20DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present disclosure provides”.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites that the bent section of the fist terminal is “outwardly protruded towards the gap”. However, it appears that the bent section protrudes inwardly towards the gap (see Fig. 2).
Additionally, in claim 4, “the paired two second terminals” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 5, “the paired two first terminals” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 11, “the paired two first terminals” lacks antecedent basis.
Additionally, claim 11 recites that the first and second bent sections of the fist terminal is “outwardly protruded towards the gap”. However, it appears that the bent section protrudes inwardly towards the gap (see Fig. 5).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (JP 2016-054135).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki discloses an electrical connection assembly, comprising: a first electrical connector (5) comprising at least one first terminal (4), wherein each of the at least one first terminal comprises at least one contact part; and a second electrical connector (1) configured to pluggably connect with the first electrical connector, and comprising at least one second terminal (2), wherein each of the at least one second terminal comprises at least one recess (3), the at least one recess is inwardly recessed from a surface of the second terminal, wherein each of the at least one recess comprises at least one connection section (vertical portion in Fig. 3) and a bottom (at 3), the at least one connection section is in connection between the bottom and the surface of the second terminal, wherein the at least one connection section comprises a plurality of contact portions, wherein the at least one contact part of each of the at least one first terminal of the first electrical connector is in connection with and urges against the at least one recess of the corresponding second terminal of the second electrical connector, and the at least one contact part of the at least one first terminal is in contact with and urges against the bottom and the plurality of contact portions of the at least one recess of the at least one second terminal to form a multi-points contact (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki discloses the bottom and the at least one connection section of the recess collectively form a discontinuous arc profile structure (Fig. 3) or a continuous arc profile structure, wherein the contact part (at 4) is a curved surface.
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki discloses the at least one recess formed on the surface of the second terminal by metal layer etching, metal layer stacking, metal layer electroplating, metal layers on printed circuit multilayer boards, or mechanical processing of metal layers (method of manufacturing, not germane to apparatus claims).
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki discloses the at least one connection section comprises at least one step structure, and the plurality of contact portions of the at least one second terminal are formed on the at least one step structure (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki discloses the first electrical connector being a receptacle connector (5), and the second electrical connector is a finger connector (1), wherein the at least one first terminal (4) comprises a plurality of first terminals (Fig. 5), two first terminals of the plurality of first terminals are corresponding to each other in position, and a gap is defined between the two first terminals, wherein the at least one second terminal comprises a plurality of second terminals (see multiple 2s in Fig. 1 and 2; or Fig. 5), two second terminals of the plurality of second terminals are disposed on two opposite sides of the second electrical connector (Fig. 5), and are corresponding to each other in position, wherein when the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector are in connection with and electrically coupled to each other, the contact parts of the two first terminals of the first electrical connector are in contact with and urge against the recesses of the corresponding two second terminals of the second electrical connector, respectively.
To the extent that Yamazaki does not disclose the material of the fingers, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a well known material, such as gold, as the preferred material in order to improve conductivity, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki discloses the first electrical connector comprising a housing (5), the housing comprises an accommodation space and an opening (top in Fig. 4/5), wherein the plurality of first terminals are disposed in the accommodation space of the housing, wherein the second electrical connector comprises a substrate (1), the substrate has a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, wherein two second terminals of the plurality of second terminals are disposed on the first surface and the second surface of the substrate, respectively, and are corresponding to each other in position (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki discloses the plurality of first terminals being flexible arm structures (4), respectively, wherein each of the plurality of first terminals includes a main section, a bent section and a free end (top in Fig. 4), wherein the bent section is in connection and disposed between the main section and the free end, and the contact part is formed on the bent section, wherein the bent section is outwardly protruded from the first terminal toward the gap, and the contact part is disposed adjacent to the gap, wherein the paired two second terminals of the second electrical connector are disposed on the first surface and the second surface of the substrate, respectively, each of the plurality of second terminals comprises one recess (Figs. 2/5), and the recess is recessed inwardly from the surface of the second terminal, respectively, wherein the recesses of the two second terminals are corresponding to each other in position, wherein when the first electrical connector is in connection with and electrically coupled to the second electrical connector, the substrate of the second electrical connector is plugged into the gap between the two first terminals of the first electrical connector (Fig. 5), the contact parts of the two first terminals are in contact with and urge against the recesses of the two second terminals, respectively.
