DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 09/09/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/09/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 13-14, 18-20 and 26-35 are pending
Claims 1, 10 and 13 are amended
Claims 3-4, 6-9, 12, 15-17 and 21-25 are canceled
Claims 26-35 are new
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 13-14, 18-20 and 26-35 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18-20 and 26-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US 20240188050 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hu, in view of WANG et al. (US 20220352941 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wang.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Hu teaches a method for monitoring a control channel (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0007]-Hu discloses a control information receiving method, and the method relates to a terminal device and a network device. The terminal device receives first indication information from the network device. Figs. 6-9, Para. [0114-0115]-Hu discloses the communication apparatus may include a processing module and a transceiver module. When the communication apparatus is the terminal device, the processing module may be a processor, and the transceiver module may be a transceiver. The terminal device may further include a storage module, and the storage module may be a memory ... the communication apparatus may include a processing module and a transceiver module. When the communication apparatus is the network device, the processing module may be a processor, and the transceiver module may be a transceiver. The network device may further include a storage module, and the storage module may be a memory), comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a monitoring occasion of a first search space set based on first indication information (Para. [0017-0019]-Hu discloses terminal device determines the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information ... the first indication information sent by the network device to the terminal device can directly indicate the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0300-0301]-Hu discloses parameters for determining monitoring occasions of a PDCCH when a pattern type is pattern 1 and a radio frequency type is FR1, namely, parameters for PDCCH monitoring occasions for Type0-PDCCH CSS set-SS {Search Space Set}/PBCH block and CORESET multiplexing pattern 1 and FR1. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels),
the first indication information indicates a configuration of the first search space set (Para. [0007]-Hu discloses the first indication information indicates a first time-frequency resource set. Para. [0137-0138]-Hu discloses Control resource set (CORESET): a set of time-frequency resources that carry a control channel (for example, a PDCCH) ... Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels), and
the first search space set is a search space set corresponding to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Para. [0013]-Hu disclose both a time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set and a time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set are related to an index value of a first synchronization signal block SSB, and both the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are time-frequency resource sets that carry candidate sets of a control channel. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels),
monitoring, by the terminal device, a first control channel corresponding to the first SSB based on the monitoring occasion of the first search space set (Fig. 1, Para. [0144-0145]-Hu discloses the terminal device 01 first receives an SSB sent by the network device 02. A PBCH in the SSB carries information indicating a time-frequency domain position of a time-frequency resource set to which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) belongs ... a time-frequency domain position of a time-frequency resource for monitoring a control channel (for example, a downlink control channel PDCCH). Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0300-0301]-Hu discloses parameters for determining monitoring occasions of a PDCCH when a pattern type is pattern 1 and a radio frequency type is FR1, namely, parameters for PDCCH monitoring occasions for Type0-PDCCH CSS set-SS {Search Space Set}/PBCH block and CORESET multiplexing pattern 1 and FR1. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels);
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ is greater than 4, one monitoring occasion in the first monitoring window is associated with one SSB (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined), and
the subcarrier spacing parameter µ corresponds to a subcarrier spacing of the first search space set (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined),
the first indication information indicates: a value of a parameter M (Para. [0245-0249]-Hu discloses the network device sends the first indication information and the second indication information to the terminal device ... the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set),
the value of the parameter M comprises an odd number greater than 1 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined), and
the value of the parameter M does not comprise 2 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
the parameter M is configured to determine a degree of overlapping between the first monitoring window corresponding to the first SSB and a second monitoring window corresponding to a second SSB (Para. [0047]-Hu discloses M indicates a degree of overlap between the monitoring window of the first SSB and a monitoring window of an adjacent SSB),
an index of the second SSB is an index of the first SSB plus one, or a candidate index of the second SSB is a candidate index of the first SSB plus one (Para. [0047]-Hu discloses M indicates a degree of overlap between the monitoring window of the first SSB and a monitoring window of an adjacent SSB);
the value of the parameter M is determined based on a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
in a case that the value of µ is 5, the value of the parameter M comprises 3; or in a case that the value of µ is 6, the value of the parameter M comprises one of: 3, 5, or 7 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined); and
a first monitoring occasion of the two monitoring occasions in the first monitoring window is in a slot n0 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1), and
a second monitoring occasion of the two monitoring occasions in the first monitoring window is in a slot n0+X (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1); and
a value of parameter X comprises an odd number greater than 1 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ is 5, the value of the parameter X comprises one of: an odd number greater than 4; an odd number greater than 4 and less than 8; a smallest odd number greater than 4; or 3 or 5 or 7 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1); or
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter u is 6, the value of the parameter X comprises one of: an odd number greater than 8; an odd number greater than 8 and less than 16; a smallest odd number greater than 8; or 7 or 9 or 11 or 13 or 15 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1).
