DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2022/0031426).
With respect to Claim 1, Sato teaches a method of making a mixed metal and polymeric dental appliance, the method comprising receiving/deriving a digital model of the dental appliance, wherein a first portion may be formed of a polymeric material and a second portion may be formed of a metal, fabricating a first portion of the dental appliance from a first material using a first additive manufacturing process, for example, a relatively rigid portion formed of a polymeric material and formed by a direct fabrication 3D printing such as stereolithography, material jetting, digital light projector (DLP) printing, binder jetting, fused deposition modeling, etc., and a second portion of the appliance is formed of a metal using a the same or different additively manufacturing process such as inkjet printing, direct metal laser sintering, powder bed fusion, directed energy deposition, wherein the fabrication of the first and second portions may be carried out in a plurality of steps to form a dental appliance with desired material properties. (para. 3, 22-36, 132, 141, 145). Sato further teaches wherein the polymeric material may be provided in an uncured form (i.e. a precursor polymeric material) such as a liquid, resin, or powder, and can cured by photopolymerization, light curing, or laser curing, to form the first portion. (para. 29).
For example, Sato teaches forming a dental appliance comprising metal reinforced polymeric orthodontic aligners formed by direct fabrication additive manufacturing, and thus, comprising an additive manufacturing process comprising depositing a first composition comprising a precursor polymeric material at a first portion of the dental appliance and depositing a second composition comprising metal at the second portion of the dental appliance. (para. 11-19, 46-47, 74-75, 103; Figs. 1-9). Sato teaches a variety of additive manufacturing techniques for forming the metal portion that comprise the deposition of metal particles (e.g. binder jetting and powder bed fusion techniques such as direct metal laser sintering and selective laser melting/sintering). (para. 23-25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art carry out the method of Sato to perform the additively manufacturing step of forming a second portion of the dental appliance from metal to use an additive technique selected from the disclosed techniques comprising deposition of a precursor polymeric material in a first portion and depositing a plurality of metal particles in the second position in order to obtain the desired multi-material dental appliance having the desired properties (see, e.g., para. 132-145, discussing tailoring the properties of the dental appliance).
With respect to Claim 4, Sato teaches sintering the plurality of metal particles (see rejection of claim 1 above) and thus, causing the plurality of metal particles to aggregate.
With respect to Claim 5, Sato teaches sintering the plurality of metal particles (see rejection of claim 1 above) thereby forming a continuous metallic structure.
With respect to Claim 6, Sato teaches sintering the plurality of metal particles to form a second portion of the dental appliance (see rejection of claim 1 above) and thus, necessarily comprises heating the second portion of the dental appliance to an elevated temperature.
With respect to Claim 9, Sato teaches sintering the plurality of metal particles by application/irradiation of light, for example, in selective laser sintering, laser engineered net shaping, directed light fabrication, digital light projector (DLP) printing, and direct metal laser sintering (DMLS). (para. 23-24). Thus, Sato teaches wherein the metal particles are sintered by applying light encompassing one or more of ultraviolet light, infrared light, or visible light to the second portion of dental appliance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the limited number of light wavelengths used for said sintering techniques, in order to obtain sufficient energy for sintering the second portion of the dental appliance, with a predictable result of success.
With respect to Claim 14, Sato teaches wherein the second composition may be deposited using a material jetting technique or a fused deposition modeling technique. (see rejection of claim 1 above; para. 23-24, 32, 145).
With respect to Claim 15-17, Sato further teaches wherein the polymeric material may be provided in an uncured form (i.e. a precursor) such as a liquid, resin, or powder, and can cured by photopolymerization, light curing, or laser curing, to form the first portion. (para. 29).
With respect to Claim 18, Sato teaches wherein the additive manufacturing process comprises building up of the first and second portions of the dental appliance in a plurality of layers. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
With respect to Claims 19-20, Sato teaches receiving a 3D model of the dental appliance and using an additive manufacturing process to form a plurality of layers corresponding to desired cross-sectional shapes in order to build up the object’s geometry and wherein these method steps comprising identifying and forming the respective first and second portions from first and second compositions. (para. 24, 41, 132, 141; rejection of claim 1 above). In particular, Sato teaches identifying first and second regions in order to obtain first and second portions formed of first and second compositions having desired mechanical properties corresponding to desired dental applications. (see, e.g., para. 132-145).
Accordingly, in view of the teachings of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the method of Sato comprising generating a plurality of 2D cross-sections from the 3D model of the dental appliance, wherein the plurality of 2D cross-sections correspond to the plurality of layers, and identifying, in one or more 2D cross-sections, a first region to be formed from the first composition and a second region to be formed from the second composition, wherein the first composition is deposited based on the first region identified in the one or more 2D cross-sections, and the second composition is deposited based on the second region identified in the one or more 2D cross-sections in order obtain a dental appliance with first and second portions having desired mechanical properties corresponding to desired dental applications
Claim(s) 2-3, 7-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2022/0031426) as applied to claim 1 (with respect to claims 2-3, 11), claim 5 (with respect to claim 10) and claim 6 (with respect to claims 7-8) in view of Ito Jun (JP 2017077682A)(machine translation provided).
