DETAILED ACTION
No preliminary amendment was submitted. The claims filed on 07/12/2024 are acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims benefit to provisional application 63/528,647 filed on 07/25/2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “BPS” should be PBS. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the washing solution-2" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 19 depends from claim 17. The examiner will interpret the claim as “the method of claim 18, wherein the washing solution-2…” to provide proper antecedent basis for “the washing solution-2”.
Claims 17 and 19 contain the trademark/trade name Tris. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites both a product and the steps for using it without clear direction to one or the other. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite (see MPEP 2173.05(p)). Claim 20 is directed towards a chromatography device and a method of using the chromatography device. For the purposes of applying prior art, the examiner will interpret claim 20 as a product claim of a chromatography device comprising a first solid layer of positively charged or cationic membrane or bead, and a second solid layer of membrane or bead which is coupled from the first layer by a coupling solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US 9,163,230 B2, published 10/20/2015, PTO-892).
Ding discloses a double-layer column of a first anion exchange membrane and a second serially coupled silica membrane. Upon flowing a nucleic acid-containing solution through the first anion exchange membrane, the nucleic acid binds to and then elutes from the first membrane. The eluted solution then flows serially through the second silica membrane, which the nucleic acid binds to and then elutes from (abstract, Fig 1).
Fig 1.
Although Ding does not teach a deblocking step, the deblocking step is part of the process of using the product and not part of the product. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (see MPEP 2114 II) As the chromatography column disclosed by Ding would be capable of being used in the manner described by instant claim 20 steps b) through e), the invention is anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 9,163,230 B2, published 10/20/2015, PTO-892) and Ehsani et al. (Korean J. Chem. Eng, published 04/29/2021, PTO-892).
Ding is drawn to a chromatography column and a method for isolating nucleic acids (title). Ding teaches a method for isolating nucleic acid comprising a chromatography column comprising a first solid layer and a second which are serially coupled so that solutions flow through the first layer and then the second. Then flowing a first aqueous solution containing nucleic acid through the first layer to which the nucleic acid becomes bound. Then flowing a second aqueous solution through the first layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid, and then flowing the eluted solution through the second layer to which the eluted nucleic acid becomes bound, wherein the second solution comprises chaotropic salt selected from the group consisting of guanidinium thiocyanate, guanidinium hydrochloride, sodium iodide, and sodium perchlorate. Followed by flowing a third aqueous solution through the second layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid (claim 1). The anionic exchangers are selected from a group consisting of diethylamine, quaternary ammonium and diethylaminopropyl (claim 4). The second solid layer comprises silica membrane or bead (claim 5). The column is particularly suitable for co-isolating RNA and DNA, for isolating nucleic acid embraced by proteins, e.g., viruses, and for isolating diluted nucleic acid in a large volume, e.g., plasma (abstract). Ding exemplifies the isolation of 1 kb DNA marker which would meet the limitation of cfDNA and further teaches that the nucleic acids may be DNA and RNA in any possible configuration, e.g., in the forms of linear, circular, double-stranded, and single-stranded (column 6). Ding teaches that an additional step of flowing another aqueous solution may be used to wash contaminants from the first layer (claim 13). Ding teaches the first solution comprises a low salt concentration at a low pH value, such as 20 mM Tris-HCl, pH 6.0-8.0, so that the nucleic acid is bound to the first layer. The second solution compromises chaotropic salt at a high concentration in a range from 2-8 M so that the nucleic acid is eluted from the first layer and then is bound to the second layer. Ding exemplifies a 4M GuTC, 0.5M NaCl, 20 mM Tris-HCl, pH7 solution as the second solution which meets the limitation of the instant third solution (instant coupling solution) (column 3). The eluting buffer is 10 mM Tris-HCI, 0.1 mM EDTA, pH 8.0-9.0 which meets the limitation of the instant fourth solution (instant elution solution in instant claims 16 and 17) (claim 12). Ding teaches that an additional step of flowing another aqueous solution may be used to wash contaminants of proteins, carbohydrates, and small metabolites from the second layer and can be 10 mM Tris-HCl, 80% ethanol, pH 7.5 (claim 18). Ding additionally teaches that the method may comprise an additional step of flowing an aqueous solution comprising 10-20 mM Tris-HCl pH of 6.0-8.0 to wash contaminants of proteins, carbohydrates, and small metabolites from the first layer (claims 13 and 14). A 10-20 mM Tris-HCl pH of 6.0-8.0 solution has a < 200mM salt concentration.
Ding does not teach reversely flowing a second solution (the deblocking solution) through the first layer to which the nucleic acid still remains bound, and deblocking the first layer to increase its flowability.
Ehsani is drawn to the study of membrane fouling and cleaning methods (title). Ehsani teaches that fouling is an unavoidable phenomenon during the separation process of low molecular-weight or macromolecule contaminants in various types of membrane-based processes. This phenomenon can occur at both the membrane surface and the membrane pores, by sieving and adsorption. The retained particles accumulate on the membrane surface and result in cake formation, which is known as external fouling which leads to a reduction in the permeate flux by increasing the transmembrane pressure (TMP). External fouling, which occurs due to the deposition of rejected contaminants, is generally considered as reversible fouling (page 1532). Backwashing is frequently used in cross-flow filtration processes for foulant removal and flux recovery wherein the solution is pumped backward through the membrane in order to provide a periodic backwash. The backward flow dislodges the deposited particles and improves the membrane permeability (page 1541).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Ding and Ehsani before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by modifying the method of isolating nucleic acids taught by Ding by adding a deblocking step as taught by Ehsani to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of isolating nucleic acids taught Ding by adding a deblocking step as taught by Ehsani because Ehsani teaches that fouling is unavoidable but can be reversed by utilizing a backward flow to dislodge the deposited particles and Ding teaches that there are membrane contaminants such as proteins, carbohydrates, and small metabolites that can be washed away with a solution comprising 10-20 mM Tris-HCl pH of 6.0-8.0. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Ehsani teaches that a backward flow can dislodge deposited particles and improve membrane permeability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 9,163,230 B2, published 10/20/2015, PTO-892) and Ehsani et al. (Korean J. Chem. Eng, published 04/29/2021, PTO-892) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2006/0110725 A1, published 05/25/2006, PTO-892) and Millipore Sigma (https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/US/en/support/calculators-and-apps/1x-phosphate-buffered-saline, published 02/01/2022, accessed 09/14/2026, PTO-892).
