DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on August 05, 2026, in which claims 1, 4, 15 and 20 are amended, claims 12 and 13 are canceled, claims 21 and 22 are new, and claims 1-11 and 14-22 are still pending.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, filed on August 05, 2026, with respect to Claims 1-11 and 14-22 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
4. With regards to arguments for independent claims 1, 4 and 15, applicants argue that Drozdov et al. (US 2024/0121377 A1), Tsang (US 2012/0314021 A1) and Chan et al. (US 2020/0137460 A1) fail to disclose authenticating the viewer to establish an identity of the viewer; determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of a designated set of possible vantage points; and decrypting the set of image frames based on authenticating the viewer and further based on determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of the designated set of possible vantage points to generate a decrypted set of image frames; However, the examiner respectfully agrees and moot in view of the new grounds of rejections regarding claims 1, 4 and 15, since in Gates et al. (US 2017/0161506 A1) teaches (“the security plugin encrypts, tokenizes or otherwise transforms the content so that the content is renderable by the word processor but the content is not human readable at display 12. The end user puts on wearable display 20 having a wearable view display 22 in glasses that include biometric user authentication, such as iris scan. Wearable display 20 authenticates the user and establishes a secure wireless connection with portable information handling system 10, such as through Bluetooth, WiFi or a wireless display interface that sends pixel data. A security application running on wearable display device 20 receives content typed into portable information handling system 10 for presentation in unencrypted form at wearable view display 22 so that the end user sees typed content as if presented at display 12. Various security techniques may be applied to protect the information transmitted over the wireless communications link, and to determine if the information should be transmitted to the secondary device, including using a session key to encrypt the information and using location proximity and user authentication to determine if the information should be transmitted.” [0018] “Security module 36 forms the opposing end of the security environment by accepting encrypted information and presenting the encrypted information in decrypted form at wearable view display 22. The manner of transfer of information and the manner of presentation may vary based on the available wireless bandwidth, the type of information and user preferences. For example, with a wideband wireless interface, such as a 60 GHz interface, wearable display 20 acts as a second display of portable information handling system by accepting pixel values through the wireless interface. With a more narrow bandwidth, such as a Bluetooth interface, portable information handling system sends content as text, such as typed inputs. If no secure wireless signal is available, encrypted text presented at display 12 and captured with a camera of wearable display 20 is determined from the captured image with optical code reading and decrypted for presentation by wearable view display 22. In any of the examples, wearable display 20 may present content as an overlay of portable information handling system 10 such that the user views content in the same place that the user would view the content at portable information handling system 10 directly in a secure area. For example, portable information handling system 10 presents a blue screen or other identifier that a camera of wearable display 20 captures so that wearable display 20 superimposes the decrypted information at the position where it would have been presented on display 12.” [0020]) Gates teaches biometric user authentication authenticates the user and establishes a secure connection, presents content as an overlay of portable information handling system such that the user views content in the same place that the user would view the content at portable information handling system directly in a secure area, and a wearable display superimposes the decrypted information at the position where it would have been presented on display. Therefore, Gates teaches the arguments of the limitations for claims 1, 4 and 15 as it is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-11 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drozdov et al. (US 2024/0121377 A1) in view of Tsang (US 2012/0314021 A1) and Gates et al. (US 2017/0161506 A1).