With respect to Claims 2-3, Sato teaches a method comprising a plurality of metal particles (e.g. powder) but does not teach a specific metal particle size.
Ito teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising metal nanoparticles, the metal nanoparticles having an average particle size of about 100 nm. (pgs. 1-3 of translation). Ito teaches that using an additive manufacturing technique comprising metal nanoparticles allows for low temperature sintering that may employ light irradiation means also capable of curing a resin used in additive manufacturing processes. (pgs. 5-7 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one method of additively manufacturing a metal portion of an additively manufactured article disclosed to be possible with a wide array of additive manufacturing techniques, for one such known method of additive manufacturing a metal portion comprising low-temperature sintering of metal nanoparticles with a particle size of about 100 nm, as taught by Ito, in order to allow for additively manufacturing a metal portion of an article at low temperatures having the benefit of reusing irradiation means for curing binders/polymeric material. Additionally, with respect to Claim 3, the metal particles having a particle size (i.e. diameter) of 100 nm falls within the instantly claimed range.
With respect to Claim 7, Ito teaches a method of additively manufacturing a metal with sintering at a temperature of 80-100°C. (pg. 3, 6-7 of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one method of additively manufacturing a metal portion of an additively manufactured article disclosed to be possible with a wide array of additive manufacturing techniques, for one such known method of additive manufacturing a metal portion comprising low-temperature sintering (elevated temperature) at a temperature of 80-100°C of metal nanoparticles, as taught by Ito, in order to allow for additively manufacturing a metal portion of an article at low temperatures having the benefit of reusing irradiation means for curing binders/polymeric material.
With respect to claim 8, Ito teaches wherein such low-temperature sintering metal particles is carried out with irradiation that is also used to cure a resin and thus, below the melting of the resin. (pgs. 5-7 of translation). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that commercially available resins are typically comprised of a polymeric material. Thus, Ito is deemed to teach wherein the elevated temperature is less than a melting point of a non-metallic portion of the additively manufactured article. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a method comprising additively manufacturing a composite with metal portions and polymeric portions, as taught by Sato, would beneficially avoid heating the polymeric portions above the melting point of the polymeric material after formation of such portion(s) in order to avoid unwanted deformation of the article. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sato, to select a sintering/elevated temperature less than a melting point of the first portion of the dental appliance, for example, a sintering temperature of 80-100°C as taught by Ito, in order to avoid unwanted deformation of the dental appliance and/or to simultaneous cure a resin/polymeric material portion of the dental appliance.
With respect to Claim 10, Sato further teaches wherein the polymeric material may be provided in an uncured form (i.e. a precursor) such as a liquid, resin, or powder, and can cured by photopolymerization, light curing, or laser curing, to form the first portion. (para. 29). Sato in view of Ito teach wherein the additive manufacturing process further comprises applying energy by irradiation of light to cure a resin/polymeric material and to sinter the plurality of metal particles. (see rejections of claims 2-3 and 7-8 above, incorporated here by reference). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sato in view of Ito to apply energy to cure a precursor of the polymeric material and wherein the energy causes the sintering of the plurality of metal particles, in order to efficiently and effectively solidify the respective portions of the dental appliance.
With respect to Claim 11, Sato teaches additive manufacturing processes for forming the second portion with the second composition such as inkjet printing and binder jetting. (para. 23-24). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such additive manufacturing processes comprise metal particles in a solvent, meeting the instant claim.
In the alternative, Ito teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising inkjet printing an ink comprising metal nanoparticles dispersed in a solvent, the metal nanoparticles having an average particle size of about 100 nm. (pg. 2 of translation). Ito teaches that using an additive manufacturing technique comprising metal nanoparticles allows for low temperature sintering that may employ light irradiation means also capable of curing a resin used in additive manufacturing processes. (pgs. 5-7 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one method of additively manufacturing a metal portion of an additively manufactured article disclosed to be possible with a wide array of additive manufacturing techniques, for one such known method of additive manufacturing a metal portion comprising inkjet printing an ink comprising metal nanoparticles dispersed in a solvent, as taught by Ito, in order to allow for additively manufacturing a metal portion of an article at low temperatures having the benefit of reusing irradiation means for curing binders/polymeric material.
With respect to Claims 12-13, Sato in view of Ito teach a method comprising inkjet printing metal particles dispersed in a solvent and further teaches sintering such particles (see rejections of claims 1, 6-9, and 11 above). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the need to remove the solvent in order to sinter and solidify the second portion of the dental appliance. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a step of removing the solvent by evaporation, aerosolization, or diffusion in the sintering step, in order to obtain a fused metal second portion of the dental appliance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210030516 and US 10888395, both drawn to methods of additively manufacturing a dental appliance, wherein the appliance may be formed of a polymeric material or elastomeric alloy, but failing to teach specifically forming polymeric and metal portions as instantly claimed.
/JOHN A HEVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735