DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashina et al. WO2012118015 (submitted in IDS).
Regarding claims 1-6, Takashina discloses a battery system compriseing a multitude of battery cells arranged in different rows and columns as part of larger power supply system (background art page 1; figures 2 and 6), whereby the battery system includes cooling channels (reference 3 in figures), and the cooling channels bridging the different battery cells can be connected in either series (figures 7 and 9) and/or parallel (figure 8). Takashina differs from the present claims because Takashina fails to disclose the exact mixing and matching of series and parallel between battery stack rows, but the reference does explicitly disclose, as demonstrated above, that either series or parallel are suitable choices to cool the construct effectively. As such, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan to have mixed and matched series and parallel arrangements of the coolant channels as desired for the purpose of predictably providing a battery system with adequate cooling capacity. The examiner notes that the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is matter of obviousness (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, Takashina discloses the battery system used for electric vehicles (title, background art page 1).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berge et al. (CN110462920A) and optionally further in view of Takashina et al. WO2012118015 (submitted in IDS).
Regarding claims 1-6, Berge discloses a battery system (figure 1) which includes numerous abutting battery cells (figure 1, refence numeral 4) with cooling channels connecting them (figure 1, reference numerals 5 and 6). Berge further discloses that the cooling channels can be provided in parallel or series and discloses that the module can have a multitude of battery units, such as up to 30 (page 4, figure 1 description).
Berge generally discloses the claimed invention with the exception of two features, the mixing and matching of series and parallel, and the different rows of battery cells.
The examiner notes that the foregoing distinctions would appear to fall within the purview of an ordinary skilled reading the disclosure of Berge as (1) Berge already discloses both series and parallel arrangements are suitable and (2) adding more rows simply amounts to a predictable means of increasing battery power by taking the general disclosure of the art and simply upscaling the amount of individual units provided within a given surface area. The examiner notes that the courts have held that (1) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is matter of obviousness (MPEP 2143) and likewise (2) duplicating parts (battery rows) is not a patentable distinction in the absence of unexpected results (other than predictably providing more battery power) (see MPEP 2144 (VI)). Nonetheless, more proof is provided below.
Takashina, drawn also to the art of battery systems with cooling means (title), discloses that it was known to provide batteries in both face stacking and row arrangements (figure 6) and thus it would have been predictable to have used such an arrangement with Berge to have provided a commercially suitable battery with both good power supply and adequate cooling means. The examiner notes that the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is matter of obviousness (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, Berge discloses the system is useful for electric vehicle systems (page 3, specific implementation methods). Takashina likewise discloses their system is useful for electric vehicles (title, background art page 1).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746