9. With reference to claim 1, Drozdov teaches A computer-implemented method performed by a predictive display system (PDS), the method comprising: capturing, by a set of one or more cameras of the PDS, images of a physical object from different angles; (“a method includes a method for enabling projection of images from a digital display, the method comprising: a) obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display;” [0008-0009] “FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “FIG. 1 shows a plurality of cameras 110 (shown above the 3D display 100), and three viewers represented in the figure by the glasses shown looking at a 3D-rendered object being displayed (the soccer ball). It is noted that based on where the viewers are located relative to the display, the cameras may receive image data at different angles and distances for the different viewers.” [0049]) Drozdov also teaches generating, by a holographic image generator of the PDS based on the images of the physical object, a 3-D image of the physical object; (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “A 3D-enabled digital display, or simply a 3D display 100, refers to a display that generates three-dimensional (3D) output for a viewer, for example, one that uses lenticular lenses.” [0046] “Infrared laser displays focus light on a point in space, generating a plasma that emits visible light. Holographic displays implement a multi-directional backlight that enable a wide parallax angle view to display 3D images. Integral imaging displays implement an array of microlenses in front of an image and reproduces a 3D light field that exhibit parallax as the viewer moves. Compressive light field displays implement layered panels that are algorithm-driven to generate 3D content for the viewer. The 3D display 100 may implement any of these and/or a wide variety of technologies now known or later developed.” [0048]) Drozdov further teaches computing, by a positional frame set computation component of the PDS based on the 3-D image of the physical object, sets of image frames, (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. At 802, the method may include detecting face and eye landmarks for the one or more viewers in one or more image frames based on the face image data.” [0068] “For each frame, the facial landmark detector may compute additional frames. For example, frames may be computed where the face bounding box is slightly moved in a random direction, in order to prevent the model from being limited to facial landmarks that are in the middle of a frame.” [0094] “The face detection algorithm may be further used to compute head pose in six degrees of freedom (DOF). Some exemplary methods for estimating head pose localization and angular orientation can be a detector array method (DAM), in which a series of head detectors are trained, each configured to classify a specific pose and assign a discrete pose to the detector with the greatest support, a technique using machine learning and neural networks. This method can be supplanted or replaced by Nonlinear Regression Methods (NRM), which estimates head pose by learning a nonlinear functional mapping from the image space to one or more pose directions, normally using regression tools and neural networks. Additional methods can be, for example: a flexible algorithm, in which a non-rigid model is fit to the facial structure of the user in the image and wherein head pose is estimated from feature-level comparisons or from the instantiation of the parameters, using the location of extracted features such as the eyes, mouth, and nose tip to determine pose from their relative configuration, recovering the global pose change of the head from the observed movement between video frames then using weighted least squares on particle filtering to discern the head pose.” [0113]) Drozdov teaches determining, by a viewer vantage point and eye position monitor of the PDS, a vantage point of a viewer with respect to a display device of the PDS; (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. …the 3D eye position may include the distance of the viewer's eye from the 3D display, or the location of the viewer's eye ball(s) in an x, y, z coordinate reference grid including the 3D display.” [0068-0069] “the method may include acquiring eye region image data of a plurality of viewers within a field of view of at least one camera associated with a 3D-enabled digital display. The field of view may be defined in two-dimensional or three-dimensional space, such as from side-to-side, top-to-bottom, and far or near. The method may include analyzing the eye region image data to determine at least one 3D eye position, at least one gaze angle, and at least one point-of-regard for at least one viewer relative to at least one camera associated with the 3D-enabled digital display, from which to estimate gaze direction or PoR. Input from more than one source (e.g., multiple cameras) may be received. In some embodiments, the method may include analyzing the eye region image data for at least one of engagement with the 3D-enabled digital display, fixation, or saccade.” [0079]) Drozdov also teaches selecting a set of image frames from among the sets of image frames to be displayed on the display device of the PDS based on the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device; and displaying the set of image frames on the display device of the PDS. (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. At 802, the method may include detecting face and eye landmarks for the one or more viewers in one or more image frames based on the face