Regarding claim 12, to the extent that Yamazaki does not discloses the second electrical connection used with a power supply unit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the second electrical connector is disposed on a number of know devices, such as a rear side of a power supply unit, in order to provide a secure and efficient interface for the power supply unit.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Vladic (US 4,106,841).
Regarding claim 5, Vladic teaches a housing (10) having a first inner wall surface (left 20 in Fig. 2), a second inner wall surface (right 20 in Fig. 3), a plurality of first ribs (18) and a plurality of second ribs (18), wherein the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface are corresponding to each other, wherein the plurality of first ribs are disposed on the first inner wall surface, and are disposed parallel to and spaced apart from each other, wherein the plurality of second ribs are disposed on the second inner wall surface, and are disposed parallel to and spaced apart from each other, wherein a plurality of first areas (14/16) are defined between the plurality of first ribs, and a plurality of second areas (right 16, Fig. 3) are defined between the plurality of second ribs, wherein the first areas and the second areas are corresponding to each other in position, wherein the paired two first terminals of the first electrical connector are respectively disposed in the corresponding first area and the corresponding second area, and are symmetrically arranged with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the housing, as taught by Vladic, in order to properly organize the terminals first terminals and prevent short circuiting between them.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Frank, Jr. (US 4,147,446).
Regarding claim 9, Frank teaches a step structure comprising a plurality of steps (50, 51), wherein each of the steps has a top surface and a connection surface, wherein an end of the connection surface is in connection with the top surface or the surface of the second terminal, and another end of the connection surface is in connection with the top surface of adjacent step or the bottom, wherein each of the contact portions is formed at the junction of the top surface and the connection surface of each of the steps. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use steps, as taught by Frank, in order to increase the number of contact points and improve electrical connection.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Hughes (US 7,591,693).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the plurality of recesses on each terminal. Hughes teaches the use of at least two recesses (5, 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to each of the second terminals of the second electrical connector comprising a plurality of recesses (such as a first recess, a second recess and a third recess), arranged in sequence and spaced apart from each other on the surface of the second terminal, wherein when the first electrical connector is in connection with and electrically coupled to the second electrical connector, the at least one contact part of each of the first terminals of the first electrical connector is in contact with one or combination of the first recess, the second recess and the third recess of the corresponding second terminal of the second electrical connector, respectively (intended use), in order to provide multiple connection locations, and since mere duplication of parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki and Hughes, and further in view of Vladic.
Regarding claim 11, Vladic discloses at least one first terminal (30) comprising a plurality of first terminals (Fig. 5), a gap H is defined between the paired two first terminals, each of the plurality of first terminals of the first electrical connector comprises a main section (40), a first bent section (54), a third bent section (44), a second bent section (58) and a free end, which are connected in sequence, wherein the first bent section and the second bent section are outwardly protruded from the first terminal toward the gap, and are spaced apart from each other, wherein the first terminal has a first contact part (54) and a second contact part (58), wherein the first contact part is formed on the first bent section, and disposed adjacent to the gap, wherein the second contact part is formed on the second bent section, and disposed adjacent to the gap.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the connectors, so that when the first electrical connector is in connection with and electrically coupled to the second electrical connector, the first contact part and the second contact part of each of the first terminals of the first electrical connector are in contact with two of the first recess, the second recess and the third recess of corresponding second terminal of the second electrical connector, respectively, in order to improve retention of the connection, and since that mere duplication of parts of a device for a multiple effect involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Zheng (CN 103915701, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the first electrical connector (21) being a bus bar connector, and the first electrical connector is disposed on a rear side of a power shelf (intended use), wherein the second electrical connector (3/31) is a system bus bar assembly for connecting with the bus bar connector of the power shelf, wherein the first electrical connector comprises two plates (22) and at least one first terminal, the two plates are parallel to and spaced apart from each other and define a first gap therebetween, wherein each of the at least one first terminal comprises a main section, a bent section and a free end, the bent section is disposed and in connection between the main section and the free end, and the bent section is outwardly protruded toward a direction away from the plate, wherein the contact part is disposed on the bent section, and is disposed toward the direction away from the plate, wherein the at least one second electrical connector comprises two second terminals (31), and each of the second terminals is a bus bar, two paired bus bars are parallel to and spaced apart from each other and define a second gap therebetween, wherein the at least one recess of each of the plurality of second terminals is disposed adjacent to the second gap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use paired plates, as taught by Zheng, in order to provide a secure and complete electrical connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831