subelement 32 is connected to an ASIC cell 92” [0073]. “The array 100 comprises a plurality of ASICs 102 arranged in horizontal ASIC rows AR and vertical ASIC columns AC. A plurality of subelements are arranged generally according to the two dimensional array 5 of acoustical subelements 32 shown in FIG. 2," [0082]) to form a transducer tile (hexagonal cells formed by “acoustical subelements 32” in Fig. 2).
Wodnicki does not explicitly teach that a cavity is formed under the transducer element to provide acoustic isolation of the transducer element from the ASIC.
However, in the microelectronic devices field of endeavor, Bowles discloses microelectronic packages having axially-partitioned hermetic cavities and methods for the fabrication thereof, which is analogous art. Bowles teaches that a cavity (112) is formed under the transducer element (104) to provide acoustic isolation of the transducer element from the ASIC (136) (“As was previously the case, MEMS transducer structures 104 and 108 are enclosed in fluidly-isolated hermetic cavities 112 and 114, respectively, which are bound around their respective perimeters by seal rings 116 and 118 and which contain disparate internal pressures… If desired, a recess 120 may be etched or otherwise formed in the backside of upper MEMS die … to enlarge the overall volume of hermetic cavity 112. Such a structural configuration may be especially beneficial when a relatively low pressure (e.g., a near vacuum pressure) is sealed within cavity 112, as may be the case when MEMS transducer structure 104 assumes the form of a gyroscope transducer structure.” [0038]; Fig. 9. Note that near vacuum pressure provides acoustic isolation of the transducer element 104).
Therefore, based on Bowles’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodnicki to have a cavity that is formed under the transducer element to provide acoustic isolation of the transducer element from the ASIC, as taught by Bowles, in order to improve device operation by reducing external influence on transducer elements.
Wodnicki modified by Bowles does not teach an overmolded lens comprising a first layer comprising a silicone- based material.
However, in the ultrasonic devices field of endeavor, Kiyose discloses ultrasonic device, method for producing ultrasonic device, ultrasonic probe, ultrasonic measurement apparatus, and electronic device, which is analogous art. Kiyose teaches that the ultrasound transducer (230) comprises an overmolded lens (152) comprising a first layer comprising a silicone- based material (“The acoustic lens 152 having the lens surface 152a and the recessed portion 152b is formed by packing and solidifying a transparent silicone resin, for example, into a mold." [0068]; Fig. 1).
Therefore, based on Kiyose’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Wodnicki and Bowles to have the ultrasound transducer that comprises an overmolded lens comprising a first layer comprising a silicone- based material, as taught by Kiyose, in order to facilitate high-resolution ultrasound imaging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 18-21 would be allowable assuming all outstanding nonstatutory double patenting issues are resolved. Claims 2, 4-9, 22-26, and 28-30 are allowable. However, appropriate correction is required for claims 20-22, 24, and 29-30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Wodnicki, Bowles, and Kiyose for claim 27.
Response to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection arguments on pages 5-8 of the REMARKS.
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 18-30
The Applicant argues that “Applicant has amended Claim 1 to incorporate the allowable subject matter of Claim 17.” (Page 6). The Examiner agrees and therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Wodnicki, Bowles, and Kiyose for claim 27.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798