CTNF 18/772,020 CTNF 88159 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This is response to Application 18/772,020 filed on 07/12/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US 2021/0136802 A1) . 1. Regarding claim 1, Cirik teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to: detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission control indicator (TCI) state operation ( Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams ); determine a physical downlink control channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception ( Paragraph [0207] PDCCH transmissions scheduling PDSCH transmissions; overlap ). 2. Regarding claim 8, Cirik teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15A) comprising: processing circuitry to: detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission control indicator (TCI) state operation ( Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams ); determine a physical downlink control channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception ( Paragraph [0207] PDCCH transmissions scheduling PDSCH transmissions; overlap ). and interface circuitry to communicatively couple the processing circuitry with a component of a device (Fig. 15A). 3. Regarding claim 15, Cirik teaches a method comprising: detect a radio resource control (RRC) parameter to enable default transmission control indicator (TCI) state operation ( Paragraph [0328] RRC parameter determine whether to receive via single default receiving beam or multiple default receiving beams ); determine a physical downlink control channel (PDSCH) transmission and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission overlap; and configure, based on said detection of the RRC parameter, a beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception ( Paragraph [0207] PDCCH transmissions scheduling PDSCH transmissions; overlap ). 4. Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Cirik teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to enable default transmission control indicator (TCI) state per control resource set (CORESET) pool index and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: determine both the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission are associated with a same CORESET pool index; and configure the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception based further on said determination that both the PDSCH transmission and the PDCCH transmission are associated with the same CORESET pool index (Paragraph [0207] Coreset Pool Index; PDCCH; PDSCH). 5. Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Cirik teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to configure a multi-downlink control information (DCI) mode ( Paragraph [0175] RRC messages; one or more DCI formats ). 6. Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Cirik teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to enable two default transmission control indicator (TCI) states and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: determine two default PDSCH beams based on a lowest TCI codepoint among TCI codepoints that include two TCI states, wherein the two default PDSCH beams are associated with two PDSCH transmissions, the two PDSCH transmissions to include the PDSCH transmission; determine the two default PDSCH beams are different from the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission; and configure the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission for reception based further on said determination that the two PDSCH beams are different from the beam associated with the PDCCH transmission ( Paragraphs [0279] and [0280] TCI state for CORESET; lowest of at least two TCI states; TCI codepoint ). 7. Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Cirik teaches, wherein the RRC parameter is to configure a single-downlink control information (DCI) mode ( Paragraph [0175] RRC messages; one or more DCI formats ). 8. Regarding claims 6 and 13, Cirik teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is to configure an antenna panel with the beam ( Paragraphs [0199] and [0327] antenna panels; beam ). 9. Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Cirik teaches, wherein the PDSCH transmission is associated with a first component carrier of a band and the PDCCH transmission is associated with a second component carrier of the band ( Paragraph [0110] aggregated carriers ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure : Gao et al. (US 2023/0144103 A1) PDSCH transmission occasions, multiple TCI states Mondal et al. (US 2021/0168779 A1) PDSCH, PDCCH, multiple panel Svedman et al. (US 2023/0076897 A1) PDCCH reliability Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIANE LEE LO whose telephone number is (571)270-1952. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at (571)272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/772,020 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466