Hu fails to explicitly teach the configuration of the first search space set comprises two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window associated with the first search space set.
However, Wang teaches the configuration of the first search space set comprises two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window associated with the first search space set (Para. [0102]-Wang discloses the network side device indicates sending and receiving beams corresponding to each MO {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced Monitoring Occasion} in the monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH … a beam corresponding to the first MO in the monitoring window is determined by SSB#1, a beam corresponding to the second MO is determined by SSB#1. Para. [0096-0097]-Wang discloses network side device configures a search space SS#L {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced search space} for the PDCCH (PS-PDCCH) carrying the PS, and the CORESET associated with the SS#L is CORESET#B, that is, SS#L needs to be transmitted in CORESET#B ... A terminal and a network side device determine a transmission beam corresponding to each monitoring occasion (MO) in a monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH based on a predetermined rule, specfically, a transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is determined by the SSB having a numbering value j, j=mod(i, Q), that is, a beam direction of the transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is the same as that of the j-th SSB).
Hu and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technology, dealing with channel transmission method and a communications device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hu to incorporate the teachings of Wang on search space set configuration, with a motivation for two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window, and guarantee solving the problem of a large propagation delay, (Wang, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more computer programs therein (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0007]-Hu discloses a control information receiving method, and the method relates to a terminal device and a network device. The terminal device receives first indication information from the network device. Figs. 6-9, Para. [0114-0115]-Hu discloses the communication apparatus may include a processing module and a transceiver module. When the communication apparatus is the terminal device, the processing module may be a processor, and the transceiver module may be a transceiver. The terminal device may further include a storage module, and the storage module may be a memory ... the communication apparatus may include a processing module and a transceiver module. When the communication apparatus is the network device, the processing module may be a processor, and the transceiver module may be a transceiver. The network device may further include a storage module, and the storage module may be a memory), wherein the one or more computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the network device to:
transmit first indication information (Para. [0017-0019]-Hu discloses terminal device determines the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information ... the first indication information sent by the network device to the terminal device can directly indicate the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0300-0301]-Hu discloses parameters for determining monitoring occasions of a PDCCH when a pattern type is pattern 1 and a radio frequency type is FR1, namely, parameters for PDCCH monitoring occasions for Type0-PDCCH CSS set-SS {Search Space Set}/PBCH block and CORESET multiplexing pattern 1 and FR1. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels),
the first indication information indicates a configuration of a first search space set (Para. [0007]-Hu discloses the first indication information indicates a first time-frequency resource set. Para. [0137-0138]-Hu discloses Control resource set (CORESET): a set of time-frequency resources that carry a control channel (for example, a PDCCH) ... Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels),
the first search space set is a search space set corresponding to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Para. [0013]-Hu disclose both a time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set and a time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set are related to an index value of a first synchronization signal block SSB, and both the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are time-frequency resource sets that carry candidate sets of a control channel. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels),
transmit a first control channel corresponding to the first SSB based on a monitoring occasion of the first search space set (Fig. 1, Para. [0144-0145]-Hu discloses the terminal device 01 first receives an SSB sent by the network device 02. A PBCH in the SSB carries information indicating a time-frequency domain position of a time-frequency resource set to which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) belongs ... a time-frequency domain position of a time-frequency resource for monitoring a control channel (for example, a downlink control channel PDCCH). Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0300-0301]-Hu discloses parameters for determining monitoring occasions of a PDCCH when a pattern type is pattern 1 and a radio frequency type is FR1, namely, parameters for PDCCH monitoring occasions for Type0-PDCCH CSS set-SS {Search Space Set}/PBCH block and CORESET multiplexing pattern 1 and FR1. Para. [0138]-Hu discloses Search space (SS): a set of candidate control channels. Usually, a set of candidate control channels at a given aggregation level is defined as a search space. Therefore, a search space set may be a set of search spaces including a plurality of different aggregation levels).
