DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that neither Tsai or Hwang, alone or in combination, teach or suggest receiving a selection of a master network function from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type and providing, using the master network function, the configuration update to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type.
In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim elements are recited broadly. The elements master network function, slave network function, predetermined network function type are not further limited or defined in the limitation. Tsai teaches on the limitations as recited.
Tsai teaches … receiving a selection of a master network function (ie. top-level information element A) from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category); See Tsai, [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] OR-FE can create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function. The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction.
… providing, using the master network function, the configuration update to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type; See Tsai, [0037] This multi-level property also enables distributed state updates of a virtualized network function based on a set of updates propagating in a reverse-direction of the data pipeline. Both the forward-direction actions and reverse direction updates can occur autonomously and intelligently by virtue of the hierarchy of information elements being arranged with an event data pipeline. [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. {Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.}
Tsai teaches on most of the limitations of the independent claims. However, Tsai is silent on displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions.
Hwang teaches displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. See Hwang, [0051]-[0055] The VNFM 120 may manage instance creation, update query, and termination of each of the plurality of VNFs 220. [0094][0095] The NFV orchestrator 110 may then provide the OSS/BSS with the VNF service status and failure information requested from the OSS/BSS operator. At this time, the VNF service status and failure information may be displayed on the UI screen (S120). [0098] Then, the NFV orchestrator 110 may display hardware information of the infrastructure such as service status, failures, and statistics through the UI screen. That is, the NFV orchestrator 110 may provide the hardware information to the OSS operator through the UI screen (S150).
It would have been obvious to modify Tsai per Hwang as it would allow the modified system to provide a more comprehensive and user friendly way to view and track status updates/configurations of the NFs by utilizing a display/GUI for viewing received status information.
Please see rejection below in view of:
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang) further in view of US 20210176192 A1 (Li).
Claim(s) 7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang) further in view of US 2022/0012042 A1 (Doshi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang).
Regarding Claim 1:
Tsai teaches A method for providing a configuration update to a plurality of network functions of a predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category) in a communication network, ([0038] To accommodate different kinds of virtualized network functions that could be requested by subscribers, the OR-FE 201 can determine a category to which the virtualized network function belong, and determining the hierarchy of information elements based on a template associated with the category. The template can specify the data pipeline suitable for the category of virtualized network functions. [0045] Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) the method comprising:
receiving a selection of a master network function (ie. top-level information element A) from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category); ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function.)
applying the configuration update to the master network function; ([0048] OR-FE can create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function. The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction. [0050] update configuration of information elements. See examples, [0067]-[0082])
providing, using the master network function, the configuration update to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type; ([0037] This multi-level property also enables distributed state updates of a virtualized network function based on a set of updates propagating in a reverse-direction of the data pipeline. Both the forward-direction actions and reverse direction updates can occur autonomously and intelligently by virtue of the hierarchy of information elements being arranged with an event data pipeline. [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.
receiving, using the master network function, a status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions (ie. A1 and A2); ([0042][0054][0073][0080] Status is received hierarchically, through the master network function, top level information element A.)
and storing the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0042] To provide end-to-end (E2E) service integrity and performance monitoring, the data pipeline can be used to collect events and/or statistics from OR-FE and distributed back-end agents and to communicate with external Operational Support System (OSS) or Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) systems. The collection of events and/or statistics to update the distributed data store 210 can occur through KS watch and update operations.)
Tsai teaches on storing the status of the configuration update ([0042]). However, Tsai is silent on displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions.
Hwang teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on an integrated platform management apparatus to which SDN and NFV technologies are applied, Abstract.
Hwang also teaches displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0051]-[0055] The VNFM 120 may manage instance creation, update query, and termination of each of the plurality of VNFs 220. [0094][0095] The NFV orchestrator 110 may then provide the OSS/BSS with the VNF service status and failure information requested from the OSS/BSS operator. At this time, the VNF service status and failure information may be displayed on the UI screen (S120). [0098] Then, the NFV orchestrator 110 may display hardware information of the infrastructure such as service status, failures, and statistics through the UI screen. That is, the NFV orchestrator 110 may provide the hardware information to the OSS operator through the UI screen (S150).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai per Hwang to include displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a more comprehensive and user friendly way to view and track status updates/configurations of the NFs by utilizing a display/GUI for viewing received status information.
