DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,069,610 hereinafter Patent ‘610.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are found in the Patent ‘610 with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing claim 1 of the present application and claim 1 of the Patent ‘610:
Instant Application 18/771707
U.S. Patent No. US 12,069,610
1. (Currently Amended) A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising;
transmitting a feedback message to a second UE via a sidelink feedback channel using a first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources; and
transmitting sidelink control signaling using a second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources different from the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources,
wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources.
1. A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving sidelink communications from a second UE via a sidelink channel; transmitting a feedback message to the second UE via a sidelink feedback channel using a first resource configuration, wherein the first resource configuration indicates a first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources, the feedback message being based at least in part on the sidelink communications, and wherein the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources is associated with a first set of subchannels of a frequency band and a quantity of cyclic shifting pairs for the sidelink feedback channel; and
performing inter-UE coordination using a second resource configuration, wherein the second resource configuration indicates a second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources, the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources different from the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and associated with a second set of subchannels of the frequency band, and
wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with inter-UE coordination signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources.
Claims 2-20 of the instant application are similarly rejected as being unpatentable over claims 2-19 of the Patent ‘610.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 depends on claim 2 which depends on independent claim 1. Claim 4 recites the step of “multiplexing the feedback message with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources”.
A dependent claim must add a new limitation or further restrict an existing limitation of the claim from which it depends. Claim 4 merely recites as an active step the exact same multiplexing action that is already required as a condition of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al(US 2020/0196255 A1) in view of Yoshioka et al(US 2022/0070847 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Cheng ‘255 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) ([0129], Fig. 9, node 900 that is a UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor([0129], Fig. 9, a UE comprising processor 928); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to([0129], [0133], Fig. 9, memory stores instructions executable by the processor to perform functions), transmit a feedback message to a second UE via a sidelink feedback channel using a first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0035], [0055], [0070]and Fig. 4, a UE transmitting SFCI to another UE, which includes HARQ feedback information (e.g. ACK or NACK). The SFCI is transmitted over PFSCH using allocated time/frequency resources), and transmit sidelink control signaling using a second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources different from the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0089], [0090], an SFCI resource may carry CSI which acts as sidelink control signaling. Transmitting HARQ feedback using first PSFCH (first resources) and transmitting CSI information to the target device using second PSFCH (second resources)).
Cheng ‘255 does not explicitly teach, wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources.
Yoshioka ‘847 teaches, wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0101], [0103] and Fig. 17, multiplexing ACK signals with CSI and SR. Assigning the ACK to a first frequency subcarrier(the first set of resources) and the CSI to a second frequency subcarrier (the second set of resources), and transmitting them simultaneously within the same time resource on the PSFCH reads on multiplexing the signals using both the first set and the second set of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Cheng ‘255 by incorporating the teaching of Yoshioka ‘847, since such modification would provide a technique for enabling proper execution of HARQ operations in sidelink, as suggested by Yoshioka ‘847([0009]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, receiving, from the second UE, a different UE, or both, an indication that sidelink communications will be communicated via the sidelink feedback channel ([0055], [0116] and Figs. 1, 4, a receiving UE (UE 106) receives and indication from the transmitting UE(UE104) regarding the transmission of SFCI over PSFCH).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, receiving a signal from the second UE, a different UE, a base station, or any combination thereof, configuring the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0055], [0077], [0116] an Fig. 1, a receiving UE(first UE) receives a signal from a transmitting UE(second UE) or a network entity(base station) that configures the resource for SFCI).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Yoshioka ‘847 further teaches, multiplexing the feedback message with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources([0101], [0103] and Fig. 17, multiplexing ACK signals with CSI and SR. Assigning the ACK to a first frequency subcarrier(the first set of resources) and the CSI to a second frequency subcarrier (the second set of resources), and transmitting them simultaneously within the same time resource on the PSFCH reads on multiplexing the signals using both the first set and the second set of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Cheng ‘255 by incorporating the teaching of Yoshioka ‘847, since such modification would provide a technique for enabling proper execution of HARQ operations in sidelink, as suggested by Yoshioka ‘847([0009]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, transmitting the feedback message via the sidelink feedback channel separately from inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel ([0086], [0089], transmitting a HARQ feedback via PSFCH separately from other inter-UE communications).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, transmitting, based at least in part on a contention-free channel access procedure, the sidelink control signaling via the sidelink feedback channel ([0055], [0083], [0090], transmitting sidelink control signaling(e.g. CSI report) via the sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) using scheduled/dedicated resources, which is a contention -free channel access procedure).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, monitoring for a sidelink control information message indicating that inter-UE communications are to be performed via the sidelink feedback channel ([0040], [0055], [0116], a receiving UE (UE 106) receives scheduling information from a transmitting UE (e.g., UE104) via PSCCH, the scheduling information acts as SCI message); and
performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on a result of the monitoring ([0055], [0116], once the receiving UE(e.g. UE 106) receives the scheduling information/indication from the transmitting UE, and transmits the corresponding inter-UE communications).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng ‘255 teaches, a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) ([0129], FIG. 9, node 900 that is a UE), comprising: receiving a feedback message from a second UE via a sidelink feedback channel using a first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0035], [0055], [0070]and Fig. 4, a UE receiving SFCI from another UE, which includes HARQ feedback information (e.g. ACK or NACK). The SFCI is transmitted over PFSCH using allocated time/frequency resources), and
receiving sidelink control signaling using a second set of one or more[0089], [0090], an SFCI resource may carry CSI which acts as sidelink control signaling. Receiving HARQ feedback using first PSFCH (first resources) and CSI information from the target device using second PSFCH (second resources)).