image data.” [0068] “FIG. 9 is a flowchart that shows a method for selecting image data to be used in 3D image projection, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 900, the method may include determining, based on image data from one or more cameras in proximity to the 3D-enabled digital display a) one or more facial landmarks of each of the one or more viewers of the 3D-enabled digital display 902; b) a point of regard (PoR) of each eye of each of one or more viewers of a 3D-enabled digital display 904; and c) a position of each eye of each of the one or more viewers relative to the 3D-enabled digital display 906.” [0083] “the method may include selecting, based on the analyzing, image data for each eye of each of the one or more viewers of the 3D-enabled digital display.” [0085] “the method may include rendering the plurality of image projections for respective viewers on the single 3D display.” [0089])
Drozdov does not explicitly teach each set of image frames represents the physical object from different vantage points; encrypting the sets of image frames; authenticating the viewer to establish an identity of the viewer; determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of a designated set of possible vantage points; decrypting the set of image frames based on authenticating the viewer and further based on determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of the designated set of possible vantage points to generate a decrypted set of image frames; and display the decrypted set of image frames. This is what Tsang teaches. Tsang teaches each set of image frames represents the physical object from different vantage points; (“a viewer observing the 3-D holographic scene 812 can experience the depth and the parallax or disparity, for example, when changing viewing positions with respect to the 3-D holographic scene 812 (e.g., as the observer views the 3-D holographic image(s) from different vantage points as the observer walks around the display area or otherwise shifts his viewing position in relation to the display area).” [0096] “the four HPMs 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008 can project four respective holographic 3-D scene (e.g., front view image portion, left-side view image portion, back view image portion, and right-side view image portion of the 3-D holographic reproduction of the original 3-D object scene) to the front direction, left-side direction, back direction, and right-side direction. The respective portions of the holographic 3-D scene (e.g., partial images from the respective display components that when combined form a whole 3-D holographic image that is part of the 3-D holographic scene), that is, the respective optical waves of the 3-D holographic images, that are projected from (e.g., emerging from) the respective display components 1010, 1012, 1014 and 1016 can be reflected, at least partially, off of the respective reflector components 1018, 1020, 1022 and 1024 so that the respective holographic 3-D image portions can be displayed together as a whole 3-D image of the 3-D holographic scene in a display area 1026 (e.g., 3-D chamber), which can be in an area located outside of the four HPMs 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008, and which can comprise, for example, a front display section, left-side display section, back display section and right-side display section that respectively can display the respective 3-D holographic image portions projected from the four HPMs 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008, to facilitate presenting the 3-D holographic image representing a portion (e.g., a frame, a moment in time, a section, a segment) of the original 3-D object scene as a whole 3-D holographic image to viewers. The reflector components 1018, 1020, 1022 and 1024 can be angled at a desired angle in relation to the display components 1010, 1012, 1014 and 1016 to facilitate accurate reflection of the respective holographic 3-D image portions to the desired positions (e.g., front, left side, back, right side) in the display area 1026.” [0102]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsang into Drozdov, in order to improve quality of the display of the 3-D integrated image.
The combination of Drozdov and Tsang does not explicitly teach encrypting the sets of image frames; authenticating the viewer to establish an identity of the viewer; determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of a designated set of possible vantage points; decrypting the set of image frames based on authenticating the viewer and further based on determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is one of the designated set of possible vantage points to generate a decrypted set of image frames; and display the decrypted set of image frames. This is what Gates teaches (“the security plugin encrypts, tokenizes or otherwise transforms the content so that the content is renderable by the word processor but the content is not human readable at display 12. The end user puts on wearable display 20 having a wearable view display 22 in glasses that include biometric user authentication, such as iris scan. Wearable display 20 authenticates the user and establishes a secure wireless connection with portable information handling system 10, such as through Bluetooth, WiFi or a wireless display interface that sends pixel data. A security application running on wearable display device 20 receives content typed into portable information handling system 10 for presentation in unencrypted form at wearable view display 22 so that the end user sees typed content