DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 the phrase “constructed into curvature” should be “constructed into a curvature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 the phrase “constructed into curvature” should be “constructed into a curvature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 the phrase “on a back surface” should be “on the back surface”; in line 3/4 the phrase “on a back surface” should be “on the back surface”.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 the phrase “constructed into curvature” should be “constructed into a curvature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the lower surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the lower front surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the lower front surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the lower front surface" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the lower surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the front surfaces" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper (US 11,247,597) in view of Wagshal et al. (US 7,445,246).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper discloses a clipboard system 1200 for mounting on a vehicle steering wheel, the system comprising: a semicircular upper panel 1202 having an upper straight-edged long side and a semicircular lower panel 1204 having a lower straight-edged long side; a hinge mechanism 1220 which connects the upper straight-edged long side of the upper panel to the lower straight-edged long side of the lower panel; a lower straight-edged short side 1226 of the lower panel constructed into curvature of the lower panel, the lower straight-edged short side parallel with the lower straight- edged long side and the hinge mechanism (Figure 12), the lower straight-edged short side defines a lip 1228 on the lower panel and which an item can be placed and supported.
Cooper does not disclose a through-hole in the upper panel to enable at least one of mounting the clipboard system to the steering wheel or suspension of the clipboard system away from the steering wheel. Wagschal discloses a clipboard 10 having a through hole 21/321 adjacent an upper edge of the clipboard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a similar through hole adjacent to the upper edge of panel 1202 to enable hanging the clipboard assembly as needed.
Regarding claim 2, the upper straight-edged long side and lower straight-edged long side individually define a diameter 1224 of the clipboard system – see Figure 12.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the hinge mechanism 1220 comprises multiple parts, wherein one part is mounted on a back surface of the upper panel along the upper straight-edged long side and another part is mounted on a back surface of the lower panel along the lower straight-edged long side (see Figure 12 and col. 9 lines 63+).
Regarding claim 4, the system includes a first mounting strap 1212 on a back surface of the upper panel.
Regarding claim 5, the system includes a clamping apparatus 1206 affixed to a front surface of the upper panel for securing items to the clipboard system.
Regarding claims 6, 11 and 17, a clipping apparatus 1216 is affixed to a front surface of the lower panel for securing items to the clipboard system.
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 18, the lip 1228 of the lower panel, extends perpendicular to the lower surface of the lower panel, which lip has an underside on which a clip 1218/718 can be retained to hold a writing instrument.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, attachment mechanisms 1216 or 1218 are located proximate the lip, the attachment mechanism enables surface attachment of an item to the lower front surface of the lower panel.
Regarding claim 10, Cooper discloses a clipboard system 1200 for mounting on a vehicle steering wheel, the system comprising: a semicircular upper panel 1202 having an upper straight-edged long side and a semicircular lower panel 1204 having a lower straight-edged long side; a hinge mechanism 1220 which connects the upper straight-edged long side of the upper panel to the lower straight-edged long side of the lower panel; a lower straight-edged short side 1226 of the lower panel constructed into curvature of the lower panel, the lower straight-edged short side parallel with the lower straight- edged long side and the hinge mechanism (Figure 12), the lower straight-edged short side defines a lip 1228 on the lower panel and which an item can be placed and supported; a first mounting strap 1212 on a back surface of the upper panel, for securing the clipboard system to the steering wheel; a clamping apparatus 1206 affixed to a front surface of the upper panel for securing items to the clipboard system;
Cooper does not disclose a through-hole in the upper panel to enable at least one of mounting the clipboard system to the steering wheel or suspension of the clipboard system away from the steering wheel. Wagschal discloses a clipboard 10 having a through hole 21/321 adjacent an upper edge of the clipboard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a similar through hole adjacent to the upper edge of panel 1202 to enable hanging the clipboard assembly as needed.
Regarding claim 16, Cooper discloses a clipboard system 1200 for mounting on a vehicle steering wheel, the system comprising: a semicircular upper panel 1202 having an upper straight-edged long side and a semicircular lower panel 1204 having a lower straight-edged long side; a hinge mechanism 1220 which connects the upper straight-edged long side of the upper panel to the lower straight-edged long side of the lower panel; a lower straight-edged short side 1226 of the lower panel constructed into curvature of the lower panel, the lower straight-edged short side parallel with the lower straight- edged long side and the hinge mechanism (Figure 12), the lower straight-edged short side defines a lip 1228 on the lower panel and which an item can be placed and supported; attachment mechanisms 1218/718/1216 located proximate the lip, the attachment mechanisms enable surface attachment of an item to the lower front surface of the lower panel; a first mounting strap 1212 on a back surface of the upper panel, for securing the clipboard system to the steering wheel; a clamping apparatus 1206 affixed to a front surface of the upper panel for securing items to the clipboard system.
Cooper does not disclose a through-hole in the upper panel to enable at least one of mounting the clipboard system to the steering wheel or suspension of the clipboard system away from the steering wheel. Wagschal discloses a clipboard 10 having a through hole 21/321 adjacent an upper edge of the clipboard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a similar through hole adjacent to the upper edge of panel 1202 to enable hanging the clipboard assembly as needed.
Regarding claim 20, a mounting board 200/400/600 can be mounted on the front surfaces of the clipboard system via capture by the clamping apparatus and an attachment mechanism, the mounting board enables an expansive surface on which items can be attached.
Claim(s) 9, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper in view of Wagshal et al., as applied to claims 8, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Cooper (US 10,864,763 hereinafter ‘Cooper II’).
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 19, the modified Cooper device discloses various attachment mechanism to enable surface attachment of an item to the clipboard system (e.g. 1216) but does not disclose an attachment mechanism having a magnetic contact mechanism, hook and loop contact mechanism or sticky tape contact mechanism. However, Cooper II teaches that it is known to provide a clipboard system 100 with a hook and loop attachment mechanism 128 in order to surface attachment of an auxiliary device thereto. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide similar hook and loop attachment mechanism on the front of the Cooper clipboard system in order to attach different auxiliary devices and accessories to the clipboard system.
Conclusion
/COREY N SKURDAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734