DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, 17, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0309485), cited by applicant in IDS dated 07/12/2024, in view of Musiani et al. (US 2024/0242503, hereinafter “Musiani”).
In regards to claim 1, Hamada teaches a cart-based point-of-sale terminal, comprising:
a display device mounted on a shopping cart (Hamada; Fig. 3); and
a control unit configured to:
register items of merchandise for purchase in a sales transaction (Hamada; pars [0074]-[0075], [0087]; Fig. 7, ACT6, Fig. 8), and
cause the display device to display a shopping basket notification to a user before a user can register any items of merchandise (Hamada; pars [0063], [0073], Fig. 7, ACT1).
Hamada does not explicitly teach wherein the shopping basket notification is one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart.
Musiani teaches a shopping basket notification being one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize feature of Musiani, whereby it is detected if a shopping basket is placed in the shopping cart properly, in the cart-based point-of-sale terminal of Hamada, by using the weight sensors of Hamada (Hamada; [0039], [0077]), in order to be able to detect when a shopping basket has been placed properly in the shopping cart and notify the user, using the display screen of Hamada, to reposition the basket, if necessary, for accurate shopping (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
In regards to claim 5, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
receive weight detection output from a weight sensor on the shopping cart (Hamada; Fig. 3, pars [0039], [0077]), wherein the display device is caused to display the shopping basket notification to the user when the weight detection output is received before a start of merchandise registration and the weight detection output corresponds to an expected weight change of an empty shopping basket cart (This is a contingent limitation that is not required by the claim as presently written. Hamada teaches the structure required to perform the function, i.e. the control unit. MPEP 2111.04.).
In regards to claim 6, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
receive weight detection output from a weight sensor on the shopping cart (Hamada; Fig. 3, pars [0039], [0077]), and cause the display device to display a warning notification different from the shopping basket notification when the weight detection output indicates a weight greater than an expected weight change of an empty shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart (Hamada, Fig. 12; However, it is noted that this is a contingent limitation that is not required by the claim as presently written. MPEP 2111.04.).
In regards to claim 7, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to: receive weight detection output from a weight sensor on the shopping cart (Hamada; Fig. 3, pars [0039], [0077]), and cause the display device to display a warning notification different from the shopping basket notification when the weight detection output indicates repeated changes in weight during a fixed period of time (Hamada, Fig. 9, par [0019]; However, it is noted that this is a contingent limitation that is not required by the claim as presently written. MPEP 2111.04.).
In regards to claim 8, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 1, further comprising:
a weight sensor on the shopping cart (Hamada; Figs. 2, 3), wherein
the control unit is further configured to:
receive weight detection output from the weight sensor (Hamada; Fig. 3, pars [0039], [0077]).
In regards to claim 9, Hamada teaches a cart-based point-of-sale system, comprising:
a cart (Hamada; Fig. 3);
a weighing device on the cart (Hamada; Figs. 2, 3);
a product scanner on the cart (Hamada; Figs. 2, 3);
a display device on the cart (Hamada; Fig. 3); and
a point-of-sale terminal on the cart (Hamada; Figs. 2, 3) and including a control unit configured to:
register items of merchandise for purchase in a sales transaction based on input from the product scanner (Hamada; pars [0074]-[0075], [0087]; Fig. 7, ACT6, Fig. 8), and
cause the display device to display a shopping basket notification to a user before a user can register any items of merchandise (Hamada; pars [0063], [0073], Fig. 7, ACT1).
Hamada does not explicitly teach wherein the shopping basket notification is one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart.
Musiani teaches a shopping basket notification being one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize feature of Musiani, whereby it is detected if a shopping basket is placed in the shopping cart properly, in the cart-based point-of-sale terminal of Hamada, by using the weight sensors of Hamada (Hamada; [0039], [0077]), in order to be able to detect when a shopping basket has been placed properly in the shopping cart and notify the user, using the display screen of Hamada, to reposition the basket, if necessary, for accurate shopping (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected with the same rationale as claims 5-7, respectively.
In regards to claim 16, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale system according to claim 9, wherein the point-of-sale terminal further includes:
a communication interface connected to a server device (Hamada; pars [0019], [0078]), and
the control unit registers items of merchandise for purchase in the sales transaction by sending merchandise codes to the server device (Hamada; pars [0019], [0077]).
In regards to claim 17, Hamada teaches a method for a cart-based point-of-sale terminal, the method comprising:
causing a display device mounted on a shopping cart to display a shopping basket notification to a user before a user can register items of merchandise for purchase in a sales transaction (Hamada; pars [0063], [0073], Fig. 7, ACT1); and
registering an item of merchandise for purchase in the sales transaction after the shopping basket notification is cleared from the display device (Hamada; pars [0074]-[0075], [0087]; Fig. 7, ACT6, Fig. 8).
Hamada does not explicitly teach wherein the shopping basket notification is one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart.
Musiani teaches a shopping basket notification being one of:
a notification prompting the user to place a shopping basket on the shopping cart, a notification prompting the user to check whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart, and a notification prompting the user to correctly place a shopping basket on the shopping cart (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize feature of Musiani, whereby it is detected if a shopping basket is placed in the shopping cart properly, in the cart-based point-of-sale terminal of Hamada, by using the weight sensors of Hamada (Hamada; [0039], [0077]), in order to be able to detect when a shopping basket has been placed properly in the shopping cart and notify the user, using the display screen of Hamada, to reposition the basket, if necessary, for accurate shopping (Musiani; pars [0200], [0204]).
Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claims 2-4, 10-12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada in view of Musiani, further in view of Andronic et al. (US 2022/0207504, hereinafter “Andronic”).
In regards to claim 2, Hamada in view of Musiani teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to: receive weight detection output from a weight sensor on the shopping cart (Hamada; Fig. 3, pars [0039], [0077]).
Hamada does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is further configured to: determine whether a shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart based on the weight detection output from the weight sensor.
Andronic teaches determining whether a shopping basket has been placed on a support plate based on the weight detection output from a weight sensor (Andronic; pars [0064], [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize feature of Andronic, whereby it is detected if a shopping basket is placed in the weighing area, in the in the cart-based point-of-sale terminal of Hamada, in order to be able to detect when a shopping basket has been placed in the shopping cart (Andronic; par [0096]). Moreover, this would amount to a simple substitution of using the weighing mechanism of Hamada to detect the weight of items of merchandise with using it to detect the weight of a shopping basket and would yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
In regards to claim 3, Hamada in view of Musiani, further in view of Andronic teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
cause the display device to end display of the shopping basket notification when it is determined the shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart (This is a contingent limitation that is not required by the claim as presently written. Claim 2 requires determining whether a shopping basket has been placed on the cart and this claim further defines a scenario which is not required. The combination of Hamada in view Andronic teaches the structure required to perform the function, i.e. the control unit. MPEP 2111.04.).
In regards to claim 4, Hamada in view of Musiani, further in view of Andronic teaches the cart-based point-of-sale terminal according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
cause the display device to start display of the shopping basket notification when it is determined that the shopping basket has been placed on the shopping cart (Andronic; par [0098] – starts transaction with customer after basket is detected, which could obviously include customer login screen; However, it is noted that this is a contingent limitation that is not required by the claim as presently written. Claim 2 requires determining whether a shopping basket has been placed on the cart and this claim further defines a scenario which is not required. MPEP 2111.04.).
Claims 10-12 are rejected with the same rationale as claims 2-4, respectively.
Claims 18-19 are rejected with the same rationale as claims 2-3, respectively.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the title has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVITA STANLEY/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153