as if presented at display 12. Various security techniques may be applied to protect the information transmitted over the wireless communications link, and to determine if the information should be transmitted to the secondary device, including using a session key to encrypt the information and using location proximity and user authentication to determine if the information should be transmitted.” [0018] “Security module 36 forms the opposing end of the security environment by accepting encrypted information and presenting the encrypted information in decrypted form at wearable view display 22. The manner of transfer of information and the manner of presentation may vary based on the available wireless bandwidth, the type of information and user preferences. For example, with a wideband wireless interface, such as a 60 GHz interface, wearable display 20 acts as a second display of portable information handling system by accepting pixel values through the wireless interface. With a more narrow bandwidth, such as a Bluetooth interface, portable information handling system sends content as text, such as typed inputs. If no secure wireless signal is available, encrypted text presented at display 12 and captured with a camera of wearable display 20 is determined from the captured image with optical code reading and decrypted for presentation by wearable view display 22. In any of the examples, wearable display 20 may present content as an overlay of portable information handling system 10 such that the user views content in the same place that the user would view the content at portable information handling system 10 directly in a secure area. For example, portable information handling system 10 presents a blue screen or other identifier that a camera of wearable display 20 captures so that wearable display 20 superimposes the decrypted information at the position where it would have been presented on display 12.” [0020]) Gates teaches biometric user authentication authenticates the user and establishes a secure connection, presents content as an overlay of portable information handling system such that the user views content in the same place that the user would view the content at portable information handling system directly in a secure area, and a wearable display superimposes the decrypted information at the position where it would have been presented on display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gates into the combination of Drozdov and Tsang, in order to restrict unauthorized access to sensitive image data and reduce the risk of visual information being disclosed to an unauthorized viewer.
10. With reference to claim 2, Drozdov teaches selecting the set of image frames from among the sets of image frames to be displayed on the display device of the PDS based on the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device comprises: selecting a first set of image frames from among the sets of image frames when it is determined that the viewer is at a first vantage point that is toward a left side of the display device; selecting a second set of image frames from among the sets of image frames when it is determined that the viewer is at a second vantage point that is directly in front of a center of the display device; and selecting a third set of image frames from among the sets of image frames when it is determined that the viewer is at a third vantage point that is toward a right side of the display device. (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “projecting multi-viewer-object 3D image perspectives from a single 3D display is achieved by acquiring eye region image data of a plurality of viewers within a field of view of at least one camera associated with a 3D-enabled digital display. Trained neural networks are then used to calculate point-of-regard for each viewer, and projections can then be calculated and rendered based on each viewer's position and point-of-regard with respect to the 3D-enabled digital display.” [0045] “FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. At 802, the method may include detecting face and eye landmarks for the one or more viewers in one or more image frames based on the face image data.” [0068] “the method may include acquiring eye region image data of a plurality of viewers within a field of view of at least one camera associated with a 3D-enabled digital display. The field of view may be defined in two-dimensional or three-dimensional space, such as from side-to-side, top-to-bottom, and far or near. The method may include analyzing the eye region image data to determine at least one 3D eye position, at least one gaze angle, and at least one point-of-regard for at least one viewer relative to at least one camera associated with the 3D-enabled digital display, from which to estimate gaze direction or PoR. Input from more than one source (e.g., multiple cameras) may be received.” [0079] “FIG. 9 is a flowchart that shows a method for selecting image data to be used in 3D image projection, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 900, the method may include determining, based on image data from one or more cameras in proximity to the 3D-enabled digital display a) one or more facial landmarks of each of the one or more viewers of the 3D-enabled digital display 902; b) a point of regard (PoR) of each eye of each of one or more viewers of a 3D-enabled digital display 904; and c) a position of each eye of each of the one or more viewers relative to the 3D-enabled digital display 906.” [0083] “the method may include selecting, based on the analyzing, image data for each eye of each of the one or more viewers of the 3D-enabled digital display.” [0085])
