DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on August 20, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 8, 15 and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2021/0136802 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2019/0253904 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Cirik teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media (Paragraph [0187] computer readable medium) having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to:
detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission
control indicator (TCI) state operation (Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission.
Tsai teaches determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated
with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0048] determines overlap; prioritizes the reception of PDCCH over PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission as taught by Tsai in the system of Cirik for reception of simultaneously transmitted downlink channels having different spatial quasi-co-location see abstract of Tsai.
2. Regarding claim 8, Cirik teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15A) comprising:
processing circuitry to:
detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission
control indicator (TCI) state operation (Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams) and interface circuitry to communicatively couple the processing circuitry with a
component of a device (Fig. 15A).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission.
Tsai teaches determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated
with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0048] determines overlap; prioritizes the reception of PDCCH over PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission as taught by Tsai in the system of Cirik for reception of simultaneously transmitted downlink channels having different spatial quasi-co-location see abstract of Tsai.
3. Regarding claim 15, Cirik teaches a method comprising:
detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission
control indicator (TCI) state operation (Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission.
Tsai teaches determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated
with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0048] determines overlap; prioritizes the reception of PDCCH over PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determine a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a
physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and
configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter and determination that the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission overlap, a beam associated
with the PDCCH transmission to prioritize reception of the PDCCH transmission as taught by Tsai in the system of Cirik for reception of simultaneously transmitted downlink channels having different spatial quasi-co-location see abstract of Tsai.
4. Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to enable default transmission control indicator (TCI) state per control resource set (CORESET) pool index and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to:
determine both the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission are
associated with a same CORESET pool index; and
configure the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception
based further on said determination that both the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH
transmission are associated with the same CORESET pool index (Cirik, Paragraph [0207] Coreset Pool Index; PDCCH; PDSCH).
5. Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to configure a multi-downlink control information (DCI) mode (Cirik, Paragraph [0175] RRC messages; one or more DCI formats).
6. Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to enable two default transmission control indicator (TCI) states and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to:
determine two default PDSCH beams based on a lowest TCI codepoint among
TCI codepoints that include two TCI states, wherein the two default PDSCH beams are
associated with two PDSCH transmissions, the two PDSCH transmissions to include the PDSCH transmission;
determine the two default PDSCH beams are different from the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission; and
configure the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception
based further on said determination that the two PDSCH beams are different from the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission (Cirik, Paragraphs [0279] and [0280] TCI state for CORESET; lowest of at least two TCI states; TCI codepoint).
7. Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to configure a single-downlink control information (DCI) mode (Cirik, Paragraph [0175] RRC messages; one or more DCI formats).
8. Regarding claims 6 and 13, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is to configure an antenna panel with the beam (Cirik, Paragraphs [0199] and [0327] antenna panels; beam).
9. Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Cirik in view of Tsai teaches, wherein the PDSCH transmission is associated with a first component carrier of a band and the PDCCH transmission is associated with a second component carrier of the band (Cirik, Paragraph [0110] aggregated carriers).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466