DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckhardt et al. (US 11,831,288 B2) and Hariharan et al. (US 11,259,192 B2).
The prior art as in Beckhardt et al. disclose of an image display apparatus comprising: a display (fig.1C (110a); col.13 line 4-10/the playback device may be part of a television which inherently has such a display); an audio output device configured to output sound (fig.1C (114); col.13 line 10-12); a wireless communication device configured to exchange data with the external sound output device in a wireless manner; & an interface configured to exchange data with an external sound output device in a wired manner (fig.1C (112); col.11 line 15-35); and a signal processing device configured to: in a simultaneous sound output mode of the external sound output device and the audio output device and in a mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, output a first audio signal to the audio output device, and wirelessly transmit a second audio signal based on a first format to the external sound output device (fig.1C (112); col.6 line 25-42; col.10 line 35-40) & according to communication, wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on a second format to the external sound output device (col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
Nonetheless, Beckhardt et al never specify that such formatted signal being transmit in response to a number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to a reference value. But it shall be observed Hariharan et al. disclose of the similar aspect concerning a certain signal being transmitted in response to a retransmission requests from the external sound output device (col.13 line 10-25). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the transmission of signal as noted by adding such transmission as being the result of response to a retransmission requests from the external sound output device so as to provide a robust and accurate wireless transmission.
Although, the art never limit such specific aspect regarding transmission in response to a number of retransmission requests being greater than or equal to a reference value, again one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the amount of request to be retransmitted by specifying such specific number of retransmission requests being greater than or equal to a reference value for achieving the same expected result as to ascertain a robust and accurate wireless transmission due to error in packet signal .
2. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in response to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal, which is based on the second format with a wireless data transfer rate less than the first format, to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
3. The image display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the signal processing device is configured to output an audio signal based on the first format to the audio output device while outputting the audio signal based on the second format (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
4. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode of the external sound output device and the audio output device and in the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, the signal processing device is configured to output a first audio signal based on the first format to the audio output device, and wirelessly transmit a second audio signal based on the first format to the external sound output device, wherein in response to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value, the signal processing device is configured to output a third audio signal based on the second format to the audio output device, and wirelessly transmit a fourth audio signal based on the second format to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
5. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in a single sound output mode of the image display apparatus, the signal processing device is configured to output a fifth audio signal, and the audio output device is configured to output sound corresponding to the fifth audio signal (Beck-col.9 line 50-60/the audio from the source may be receive by the processing device to output to output device).
6. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in a single sound output mode of the external sound output device and in the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal, which is based on a third format with a wireless data transfer rate greater than the first format, to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
7. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in the single sound output mode of the external sound output device and in the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit the audio signal based on the first format to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
8. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in the single sound output mode of the external sound output device and in the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit the audio signal based on the third format to the external sound output device, wherein in response to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value or a second reference value, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on a fourth format to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58; col.36 line 1-10); .
10. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal, which is based on an audio format processable by the external sound output device, to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58).
11. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device is configured to: receive, from the external sound output device, audio format information processable by the external sound output device, and wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on an audio format, which is selected from the received audio format information based on an environment of wireless connection with the external sound output device, to the external sound output device (Beck-col.3 line 15-30 & col.27 line 40-58).
12. The image display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the interface is configured to receive, from the external sound output device, the audio format information processable by the external sound output device, and to transmit the received audio format information to the signal processing device (Beck-col.3 line 15-30 & col.27 line 40-58).
15. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein based on content received, the signal processing device is configured to change a format of an audio signal transmitted wirelessly to the external sound output device (Beck-col.3 line 15-30 & col.27 line 40-58).
Nonetheless, the prior art never limit of the receive content to be displayed on the display, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the content to be received by specifying of displaying the content if desired for achieving the same expected result as to provide the desired wireless signal format in light of the computational capability of the device.
Claim(s) 9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckhardt et al. (US 11,831,288 B2) and Hariharan et al. (US 11,259,192 B2) and Du et al. (US 2018/0152778 A1).
9. The image display apparatus of claim 8, wherein after transmitting the audio signal based on the fourth format, in response to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value or an allowable value, the signal processing device is configured to switch the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device to a certain transmission mode as already mentioned.
However, none of the prior art specify of the mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device. But it shall be noted Du et al. disclose of such concept related to certain mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device (par [24]; fig.4). thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept wherein mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device so as to provide an output device with improve power and some reduction in tethering.
13. The image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein after transmitting the audio signal based on the second format, in response to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value or an allowable value, the signal processing device is configured to switch the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device to a desired transmission mode,
However, none of the prior art specify of the mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device. But it shall be noted Du et al. disclose of such concept related to certain mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device (par [24]; fig.4). thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept wherein mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device so as to provide an output device with improve power and some reduction in tethering.
Claim(s) 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckhardt et al. (US 11,831,288 B2) and Hariharan et al. (US 11,259,192 B2) and Du et al. (US 2018/0152778 A1).
16. An image display apparatus comprising: a display (fig.1C (110a); col.13 line 4-10/the playback device may be part of a television which inherently has such a display); an audio output device configured to output sound (fig.1C (114); col.13 line 10-12); an interface configured to exchange data with an external sound output device in a wired manner; a wireless communication device configured to exchange data with the external sound output device in a wireless manner (fig.1C (112); col.11 line 15-35); and a signal processing device configured to: in a mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device, wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on a first format to the external sound output device (fig.1C (112); col.6 line 25-42; col.10 line 35-40), in response to a communication from the external sound output device, wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on a second format to the external sound output device (col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
Nonetheless, Beckhardt et al never specify that such formatted signal being transmit in response to a number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to a reference value. But it shall be observed Hariharan et al. disclose of the similar aspect concerning a certain signal being transmitted in response to a retransmission requests from the external sound output device (col.13 line 10-25). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the transmission of signal as noted by adding such transmission as being the result of response to a retransmission requests from the external sound output device so as to provide a robust and accurate wireless transmission.
The combined teaching of Beckhardt and Hariharan et al. as a whole, further disclose after transmitting the audio signal based on the second format, in response communication from the external sound output device , switch the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device to other format transmission mode (col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
However, none of the prior art specify of the communication being according to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value or an allowable value, switch the mode of wireless transmission to the external sound output device to a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device.
But it shall be noted Du et al. disclose of such concept related to certain mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device (par [24]; fig.4). thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept wherein mode being of a wired transmission mode, and transmit the audio signal by wire to the external sound output device so as to provide an output device with improve power and some reduction in tethering.
Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the presented output signal format according to communications, by specifying if desired such communication being according to the number of retransmission requests from the external sound output device being greater than or equal to the reference value or an allowable value, if desired for achieving the same expected result so as to provide a robust and accurate transmission based on error received signal.
17. The image display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the interface is configured to receive, from the external sound output device, audio format information processable by the external sound output device, and to transmit the received audio format information to the signal processing device, wherein the signal processing device is configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal based on an audio format, which is selected from the received audio format information based on an environment of wireless connection with the external sound output device, to the external sound output device (Beck-col.27 line 40-58/the processor may transmit the audio in varying formats).
.
19. The image display apparatus of claim 16, wherein based on content being generated, the signal processing device is configured to change a format of an audio signal transmitted wirelessly to the external sound output device (Beck-col.3 line 15-30 & col.27 line 40-58).
Nonetheless, the prior art never limit of the receive content to be displayed on the display, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the content to be received by specifying of displaying the content if desired for achieving the same expected result as to provide the desired wireless signal format in light of the computational capability of the device.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695