11. With reference to claim 3, Drozdov teaches the viewer vantage point and eye position monitor of the PDS includes sensors that track the vantage point of the viewer as the viewer moves about in front of the display device. (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. …the 3D eye position may include the distance of the viewer's eye from the 3D display, or the location of the viewer's eye ball(s) in an x, y, z coordinate reference grid including the 3D display.” [0068-0069] “the method may include determining a number of projections and a distribution of projections for each eye of each of the one or more viewers based on the eye tracking information. In some embodiments, at least one of the plurality of projections may be calculated to be appropriate for each respective viewer's position and point-of-regard relative to the 3D-enabled digital display. … a viewer may move or turn at an angle to the camera, reducing the quality of image data captured by a particular camera. In some embodiments, the method may include switching to a different camera based on the degradation in the eye region image data. For example, another camera may have a better view of the viewer as the viewer turns his or her head or walks toward or away from the camera.” [0076-0077] “the method may include acquiring eye region image data of a plurality of viewers within a field of view of at least one camera associated with a 3D-enabled digital display. The field of view may be defined in two-dimensional or three-dimensional space, such as from side-to-side, top-to-bottom, and far or near. The method may include analyzing the eye region image data to determine at least one 3D eye position, at least one gaze angle, and at least one point-of-regard for at least one viewer relative to at least one camera associated with the 3D-enabled digital display, from which to estimate gaze direction or PoR. Input from more than one source (e.g., multiple cameras) may be received. In some embodiments, the method may include analyzing the eye region image data for at least one of engagement with the 3D-enabled digital display, fixation, or saccade.” [0079])
12. Claims 4-6 are similar in scope to claims 1-3, and they are rejected under similar rationale.
13. With reference to claim 7, Drozdov teaches the sensors detect one or more of body position, body orientation, body posture, eye position, or eye orientation of the viewer. (“FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points. …the 3D eye position may include the distance of the viewer's eye from the 3D display, or the location of the viewer's eye ball(s) in an x, y, z coordinate reference grid including the 3D display.” [0068-0069] “the method may include determining a number of projections and a distribution of projections for each eye of each of the one or more viewers based on the eye tracking information. In some embodiments, at least one of the plurality of projections may be calculated to be appropriate for each respective viewer's position and point-of-regard relative to the 3D-enabled digital display.” [0076])
14. With reference to claim 8, Drozdov teaches determining the vantage point of the viewer with respect to the display device is based on output of a vantage point predictive engine (VPPE) that uses a predictive model and parameters for the viewer to compute likelihoods for next possible vantage points of the viewer with respect to the display device. (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “the system may use deep learning to model the whole left eye and whole right eye, as well as the position of the eyes relative to the display, and eye state, gaze angle, and point of regard. Once these models are built for each viewer, giving position of the eyes in space relative to the display, and a good point of regard estimate, dynamic facial landmark detection is used to maintain a stable modeling of both eyes over time so that 3D projections are as uninterrupted as possible.” [0056-0057] “Additional parameters that the camera selector algorithm can evaluate include viewer distance and angle relative to the display screen.” [0063] “The display may be configured for object rendering, left/right view projection to the user, and next view estimation … the next view prediction involves the rendering engine preparing a 3D object or portion of a 3D object ahead of time, to be cached for later projection and viewing. FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points.” [0067-0068] “the method may include acquiring eye region image data of a plurality of viewers within a field of view of at least one camera associated with a 3D-enabled digital display. The field of view may be defined in two-dimensional or three-dimensional space, such as from side-to-side, top-to-bottom, and far or near. The method may include analyzing the eye region image data to determine at least one 3D eye position, at least one gaze angle, and at least one point-of-regard for at least one viewer relative to at least one camera associated with the 3D-enabled digital display, from which to estimate gaze direction or PoR. Input from more than one source (e.g., multiple cameras) may be received. In some embodiments, the method may include analyzing the eye region image data for at least one of engagement with the 3D-enabled digital display, fixation, or saccade.” [0079])