Regarding Claim 8:
Tsai teaches A system for providing a configuration update to a plurality of network functions of a predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category) in a communication network; ([0038] To accommodate different kinds of virtualized network functions that could be requested by subscribers, the OR-FE 201 can determine a category to which the virtualized network function belong, and determining the hierarchy of information elements based on a template associated with the category. The template can specify the data pipeline suitable for the category of virtualized network functions. [0045] Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.)
the system comprising: a memory that stored one or more computer readable media that include instructions; and one or more processor devices ([0018]) Functions described in this disclosure may be implemented as an algorithm executed by a processor, e.g., a microprocessor, of a computer. Aspects of the disclosure may take the form of a computer program product embodied in one or more computer readable medium(s) having computer readable program code embodied, e.g., stored, thereon.) configured to execute the instructions of the computer readable media to:
receive a selection of a master network function (ie. top-level information element A) from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category); ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function.)
apply the configuration update to the master network function; ([0048] OR-FE can create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function. The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction. [0050] update configuration of information elements. See examples, [0067]-[0082])
provide the configuration update from the master network function to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type; ([0037] This multi-level property also enables distributed state updates of a virtualized network function based on a set of updates propagating in a reverse-direction of the data pipeline. Both the forward-direction actions and reverse direction updates can occur autonomously and intelligently by virtue of the hierarchy of information elements being arranged with an event data pipeline. [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.
receive a status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions (ie. A1 and A2); ([0042][0054][0073][0080] Status is received hierarchically, through the master network function, top level information element A.)
and storing the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0042] To provide end-to-end (E2E) service integrity and performance monitoring, the data pipeline can be used to collect events and/or statistics from OR-FE and distributed back-end agents and to communicate with external Operational Support System (OSS) or Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) systems. The collection of events and/or statistics to update the distributed data store 210 can occur through KS watch and update operations.)
Tsai teaches on storing the status of the configuration update ([0042]). However, Tsai is silent on displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions.
Hwang teaches displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0051]-[0055] The VNFM 120 may manage instance creation, update query, and termination of each of the plurality of VNFs 220. [0094][0095] The NFV orchestrator 110 may then provide the OSS/BSS with the VNF service status and failure information requested from the OSS/BSS operator. At this time, the VNF service status and failure information may be displayed on the UI screen (S120). [0098] Then, the NFV orchestrator 110 may display hardware information of the infrastructure such as service status, failures, and statistics through the UI screen. That is, the NFV orchestrator 110 may provide the hardware information to the OSS operator through the UI screen (S150).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai per Hwang to include displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a more comprehensive and user friendly way to view and track status updates/configurations of the NFs by utilizing a display/GUI for viewing received status information.
Regarding Claim 14:
Tsai teaches A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions, that, when executed by an electronic processor, perform a set of functions, ([0018]) Functions described in this disclosure may be implemented as an algorithm executed by a processor, e.g., a microprocessor, of a computer. Aspects of the disclosure may take the form of a computer program product embodied in one or more computer readable medium(s) having computer readable program code embodied, e.g., stored, thereon.) the set of functions comprising:
receiving a selection of a master network function from a plurality of network functions of a predetermined network function type (ie. same pipeline/cluster category) in a communication network; ([0038] To accommodate different kinds of virtualized network functions that could be requested by subscribers, the OR-FE 201 can determine a category to which the virtualized network function belong, and determining the hierarchy of information elements based on a template associated with the category. The template can specify the data pipeline suitable for the category of virtualized network functions. [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function.)
applying the configuration update to the master network function; ([0048] OR-FE can create or request to create a top-level information element A for the virtualized network function. The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction. [0050] update configuration of information elements. See examples, [0067]-[0082])
providing the configuration update from the master network function to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type; ([0037] This multi-level property also enables distributed state updates of a virtualized network function based on a set of updates propagating in a reverse-direction of the data pipeline. Both the forward-direction actions and reverse direction updates can occur autonomously and intelligently by virtue of the hierarchy of information elements being arranged with an event data pipeline. [0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.
receiving, using the master network function, a status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions (ie. A1 and A2); ([0042][0054][0073][0080] Status is received hierarchically, through the master network function, top level information element A.)
and storing the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0042] To provide end-to-end (E2E) service integrity and performance monitoring, the data pipeline can be used to collect events and/or statistics from OR-FE and distributed back-end agents and to communicate with external Operational Support System (OSS) or Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) systems. The collection of events and/or statistics to update the distributed data store 210 can occur through KS watch and update operations.)
Tsai teaches on storing the status of the configuration update ([0042]). However, Tsai is silent on displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions.
Hwang teaches displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. ([0051]-[0055] The VNFM 120 may manage instance creation, update query, and termination of each of the plurality of VNFs 220. [0094][0095] The NFV orchestrator 110 may then provide the OSS/BSS with the VNF service status and failure information requested from the OSS/BSS operator. At this time, the VNF service status and failure information may be displayed on the UI screen (S120). [0098] Then, the NFV orchestrator 110 may display hardware information of the infrastructure such as service status, failures, and statistics through the UI screen. That is, the NFV orchestrator 110 may provide the hardware information to the OSS operator through the UI screen (S150).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai per Hwang to include displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a more comprehensive and user friendly way to view and track status updates/configurations of the NFs by utilizing a display/GUI for viewing received status information.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 16:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8, 14 as described.