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ is greater than 4, one monitoring occasion in the first monitoring window is associated with one SSB (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined), and
the subcarrier spacing parameter µ corresponds to a subcarrier spacing of the first search space set (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined),
the first indication information indicates: a value of a parameter M (Para. [0245-0249]-Hu discloses the network device sends the first indication information and the second indication information to the terminal device ... the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set),
the value of the parameter M comprises an odd number greater than 1 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined), and
the value of the parameter M does not comprise 2 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
the parameter M is configured to determine a degree of overlapping between the first monitoring window corresponding to the first SSB and a second monitoring window corresponding to a second SSB (Para. [0047]-Hu discloses M indicates a degree of overlap between the monitoring window of the first SSB and a monitoring window of an adjacent SSB),
an index of the second SSB is an index of the first SSB plus one, or a candidate index of the second SSB is a candidate index of the first SSB plus one (Para. [0047]-Hu discloses M indicates a degree of overlap between the monitoring window of the first SSB and a monitoring window of an adjacent SSB);
the value of the parameter M is determined based on a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
in a case that the value of µ is 5, the value of the parameter M comprises 3; or in a case that the value of µ is 6, the value of the parameter M comprises one of: 3, 5, or 7 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined); and
a first monitoring occasion of the two monitoring occasions in the first monitoring window is in a slot n0 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1), and
a second monitoring occasion of the two monitoring occasions in the first monitoring window is in a slot n0+X (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1); and
a value of parameter X comprises an odd number greater than 1 (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined);
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ is 5, the value of the parameter X comprises one of: an odd number greater than 4; an odd number greater than 4 and less than 8; a smallest odd number greater than 4; or 3 or 5 or 7 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1); or
in a case that a value of a subcarrier spacing parameter µ is 6, the value of the parameter X comprises one of: an odd number greater than 8; an odd number greater than 8 and less than 16; a smallest odd number greater than 8; or 7 or 9 or 11 or 13 or 15 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1).
Hu fails to explicitly teach the configuration of the first search space set comprises two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window associated with the first search space set.
However, Wang teaches the configuration of the first search space set comprises two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window associated with the first search space set (Para. [0102]-Wang discloses the network side device indicates sending and receiving beams corresponding to each MO {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced Monitoring Occasion} in the monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH … a beam corresponding to the first MO in the monitoring window is determined by SSB#1, a beam corresponding to the second MO is determined by SSB#1. Para. [0096-0097]-Wang discloses network side device configures a search space SS#L {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced search space} for the PDCCH (PS-PDCCH) carrying the PS, and the CORESET associated with the SS#L is CORESET#B, that is, SS#L needs to be transmitted in CORESET#B ... A terminal and a network side device determine a transmission beam corresponding to each monitoring occasion (MO) in a monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH based on a predetermined rule, specfically, a transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is determined by the SSB having a numbering value j, j=mod(i, Q), that is, a beam direction of the transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is the same as that of the j-th SSB).
Hu and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technology, dealing with channel transmission method and a communications device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hu to incorporate the teachings of Wang on search space set configuration, with a motivation for two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window, and guarantee solving the problem of a large propagation delay, (Wang, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claims 5, 34 and 35, Hu in view of Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, The terminal device according to claim 10 and The network device according to claim 13 respectively,
Hu further teaches the first indication information indicates: a value of a parameter O (Para. [0245-0249]-Hu discloses the network device sends the first indication information and the second indication information to the terminal device ... the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set),
the parameter O being configured to determine a slot n.sub.0 in which a first monitoring occasion of the two monitoring occasions in the first monitoring window is located (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined),
wherein,
{n0=(O.Math.2 μ+.Math.i.Math.M.Math.)modNslot frame,μ} (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1:
{n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ} (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined)
wherein i represents the index of the first SSB or the candidate index of the first SSB; μ represents a subcarrier spacing parameter; and N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a number of slots in one radio frame determined based on μ (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0250-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined).
Regarding claims 18, 32 and 33, Hu in view of Wang teaches the network device according to claim 13 and The method according to claim 1 and The terminal device according to claim 10 respectively,
Hu further teaches the first search space set comprises a Type0 Physical Downlink Control Channel Common Search Space (Type0-PDCCH CSS) (Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0251]-Hu discloses monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS).
Regarding claim 19, Hu in view of Wang teaches the network device according to claim 13,
Hu further teaches the first indication information comprises a Physical Downlink Control Channel configuration for System Information Block 1 (pdcch-ConfigSIB1) (Para. [0249]-Hu discloses indication information is a parameter pdcch-ConfigSIB1, and pdcch-ConfigSIB1 includes eight bits, where four bits are ControlResourceSetZero, and the other four bits are SearchSpaceZero).
Regarding claim 20, Hu in view of Wang teaches the network device according to claim 13,
Hu further teaches the first indication information is carried in a master information block (MIB); or the first indication information is carried in a Physical Downlink Control Channel Common configuration (PDCCH-ConfigCommon) (Para. [0203]-Hu discloses indication information may be pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in a master information block MIB. Para. [0281]-Hu discloses the network device may encapsulate the first indication information and the second indication information into a message (referred to as a first message below) that carries a master information block MIB).