15. With reference to claim 9, Drozdov teaches the output of the VPPE of one or more sets of possible vantage point parameters is provided as input to a positional frame set computation module, which uses the input to compute the sets of image frames. (“FIG. 1 depicts a system environment in which a single 3D display and associated cameras may predict gaze or point-of-regard for multiple viewers for personalized rendering of a 3D projected image of an object.” [0030] “the system may use deep learning to model the whole left eye and whole right eye, as well as the position of the eyes relative to the display, and eye state, gaze angle, and point of regard. Once these models are built for each viewer, giving position of the eyes in space relative to the display, and a good point of regard estimate, dynamic facial landmark detection is used to maintain a stable modeling of both eyes over time so that 3D projections are as uninterrupted as possible.” [0056-0057] “Additional parameters that the camera selector algorithm can evaluate include viewer distance and angle relative to the display screen.” [0063] “The display may be configured for object rendering, left/right view projection to the user, and next view estimation … the next view prediction involves the rendering engine preparing a 3D object or portion of a 3D object ahead of time, to be cached for later projection and viewing. FIG. 8 is a flowchart that shows a method for projecting multi-viewer-specific 3D object perspectives, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. At 800, the method may include obtaining face image data and eye region image data for one or more viewers within a field of view of at least one camera in proximity to a 3D-enabled digital display. The camera may be integrated into with the 3D display or provided separately. More than one camera may be implemented, for example, to combine input data from multiple vantage points.” [0067-0068] “The method may include analyzing the eye region image data to determine at least one 3D eye position, at least one gaze angle, and at least one point-of-regard for at least one viewer relative to at least one camera associated with the 3D-enabled digital display, from which to estimate gaze direction or PoR. Input from more than one source (e.g., multiple cameras) may be received. In some embodiments, the method may include analyzing the eye region image data for at least one of engagement with the 3D-enabled digital display, fixation, or saccade.” [0079] “For each frame, the facial landmark detector may compute additional frames. For example, frames may be computed where the face bounding box is slightly moved in a random direction, in order to prevent the model from being limited to facial landmarks that are in the middle of a frame.” [0094] “The face detection algorithm may be further used to compute head pose in six degrees of freedom (DOF). Some exemplary methods for estimating head pose localization and angular orientation can be a detector array method (DAM), in which a series of head detectors are trained, each configured to classify a specific pose and assign a discrete pose to the detector with the greatest support, a technique using machine learning and neural networks. This method can be supplanted or replaced by Nonlinear Regression Methods (NRM), which estimates head pose by learning a nonlinear functional mapping from the image space to one or more pose directions, normally using regression tools and neural networks. Additional methods can be, for example: a flexible algorithm, in which a non-rigid model is fit to the facial structure of the user in the image and wherein head pose is estimated from feature-level comparisons or from the instantiation of the parameters, using the location of extracted features such as the eyes, mouth, and nose tip to determine pose from their relative configuration, recovering the global pose change of the head from the observed movement between video frames then using weighted least squares on particle filtering to discern the head pose.” [0113])
16. With reference to claim 10, the combination of Drozdov and Tsang does not explicitly teach authenticating the viewer based on physical features of the viewer. This is what Gates teaches (“the security plugin encrypts, tokenizes or otherwise transforms the content so that the content is renderable by the word processor but the content is not human readable at display 12. The end user puts on wearable display 20 having a wearable view display 22 in glasses that include biometric user authentication, such as iris scan. Wearable display 20 authenticates the user and establishes a secure wireless connection with portable information handling system 10, such as through Bluetooth, WiFi or a wireless display interface that sends pixel data. A security application running on wearable display device 20 receives content typed into portable information handling system 10 for presentation in unencrypted form at wearable view display 22 so that the end user sees typed content as if presented at display 12. Various security techniques may be applied to protect the information transmitted over the wireless communications link, and to determine if the information should be transmitted to the secondary device, including using a session key to encrypt the information and using location proximity and user authentication to determine if the information should be transmitted.” [0018]) Gates teaches biometric user authentication authenticates the user and establishes a secure connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gates into the combination of Drozdov and Tsang, in order to restrict unauthorized access to sensitive image data and reduce the risk of visual information being disclosed to an unauthorized viewer.
