DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley (US 8980161) further in view of Hartel (US 5447341) (and see exemplary Phelps (US 6607105));
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley in view of Hartel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gardner (US 11358851);
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley in view of Hartel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Currey (US 10760716);
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowley in view of Hartel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ladouceur (US 5090440);
Rowley discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 15 below);
A reservoir system (400 figure 13-15) comprising: a first container portion (at 1000a) including a first side wall (at 1002a) having a first neck (at 1004a) defining a first opening (at 1006a); a second container portion (at 1000b) including a second side wall (at 1002b) having a second neck (at 1004b) defining a second opening (at 1006b); a first fitting (at 464) including a longitudinally extending first projection (the body of 468) received within the first opening of the first container portion, and a connector (at 456) in fluid communication with the first projection; a first tube (at 458) including a proximal end and a distal end (necessarily), the first tube fluidly coupled to the first fitting (via 472); a first overmold (of 464) securing the proximal end of the first tube to the first fitting (per Col 14 ln 21-23); a second fitting (at 464a) including a longitudinally extending second projection (468a) received within the second opening of the second container portion, and [the] connector in fluid communication with the second projection, the connector fluidly [coupling] the first fitting with the second fitting; a second tube (460) including a proximal end and a distal end (necessarily), the second tube fluidly coupled to the second fitting; and a second overmold (of 464a per Col 14 ln 21-23) securing the proximal end of the second tube to the second fitting; Rowley does not disclose: longitudinally barbed projections fluidly coupled to a transversely extending male/female connectors; Hartel teaches: longitudinally barbed projection (for example 3 can be the longitudinally lower connection, figure 1) fluidly coupled to a transversely extending male/female connectors (for example, 5 can be the transversely extending male connector, with 8 acting as the female connector portion, all provided for the purpose of for example, assembling the tube connections in-situ for manufacturing of the fluid device, Comment: it is noted that it is common in the art to provide Tee shaped pipe connectors for connecting various passages for fluid communication there between, see exemplary Phelps figure 6);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Rowley as taught in Hartel with first and second longitudinally barbed projections that are fluidly coupled to a transversely extending male/female connectors, all provided for the purpose of for example, assembling the tube connections in-situ for manufacturing of the fluid device; and where it is common in the art to provide Tee shaped pipe connectors for connecting various passages for fluid communication there between.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 2: The reservoir system of claim 1, wherein: the first container portion is an upper portion of a first [half] container; and the second container portion is an upper portion of a second [half] container positioned in spaced relation to the first container (the portions are separate containers at the top that are in spaced transverse relation.); Rowley does not disclose: separately formed first and second containers, but Gardner teaches: separately formed containers 200.1 an 200.2 figure 2, provided for example a ganged reservoir system of reproducible parts. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Rowley as taught in Gardner, with separately formed containers as taught in Gardner, all provided for example a ganged reservoir system of reproducible parts.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The reservoir system of claim 1, wherein a single container defines the first container portion and the second container portion (the separate container with top potions are connected in U-shape arrangement below.)
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The reservoir system of claim 1, but does not disclose: a sealing ring positioned between the male connector and the female connector; although Currey teaches: an o-ring (120 figure 11) between the male connector and female connector to reduce fluid leakage out of the connection;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Rowley as modified by Hartel for the reasons discussed above, with an o-ring seal as taught in Currey between the male connector and female connector for the purpose of reducing fluid leakage out of the connection.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The reservoir system of claim 1, Rowley does not disclose, although Ladouceur teaches: a fluid coupler overmolded (at 62 figure 2) around a distal end of the first tube (66, provided for the purpose of making a tubular connection between parts in a fluid tight manner.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Rowley as taught in Ladouceur, a fluid coupler overmolded around a distal end of the first tube of Rowley as taught in Ladouceur, and all provided for the purpose of making a tubular connection between parts in a fluid tight manner.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The reservoir system of claim 1, wherein: the first overmold comprises a first collar (464 is a collar shape) concentrically received around the proximal end of the first tube; and the second overmold comprises a second collar (464a is a collar shape) concentrically received around the proximal end of the second tube.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: The reservoir system of claim 6, wherein: the first fitting further includes a longitudinally extending first upper projection (Rowley/Hartel at 4 figure 1 as applied to fitting 464 of Rowley) in fluid communication with the first barbed projection; the first tube (as modified by Hartel, the tube of Rowley at 458 as shown in 7 of Hartel…) is captured between the upper projection and the first collar (464 of Rowley and 12 of Hartel); the second fitting further includes a longitudinally extending second upper projection (Rowley/Hartel at 4 figure 1 as applied to fitting 464 of Rowley) in fluid communication with the second barbed projection; and the second tube is captured between the upper projection and the second collar (as discussed);
where it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Rowley as taught in Hartel with an upper protruding barbed projections with the tubes captured between the collar of Rowley/Hartel as taught therein and the upper projections of Rowley/Hartel, all for the purposes as discussed above.
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 10: The reservoir system of claim 1, wherein the first fitting and the second fitting are formed of a polymer (Col 2 ln 25-30.)
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 11: The reservoir system of claim 10, wherein the polymer of the first fitting and the second fitting are formed of a cross-linked polyethylene (id.)
Rowley discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 12: The reservoir system of claim 1, but figure 15 does not disclose, although figures 8a and 8b teach: the first neck includes a first inset tube (162) defining the first opening; and the second neck includes a second inset tube (162 for that side) defining the second opening (provided for the purpose of mitigating thermal expansion and contraction and fluid leakage there through by maintaining a constant and consistent material profile during use (Col 6 ln 28-37.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in figure 8b for that of figure 15, a first and second inset tube in the first and second necks, all for the purpose of mitigating thermal expansion and contraction and fluid leakage there through by maintaining a constant and consistent material profile during use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13- 34 are allowed. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 9 depends from claim 8, and so is allowable based merely on the dependency.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the following:
in claim 8: “a releasable retainer extending between the male connector and the female connector” in combination with the other limitations set forth above;
in claims 13 and 26: “…first and second longitudinally extending upper projection.. a transversely extending male connector… transversely extending female connector… the male connector received within the female connector to fluidly couple the first fitting with the second fitting… a releasable retainer extending between the male connector and the female connector” in combination with the other limitations set forth in those independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753