Cheng ‘255 does not explicitly teach, wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources.
Yoshioka ‘847 teaches, wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with the sidelink control signaling using the first set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources and the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0101], [0103] and Fig. 17, multiplexing ACK signals with CSI and SR. Assigning the ACK to a first frequency subcarrier(the first set of resources) and the CSI to a second frequency subcarrier (the second set of resources), and transmitting them simultaneously within the same time resource on the PSFCH reads on multiplexing the signals using both the first set and the second set of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Cheng ‘255 by incorporating the teaching of Yoshioka ‘847, since such modification would provide a technique for enabling proper execution of HARQ operations in sidelink, as suggested by Yoshioka ‘847([0009]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, transmitting, to the second UE, a different UE, or both, an indication that sidelink communications will be communicated via the sidelink feedback channel ([0055], [0116] and Figs. 1, 4, a receiving UE (UE 106) receives and indication from the transmitting UE(UE104) regarding the transmission of SFCI over PSFCH).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, transmitting a signal to the second UE, a different UE, a base station, or any combination thereof, configuring the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0055], [0077], [0116] an Fig. 1, a receiving UE(first UE) receives a signal from a transmitting UE(second UE) or a network entity(base station) that configures the resource for SFCI).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Yoshioka ‘847 further teaches, wherein the feedback message is multiplexed with [[the]] inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel ([0101], [0103] and Fig. 17, multiplexing ACK signals with CSI and SR. Assigning the ACK to a first frequency subcarrier(the first set of resources) and the CSI to a second frequency subcarrier (the second set of resources), and transmitting them simultaneously within the same time resource on the PSFCH reads on multiplexing the signals using both the first set and the second set of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Cheng ‘255 by incorporating the teaching of Yoshioka ‘847, since such modification would provide a technique for enabling proper execution of HARQ operations in sidelink, as suggested by Yoshioka ‘847([0009]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, receiving the feedback message via the sidelink feedback channel separately from inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel ([0086], [0089], receiving a HARQ feedback via PSFCH separately from other inter-UE communications).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, receiving, based at least in part on a contention-free channel access procedure, the sidelink control signaling using the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources ([0055], [0083], [0090], transmitting sidelink control signaling(e.g. CSI report) via the sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) using scheduled/dedicated resources, which is a contention-free channel access procedure).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations, Cheng ‘255 further teaches, transmitting a sidelink control information message indicating that inter-UE communications are to be performed via the sidelink feedback channel ([0040], [0055], [0116], a receiving UE (UE 106) receives scheduling information from a transmitting UE (e.g., UE104) via PSCCH, the scheduling information acts as SCI message); and performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on a result of the sidelink control information message ([0055], [0116], once the receiving UE(e.g. UE 106) receives the scheduling information/indication from the transmitting UE, and transmits the corresponding inter-UE communications).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Lei et al(US 2023/0328784 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations except, performing a channel access procedure on the sidelink feedback channel, wherein the sidelink control signaling is transmitted; using the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources based at least in part on a result of the channel access procedure.