Regarding claims 26, 28 and 30, Hu in view of Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, The terminal device according to claim 10 and The network device according to claim 13 respectively,
Hu further teaches in the case that the value of the subcarrier spacing parameter p is 5, the value of the parameter X is 5 (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1).
Regarding claims 27, 29 and 31, Hu in view of Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, The terminal device according to claim 10 and The network device according to claim 13 respectively,
Hu further teaches the first indication information is carried in a master information block (MIB); or the first indication information is carried in a Physical Downlink Control Channel Common configuration (PDCCH-ConfigCommon) (Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1).
Claims 2, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US 20240188050 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hu, in view of WANG et al. (US 20220352941 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wang, and further in view of KIM et al. (US 20230164712 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 14, Hu in view of Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 and The terminal device according to claim 10 and The network device according to claim 13 respectively,
Hu fails to explicitly teach in a case that the value of μ is 5, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 480 kHz; or in a case that the value of μ is 6, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 960 kHz.
However, Kim teaches in a case that the value of μ is 5, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 480 kHz; or in a case that the value of μ is 6, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 960 kHz (Fig. 18a, Para. [0163]-Kim discloses that for the 960 kHz SCS, it may be determined that only one SS/PBCH block with the 960 kHz SCS is located within the transmission period of the SS/PBCH block with the 480 kHz SCS in consideration of a scalable design).
Kim is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hu in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kim on Subcarrier Spacing, with a motivation for 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and improve a probability of correctly receiving control information, (Hu, Para. [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/09/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 13-14 and 18-20 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 12, Lines [14-15], Applicant argues that, “…Formula I in Hu does not clearly and unambiguously disclose the specific values of M=3, 5, 7 or any specific value of parameter X.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to all possible set of values of M}. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table.
In the remarks, on page 13, Lines [4-5], Applicant argues that, “…Wang and Kim fail to cure Hu's deficiencies, and there is a lack of reasonable motivation to combine.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
Hu and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technology, dealing with channel transmission method and a communications device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hu to incorporate the teachings of Wang on search space set configuration, with a motivation for two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window, and guarantee solving the problem of a large propagation delay, (Wang, Para. [0007]).
In the remarks, on page 13, Lines [15-24], Applicant argues that, “…Wang teaches a "multiple-to-one" mapping rule, involving mapping multiple monitoring occasions to the same SSB to achieve beam indication. Wang not only fails to teach a "one-toone" mapping, but explicitly teaches an opposite solution ... Kim is silent as to the configuration of search space sets, the specific association between monitoring occasions and SSBs, or the specific values of parameters Mand X.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the configuration of the first search space set comprises two monitoring occasions in a first monitoring window associated with the first search space set,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1, in Para. [0102]-Wang discloses the network side device indicates sending and receiving beams corresponding to each MO {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced Monitoring Occasion} in the monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH … a beam corresponding to the first MO in the monitoring window is determined by SSB#1, a beam corresponding to the second MO is determined by SSB#1. Para. [0096-0097]-Wang discloses network side device configures a search space SS#L {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced search space} for the PDCCH (PS-PDCCH) carrying the PS, and the CORESET associated with the SS#L is CORESET#B, that is, SS#L needs to be transmitted in CORESET#B ... A terminal and a network side device determine a transmission beam corresponding to each monitoring occasion (MO) in a monitoring window of the PS-PDCCH based on a predetermined rule, specfically, a transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is determined by the SSB having a numbering value j, j=mod(i, Q), that is, a beam direction of the transmission beam corresponding to the i-th MO is the same as that of the j-th SSB.