Tsai teaches wherein the configuration update relates to a subset of the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type and the set of slave network functions comprises the subset of the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type. ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 17:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8, 14 as described.
Tsai teaches wherein the configuration update relates to all of the network functions in the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type and the set of slave network functions comprises all of the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type except for the selected master network function. ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline.) Subset is A1 and A2, A is the top level.
Regarding Claims 4, 12, 18:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8, 14 as described.
Tsai teaches wherein the master network function is located at a first site (Fig 3, domain1) and at least one of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions is located at the first site (Fig 3, domain1). ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction.)
Regarding Claims 5, 9:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8 as described.
Tsai teaches on storing the status of the configuration update ([0042]). However, Tsai is silent on wherein displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions comprises generating a graphical user interface.
Hwang teaches wherein displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions comprises generating a graphical user interface. ([0094][0095] The NFV orchestrator 110 may then provide the OSS/BSS with the VNF service status and failure information requested from the OSS/BSS operator. At this time, the VNF service status and failure information may be displayed on the UI screen (S120). [0098] Then, the NFV orchestrator 110 may display hardware information of the infrastructure such as service status, failures, and statistics through the UI screen. That is, the NFV orchestrator 110 may provide the hardware information to the OSS operator through the UI screen (S150).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai per Hwang to include wherein displaying the status of the configuration update for each of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions comprises generating a graphical user interface. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a more comprehensive and user friendly way to view and track status updates/configurations of the NFs by utilizing a display/GUI for viewing received status information.
Regarding Claim 15:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the invention of claim 14 as described.
Tsai teaches wherein providing the configuration update from the master network function to a set of slave network functions from the plurality of network functions of the predetermined network function type comprises communicating the configuration update via a service-based interface of the communication network. ([0045] The exemplary hierarchy of information elements 301 includes a top-level information element A and at least two sub-level information elements Al and A2. The top-level information element A forms a first stage of the data pipeline, and the sub-level information elements Al and A2 form a second stage of the data pipeline. Actions and updates are prescribed for the hierarchy of information elements to form an event data pipeline. [0048] The top-level information element A serves as a starting point for the provisioning actions in the forward-direction. [0096] Each of the network elements can also include suitable interfaces for receiving, transmitting, and/or otherwise communicating data or information in a network environment.)
Claim(s) 6, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang) further in view of US 20210176192 A1 (Li).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, 19:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8, 14 as described.
Tsai teaches on a network with implementations across the network (Fig 2, Fig 3 [0045]). However, Tsai (as modified by Hwang) is silent on wherein the master network function is located at a first site and at least one of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions is located at a different site than the first site.
Li teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a processing system that maintains a policy for a first capacity agent at a first hierarchical layer, Abstract.
Li also teaches wherein the master network function is located at a first site and at least one of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions is located at a different site than the first site. ([0025] The communication network 120 may be configured such that the capacity resources 121 are organized hierarchically and, similarly, such that the capacity management functions 122 are configured to support hierarchical management of the capacity resources 121. For example, the capacity resources 121 may be distributed across hosts within datacenters, may be distributed across datacenters (e.g., access datacenters, core datacenters, local datacenters, regional datacenters, and so forth), may be distributed across regions of a network.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai (as modified Hwang) by modifying Tsai per Li to include wherein the master network function is located at a first site and at least one of the slave network functions in the set of slave network functions is located at a different site than the first site. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide flexible implementation into varied network architectures allowing for remote or local hierarchical configuration updates.
Claim(s) 7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0239647 A1 (Tsai) in view of US 2018/0316543 A1 (Hwang) further in view of US 2022/0012042 A1 (Doshi).
Regarding Claims 7, 20:
Tsai (as modified by Hwang) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8 as described.
Tsai teaches on various network types including wireless and cellular ([0088][0093]). However, Tsai (as modified by Hwang) is silent on wherein the communication network is a 5G cellular network having a service-based architecture.
Doshi teaches, in the same field of endeavor, methods for providing secure and resilient configuration upgrades, Abstract.
Doshi also teaches wherein the communication network is a 5G cellular network having a service-based architecture. ([0040] The Edge cloud 110 may be envisioned as an "Edge" which connects the endpoint devices and traditional network access points that serve as an ingress point into service provider core networks including 5G/6G networks, etc.), while also providing storage and/or compute capabilities.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Tsai (as modified Hwang) by modifying Tsai per Doshi to include wherein the communication network is a 5G cellular network having a service-based architecture. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide flexibility for implementation into varied and popular network architectures.
Conclusion & Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454