17. With reference to claim 11, the combination of Drozdov and Tsang does not explicitly teach the physical features include one or more of a fingerprint, a palmprint, a facial feature, or a retinal pattern. This is what Gates teaches (“the security plugin encrypts, tokenizes or otherwise transforms the content so that the content is renderable by the word processor but the content is not human readable at display 12. The end user puts on wearable display 20 having a wearable view display 22 in glasses that include biometric user authentication, such as iris scan. Wearable display 20 authenticates the user and establishes a secure wireless connection with portable information handling system 10, such as through Bluetooth, WiFi or a wireless display interface that sends pixel data. A security application running on wearable display device 20 receives content typed into portable information handling system 10 for presentation in unencrypted form at wearable view display 22 so that the end user sees typed content as if presented at display 12. Various security techniques may be applied to protect the information transmitted over the wireless communications link, and to determine if the information should be transmitted to the secondary device, including using a session key to encrypt the information and using location proximity and user authentication to determine if the information should be transmitted.” [0018]) Gates teaches biometric user authentication authenticates the user and establishes a secure connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gates into the combination of Drozdov and Tsang, in order to restrict unauthorized access to sensitive image data and reduce the risk of visual information being disclosed to an unauthorized viewer.
18. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 4, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. Drozdov additionally teaches A computing system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to (“Computing platform(s) 402 may include non-transitory electronic storage 430 operable to store any of machine readable instructions 406-426, one or more processors 432, and/or other components.” [0135] “Those having ordinary skill in the art will recognize that a data processing system generally includes one or more of a system unit housing, a video display device, memory such as volatile or non-volatile memory, processors such as microprocessors or digital signal processors, computational entities such as operating systems, drivers, graphical user interfaces, and applications programs, one or more interaction devices (e.g., a touch pad, a touch screen, an antenna, etc.), and/or control systems including feedback loops and control motors (e.g., feedback for sensing position and/or velocity; control motors for moving and/or adjusting components and/or quantities).” [0174])
19. Claims 16-22 are similar in scope to claims 5-11, and they are rejected under similar rationale.
20. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drozdov et al. (US 2024/0121377 A1), Tsang (US 2012/0314021 A1) and Gates et al. (US 2017/0161506 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Taylor (US 2020/0374504 A1).
21. With reference to claim 14, the combination of Drozdov, Tsang and Gates does not explicitly teach image frames of the image frame set are layered with respect to one another, such that one of the image frames partially hides another one of the image frames on the display device, thereby effecting a 3-D topology on the display device that mimics 3-D surface features of the physical object. This is what Taylor teaches (“a method for displaying a three dimensional (“3D”) image in a blended mode includes rendering a frame of 3D image data. The method also includes analyzing the frame of 3D image data to generate depth data. The method further includes using the depth data to segment the 3D image data into a plurality of frames of two dimensional (“2D”) image data. Moreover, the method includes displaying the plurality of frames. In addition, the plurality of frames includes a left near frame of 2D image data corresponding to a near depth, a left far frame of 2D image data corresponding to a far depth that is farther than the near depth from a point of view, a right near frame of 2D image data corresponding to the near depth, and a right far frame of 2D image data corresponding to the far depth. The left near frame and the left far frame are displayed simultaneously. The right near frame and the right far frame are displayed simultaneously.” [0016] “the left near frame and the right near frame are displayed to a user at a first depth from the user. The left far frame and the right far frame may be displayed to the user at a second depth from the user, the second depth being greater than the first depth. The first and second depths correspond to about 1.96 and about 0.67 diopters respectively. When the left near frame, the left far frame, the right near frame, and the right far frame are displayed to a user, the user may perceive a 3D image. The 3D image may correspond to the frame of 3D image data.” [0018]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Taylor into the combination of Drozdov, Tsang and Gates, in order to render and display 3D images to viewers/users while minimize vergence-accommodation conflict.
Conclusion
22. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614