In the remarks, on page 14, Lines [20-23], Applicant argues that, “…Formula I (reproduced below) is strictly used to calculate the slot index of the first monitoring occasion (no). In Formula I of Hu, or anywhere else in Hu, there is absolutely no variable, parameter, or concept corresponding to the spacing "X" between two monitoring occasions.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In Para. [0037]-Hu discloses terminal device determines, based on a piece of indication information {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced indication}, an index value used for table lookup, the terminal device may determine a row of parameters in the first table based on the index value, and the terminal device may determine the time domain position of the first time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the first monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0}and the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window i.e. n0+X} based on the row of parameters in the first table without querying another row of parameters in the first table. Para. [0030]-Hu discloses the first time-frequency resource set and the second time-frequency resource set are respectively located in different slots in time domain {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the different values of X}. Tables 4-1 and 4-2, Para. [0249-0251]-Hu discloses based on a value of SearchSpaceZero and the reference table 13-11 (namely, Table 13-11 in the protocol 38.213) (or the reference table 13-12 (namely, Table 13-12 in the protocol 38.213)), the terminal device may determine a quantity of second time-frequency resource sets in each slot, an index value of a first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot, and parameters O and M for determining an index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set. Then, the terminal device determines the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource based on the index value of the first symbol of the second time-frequency resource set in the slot and the index value of the slot of the second time-frequency resource set ... the terminal device may determine the index value no of the slot ... according to the following formula 1: n.sub.0=(O.Math.2.sup.μ+[i.Math.M])mod N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ (Formula 1) ... O represents a starting position of a monitoring window of the first SSB, and is used to avoid a conflict between a monitoring window of a Type0-PDCCH CSS and a monitoring window of an SSB. M represents a degree of overlap between a monitoring window of an SSB i and a monitoring window of an SSB i+1. i represents the index value of the first SSB. μ represents a subcarrier spacing. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ represents a quantity of slots in a radio frame. When the subcarrier spacing is determined, the quantity of slots in the radio frame is determined. Para. [0252]-Hu discloses determining, by the terminal device, the time domain position of the second time-frequency resource set may also be understood as that the terminal device can determine an occasion for monitoring the second time-frequency resource {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the second monitoring occasion in the monitoring window}, namely, an occasion determined by an index value of a slot in the second time-frequency resource set and an index value of a first symbol in a slot corresponding to the index value of the slot. Para. [0254]-Hu discloses the terminal device determines the time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency resource set based on the first indication information and the time-frequency domain position of the second time-frequency resource set. Para. [0258]-Hu discloses the terminal device may determine the index value of the slot in which the first time-frequency resource set is located by incrementing or decrementing the index value of the slot in which the second time-frequency resource set is located by 1; while
KIM et al. (US 20230164712 A1) teaches in a case that the value of p is 5, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 480 kHz; or in a case that the value of p is 6, the subcarrier spacing of the first search space set is 960 kHz (Fig. 18a, Para. [0163]-Kim discloses that for the 960 kHz SCS, it may be determined that only one SS/PBCH block with the 960 kHz SCS is located within the transmission period of the SS/PBCH block with the 480 kHz SCS {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced 480 kHz} in consideration of a scalable design).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 20250141644 A1)-discloses a UE that receives an indication of one or more system information transmission repetition periodicity values corresponding to a respective subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) within a burst of SSBs. The UE selects at least one SSB from the burst of SSBs, and receives a system information message via one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions in a search space set for the system information message. The one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, for instance, are determined based on a system information transmission repetition periodicity value of the one or more system information transmission repetition periodicity values, and the system information transmission repetition periodicity value corresponds to the selected SSB. The UE can implement wireless communication using system information determined from the received system information message…. …Fig. 1-5
Liu et al. (US 20230070450 A1)-discloses A method by a user equipment (UE) is described. The method includes receiving, from a base station, a MIB including first information related to a CORESET for a first search space set for the detected SS/PBCH block, monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates for the first search space set in the CORESET, wherein the CORESET comprises a first set of consecutive OFDM symbols and a second set of consecutive OFDM symbols, the CORESET is transmitted by a first time periodicity, the second set of consecutive OFDM symbols is transmitted after a first time offset from the first OFDM symbol for the first set of consecutive OFDM symbols. Further receiving second information indicating the first time offset…. …Fig. 1-5
Yi et al. (US 20220078728 A1)-discloses A wireless device selects a first a synchronization signal block (SSB), among SSBs of a cell, based on a signal quality measurement of the SSBs, and a second SSB, of the SSBs, based on the first SSB and a multiplexing pattern. The wireless device determines, based on the first SSB and the second SSB, monitoring occasions associated with a control resource set (coreset) to receive repetitions of downlink control information (DCI). The wireless device receives, via the determined monitoring occasions, one or more of the repetitions of the DCI.… …Fig. 1-5
Nam et al. (US 20230164795 A1)-discloses a user equipment (UE) may determine that a UE-specific search space (USS) monitoring occasion and a common search space (CSS) monitoring occasion are to occur in a slot group. The UE may perform one or more search space monitoring actions based at least in part on determining that the USS monitoring occasion and the CSS monitoring occasion are to occur in the slot group…. …Fig. 1-5
Zuomin Wu et al. (US 20240243886 A1)-discloses A method for wireless communication, a terminal device, and a network device are provided. The method for wireless communication includes: a terminal device determines a monitoring occasion for a first search space set (SSS) based on first indication information, the first indication information indicating at least one of a configuration of a first control-resource set (CORESET) or a configuration of the first SSS, and the first CORESET being associated with the first SSS; and the terminal device monitors a first control channel based on the monitoring occasion for the first SSS…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472