Lei ‘784 teaches, performing a channel access procedure on the sidelink feedback channel, wherein the sidelink control signaling is transmitted ([0029], [0030], [0064], [0065] and Fig. 5B, a receiving device (UE 102) performs a channel access procedure before transmitting on the PSFCH); using the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources based at least in part on a result of the channel access procedure([0029], [0030], [0064], [0065] and Fig. 5B, the transmission on the sidelink feedback channel is performed in response to the channel access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘784, since such modification would enable to avoid missing any transmission of sidelink data, as a sidelink burst transmission using an indicator indicating a remaining duration of channel occupancy for a channel access procedure is used, as suggested by Lei ‘784 ([0025]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 teaches all of the claim limitations except, performing a channel access procedure on the sidelink feedback channel, wherein the sidelink control signaling is received; using the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources based at least in part on a result of the channel access procedure.
Lei ‘784 teaches, performing a channel access procedure on the sidelink feedback channel, wherein the sidelink control signaling is received ([0029], [0030], [0064], [0065] and Fig. 5B, a receiving device (UE 102) performs a channel access procedure before transmitting on the PSFCH); using the second set of one or more sidelink feedback channel resources based at least in part on a result of the channel access procedure([0029], [0030], [0064], [0065] and Fig. 5B, the receiving/transmission on the sidelink feedback channel is performed in response to the channel access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847, by incorporating the teaching of Lei ‘784, since such modification would enable to avoid missing any transmission of sidelink data, as a sidelink burst transmission using an indicator indicating a remaining duration of channel occupancy for a channel access procedure is used, as suggested by Lei ‘784([0025]).
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847, and further in view of Ryu (US 2020/0313825).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 does not explicitly teach, transmitting the sidelink control signaling indicating that the first UE is to perform inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel; and
performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on the sidelink control signaling.
Ryu ‘825 teaches transmitting the sidelink control signaling indicating that the first UE is to perform inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel (para 48-49 and 92-93; inter-UE coordination signaling is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE, over a sidelink feedback channel PSFCH; the inter-UE coordination signaling includes sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) and a DMRS sidelink reference signal; thus, the transmission UE transmits sidelink control information, indicating inter-UE coordination is to be performed between the transmission UE and the reception UE, over the sidelink feedback channel); and
performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on the sidelink control signaling (para 48-49 and 92-93; inter-UE coordination signaling is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE, over a sidelink feedback channel PSFCH; the inter-UE coordination signaling includes sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) and a DMRS sidelink reference signal; thus, the reception UE performs inter-UE coordination with the transmission UE, based on the transmitted sidelink control information indicating that inter-UE coordination is to be performed between the transmission UE and the reception UE, over the sidelink feedback channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method for wireless communications of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847, to further include Ryu ‘825’s inter-UE coordination signaling that is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE over the sidelink feedback channel, including sidelink feedback control information. The motivation for doing so would have been to address signal processing to effectively transmit and receive a sidelink feedback channel by a UE (Ryu ‘825, para 7).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cheng ‘255, Yoshioka ‘847 and Ryu ‘825 discloses all the limitations, Ryu ‘825 further teaches, wherein performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel comprises: transmitting, receiving, or both, the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel (para 48-49 and 92-93; inter-UE coordination signaling is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE, over a sidelink feedback channel PSFCH, including ACK/NACK feedback information and a DMRS sidelink reference signal; thus, inter-UE coordination that is performed over the sidelink feedback channel PSFCH includes transmitting by the transmission UE and receiving by the reception UE).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847 does not explicitly teach, receiving a sidelink control information message indicating that the second UE is to perform inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel; and performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on the sidelink control information message.
Ryu ‘825 teaches receiving a sidelink control information message indicating that the second UE is to perform inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel (para 48-49 and 92-93; inter-UE coordination signaling is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE, over a sidelink feedback channel PSFCH; the inter-UE coordination signaling includes sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) and a DMRS sidelink reference signal; thus, the reception UE receives sidelink control information from the transmission UE, indicating inter-UE coordination is to be performed over the sidelink feedback channel); and performing the inter-UE communications via the sidelink feedback channel based at least in part on the sidelink control information message (para 48-49 and 92-93; inter-UE coordination signaling is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE, over a sidelink feedback channel PSFCH; the inter-UE coordination signaling includes sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) and a DMRS sidelink reference signal; thus, the transmission UE performs inter-UE coordination with the reception UE, based on the received indication that inter-UE coordination is to be performed over the sidelink feedback channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method for wireless communications of Cheng ‘255 and Yoshioka ‘847, to further include Ryu ‘825’s inter-UE coordination signaling that is transmitted by a transmission UE to a reception UE over the sidelink feedback channel, including sidelink feedback control information. The motivation for doing so would have been to address signal processing to effectively transmit and receive a sidelink feedback channel by a UE (Ryu ‘825, para 7).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474