DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 73-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nachem (US 2016/0107727).
As to claim 73, Nachem discloses a docking system, comprising: a dock portion comprising: a first mounting portion 42 configured to be supported by an upper surface of a dock; and a post coupled 42 to the first mounting portion and extending away from the upper surface of the dock; and a boat portion comprising: a second mounting portion 50 configured to be supported by an upper surface of a boat; and an arm 51 comprising a first arm end and a second arm end, the first arm end rotationally coupled to the second mounting portion, the second arm end comprising a hook 60; wherein the arm is configured to move between a retracted configuration where the second arm end is positioned over the second mounting portion and an extended configuration where the second arm end extends substantially perpendicularly to the second mounting portion.
As to claim 74, Nachem discloses wherein the boat portion further comprises a pivot assembly 53, the pivot assembly coupled to the second mounting portion and the first arm end, the pivot assembly configured to allow the arm to rotate relative to the second mounting portion.
As to claim 75, Nachem discloses wherein the hook 60 is configured to engage the post to secure a rear end of the boat to the dock.
As to claim 76, Nachem discloses wherein the pivot assembly 53 includes a motor (see para [0062]), the motor configured to move the arm between the retracted configuration and the extended configuration.
As to claim 77, Nachem discloses wherein the boat portion further comprising a control system (see para [0060]-[0062]), the control system configured to move the arm from the retracted configuration to the extended configuration when the boat is in close proximity to the dock portion.
Claim(s) 82-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods (US 3,019,759).
As to claim 82, Woods discloses a docking system, comprising: a front assembly configured to engage a bow of a boat and at least partially absorb a docking impact force of the boat, the front assembly comprising: a first mounting portion 13 configured to be supported by an upper surface of a dock 2; a first arm 3 supported by the first mounting portion, the first arm extending transverse to the first mounting portion 13; and a bow retaining portion 21 supported by the first arm; and a post 6 coupled to at least one of the first mounting portion, a second mounting portion 13, or the dock, the post extending away from the upper surface of the dock.
As to claim 83, Woods discloses (see figure 2) wherein the bow retaining portion 21 comprises a first side and a second side, the first side defining a first surface facing at least partially toward the second side and the second side defining a second surface at least partially facing toward the first side, the bow retaining portion configured to releasably engage and receive the bow of the boat at least partially between the first side and the second side during docking.
As to claim 84, Woods discloses wherein the front assembly further comprises a pivot assembly 15 connecting the first mounting portion 13 and the first arm 3, the first arm moveable relative to the first mounting portion above the pivot assembly.
As to claim 85, Woods discloses wherein the front assembly further comprises a shock absorption assembly 7, the shock absorption assembly resisting movement of the first arm 3 relative to the first mounting portion 13 about the pivot assembly 15 so as to at least partially absorb the docking impact force of the boat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 89-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods (US 3,019,759) in view of Nachem (US 2016/0107727).
As to claim 89, Woods discloses all that is claimed except for the boat assembly comprising: a third mounting portion configured to be supported by an upper surface of the boat; and a second arm rotationally coupled to the third mounting portion via a first end, the second arm comprising a hook at a second end of the second arm, the second arm configured to move between a retracted configuration where the hook is positioned over the third mounting portion and an extended configuration where the hook extends substantially perpendicularly to the third mounting portion, the hook configured to engage the post to secure a rear end of the boat to the dock.
Nachem discloses the boat assembly comprising: a third mounting portion 50configured to be supported by an upper surface of the boat; and a second arm 51 rotationally coupled to the third mounting portion via a first end, the second arm comprising a hook 60 at a second end of the second arm, the second arm configured to move between a retracted configuration where the hook is positioned over the third mounting portion and an extended configuration where the hook extends substantially perpendicularly to the third mounting portion, the hook configured to engage the post to secure a rear end of the boat to the dock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a third mounting portion configured to be supported by an upper surface of the boat; and a second arm rotationally coupled to the third mounting portion via a first end, the second arm comprising a hook at a second end of the second arm, the second arm configured to move between a retracted configuration where the hook is positioned over the third mounting portion and an extended configuration where the hook extends substantially perpendicularly to the third mounting portion, the hook configured to engage the post to secure a rear end of the boat to the dock, since doing so provides the expected benefit of mooring a rear portion of a boat.
As to claim 90, Nachem also discloses wherein the boat assembly further comprises a second pivot assembly 53, the second pivot assembly coupled to the third mounting portion and the second arm 51, the second pivot assembly configured to allow the second arm to rotate relative to the third mounting portion.
As to claim 91, Nachem also discloses wherein the second pivot assembly includes a motor (see para [0062]), the motor configured to move the second arm between the retracted configuration and the extended configuration.
As to claim 92, Nachem also discloses wherein the boat assembly further comprises a second control system (see para [0060]-[0062]), the second control system configured to move the second arm from the retracted configuration to the extended configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 78-81 and 86-88 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 78, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the dock portion further comprises: an arm portion extending transverse to the second mounting portion or a third mounting portion;
a bow retaining portion including a first side and a second side, the first side defining a first surface facing at least partially toward the second side and a second side defining a second surface at least partially facing toward the first side, said first side and said second side configured to releasably engage and receive a bow of the boat at least partially between the first side and the second side during docking;
a shock absorption assembly comprising a shock absorber or a spring; and
a second pivot assembly connecting the second mounting portion or the third mounting portion and the arm portion;
wherein at least one of the arm portion or the bow retaining portion is movable relative to the second mounting portion or the third mounting portion about the second pivot assembly, the shock absorption assembly configured to resist movement of the at least one of the arm portion or the bow retaining portion about the second pivot assembly so as to at least partially absorb a docking impact force of the boat and configured to apply force to move the at least one of the arm portion or the bow retaining portion towards a relaxed position about the second pivot assembly after at least partially absorbing the docking impact force of the boat.
As to claim 86, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the front assembly further comprises a connection system, the connection system extending from the bow retaining portion between the first side and the second side, the connection system comprising one or more connectors, each of the one or more connectors configured to releasably couple to boat anchor brackets of the boat.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678