Claim 1 is rejected as discussed above.
The combined teachings of Ding and Ehsani are discussed above. The combined teachings of Ding and Ehsani do not teach wherein the deblocking solution is a 1x PBS buffer.
Lee is drawn to a method of purifying nucleic acids using a silicon substrate or silica beads (abstract). Lee teaches using a washing buffer such as PBS as it can remove impurities without eluting nucleic acids from the solid silica support (paragraph 0039).
Millipore Sigma teaches a 1X PBS has a final concentration of 137 mM NaCl, 10 mM phosphate, 2.7 mM KCl and a pH 7.4.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the combined teachings of Ding and Ehsani with the teachings of Lee and Millipore Sigma before the effective filing date by selecting a phosphate buffer as taught by Lee and the phosphate buffer is a 1xPBS as taught by Millipore Sigma as the deblocking solution in the method taught by the combined teachings of Ding and Ehsani and optimizing the PBS buffer to be a pH between 6.0-8.0 as taught by Ding to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a 1xPBS buffer as the deblocking solution and optimize the pH to be between 6.0-8.0 in the method taught by the combined teachings of Ding and Ehsani because Lee teaches that 1xPBS can remove impurities without eluting nucleic acids from the solid silica support and Ding teaches that an aqueous solution with a pH between 6.0-8.0 may be used to remove impurities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Lee teaches that PBS can remove impurities without eluting nucleic acids from the solid silica support. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 12-19 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10 and 12-18 of Ding et al. (US 9,163,230 B2, published 10/20/2015, PTO-892) in view of Ehsani et al. (Korean J. Chem. Eng, published 04/29/2021, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are drawn to a method for isolating nucleic acid, comprising: a) providing a chromatography column comprising a first solid layer and a second solid layer which are serially coupled so that solutions flow through the first layer and then the second b) flowing a first aqueous solution containing nucleic acid through the first layer to which the nucleic acid becomes bound, c) flowing a second aqueous solution through the first layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid, and then flowing the eluted solution through the second layer to which the eluted nucleic acid becomes bound, wherein the second solution comprises chaotropic salt selected from the group consisting of guanidinium thiocyanate, guanidinium hydrochloride, sodium iodide, and sodium perchlorate, and d) flowing a third aqueous solution through the second layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid. Ding teaches that the method may be used for isolating nucleic acid embraced by proteins, e.g., viruses, and for isolating diluted nucleic acid in a large volume, e.g., plasma (abstract). Ding does not disclose adding a reverse wash as a deblocking step. Ehsani teaches that backwashing is frequently used in cross-flow filtration processes for foulant removal and flux recovery wherein the solution is pumped backward through the membrane in order to provide a periodic backwash. The backward flow dislodges the deposited particles and improves the membrane permeability (page 1541). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a backwashing or deblocking step to remove foulants and improve recovery to the method of isolating nucleic acids taught by Ding.
Thus, the claims are obvious over the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9, 10 and 12-18 of Ding et al. (US 9,163,230 B2, published 10/20/2015, PTO-892) in view of Ehsani et al. (Korean J. Chem. Eng, published 04/29/2021, PTO-892), Lee et al. (US 2006/0110725 A1, published 05/25/2006, PTO-892) and Millipore Sigma (https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/US/en/support/calculators-and-apps/1x-phosphate-buffered-saline, published 02/01/2022, accessed 09/14/2026, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are drawn to a method for isolating nucleic acid, comprising: a) providing a chromatography column comprising a first solid layer and a second solid layer which are serially coupled so that solutions flow through the first layer and then the second b) flowing a first aqueous solution containing nucleic acid through the first layer to which the nucleic acid becomes bound, c) flowing a second aqueous solution through the first layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid, and then flowing the eluted solution through the second layer to which the eluted nucleic acid becomes bound, wherein the second solution comprises chaotropic salt selected from the group consisting of guanidinium thiocyanate, guanidinium hydrochloride, sodium iodide, and sodium perchlorate, and d) flowing a third aqueous solution through the second layer and eluting the bound nucleic acid. Ding does not disclose adding a reverse wash as a deblocking step that is 1xPBS. Ehsani teaches that backwashing is frequently used in cross-flow filtration processes for foulant removal and flux recovery wherein the solution is pumped backward through the membrane in order to provide a periodic backwash. The backward flow dislodges the deposited particles and improves the membrane permeability (page 1541). Lee teaches using a washing buffer such as PBS as it can remove impurities without eluting nucleic acids from the solid silica support (paragraph 0039). Millipore Sigma teaches a commercial 1xPBS buffer. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a backwashing or deblocking step to remove foulants and improve recovery to the method of isolating nucleic acids taught by Ding.
Thus, the claims are obvious over the instant claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art, Ding, is discussed above. Ding does not teach wherein the sample must comprise BOTH plasma and urine (examiner emphasis added). There are no teachings in the art to provide a reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine plasma and urine for the extraction of cell free nucleic acids and therefore the claim is free from the art.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/S.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693